Has your home ever been broken into?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I've never heard such nonsense in my life.

How dismissive of someone who had a gut feeling something wasn't right. I've heard a lot more 'nonsense' before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Our house was broken into and completely cleaned of all the old furniture we had. There's a shotgun and if anyone ever tried to break in while the aul man was here then he'd get all Padraic Nally on their ass

i was nearly arrested for breaking into my own house when I was in college. I had borrowed a mates dvd player and he called to get it back but I wasn't there so he climbed in the sittingroom window and took it back. A neighbour must have seen this and called the cops and in the meantime I came home. I went to bed cos I was dying from the night before and it was a nice day so I had the window left open. I woke up to a pair of cops standing at the foot of my bed tapping me with a maglite. They were convinced the place had been broken into and trashed, and it looked loke it had, it was a f*cking dump.
    My first thought was about our 'herb garden' in the wardrobe, I thought we were sprung. It took a lot of explaining and a phonecall to the landlord before they believed me and they then left disgusted that anyone could live in such squalor.
    Them was the days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Our house was broken into and completely cleaned of all the old furniture we had. There's a shotgun and if anyone ever tried to break in while the aul man was here then he'd get all Padraic Nally on their ass

i was nearly arrested for breaking into my own house when I was in college. I had borrowed a mates dvd player and he called to get it back but I wasn't there so he climbed in the sittingroom window and took it back. A neighbour must have seen this and called the cops and in the meantime I came home. I went to bed cos I was dying from the night before and it was a nice day so I had the window left open. I woke up to a pair of cops standing at the foot of my bed tapping me with a maglite. They were convinced the place had been broken into and trashed, and it looked loke it had, it was a f*cking dump.
    My first thought was about our 'herb garden' in the wardrobe, I thought we were sprung. It took a lot of explaining and a phonecall to the landlord before they believed me and they then left disgusted that anyone could live in such squalor.
    Them was the days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

No although my mother who lives over in Dublin 14 was alone one friday night in october last year and answered a knock on the door . Seeing nobody there she made the mistake of walking to the gate and looking up and down the road not noticing that some scummer who was hiding in the side entry , had sneaked into the hall and out to the kitchen were he gave the place a quick once over . Then as my mother who is in her 70s was walking back into house , he brazenly brushed past her saying '' sorry mam ... wrong house '' before hopping off down the road .

Now it could have being a lot worse , he could have being a nutter with a knife but apart from the shock , what surprised her was this guy was well dressed in a suit and overcoat . So Gardai were notified and it seems a few of these well dressed guys were noticed sizing up houses in the neighbourhood the previous day

A combination of house alarm ,double glazing ,security lights and a good guard dog helps deter but just as importantly residents who can look out and keep an eye on each others property, be it strangers or commercial vans showing up outside the house , does help and make a difference . No place is 100% safe from burglars , specialy the oppurtunists but the harder we make it for them less chance of it happenning .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

WindSock wrote: »
    How dismissive of someone who had a gut feeling something wasn't right. I've heard a lot more 'nonsense' before.

Thanks, hey, maybe it was nonsense but I wasn't going to respond to that one myself. Like I admitted, I was way too attached to my belongings then. If it happened now, I'd just cash the insurance cheque and get on with it:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No. No home is ever fully protected from illegal entry but I've done my best to ensure wife, kids, etc is safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I shared a house with three others in about 2002 I think it was and we were broken in to. We had a house alarm, but we couldn't activate it when we were in the house because we couldn't turn off the motion sensors.

Anyhow they went through EVERYTHING, took the video player, videos, cd player anything they could get their hands on. They went through coat pockets, all coffee jars, the clothes in the utility room everything to scrape a bit of mangey money together :mad:

I woke up about 6am and went downstairs and I saw the sitting room had been ransacked looked up at the kitchen door, the light was turned off. My feeling was, and still is, that they were in the kitchen and had the light off so I wouldn't see them. We all used to hang our keys by the front door, so I grabbed all the keys ran upstairs, got the other girls and by the time we went back down they were gone.

