Ask a Pro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Good interview, he has a good point on the e/w value in them races.

What age is this lad and does he post here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

His reply has all the right answers to show that he does bet profitably.

The below is maybe the most relevant point.

If someone had told me then that the only problem I would have with making money from betting was getting my bets layed then I wouldn’t have believed it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭POINTBREAK

Kod-box wrote: »
    Good interview, he has a good point on the e/w value in them races.

What age is this lad and does he post here?

He doesn't post here and he is nearly 40. He has probably been gambling for over 20 years though. He will tell you himself that when he first started he was hopeless at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Good interview. Thanks Pointbreak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭catmelodian

What a spoofer. 'Play the bad e/w races'

Amazing. Groundbreaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 mug

What a spoofer. 'Play the bad e/w races'

Amazing. Groundbreaking.

i've just set this account up so i can post here.

i can understand people being doubtful about what i've said... like i said, i would have been 5 years ago, but you seem to have (deliberatly?) igrored a lot of what i've said. i didn't say backing bad EW races was 'Amazing or Groundbreaking'. in fact i said it was a very simple system that requires zero thought and a lot of effort to get the bets on.

i know that a lot of people know about these types of races and the value in them, but a lot of people who use this forum, or read the interview on the pricewiseextra site won't have been aware of them. i also pointed out that these races aren't a license to print money, because bookmakers wont give you a big bet on them, and that the only way to get around this is to make my way round a lot of shops getting relatively small bets on, and opening lots of online accounts with every firm under the names/credit card numbers of lots of friends and relatives (and even that is tricky, as u have to use different IP addresses for them or the firms close you down almost immediately).

anyway... by doing this and spreading my bets over about 10 shops ot so, i am able to get 1k to 1500EW on pretty comfortably, and since you know about this system, you will know what sort of figure i can expect to make over a year from these kind of stakes.

since i've been keeping records about half of my profit has come from betting on these, but i've also made a lot of money from betting on sports... and again, as i said in the interview, i don't profess to be a betting genius... most of the stuff i do comes from other people who i know who also bet professionally. i've also shown a profit on bets that i spot myself over the years, but i've only got a pretty small edge, and my profit from sports bets that i pick would probably account for about 1/5th of my overall profit.

this is all true, and i can't even understand why it sounds unlikely to you... i'm actually trying to explain that what i do is actually quite simple as long as you put in the work with getting the bets on.

these absolutely nothing to stop you replying with anothother fairly ignorant post along the lines of 'what a load of boll**ks', but if u really think that, then you can take me up on the challenge that i issue to that guy at the end of the interview (his post seems to have been deleted, but it was pretty disparaging and dismissive). i said that if he could raise 10k i'd back myself for 20k at 1/2 to turn a hypothetical 100k profit from a 100k starting bankroll in a year (i'd actually be confident enough to take 1/3 for 30k)

you're probably thinking, well that easy if you're allowed to bet on bad EW races with your hypothetical bankroll... although, thats exactly my point... it is easy.

having said that i'd still have an 1/1 money bet for 10k upwards that i can make 100k profit without backing any horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

slightly going off track here, but just wondering if you bet on darts? i find that darts is where i seem to do better on then other sports.

by the way, for any of you who aren't familiar with this EW thing, i've answered a post in the comments section under the interview on http://pricewiseextra.info/the-interview/ which gives a pretty detailed explanation of whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

mug wrote: »
    by the way, for any of you who aren't familiar with this EW thing, i've answered a post in the comments section under the interview on http://pricewiseextra.info/the-interview/ which gives a pretty detailed explanation of whats going on.
    Where?

dotsflan wrote: »
    slightly going off track here, but just wondering if you bet on darts? i find that darts is where i seem to do better on then other sports.

yeah, i do bet on darts, and i watch it every week. i'm showing a small profit on the bets that i pick myself, although i don't put much effort into it and it's really just done off feel. i also get some good stuff on darts occassionaly from a friend who worked for one of the spread betting firms and is still in contact with a lot of the compilers that he worked with.

