Psychoactive reaction to Product sold in 'pub shop'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Playboy wrote: »
    havent done enough of them that you regret it.
    Er...you see the thing is, most people have this thing called self control and don't abuse drugs to the point where they regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I never lectured anyone on drug use, I know well some of my friends have an odd joint after a night on the tear.
    So these are not included in the 20 mates who only drink :rolleyes:
    But the main thing is that alcohol is the substance of choice for a good night out among my friends and it is without question the most popular way to relax and have a good night in Ireland.
    It doesn't take sherlock holmes to figure out why this is. If alcohol was illegal since day 1 and cannabis was the permitted drug by mammy & the gardai then it would be the FORCED "substance of choice".
    The point I was really making is for me drink is enough for me. I don't need to seek anything on top of it.
    If you lived in a world where cannabis was the legal one then no doubt you would be saying that cannabis enough for you. Just because you reckon it is enough for you is no reason to be against other people having a wider choice, why do you have this desire to restrict peoples choices of drug? why should they all have to go along with what you like. It really is a ludicrous statement, like saying ban rubgy, soccer is enough for anybody, and more people get harmed in rugby.
    I also think that people would better of with some of the more established illegal drugs than some of the substance I have heard being used as legal highs.
    So do I and alcohol being top of the list of legal highs.
    FACT is drugs are bad news .. if you dont think so you are either (a) an idiot or (b) havent done enough of them that you regret it.
    More like only an idiot does enough of them to regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Im an adult .. I did probably more drugs than you will do in a lifetime. I think Headshops should be put out of business and I'm glad they have been!

FACT is drugs are bad news .. if you dont think so you are either (a) an idiot or (b) havent done enough of them that you regret it.

Have a problem with it then move to a country where noone puts a value on human life or health. I'm sure there you can happily kill yourself, destroy your life, have a nervous breakdown .. or all three but in reverse order.

End of!

So you were stupid enough to act the clown with drugs and ****ed yourself up. That doesn't make you a knowledge on them, it makes you one of those people who shouldn't be ****ing allowed near them...ever. Sensible people know their limits and can enjoy themselves, you obviously didn't and now have something against them for your own stupidity. Take a hike tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I was shocked when I found mothers taking prams and children and all sorts in with them to my nearest 'Centra'. Not only were these so called alcoholic drinks placed cunningly near brightly wrapped confectionary sweets, but one - 'Vodka' - had an appearance deceptively simmilar to that of tap water!

Then, to make matters worse, on the way home I was confronted by my friend Paul who had taken two 'Vodka'. He proclaimed me 'the bestest' before stumbling off singing something about wanting to be a rock and roll star.

Sure it's awful altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

DarkJager wrote: »
    So you were stupid enough to act the clown with drugs and ****ed yourself up. That doesn't make you a knowledge on them, it makes you one of those people who shouldn't be ****ing allowed near them...ever. Sensible people know their limits and can enjoy themselves, you obviously didn't and now have something against them for your own stupidity. Take a hike tbh.

lol the naiviety of some people is worrying. Relationships with all substances are dangerous .. even more so when the substances produce effects that is easy to develop a dependency on. There are a very small minority of people who maintain a 'healthy' or casual relationship with substances such as meph, mdma, coke etc. Its starts out fine .. something you do with your friends at the weekedn. then the buzz starts to fade so you do some more and this cycle carries on until you and your friends have a problem. The sad thing is none of you actually realise you do. Its the nature of theses substances that you end up 'chasing' the buzz. Tolerance develops quickly so if you want the same effects you have to do more. You are now making decisions on whether or not to take more when your decision making is impaired and you have less inhibitions. Before you know it you are regularly taking dangerous doses of a substance without any regard for your health because you feel you are fine. You then become easily conditioned to think that its ok to take large amounts because when you did it before nothing bad happened. What you dont know is that you are putting your body and mind through incredible stress every weekend .. very dangerous levels of stress.