The only advice I would give anyone is to remove everything from view of the kitchen windows (or any downstairs window to the back of the house) don't leave bank statements or anything like that lying around and take your car keys/mobile anything of value upstairs with you when you're going to bed. They will take anything that's worth a bit of money and will go through everything to find it. Don't hide money in drawers or coffee jars, because that's the first place they'll look.

Sorry for the long post :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

I used to live in Inchicore and break-ins were a monthly experience. We were vandalised constantly, burgled between 8-20 times a year, and had 9 cars stolen in 8 years. Then I moved to Clondalkin, was only burgled once in 6 years. Haven't been burgled where I am now (Rathmines) or when I lived in Blackrock, although apparently the place I'm in now was robbed about a year ago.

Edit: Oh yeah, our house was petrol bombed twice in Inchicore, and the house was burned out the year after we left (left due to crime). The cops never once did anything. Sometimes we'd call them to say we were in the process of being robbed, with scumbags in our kitchen, and they'd arrive 9 hours later to tell us there was nothing they could do.

• Moderators Posts: 52,294 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

The family house got broken into when I would have been around 14.

They stole a small lock box that my dad had in his room. I'll never forget him having to tell us that 4 personal letters written to me and my siblings by my mam on her deathbed was in it.

He'd been keeping them and was planning to give them to us on each of our 18th birthdays.

There isn't any painful enough I could wish on those f*cks that stole that box. :mad::mad::mad:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭eoinbn

Sorta...

Our old home was 'robbed' one evening. We had moved to the house next door some 10 years earlier so all that was left was some old furniture which they still felt was worth stealing. My father was out for a walk and spotted a lovely traveller standing outside the house but just walked by and pretended as if he didn't suspect anything. A few of us went over, armed with shotguns, to see what they were doing. At this stage they had taken a table and chairs and had a few other things prepped to take so we decided to wait for them. Luckily for them they didn't return- maybe they noticed that everything they took was full of woodworm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

koth wrote: »

They stole a small lock box that my dad had in his room. I'll never forget him having to tell us that 4 personal letters written to me and my siblings by my mam on her deathbed was in it.

He'd been keeping them and was planning to give them to us on each of our 18th birthdays.

There isn't any painful enough I could wish on those f*cks that stole that box. :mad::mad::mad:

That is truly awful. Heartbreaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I used to live in Inchicore and break-ins were a monthly experience. We were vandalised constantly, burgled between 8-20 times a year, and had 9 cars stolen in 8 years. Then I moved to Clondalkin, was only burgled once in 6 years. Haven't been burgled where I am now (Rathmines) or when I lived in Blackrock, although apparently the place I'm in now was robbed about a year ago.

Edit: Oh yeah, our house was petrol bombed twice in Inchicore, and the house was burned out the year after we left (left due to crime). The cops never once did anything. Sometimes we'd call them to say we were in the process of being robbed, with scumbags in our kitchen, and they'd arrive 9 hours later to tell us there was nothing they could do.

we were living in Kilmainham when we were broken into...gardai knew exactly who it was...nowt was done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Biggins wrote: »
    No. No home is ever fully protected from illegal entry but I've done my best to ensure wife, kids, etc is safe.
    You just have to make sure your house is less appealing than your neighbour's :)

Big houses and places on their own walled plot of land tend to be most at risk - not because those inside are rich, but because there's less chance of being spotted messing around.

Last place I lived in, was in a maze of housing estates. My housemate forgot his keys and his mobile one night and spent 5 hours hanging around outside waiting for me to come home. While he tried to break in, a neighbour called the Gardai who came around and had a chat, but wouldn't give him a hand getting in. :D

My current house really has only one way in - the front door. All the other windows/entrances are at least 10 feet from the ground with no easy way to climb up or hang on. Never been even the slightest incident with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

koth wrote: »

This thread is sapping my faith in humanity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Nope, never.

No idea why, but at a guess its because I'd be very well known about the area - as would be my dogs, a Pitbull and a Staffordshire Bull Terrier.

My Staff is a softie, but Richo the 'Pit would go through concrate walls to get at an intruder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭eoinbn

we were living in Kilmainham when we were broken into...gardai knew exactly who it was...nowt was done

There most be some rule that if a cop arrests someone for robbery then that cop gets robbed!