Verance wrote: »
    Where?

i've just seen it's 'awaiting moderation' it'll be up shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

yeah, i do bet on darts, and i watch it every week. i'm showing a small profit on the bets that i pick myself, although i don't put much effort into it and it's really just done off feel. i also get some good stuff on darts occassionaly from a friend who worked for one of the spread betting firms and is still in contact with a lot of the compilers that he worked with.

most weeks though in the premier league darts i feel theres always at least one market that the bookies have got wrong. For instance a few weeks ago they had barney @ 11/10 to get more 180's then jenkins. I was expecting barney to be odds on at around 4/6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Hi mug could you give me your definition of an edge, I went to a seminar recently given by a guy who plays the stock market, he also used the word edge alot.

i've just seen it's 'awaiting moderation' it'll be up shortly

Sorry about that I changed the settings to allow comments without moderation, but its not doing that............ pfft.... computers!

How much did you lose in your worst losing streak?

Do you find it stressful much?

Has ever been tempted to give it up?

Were you always a pro gambler or what did you do before it?

Have you any shocking or amazing tales of crookedness or cheating?

What bet have you been most proud of?

About how much do you make a year?

Have you any rules or limits you set yourself?

i've answered most of the questions in the interview on pricewiseextra, but i'll happily answer any more on here or under the comments on that site.

on the questions above...

i find it pretty stressful sometimes when i've been on a bad run and i've got a big bet running. probably the biggest bet i ever had was on a snooker match recently, where i'd lumped on over loads of markets, match odds, points supremacy spreads, break supremacies, handicap markets. i thought the guy i bet on was double the price he should have been and the handicap was out by about 3 frames.

it's hard to put a figure on what i could have lost because a lot of the bets were spread bets, but if my guy had actually lost the match and been outscored heavily it could have been between 60 and 100k.

i knew this was highly unlikely but i was still very nervous watching the first session. fortunately he pulled clear after a bad first session and won easily covering the handicaps and making a decent profit for me on the spreads.

i didn't actually win that much in the end though because he faield to make the higest break of the match (he screwed the white in off the final black deliberately for a bit of show-boating, when he was on for a 124 break which would have been enough) and that was a 12k swing for me.

i have been tempted to give it up when i'm on a bad run and lose more than i should through tilt, but i'm getting better at handling that and getting more professional with what i do... i do well from gambling but i really should do a lot better, and there's really no reason for me to stop.

my income varies greatly but i gave a couple of figure in the interview that gives u an idea of my average

i don't have any stories of crookedness other than the obvious ones that make the papers or become general knowledge. i've never made any money from betting on a rigged match or race, although i definitely would if i was lucky enough to hear about it

i frequently set myself rules about being more professional etc, but there's definitely room for improvement. limits aren't really an issue.

the best value bet that i ever had, didn't come from me, it came from a friend with a good football contact who told him just b4 kick off that half their team was being rested. we got on a few markets at ridiculous odds and copped the lot. but i can't be proud of that one since it wasn't my bet.

one that i was quite proud of was a few years ago when morinho was at chelsea, they were losing 1-0 against newcastle at half time and morinho made 3 sustitutions for the 2nd half. not long after the break wayne bridge went down with what looked like a very bad injury, and it didn't look like he was getting back up.

i immediatly realised the implications of this before the masses on betfair did, and lumped everything i had in the account on newcastle, which was quite a bit as i played a lot of poker on there, even though i didn't bet on sports for particularly high stakes at the time. i can't remember the figures exactly, but once the penny dropped with people that chelsea were going to have to finish the match with 10 men, newcastles price dropped quite a bit and i had a nice freeroll for 5 grand or so before they even started the match again.

Did you have any bets today? There was a couple of races that seemed to fit the profile you were talking about.

POINTBREAK wrote: »
    Did you have any bets today? There was a couple of races that seemed to fit the profile you were talking about.

yeah, there were a couple which looked like they might turn out ok, but they weren't going to be big value from what i could tell from looking at betfair early in the morning. normally i'd have checked back later around 11-12 but i was out playing golf so gave them a swerve.

i'll have a look tomorrow and let u know if i'm doing anything, and if not, why not.

heading out for a while.. will address some more questions later

Thanks. I'm just getting worried that I offered to pay you for this, or its some elaborate bet that I agreed when you got me drunk.................. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Posted up some q's and then saw the link to the interview so have erased the original q's:o

Interesting stuff on the horse racing it has to be said, was just looking at a few races today that fit the profile, and yesterday the last race at Wolver also springs to mind where a major gamble was foiled with Barney Curley's 1/3 Fav being turned over. In such cases, as yesterday, how do you cope with a sustained gamble, I get the impression you are ready to get your money down as soon as the firms have priced up, but yesterday Curleys horses were backed in from double digits to very short odds, surely this will distort your perception of the e/w market? Are you tempted to weigh in again?

