Clamper's, have you been donet?

• 29-04-2010 11:34PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

I'm sure there's one somewhere on the boards, but here goes.

I was listening to Joe Duffy today, and the clamper's had struck another low.

Two OAP's in a Waterford Hospital disability car park, with an up to date wheelchair sticker on the dash board. Seemingly the clamper done this old guy of 72years for having his driving side wheels in a yellow box. He was waiting 90 minutes and would have to pay €100 to have the clamp removed. His wife was in the Diabetis clinic for a check up. What a load of clamper's?

Have you been done by this hit and run villains?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'm a part-time clamper.

One time I was sitting in my van eating my breakfast roll when I see this woman pull up in an SUV, She put on her hazards and ran into an office building....well, I never moved so fast in my life.

She was out in 2 minutes and I was back in my van, it was hilarious her trying to drive off. The she see's the clamp. She rang me and I get out and tell her I'm sorry there's nothing I can do she will have to pay the fine.

Not bad I think, €100 for 2 minutes work...low cut top too, jaysus, I rubbed one out when I got back in the van.

My job is justifiable I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭lilblackdress

I'm a part-time clamper.

One time I was sitting in my van eating my breakfast roll when I see this woman pull up in an SUV, She put on her hazards and ran into an office building....well, I never moved so fast in my life.

She was out in 2 minutes and I was back in my van, it was hilarious her trying to drive off. The she see's the clamp. She rang me and I get out and tell her I'm sorry there's nothing I can do she will have to pay the fine.

Not bad I think, €100 for 2 minutes work...low cut top too, jaysus, I rubbed one out when I got back in the van.

My job is justifiable I think.

:eek::eek::eek::eek: but i did giggle a lil....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I wish we were like the French where they feck up the clamps. I remember hearing of a chap who used to go around and pry the clamp off your car for a few bob. We need more entrepreunur entrepon bright young business people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

Havent been clamped myself but I heard that on the radio, what a bunch a sick ***s, have they no shame? That guy was just an easy target, far too frail to defend himself so he'd to borrow the 100 to release his car. An absolute discrase :mad:

Sorry, havent been robbed..sorry "clamped" yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

We need to clamp teh clampers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

After reading the title, I really want a donut :(

minidazzle - was she parked in a dangerous spot, blocking traffic or what was the situation? just out of interest?

Some people do diserve to be clamped but i also see a fair bit of unnessesary clamping about the place, even cars blocking emergancy exits, makes no sence half the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

fletch... wrote: »
    minidazzle - was she parked in a dangerous spot, blocking traffic or what was the situation? just out of interest?

Some people do diserve to be clamped but i also see a fair bit of unnessesary clamping about the place, even cars blocking emergancy exits, makes no sence half the time.

Zoom.... what was that flying over your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Zoom.... what was that flying over your head?

Another crushed empty can of dutch onto the pile! :D
    anyways back to the clamping!

Just editing to say we should also have towing here, like i said above why lock a car into a bad spot until they can pay up and get out of the way, tow the idiot instead!

Stinicker wrote: »

Have you got one in English?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Have you got one in English?

Note to self: watch videos first before posting them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

squod wrote: »
    Wha language is dah?

Dunno. Arabic? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

fletch... wrote: »

Nah, just in front of the building, there she was encroaching like 3 inches on the small of the step, not dangerous, but clampable. It's a recession, I need all the money I can get!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yes. I bitched for a while, then realised it was my fault for parking illegally and it could have been avoided... then got on with my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I got a ticket recently, I paid for the parking and displayed the ticket, but it seems that the monkeys working that day left their brains at home. I read the fine, read my parking ticket and ask myself "what in the fook..."

So I wrote them a letter, so I was being a right cnut about it, but what do you think? I didn't get a reply yet, but if I get a court summons I am going to be pretty pissed off.

These tosspots don't have a number to ring them, you have to mail them. The number they give is automated and I could not get through to a real person to find out wtf they were doing on the day.

To whom it may concern,

I write to you with reference to a parking ticket which I received in Greystones on the 12th of April 2010. I am somewhat confused as I have paid for my parking for the location. I arrived back at my car, (registration number: ** ** ****), before my ticket expired to find a fine under my window wiper. As you can see from the sheet I attached to this letter, the time which I have received the fine is before the expiry date of my pay and display parking ticket.

Could you please get in contact with me to resolve this dispute?
    I will make it aware that your mistake has caused me an inconvenience, to say the least, although I do realise that the wardens are only human. As Alexander Pope once said “to err is human, to forgive is divine”.

I would like to take this opportunity to compliment the female traffic warden who was on duty on the 12th of April 2010 in Greystones. She was extremely helpful, showed a great sense of empathy and was a pleasure to deal with.

You can contact me on *** ******* (preferred method of correspondence), or you can E-mail me at *************@gmail.com (I do not wish this email address added to any mailing list).

I would appreciate it if you could cover expenses incurred as a result of this fault.

Yours sincerely,

Either way, fcuk them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

I was listening to Joe Duffy today

I stopped reading here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭daca88

fair enough some old guy with a sick wife got clamped but would the first thing you do call the ncps to release the car and not wait over an hour to ring joe duffy and complain???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Does phoning Joe Duffy about these unfair charges ever change anything anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Perriers Bounty summed up clampers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

It is hackney after all (shoreditch high street if i'm not mistaken)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Dudess wrote: »
    Does phoning Joe Duffy about these unfair charges ever change anything anyway?

Causes awareness I suppose... which is better than nothing I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭ROTTING CHRIST

I've successfully removed one of the chain ones from my friends car (dublin city centre), with a bolt cutter. Just left it there and drove off, nothing happened, this was about 10 months ago now. I'd do it again too, they'll have to take me to court to get any money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭ROTTING CHRIST

I'd also be fairly sure (never done it tho) how to remove the non-chain clamps (with the 3 clasps over the wheel) by letting all the air out of the tyre + jacking up the car and it just wriggles off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

As far as i know there is no legislation regulating private clampers in Ireland so declamp away if you are clamped by them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

WindSock wrote: »
    I wish we were like the French where they feck up the clamps. I remember hearing of a chap who used to go around and pry the clamp off your car for a few bob. We need more entrepreunur entrepon bright young business people like that.

that's illegal but covering the lock in dog **** and abusing the clampers isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

Them yellow boxes are pretty important in hospitals areas. Yer man should not have parked in them , even a small bit.