Abandoned house - entitlement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Noreen1 wrote: »
    I wouldn't have accepted 10 times its value, just to see the look on his arrogant, obnoxious face. :D:D

Noreen

silly that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Keano!

tororosso wrote: »
    As far as the thread title goes it appears that you are looking to gain some foothold in terms of ownership so I really doubt anybody is going to do up a house just for the fun of it some summer :rolleyes:
    I can't believe some of the replies on here. If it is not the OP's property and not the OP's land then it is none of the OP's business to even modify said property. How is this not breaking and entering? I highly doubt that this house is not owned by somebody somewhere..
    The whole squatters rights issue is cynical and tacky. Is this a wind up?

We have homes of our own. We planned having it as a place to;

A) Meet up
    B) Spend the odd night with a few friends
    C) A place to get away from any hassle

Its not like we plan living there 24/7
    DavyD_83 wrote: »
    Sure why not? As far as I can see from anything the OP has written that is exactly what he is after. He has said he would happily clear out if legit owner told him to and doesn't seem to have any intention of causing any damage. I may be wrong but I got the impression from first couple of posts that they have no intention of living there, although everybody else seems to be viewing it differently...
    A few years back, I would have been willing to do exactly the same as the OP, putting a bit of effort in to have a decent spot for chilling, drinking etc.
    as long as the OP doesn't start knocking walls or causing any damage, no harm done.
    My only real warning would be that if you do get it somewhat sorted be careful who you tell about it/how visible the changes are, or sooner or later somebody will just wreck the place...

You've got my thinking line exactly. We don't plan in knocking down a door let alone a wall so the structure is not going to change at all. We're even going to be going to the DIY shop in a few days to buy floor boards to put down in one room. I want to paint one or two rooms, clean the carpets etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

Elevator wrote: »
    silly that

Not really. It's not for sale, therefore, it makes no difference how much is offered. If I were considering selling it, then it would be silly.

Noreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

This reminds me of that story that was in the news a few months back of a guy coming back from Oz to his house on an island off Donegal I think?
    Some fookin Hotel owner knocked it down and made a carpark out of it! Yes it was run down and not lived in for years but what difference does that make?

Its not yours - leave it alone and mind your own business! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭swe_fi

Keano! wrote: »
    me and a mate found this boarded up bunglaow in a field about 2 miles from the nearest village. not on any main routes and pretty out of the way. we've done some research n it and found out that the owner died 12 years ago. the house is pretty run down but we got inside and the bones of it are there. its livable if we spruced it up a bit.

thing is, are we allowed to do this or is it completely illegal? we know the man whose name is associated with the house is dead and there's no sign of family in the country.

we were thinking of un-boarding it, weeding the drive, painting the outside and then over the summer do it all up. there's no electricity or payments to be done on it like that.

views? we don't plan selling it though, more...keeping it for ourselves. :o

Do it. You are a hero for even thinking of this. What can go wrong really? A tactic that I would use (this will only work if the locals do not know you) maybe just to suss out the neighbours is to

a) Lay in hiding with binoculars so you can see the neighboring houses and habitants for like 24-48 hours - bring a friend that remember their faces

b) Ask him to at a suitable date go down to the local pub to find out what family owns the house - preferably some background as well here and a loose family tree and status / location of the family - maybe you can disqualify the idea based on info here but i doubt it - maybe you don't even have to go to c) below...

c) A couple of days later, you arrive with this knowledge and (casually) "plant the seed" that you are a distant relation to the family and that you are basically just having a look around the village before you start doing the house up a bit. Make sure to target the close(st) neighbors

d) Go about your business, now you can even be legit about parking your car etc there. If you are only there occasionally, people won't even think twice about you

I think if you just turn up, there is always 1 asoshle that feel you cannot have it just because...you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

tororosso wrote: »
    If it is not the OP's property and not the OP's land then it is none of the OP's business to even modify said property. How is this not breaking and entering? I highly doubt that this house is not owned by somebody somewhere..
    The whole squatters rights issue is cynical and tacky. Is this a wind up?

While i see your point its very clear you have no clue about Irish law. You should read up on adverse possession.

OP just to note that contrary to the other posts you perhaps should build some sort of permanent structure there such as a shed or something. As far as adverse possession is concerned, you need to show that you actually intended to stay there and gain ownership so you need to show you have invested time and effort into it. Cutting the grass and painting a wall would not be enough!

Also i need to double check my notes but i think the period is 8 years and not 12 years if i remember correctly. But all it takes is the rightful owner to "pop his head over a wall" in those 8 years and your continuous reqired period is broken!

But I would go for it absolutely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

king-stew wrote: »
    While i see your point its very clear you have no clue about Irish law. You should read up on adverse possession.

OP just to note that contrary to the other posts you perhaps should build some sort of permanent structure there such as a shed or something. As far as adverse possession is concerned, you need to show that you actually intended to stay there and gain ownership so you need to show you have invested time and effort into it. Cutting the grass and painting a wall would not be enough!

Also i need to double check my notes but i think the period is 8 years and not 12 years if i remember correctly. But all it takes is the rightful owner to "pop his head over a wall" in those 8 years and your continuous reqired period is broken!

But I would go for it absolutely!

You are right in as much as you need to show that you have taken the property as your own (fencing is the best thing you can do)
    But it is 12 years and 30 years with regard to state owned land which the OP thinks this is

Its also worth noting that it isn't actually down to a person claiming a right to the property. It's actually the original owner not excercising his right to the property and its seen that after 12/30 years if they haven't done so, tey have extinguished their lawful rights (which is why it's the statute of limitations that governs it). After the original owners rights have been extinguished, the rights pass to the current occupier which is invariably those who have occupied it for the past 12/30 years

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

A) Meet up
    B) Spend the odd night with a few friends
    C) A place to get away from any hassle

A= Drinkin'
    B= Ridin'
    C= Hidin' from da gards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

All three, excellent reasons.

