Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Custom .223 Re-Barrel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

tomcat220t wrote: »
    .220 swifts would end up slapping the ass off the .223 if were to let the ammo weight up to 70gr;).

ok, what would be the optimum weight for a .223 be and not for a swifty??
    55?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

There is a good reason for the .220 swift been king of the varmint round ;).All things been equal the swift will be a better choice over the .223 every time!

I'm not denying that the .220 swift is a fantastic round, But perhaps put that in a category of its own!
    I'm talking about .223 in factory loads. Not swifts in tailor made loads

I'm not denying that the .220 swift is a fantastic round, But perhaps put that in a category of its own!
    I'm talking about .223 in factory loads. Not swifts in tailor made loads
    So let me get this right, .223s,.222s, .17s+.204s..... all shooting factory ammo of 55gr or less? Max range of 500 yards ? V class:rolleyes:.How would your define factory ammo ,as a rule ?20lbs rifles ?Why so heavy ?I think it would be a while before a class like this would take off,sorry .

Max weight 20lb Rifle all shooting factory ammo 55grain or less

Reason heavy rifle as it includes weight of mod and bipod and scope.

Well we could call it B-Class for Bunnies or L-class for limited to .204.222 and .223
    and have then an open Bunny class on calibre for everything else?

The target would be a life size bunny Target also for added authenticity

Max weight 20lb Rifle all shooting factory ammo 55grain or less

Reason heavy rifle as it includes weight of mod and bipod and scope.

Well we could call it B-Class for Bunnies or L-class for limited to .204.222 and .223
    and have then an open Bunny class on calibre for everything else?

The target would be a life size bunny Target also for added authenticity
    Sound good and all that but how many lads are shooting rabbits at400- 500 yards with any type of consistancy in.223 55gr ?

Not many yet, But it only takes a few to start a trend. It only takes 12 people to start a Mexican wave!(as per brainiac science abuse lol)

Now that there are custom rifle builders in the country and when folks realize it is cheaper to tune your rifle than buy a new one, as you can tune to your pocket, one piece at a Time!:D:D:D

Not many yet, But it only takes a few to start a trend. It only takes 12 people to start a Mexican wave!(as per brainiac science abuse lol)

Now that there are custom rifle builders in the country and when folks realize it is cheaper to tune your rifle than buy a new one, as you can tune to your pocket, one piece at a Time!:D:D:D
    Thats so true ,custom rifles are the job:D.Get her built and enjoy your shooting !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

not me...... But 500-800 with the 300wm...now that gets me turned on..

dwighet wrote: »

Id have a slap at it but my r-15 only has a 22inch tube and is designed more for coyote shooting in the states using 60 grainers so 300 is about its limit.

There are special barrels for special boys!

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=156629&utm_source=froogle&utm_medium=free&utm_campaign=649

Ive been toying with the idea but at present im happy enough with the performance out of it..Its shooting half inch which is plenty for me at the time being....
    My 300 is geting all my attention at the moment...thats getting me .350 at the mo...thats pretty good for a cannon of a yoke..
    Shootn 180gn Hornady sst`s at 3060 fps.(chronoed)....3700 footpounds at the muzzle..
    I had it out last week end hitting a 10 inch plate at 1k....
    The most fun I`ve ever had with my clothes on....
    [IMG][/img]DSCF1129-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,164 ✭✭✭clivej

Ive been toying with the idea but at present im happy enough with the performance out of it..Its shooting half inch which is plenty for me at the time being....
    My 300 is geting all my attention at the moment...thats getting me .350 at the mo...thats pretty good for a cannon of a yoke..
    Shootn 180gn Hornady sst`s at 3060 fps.(chronoed)....3700 footpounds at the muzzle..
    I had it out last week end hitting a 10 inch plate at 1k....
    The most fun I`ve ever had with my clothes on....
    DSCF1129-1.jpg

Well the way I see it is some people DO IT (Dwighet)

And some people only TALK about DOING IT (TACK)

clivej wrote: »

I discuss the pros and cons before I do anything or buy anything Clive. I have broken clays @600 with a 6.5mm (witnessed BTW) but I am talking about a .223 not a 6.5 or otherwise.

