The Great Limerick Run, 2 May 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

MarieC wrote: »
    Hows the calf RedB?

Still acting up. Going for physio again tomorrow morning. Tried 4M yesterday and it fought me every step of the way but the run may have helped as it actually seems a bit better after. I'm still expecting to run but thats mainly based on denial and pigheadedness :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

RedB wrote: »
    Still acting up. Going for physio again tomorrow morning. Tried 4M yesterday and it fought me every step of the way but the run may have helped as it actually seems a bit better after. I'm still expecting to run but thats mainly based on denial and pigheadedness :).

nothing like a good dose of both to overcome adversity and obstacles and gates! :)

I use weleda massage oil on my calves and other sore muscles alot. It has calendula in it - works wonders for muscle pain and tenderness. If you haven't come across it it may help you. Can get in any chemist.

whens your last run before sunday?

Well, 4M was my total for last week so it depends on what the physio says. I'll probably try to squeeze in 6M runs on Tues + Thurs mornings as I've to go to Wexford Thurs + Fri.

Far from ideal but needs must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,340 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Spot the mountain runner :D
    As regards destroying your running rhythm I must admit it didn't bother me as much as I thought it would when I ran the bulk of the course on a 20 miler last month but everyone is different. I had been anxious about it but now I've just come to accept it as a quirk of the course similar to hills or headwinds on other courses (which of course Limerick won't have ;)).
    QUOTE]

I've found a way of getting thru the gates with a minimum break in stride and momentum...it won't make any sense if i write it here (as I'm useless at painting pictures with words), but I don't think people will be held up as badly as they think. And I think it's worth sarcificing a few seconds to have the pleasure of running the couple of miles along the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

just rang thomond park there, the race expo is on there between 2-7 on friday, and 10-7 on saturday. I have emailed the organisers now re. collecting race packs for friends. Will let ye know response to that.

As a good Leinster man, I've never dared show my face in Thomond Park before. Does anyone know if there will be parking available at the ground for the expo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

I actually deleted my posting because from 2min on the internet I found conflicting times for the expo - see attachment that says friday (2-8) and then saturday (9-6). not that much difference but still.......... I've attached the brochure for all the stuff on this weekend so people can have a look-see for themselves. Should be a cracker of a weekend!

As for parking, not so sure on this so I'll say no more.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭PIORUN

Just so the out-of-towners can see what we've been on about. These are the areas that the route goes through between 10-12M.

There may be congestion here and they can't be temporarily moved as I had hoped previously.

More photos here : http://www.flickr.com/photos/redmondb/
    Good pictures RedB, I run the canal and riverbank regularly and last week the big gate by Richmond was open, so hopefully that will be one less to worry about on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

There may be congestion here and they can't be temporarily moved as I had hoped previously.

Great pics RedB - thanks for that.

If some of these gates are likely to cause a complete stop or be a health and safety risk.....how difficult would it be erect a bit of scaffolding and create a ramp over the obstacles? A bit of an unplanned 'hill' but less likely to cause tailbacks or injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭PIORUN

lecheile wrote: »
    Great pics RedB - thanks for that.

If some of these gates are likely to cause a complete stop or be a health and safety risk.....how difficult would it be erect a bit of scaffolding and create a ramp over the obstacles? A bit of an unplanned 'hill' but less likely to cause tailbacks or injuries.

can't see that happening , would be far easier just to get an angle grinder to the gates, hopefully they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 OdettiSpaghetti

PIORUN wrote: »
    can't see that happening , would be far easier just to get an angle grinder to the gates, hopefully they do.

I like your style ... ha ha ... ooops more slaps on the wrist ...

LMFAO !!!

Have fun and see you there, personally I think the best way over the gates is on the backs of your fellow competitors :D

Daithi BC wrote: »
    As a good Leinster man, I've never dared show my face in Thomond Park before. Does anyone know if there will be parking available at the ground for the expo?

There's not a lot of parking in Thomand Park at the best of times so I'd imagine you'll have to park in one of the estates across the road. Similar to RDS / Donneybrook in that regard ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Hows the calf RedB?

Hey redb, I'm no medical expert but have you had gate analysis done.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Effin Runner

Might be worth checking out LIT next door to Thomond Park for parking. Hopefully the college will leave its car park available for the expo. as it is an ideal location. Best of luck to all on the 2nd! See you all there!

asimonov wrote: »

Arf ... arf ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Cartman78 wrote: »
    I've found a way of getting thru the gates with a minimum break in stride and momentum...it won't make any sense if i write it here (as I'm useless at painting pictures with words), but I don't think people will be held up as badly as they think. And I think it's worth sarcificing a few seconds to have the pleasure of running the couple of miles along the bank.

I've been lurking here for a while, watching this thread really with dismay. I realise that these gates may be taken out for the race, but that isn't clear. I thought that this race was supposed to have AIMS accreditation - I can't see that happening if there are significant obstacles on the course. In addition I can't find the AIMS logo/info on the website.

Does anyone know if the roads are going to be closed? Some, all? If no answers are forthcoming from the organisers, someone else (I'm not running in Limerick) might like to contact the City Council and see what road closure orders, if any, are in place...and post the response. The Gardai can also close roads for short periods (2 hours I think), without a road closure order, but no way can a marathon be run on that basis, even on a rolling closure basis.

I'm very interested in seeing how this one pans out!

edit: The only Irish marathons listed in the current AIMS calendar are Galway City 50k (Aug 29th) and Dublin City Marathon (Oct 25th)

asimonov wrote: »

:D Ooooooh - that's cold! (too cold...Ice Ice baby). You should end up at this gate for that comment.
    JolietPrisonGate.jpg

I've had analysis leading to paralysis and not enough running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

JolietPrisonGate.jpg

Is that the finish line? <runs for cover>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Bigron78

Been trying to contact the Great Limerick Run office all morning. Going straight to voice-mail. I guess they must be busy? :rolleyes:
    Anybody else try calling them?