People who have problems with substances including alcohol are generally in denial. they come up with all sorts of excuses and reasons why they dont .. they convince themselves that the drug isnt the problem. It takes a very long fall and usually a very disturbing event before people actually face up to their problems. Sometimes they cant face them and their life detiorates altogether. Drugs were the biggest waste of the best years of my life. Speak to any sane person who has been through the cycle and see if they think the same. You are a fool if you think that most people can control their substance taking. Look at a drug like alcohol that has been a part of human society for thousands of years .. we cant control that. How the hell are we supposed to control a drug that is much more potent and has just been introduced to our society. The same thing happens to us as when you introduce alcohol to cultures that never had it before .. think native american indiants and australian aboriginals.

So in response to your comment. They should be illegal and should be banned because the majority of people are like me .. Normal people who thought they could control it but cant. The funny thing is .. when I was using I was on your side with the same tired old arguments about why drugs should be legalized .. I feel like an idiot now when I think about it. Guess what that makes me think about you? Hindsight is a great thing .. Try and benefit from mine and people like me.

Oh look, it's someone who couldn't use drugs responsibly who now consoles himself with the false idea that nobody can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

Just there on facebook I just got a captcha reading "Thc suffices"

Bloody weird :eek:

Screen cap

Shulgin wrote: »
    Just there on facebook I just got a captcha reading "Thc suffices"

Bloody weird :eek:

Screen cap
    Save it and spread it. You could have a wee little internet meme on your hands :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

Save it and spread it. You could have a wee little internet meme on your hands :cool:.

I`ll post it up on a few of the cannabis groups on FB. I`m sure they`ll get a laugh from it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭poodles

People say alcohol's a drug...

it's not a drug, it's a drink.

poodles wrote: »

OMG, you're right, all those headshop owners had to do was dissolve the drugs in water and they could not have been touched. How stupid have they all been with this "not for human consumption" and bathsalt mumbo jumbo.

Oh look, it's someone who couldn't use drugs responsibly who now consoles himself with the false idea that nobody can.

I didnt say that nobody can .. I said the vast majority cant. You want to argue that point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

poodles wrote: »

And tomorrow in school you will learn the alphabet.

I said the vast majority cant. You want to argue that point?
    The majority of people I know can. As I said before only an idiot does enough of them to regret it. It just appears like the majority of people you hang around with are idiots.

rubadub wrote: »
    The majority of people I know can. As I said before only an idiot does enough of them to regret it. It just appears like the majority of people you hang around with are idiots.

Whatever m8 .. I was at it for about 10 years. I met hundreds of people and was at hundreds of parties clubs etc. I'm not here trying to preach. I held down a job and put myself through a degree + postgrad. I wasnt some kind of down and out. I saw what years of that scene does to people including myself. You dont see it when you are in it .. but once you are out you cant believe that you wasted so much time/money on it. Dismiss me if you like .. just offering an alternative as someone who has lots of first hand exprerience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭poodles

the joke is missed by the sh!t ye watch on tv like Friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

I see that Homeopathic shops, Chinese Herbalist's, vitamin shops, coffee shops and a pub or 2 are still open. Has anyone got a phone number to contact Pat Carey.

Well, everything apart from the homeopathic shops... Homeopathy does bollox all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Jeebus

Aren't something like 50% of Fianna Fail TD's also publicans ? I saw a number for this a while ago and it was some outrageous number. I wonder if they saw the head-shops as competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I've seen many people become psycho while actively drinking alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

delop wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

I was watching TV the other nite and saw an ad for the GAA, they were sponsored by a beverage called Guinness, I think it must be an energy drink from what I saw on the ad, So I decided to head to the local 'pub shop' as they are locally known and I had a number of Guinness', I felt a bit strange, I started to have feelings of relaxation and cheerfulness, later that evening I started to experience blurred vision and coordination problems. I then started to have irrational and slightly violent thoughts towards a building across the road called 'St Luke's' and finally i got violently sick.

I didn't sleep very well that night,and woke up feeling terrible the following day, depressed and ill.

My question is should I report this establishment to the Gardai under the new law (psychoactive substances law) introduced by Minister Ahern?

here here

But i'm not sure which out of Cannabis, Cocaine or Ecstasy would those symptoms represent.