Whilst the e/w strategy seems to be long term,and you make no bones about it, today as an example would have played out as follows -

Warwick 240 - 5/4 Fav (unplaced) next in betting was 8/1 and was also unplaced. No return.

Warwick 310 - 1/2 Fav (unplaced) 2nd fav 8/1 c/f's also unplaced, granted only paying 2 places here.No return.

Beverley 200 - 10/11 Fav wins, 2nd fav was 2nd at 5/1. So you break even here.

Beverley 430 - 1/5 Fav wins, 2nd co fav is 2nd @ 11/1. Profit.

Am I interpreting these examples right?

Also would be interested to hear your thoughts on arbouring? Something Ivan Yates warned his staff about last year in a leaked memo, obviously theres patience required but is there money to be made here, any examples?

Cheers!

Sizzler wrote: »
    Whats the strategy behind his horse racing betting, is it stats, watching the exchanges, weights,jockey, trainer etc?

How does he legislate for late gambles even when hes made a firm selection?

He explained the first part of that in his comment here.
    http://pricewiseextra.info/the-interview/#comment-130

I imagine if there is a late plunge that changes the market it certainly effect his strategy if the horse he had selected was replaced by another one in the betting. He said he would drop back in later maybe.

turbobaby wrote: »
    Whats the breakdown between long and short term bets?

Does he have sweaty balls from all the sitting around all day "analyzing the form"? hahah

vast majority are short term... if something is particularly good value then i don't mind tying up money long term, but i'm not going to have a season-long bet that i reckon is value by 10% if it means locking up a big chunk of money.

i don't analyse the form so much. the horse racing thing takes me 20 mins to go thru every morning, then from 30 min to 2 hours getting the bets on, depending on how many there are/how much i want to get on. a lot of days i wont have a bet at all even if there are a couple of marginal ones because they don't justify the hassle.

my other bets that i get from contacts don't require any planning, i just have to make a few fone calls/access a computer/go to a few shops/have one of the guys that help me go to a few shops, but this isn't a lot of effort either.

the sports bets i pick myself, i spend a little bit of time looking at, but it's really not much effort. the only time i'm really busy is when there's snooker on the tv because i do very well on the frame by frame in-running, so i'll sit in front of the computer all day working at that. obviously there aren't that many snooker tournaments over the year (hopefully that's going to change soon) so generally it's not really hard work for me.

so to answer your question, my balls don't get that sweaty

Woddle wrote: »
    Hi pointbreak, first off I just want to say well done on the site, I've been following it, pretty much since you started it and its excellent. The interview is great but what I think would be good is say one day a week he puts his bets in a diary and shares his logic behind each bet, obviously to be done after that trading day.

Also if you get a chance to see how I got on today and give a bit of feedback it would be much appreciated.

it's not that i'm against the idea of explaining my bets after i've done them, but it's just most of the time there won't be that much to say.

i've explained the logic behind the EW horse stuff, and that is the same every day. i don't look at form/trainers/track/jockeys... it's just mathematical.

with the sports betting stuff, most of the good stuff come from other guys i know. a lot of it is last minute, like late weather reports affecting stuff like rugby points spreads and handicaps, or team news affecting soccer matches. there's not much point me explaining each of these bets as they happen, because it's going to be the same every time....

the rain has started pissing down in sydney so the total points spread is too high for the waratahs game (or the match handicap is wrong as it's less likely to be a lot of points in the game) and we try to get on before the prices or spreads get changed

or team X in some reasonably obscure league, is resting 2 of their best players so we back the opposing team with whatever firm has it best price, before it becomes public knowledge and the price goes.