:D Ooooooh - that's cold! (too cold...Ice Ice baby). You should end up at this gate for that comment.
    JolietPrisonGate.jpg

I've had analysis leading to paralysis and not enough running.

You lads are really cooking now ... You think this gate is at Mile 25 ... ha ha

:p

Bigron78 wrote: »
    Been trying to contact the Great Limerick Run office all morning. Going straight to voice-mail. I guess they must be busy? :rolleyes:
    Anybody else try calling them?

I think they are afraid ... very afraid ;)

Bigron78 wrote: »

Must have been because I was in there ;) (during lunchtime anyway). They're pretty busy all right.

Saw the big route map they have there and satisfied myself on a few issues.

It doesn't go onto the riverbank at the UL boathouse so that avoids one issue. They do go through the adjacent Council site which I'll check later re access onto the riverbank.
    Also there'll be no criss-crossing of the route. The 21-22M section goes thru an underpass (past the Sin Bin) while the 25-26M section passes above it. The HM and 10K merge onto the Full route.

There will be no water bottles despite sponsorship by Ballygowan. It'll all be in cups.

The RD was out so I've to email the guy I spoke with my gate pictures so he can check their status with him. I've also emailed the Council directly on this.

I queried the type of Lucosade Gel (Iso?) and they're checking that. (Just checked Lucosade website myself and no Iso gel there - orange flavour full strength only described).

You're a legend RedB. To be fair, the race organizers should be paying you, as you're doing their work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

Both my mate and i did the paris marathon 2 weeks ago, we are also doing the Limerick full (Fundraising for Temple Street childrens hospital). I get the feeling I'm going to be right at the back of the pack!! anyone else going for a slow 4:30++? (im afraid of being lonely!!)
    Mark

You're a legend RedB. To be fair, the race organizers should be paying you, as you're doing their work.

Hear Hear KC,

Thanks RedB, much appreciate the information and attention to detail.

They dont have to give out Gels as long as we get isotonic drinks - that will suffice but its awkward running with powder to mix your own especially if you are only getting cups, the volume will be incorrect.

I cant see how we will cross onto the path if we dont go thru the rowing club ... its the only logical point ... the other is past the pump house and there are deep ditches on both sides. Also the 2nd bridge arrives near the rowing club and I understand we are crossing the old black bridge.

Do you know if we are crossing the new bridge ... if so ... its going to be hilarious, as its a semi-suspension ... good luck to those with dodgy tummies ...

Wots that you say ? Stop adding to the problems ... :p This is going to be fun, and as I was planning a PB I am giving up on it and Im running it like a fun run ... ha ha

Thank you again for sorting all these queries out. What group are you pacing?

mark_jmc wrote: »
    Both my mate and i did the paris marathon 2 weeks ago, we are also doing the Limerick full (Fundraising for Temple Street childrens hospital). I get the feeling I'm going to be right at the back of the pack!! anyone else going for a slow 4:30++? (im afraid of being lonely!!)
    Mark

Ag man ... dont worry I will also be at the back ... you bring the champers and I will bring the lunch and we can stop halfway and have a civilized picnic ... ;)

Good luck and see you there ... it might help to put on the back of your T-shirt
    'Cant run faster - Just fin Paris'
    'please donate fresh legs'

Condo131 wrote: »
    I've been lurking here for a while, watching this thread really with dismay. I realise that these gates may be taken out for the race, but that isn't clear. I thought that this race was supposed to have AIMS accreditation - I can't see that happening if there are significant obstacles on the course. In addition I can't find the AIMS logo/info on the website.

Does anyone know if the roads are going to be closed? Some, all? If no answers are forthcoming from the organisers, someone else (I'm not running in Limerick) might like to contact the City Council and see what road closure orders, if any, are in place...and post the response. The Gardai can also close roads for short periods (2 hours I think), without a road closure order, but no way can a marathon be run on that basis, even on a rolling closure basis.

I'm very interested in seeing how this one pans out!

edit: The only Irish marathons listed in the current AIMS calendar are Galway City 50k (Aug 29th) and Dublin City Marathon (Oct 25th)

Tis a 3 ring circus and the circus master has taken a vacation .. indefinitely ... HA HA HA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Has anyone had the conf email yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Just had a long chat with John the Race Director.

He assures me that the gates on the riverbank route will be removed. The riverbank is narrow (approx 1m wide) and the gates cannot be totally removed but they will be as far as is possible. Access will probably be single file but current registration count is ~800 and teh riverbank section is a fair distance in so he's pretty confident that it won't be a significant issue. Personally I would expect some congestion on that section but it won't be a killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Great things come in pairs;)

Confirmation emails should be going out in 24/48 hours.

Four gates will be taken out, tightest spot will allow one or two abreast, but there should be no real hinderance.

He's going to email me a full course map, I'll link for anyone who wants (don't know if this will be better than what's on website, wait and see)

Drinks in cups. Water stations, plus Locuzade Sport at 9, 15 miles, Lucozade gels at 12 and 18.

About 800 entered in marathon.

80 gardai on course. Rolling road closures throughout. First 3 miles at start totally closed. Other streets will be half coned off, using bus lanes etc. Finish area on O'Connell St will be closed throughout.

He said he is swamped with stuff at the moment, will try and answer the (long) list of questions I emailed, but said that may not happen either.

Great news fellas. Thanks for going to the trouble. Getting warm fuzzy glow now (could be the beer).