I'm in the middle of exams at the moment, currently listening to recorded lectures on moodle whilst writing on this. I'm taking Dwighets advise with the twist rate for the .223.

As soon as I finish college for the summer Clive, i can't wait.
    I will be doing a lot of long range, just in time with the silage cutting so rabbits will stick out like sore tumbs in fields

And if I help a few folks with the same interest as me in long range varminting along the way then all the better.

By asking questions online more than I get the benefit of the answers. No point in Tribal knowledge known only by a few and never shared. by sharing info we raise the bar on a hole :D:D

now now clive.....deep breath...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,164 ✭✭✭clivej

I discuss the pros and cons before I do anything or buy anything Clive. I have broken clays @600 with a 6.5mm (witnessed BTW) but I am talking about a .223 not a 6.5 or otherwise.

I'm in the middle of exams at the moment, currently listening to recorded lectures on moodle whilst writing on this. I'm taking Dwighets advise with the twist rate for the .223.

As soon as I finish college for the summer Clive, i can't wait.
    I will be doing a lot of long range, just in time with the silage cutting so rabbits will stick out like sore tumbs in fields

And if I help a few folks with the same interest as me in long range varminting along the way then all the better.

By asking questions online more than I get the benefit of the answers. No point in Tribal knowledge known only by a few and never shared. by sharing info we raise the bar on a hole :D:D

I have just sat my third year BSc exams, Computers Multimedia now, 2 weeks ago (and this will be my second BSc, Computers IT Support in the bag, over 6 years + Cisco CCNA) so I share your pain at exam time. ;)

You best get your head down and listen to Moodle and stop looking at Boards.ie:D

I have just sat my third year BSc exams, Computers Multimedia now, 2 weeks ago (and this will be my second BSc, Computers IT Support in the bag, over 6 years + Cisco CCNA) so I share your pain at exam time. ;)

You best get your head down and listen to Moodle and stop looking at Boards.ie:D

I've Ops mgt tomorrow and Ind networks Tuesday more CCNA
    But I can't help looking at boards, stops me thinking about poxy exams and stressing out

Hi Tackleberry, a 1/9 twist would let you shoot from the low 50gr to the high 60 grainers in the 223 I had a tikka tactical in 223 with this twist and it loved the 53 and 55 gr hornadys and the 64gr federals. I take it that Figgy will be doin the work for you he s done couple rifles for me and they unreal accurate.The 22/250 he did will do consistant sub half inch groups at 300 yards. Give me shout if you fancy shot out of them i do be back in athlone good bit herself is in collage there.

Hey CM

I'm going to go with a 1/10 True flight as they say it is their latest barrel and will handle up to 65G.
    I'm picking up my rifle tomorrow evening in Figgy's so I will have a look at your baby.
    Figgy is ordering the barrel next week so I will pick out profiles tomorrow.
    Fluting is a few bob extra and a bit out of fashion, but I like it so I might go with it.

Tack

I've Ops mgt tomorrow and Ind networks Tuesday more CCNA
    But I can't help looking at boards, stops me thinking about poxy exams and stressing out

Thats better lads...Share ya pain....;)

Well you have to tool for the job .Havent seen a rabbit getting vapourized with a 300 yet :D.

Hey CM

I'm going to go with a 1/10 True flight as they say it is their latest barrel and will handle up to 65G.
    I'm picking up my rifle tomorrow evening in Figgy's so I will have a look at your baby.
    Figgy is ordering the barrel next week so I will pick out profiles tomorrow.
    Fluting is a few bob extra and a bit out of fashion, but I like it so I might go with it.

Tack
    Get her fluted ,keep the weight down a little;)

Well you have to tool for the job .Havent seen a rabbit getting vapourized with a 300 yet :D.

the 204 or 223 blows em up more than the 300... the 300 just cuts em in half...The little 20/223cal varmint rounds...well you know your self..(red mist)

the 204 or 223 blows em up more than the 300... the 300 just cuts em in half...The little 20/223cal varmint rounds...well you know your self..(red mist):D:D

I agree, I've shot and witnessed bunnies shot with .220swift .223 .222 5.6x57, 6.5x55, .308 and .270

The .223 and .220 swift were the most devestating.
    The large calibres just buried into the ground after going through bugs bunny.