A friends diesel tank has been robbed a few times, as has a lot people near his home. One day he returns home to find them loading up their van with 5 gallon drums from his tank. He rings our useless men in blue, locks them into the yard and waits for the cops to arrive. The guys see him locking the gate and just continue to fill away!! Cops turn up, take the two travellers names lets them off WITH the diesel!! €500 down the drain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Hogzy wrote: »
    Never (Touch wood!!!touches penis)

1. I live at the end of a cul de sac so that in itself is a deterrent.
    2. I have a dog that looks like a Wolf crossed with a polar bear (Samoyed)
    3. We have 3 security lights around our house
    4.Light is always left on at night time.
    5. House is always occupied during the day bar for maybe an hour or two.
    Think this is probably the reason we have never had an intruder so far!

What Hours would they be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Oh yeah, they knew who it was. Actually come to think of it, two of the likeliest perps recently went to jail for murdering a man in front of his two children.
    Koth wrote:

There isn't any painful enough I could wish on those f*cks that stole that box.

My deepest condolences. Although nothing of that value was taken from me, a number of extremely important objects given to me by dead relatives have been stolen, so I understand somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Skinfull

yep. one sunday night the house in college was broken into. We had **** all to steal so they trashed the place. Got away with a jar of pennies, a gameboy pocket and a jacket. *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

My family home used to get a lot of attention from thieves of all descriptions. My mum arrived home one day to catch two guys working on the lock on the shed at the back of the house with a jimmy bar, they scarpered pretty quickly luckily enough.
    We also got people stealing our heating oil constantly. The baxtards even injured the family dog, kicked him in the face leaving him blind while they were at it :(

The most recent one was in a house share in Dublin about 2 years ago, where me and the lads I lived with were away for a night. When we came back to the house we found the locks on two of the front windows broken in, and mucky footseps throught the house, but nothing was taken. Nothing seemed to be touched at all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No, but I've always had dogs. Big aggressive territorial dogs. Once many moons ago a junkie tried to get through a side door. He succeeded, but then faced my 10 stone hound who feeling cornered lashed out with a single "warning" exploratory bite. Got him in the wrist. Found out from the cops the wrist was so badly crushed they had to pin it in one position. He was a good dog that one.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

one of our sheds was broken into back in november and we know that it was planned as they snapped the lock off

they took a pair of glasses, the door off a broken wash machine, and very sentimental collection of approx 80 - 100 old newspapers but left all my tools,nudey books and kids old beanos :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

one of our sheds was broken into back in november and we know that it was planned as they snapped the lock off

they took a pair of glasses, the door off a broken wash machine, and very sentimental collection of approx 80 - 100 old newspapers
    but left all my tools,nudey books and kids old beanos :confused::confused::confused:

I can only guess that they needed the glasses to see so they could make a paper mache washing machine. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wibbs wrote: »
    No, but I've always had dogs. Big aggressive territorial dogs. Once many moons ago a junkie tried to get through a side door. He succeeded, but then faced my 10 stone hound who feeling cornered lashed out with a single "warning" exploratory bite. Got him in the wrist. Found out from the cops the wrist was so badly crushed they had to pin it in one position. He was a good dog that one.

10 stone!? What breed? Whatever it is I want one of they're breeding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

No, thankfully. Good security system, someone nearly always being in the house etc. means that it is unlikely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

yes, last time was in January 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

10 stone!? What breed? Whatever it is I want one of they're breeding

i have a boxer cross mastiff, hes 1 y.o and 35kg plus I have read that they can get to ten stone. i cant weight him anymore as my scales doesnt go high enough (me + doggie)

he is a dote though and would melt the heart of any boogerman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I am 20 stone of mainly muscle, I think this plays a part in keeping the bastards off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

no but somone tried and quickly fled, closley followed by my father with a shotgun :)

two travellers had a screw drive in by the lock, when we pulled up, my dad blocked them in, so they fled on foot, stupidly. we rang the gardai (fookin half hour to arive) and my dad shot a few shots above their heads as they ran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Twice, like 10 years ago though.

Worse ever was though our apartment being robbed on the second day of the holiday 4 years iirc, c*nts ripped the safe off the wall and got away with about with a crazy amount of cash (few grand) and mp3's, etc...