Jeebus wrote: »
    Aren't something like 50% of Fianna Fail TD's also publicans ? I saw a number for this a while ago and it was some outrageous number. I wonder if they saw the head-shops as competition.

I wonder if it was them burning them down lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Vladidim

Looks like all the junkies are suffering withdrawal as a result of the new legislation.
    Not to worry, there's always methadone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Yeah!

And what about alcoholics? People can't control their drink either. CLEARLY we should ban it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Its threads like this which highlight the gulf between the opinions of the population at large and boards users. The majority of Irish people are against the idea of head shops, as they see them as pedallers of drugs and drug related paraphernalia. The image they paint of themselves just doesn't help. Large displays of bongs and prominent displays of the cannabis leaf, hinders their acceptance among the more conservative in our society. If they hadn't been so ostentatious in their displays, with a seeming delight in exploiting loopholes they'd be still around today. Ireland is still a very conservative society, radical social change doesn't happen, it takes generations to change attitudes.

Boards and particularly AH has an interesting relationship with illegal substances. They will be the first to condemn the violent thugs with their guns rocket launchers and private armies willing to subvert the state. On the other hand they see nothing wrong with handing over their hard earned for some of Afghan finest to these same people. Interestingly they then complain its the laws that need to be changed rather than their behaviour.

Drug users never think its themselves that are the problem, and fundamentally that is the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

There are a very small minority of people who maintain a 'healthy' or casual relationship with substances such as meph, mdma, coke etc. Its starts out fine .. something you do with your friends at the weekedn
    For me, everyone I know, and presumably 98% of people on this site, drug use is something that started as, is, and will continue to be something that you do purely at the weekend with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Nulty

bonerm wrote: »
    Oh look, an attempt at sarcasm. *tumbleweed*

A successful attempt, while said attempt at humour fell just short IMO

I didnt say that nobody can .. I said the vast majority cant. You want to argue that point?
    Do you?

I think the onus is on you to prove that, in your words, a very very small minority, can use recreational drugs safely.

Personally I think you are full of it, or perhaps deluded from prior experiences in certain drug circles, but what would I know - being a responsible drug user.

Its threads like this which highlight the gulf between the opinions of the population at large and boards users. The majority of Irish people are against the idea of head shops, as they see them as pedallers of drugs and drug related paraphernalia. The image they paint of themselves just doesn't help. Large displays of bongs and prominent displays of the cannabis leaf, hinders their acceptance among the more conservative in our society. If they hadn't been so ostentatious in their displays, with a seeming delight in exploiting loopholes they'd be still around today. Ireland is still a very conservative society, radical social change doesn't happen, it takes generations to change attitudes.

Boards and particularly AH has an interesting relationship with illegal substances. They will be the first to condemn the violent thugs with their guns rocket launchers and private armies willing to subvert the state. On the other hand they see nothing wrong with handing over their hard earned for some of Afghan finest to these same people. Interestingly they then complain its the laws that need to be changed rather than their behaviour.

Drug users never think its themselves that are the problem, and fundamentally that is the problem.
    I love when people, unbestknown to themselves, end up arguing for the other side. What a great excuse for legalisation.

How is people wanting to get high a problem? You are going to have to be less ambiguous in your points. Are people wanting to get drunk at the weekend directly to blame for me getting the **** kicked out of me by four pissheads back in 2007?

Of course not. Stupid people were.

Speaking of arguing your point with hard facts, do you know for a fact that the majority of Irish people wanted these substances banned? Even without any media support and a piss poor promotional job, the anti prohibition marches this year had hundreds more marching in them than all the head shop protests combined.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    For me, everyone I know, and presumably 98% of people on this site, drug use is something that started as, is, and will continue to be something that you do purely at the weekend with friends.

Just because you just do it at weekends doesnt mean it is (a) safe or (b) not a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

@Playboy:

If you managed to hold down a job and be successful academically, what is it specifically that you regret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

I'm guessing Playboy is an accountant and that's his regret :(