So I'm going with Trueflite Kiwi barrels 1/10 28"
    I have a team of 3 assembled to test fire so it can be tested to the best of it's abilities also. get the average group of the 3 and the best group of three.

I would not put myself in the class of these shooters but if I can come close I will be more than happy!:D:D

I agree, I've shot and witnessed bunnies shot with .220swift .223 .222 5.6x57, 6.5x55, .308 and .270

The .223 and .220 swift were the most devestating.
    The large calibres just buried into the ground after going through bugs bunny.

So I'm going with Trueflite Kiwi barrels 1/10 28"
    I have a team of 3 assembled to test fire so it can be tested to the best of it's abilities also. get the average group of the 3 and the best group of three.

I would not put myself in the class of these shooters but if I can come close I will be more than happy!:D:D
    I think you have made a good choice...
    28 inch tube you will be gettn some serious speed...close to 204 cal but not quite..
    your definitely on the right track for wat ya want...fair play..and good luck wit it....
    have you considered a 22/250 or 243? for wat your arfter or are you trying to pussh the 223 to the max? just curious...thats all.

I think you have made a good choice...
    28 inch tube you will be gettn some serious speed...close to 204 cal but not quite..
    your definitely on the right track for wat ya want...fair play..and good luck wit it....
    have you considered a 22/250 or 243? for wat your arfter or are you trying to pussh the 223 to the max? just curious...thats all.

Push the .223 to the max. Us Irish had our .223's and .308's taken in 73. So now that we got them back we want to hold on to them ;)

I'm a fan of the .243 but and the .22/250.
    Just not on my list at the mo

I always was fascinated with the .223 Just because I could not have it.

Just out of Interest In Oz, how many firearms can one have?

And what are the limitations?

Push the .223 to the max. Us Irish had our .223's and .308's taken in 73. So now that we got them back we want to hold on to them ;)

I'm a fan of the .243 but and the .22/250.
    Just not on my list at the mo

I always was fascinated with the .223 Just because I could not have it.

Just out of Interest In Oz, how many firearms can one have?

And what are the limitations?

I didnt own a fire arm when i was in oz..... just went shooting with some of the lads...I only got serious into it when I came over here(8 yrs ago) and have never looked back....Ye are blessed with some of the best game shootn in the world...Its all on your door step...Back home to go shootn its a 10hour drive and to catch a trout ,,,well good luck...Here its a 2hr drive for sika for me and 1hr drive for fallow and a 10 minute drive for a trout on the fly......What more does a man want..... IM not in a hurry to go home ...Home is for retirement when the body is not able for the cold anymore..

well I have an Uncle home 2 years how was in Emu Plains for 30 years and he misses the Oz Winter but not the Summer!

I can shoot deer if I walk 5mins from my door, Fallow. Mallard duck 10 mins walk. Rabbits in the back yard. And Trout 5 mins on a bicycle.

And a serious 1000 yard Range 10 min drive :D

28"barrel :cool:!Cant wait to hear the results of this build;).What is the MV of the 55gr hornady ?

well I have an Uncle home 2 years how was in Emu Plains for 30 years and he misses the Oz Winter but not the Summer!

I can shoot deer if I walk 5mins from my door, Fallow. Mallard duck 10 mins walk. Rabbits in the back yard. And Trout 5 mins on a bicycle.

And a serious 1000 yard Range 10 min drive :D
    Thats wat i mean...ye dont know how good ye have it here,,
    Im from nth east queens land...all tropical type weather...winter 8c min and summer 38 max but the humidity is 100%...."gods country".
    A place called Cairns is were i will see my last days...

28"barrel :cool:!Cant wait to hear the results of this build;).What is the MV of the 55gr hornady ?

Well they are calculated on 24inch barrel so Its hard to say without chronographing .

Not as fast as a .204 but in the ballpark region.

i intend to stick with my 55grain Moly Varmint rounds for most things.

It's a whole new world for me customization so I can not say until She is tested out.
    http://www.hornady.com/store/223-Rem-55-gr-V-MAX-Moly/
    They are my current preference, no copper in my barrel after 3 years shooting ~600 rounds give or take a box or so