with some of the other stuff i get from these guys, i have no idea how they pick them or how they go about compiling their chosen sports, so i can't explain their thinking, but i know they all do very well on sports betting and struggle to get on themselves, so whenever they give me a bet, i follow it blindly.

the sport i do best on myself is snooker, and i wouldn't mind putting up some of the match bets/outright bets that i do provided i am already on myself, but it's the end of the season now, and anyway, most of the stuff i do is in-running for the frames where i basically put up prices that are about 20% less that what i think the true price is and adjust them as i go along. some frames i don't get anything matched at all, but usually i get a bit.. and sometimes it's amazing what sort of money u can get layed at stupid prices... but this isn't really something i can specifically explain either, as it's just me using my own judgement as someone who has played and watched a lot of snooker and has a good mind for pricing up situations, reacting to the frame i'm watching and hoping other people make mistakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

your name isn't John Higgins is it?

Woddle wrote: »
    Hi mug could you give me your definition of an edge, I went to a seminar recently given by a guy who plays the stock market, he also used the word edge alot.

when i say i have an edge on something, i mean that i have made a profit on it over a long period of time. it's pretty easy for me to calculate what egde i have (or what my expected ROI should be) on the horse racing thing, as i explained in my post under the interview on pricewiseextra.

with the sports betting it's hard to be sure, as it's just my opinion or the opinion of guys i know, but the fact that we all show a profit on it over the year, and the fact that most of the bets we get on go off at shorter prices, suggests we do have an edge on what we're doing.

i know how much money i've made from betting, but i've no idea how much i've staked, so i'm not really sure how big an edge i have have. i would estimate that my overall ROI has been 5% or something like that, and whatever it is, it should definitely be higher as i've been completely unprofessional at times

POINTBREAK wrote: »
    Thanks. I'm just getting worried that I offered to pay you for this, or its some elaborate bet that I agreed when you got me drunk.................. lol

i think u offered me 50% of your business or a pint in return for doing this, and i went for the pint

Sizzler wrote: »
    Posted up some q's and then saw the link to the interview so have erased the original q's:o

Interesting stuff on the horse racing it has to be said, was just looking at a few races today that fit the profile, and yesterday the last race at Wolver also springs to mind where a major gamble was foiled with Barney Curley's 1/3 Fav being turned over. In such cases, as yesterday, how do you cope with a sustained gamble, I get the impression you are ready to get your money down as soon as the firms have priced up, but yesterday Curleys horses were backed in from double digits to very short odds, surely this will distort your perception of the e/w market? Are you tempted to weigh in again?

Whilst the e/w strategy seems to be long term,and you make no bones about it, today as an example would have played out as follows -

Warwick 240 - 5/4 Fav (unplaced) next in betting was 8/1 and was also unplaced. No return.

Warwick 310 - 1/2 Fav (unplaced) 2nd fav 8/1 c/f's also unplaced, granted only paying 2 places here.No return.

Beverley 200 - 10/11 Fav wins, 2nd fav was 2nd at 5/1. So you break even here.

Beverley 430 - 1/5 Fav wins, 2nd co fav is 2nd @ 11/1. Profit.

Am I interpreting these examples right?

Also would be interested to hear your thoughts on arbouring? Something Ivan Yates warned his staff about last year in a leaked memo, obviously theres patience required but is there money to be made here, any examples?

Cheers!

re. yesterday's goings on with the gambles, it doesn't affect what i do at all... the last time i look at the markets is at around lunchtime, and if things look like good value then, i will drive around my usual route getting my bets on. if circumstances change just before the race i might be able to get very small money on online, but i won't have time to get to shops and get reasonable bets on, so i don't even bother looking at it. i didn't see how the overall betting finished in that race where the fav was backed into 1/3, but usually if there is a 1/3 fav then there is a bit of EW value to be had and if i had been aware of it i would have tried to get a bit on... but there's not always EW value just because there's an odds on fav.

looking at the examples u gave from yesterday...

3.10 wawrick SPs were: 1/2, 8/1, 8/1, 9/1, 16/1, 16/1... even though there is a 1/2 fav, this is most certainly not a good EW betting race. one the 2nd favs, u are going to be taking 8/1 about it winning, and 2/1 about it getting placed... both the win and place parts of your EW bets are going to be bad value... i didn't see the betting on betfair, but typically the 8/1 chance here would be trading at least 1 point better on betfair, and on the BF place market it would definitely be trading higher than 2/1 to place give that there are only 2 places, and after the 1/2 favourite, the race is completely wide open.... even the outsiders in the race aren't much less likely to be placed than the 2nd fav. obviously i'm talking generally here from looking at the prices because i know nothing about the specific horses involved.

a much better race would be 2/1, 5/2, 7/2, 20/1, 33/1 bar, with 8 runners... even though there aren't any odds on horses, there are 3 horses that look to have a much better chance than the rest in the betting and should occupy the first 3 places. in a race priced like this, the 7/2 shot will typically be trading at around 1.4 (2/5) on the exchanges to place... u are getting 7/10, which is a big edge, and enough to off-set the bad value u get on the win part of your bet (ur taking 7/2 about something that should probably be somewhere between 7/2 and 4/1)

basically what we are looking for is a 3 horse race with 5 or more donkeys thrown in to make up the numbers, or a 2 horse race with a few others who have no real chance. the 3.10 at wawrick is a race with 1 clear favourite, and 5 donkeys. (i know it didn't turn out like that as the fav was turned over, but i hope u get what i'm saying)

the 2.40 wawrick is a similar story, although not as bad value as this one. outside the 5/4 fav, it's actually quite a competitive race

2.00 beverly, similar... after the 10/11 fav, there are 5 that are fairly close in the betting

4.30 beverly... no bet either. there is a 1/5 fav then 3 horses all around 11/1 or 12/1 and only 2 places cos it's a 7 horse race... this is a definite no-go... i dont know if any of u were following the race before it started but typically the next 3 in the betting would be about 4points gigher on betfair for the win market, so even if u were getting EW value (which you probably wouldn't be in this case) it would be out-weighed by the bad value u are getting for the win part of your bet.

the 2 races that were closest to being a bet for me were ones that you haven't mentioned... the 2.20 and 3.50 at yarmouth.. have a look at the betting

http://horses.sportinglife.com/Full_Results/0,12493,369826,00.html

one race was probably very slight value, the other was close but not quite... but neither were worth leaving the house for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

I've been working these ew races for a short time, but I lay off the bet for a guaranteed profit or a free bet on the place as I don't have the biggest bank (yet). Mug, do you ever lay off the bet or maybe just the win bet?

Also, the same can be done backing first goalscorers ew, not as good value as the horses most of the time but when there's a money back special on it can be very worthwhile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Hi Mug.

Thanks for answering my questions in the interview. Appreciate it.

Given your language in your interview I've no doubt you are an intelligent, although youthful.

I refer to your proposition bet. You said your biggest losing streak was €80,000, should that happen, which is easily possible, you then would need to turn around €180,000 with €20,000. Over 300% turnover.

Overall. I'm not posting to bash you so don't get all thick on me. I've had the misfortune of befriending people similar (note not like) to yourself in the past and 100% of the time they were completely full of garbage.

I know it's possible to win big on sports betting. I had the pleasure of doing so several years ago. But sustaining that profit over the course of year's when you say that you are prone to a lack of discipline is extremely hard to fathom. In fact probably impossible.

Simply my thoughts and if there wasn't an argument then it wouldn't be much good of posting in the first place. It's also alarming that I was the only person to post who questioned anything you do and in response (which I appreciate) you ended up attempting to undermine me by trying to create a huge proposition bet. Why be so defensive.

The maths don't add up. You bet €50,000 per week which is over €2,600,000 a year. (and that's only your side of the total amount)

If you are a 'professional' poker player you'll be fully aware of the maths behind discipline. For example if you play $25/50 you know that you need a bankroll of roughly and at least €150,000.

Now it's the exact same for professional sports betting. If your weekly bets are €50,000 well then you need a bank of about €1,500,000 at least.

And if you had a bank of €1,500,000 the last place you would be is boards.ie attemping to become the finest gambler Ireland has seen since J.P.

For me, it doesn't add up and hopefully, this time, you can see where my argument is steming from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

. wrong thread