Be warned though, OP, this stuff ended badly for Ned Kelly.

But it is 12 years and 30 years with regard to state owned land which the OP thinks this is

Right you are, must be thinking about something else with the 8 years.

So with notes in hand:

A non-owner can acquire land by deliberately taking land he does not own. (seems harsh but prevents land becoming unmarketable)

3 things required: (s14 statute of limitations 1957).

1. Must be in possession of the land.
    2. Possession must be adverse.
    3. Must be discontinuance of the landowners use and enjoyment of the land.

You must intent to "out" the true owner. you must intend to exclude the whole world including the true owner. (known as animus possidendi).

Theres a case here where someone built a fence and planted some shrubs and walkways in the garden and that was enough.

Theres more to it depending on who the land is registered to etc etc

Noreen1 wrote: »
    Not really. It's not for sale, therefore, it makes no difference how much is offered. If I were considering selling it, then it would be silly.

Noreen

Then again, would you have wanted him as a neighbour! NOT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

gnxx wrote: »
    Make sure you keep good records as to the expenses related to the upkeep, bills paid etc. To prove the time spent in the property stuff like ESB bills etc will be worthwhile. Make sure that any water charges etc are paid. Take photographs and date them.

If somebody arrives at the door claiming ownership, I'd tell them you bought the property legitimately and wait for them to take a legal action. Make sure that you have the ESB bills etc for when you call the Gardai to have them removed from your property ;)

Also keep it reasonably tight it terms of who you tell. Other parties may try and evict you if they find out your plans.

As a final point, I hope this works out for you. In the best case, you get a house for free. Worst case, you pay maintenance etc on a property but have no rent. Best of luck.

Or, and here's a novel idea. That crusty, lazy, self entitled, thief could try getting a job, earning some cash, applying for a mortgage and BUYING THEIR OWN FRIGGIN' HOUSE!

Sheesh, the nerve of some people. That's the typical Irish "ah, sure if ya can git away wit it why not?" attitude all over.
    It's no wonder Seanie Quinn and Michael Fingers-in-de-till and Bertie BuyUsaBassWillYa got away with the crap that they did for so long, thanks to the nod and wink gombeen stupidity on display here

conorhal wrote: »
    Or, and here's a novel idea. That crusty, lazy, self entitled, thief could try getting a job, earning some cash, applying for a mortgage and BUYING THEIR OWN FRIGGIN' HOUSE!

Sheesh, the nerve of some people. That's the typical Irish "ah, sure if ya can git away wit it why not?" attitude all over.
    It's no wonder Seanie Quinn and Michael Fingers-in-de-till and Bertie BuyUsaBassWillYa got away with the crap that they did for so long, thanks to the nod and wink gombeen stupidity on display here

He already said he has a house!

Besides it allowed by irish law, now why do you think that would be??

If the property is someone elses they can easily claim it back, they have 12 years to do so!

If not, it keeps money in the land rather than allowing the land turn to wasteland!

king-stew wrote: »
    He already said he has a house!

Besides it allowed by irish law, now why do you think that would be??

If the property is someone elses they can easily claim it back, they have 12 years to do so!

If not, it keeps money in the land rather than allowing the land turn to wasteland!

Anyway unless NAMA gets 'em levelled, there will be plenty of empty abandoned houses around the country for the next couple of decades, after that they won't be worth squatting in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I think it sounds like the best fun ever!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭ItisintheSTARS

me and a mate found this boarded up bunglaow in a field about 2 miles from the nearest village. not on any main routes and pretty out of the way. we've done some research n it and found out that the owner died 12 years ago. the house is pretty run down but we got inside and the bones of it are there. its livable if we spruced it up a bit.

thing is, are we allowed to do this or is it completely illegal? we know the man whose name is associated with the house is dead and there's no sign of family in the country.

we were thinking of un-boarding it, weeding the drive, painting the outside and then over the summer do it all up. there's no electricity or payments to be done on it like that.

Go ahead ,but don't sell it for G..s sake.
    You will have somewhere good to live,and if an owner should turn up make a case for yourselves to at least stay until you have an alternative.
    They would be hard put in the climate of today to sell it at a good price.
    If you have good karma,and you pray really pray ,then you mught have it for a long time.
    It really works if you give something back ,that is prayer does.
    Bon Chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭ItisintheSTARS

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    so do I.Everything he said was 100% spot on.He just got a small bit carried away. Pat Kenny is as ignorant as they come off camera.Know a fella who installed his alarms and he told me what a prick he is.Do this.Do that like hes the queen of sheeba or something.He was doing an interview in Ennis before also and Im reliably informed that he took about 4 times what an average woman takes to get ready for a night out to plaster his ugly mug with make up so he could look normal on tv.TOSSER;)

Agree ,disgusting ,yuk. :eek:

So how are you getting on OP?

Is it haunted???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Merch

Sounds like you broke in? think you might find squatting rights wont apply if thats been the case

I don't see the problem at all. It's an old, abandoned house and it sounds like the fun of doing it up is what attracts OP. They said they won't be using it to live in, just hang out and stay at, sounds like an amazing idea to me. I'd love to do something like that if I found an old house in the country.

[quote=[Deleted User];66294386]I don't see the problem at all. It's an old, abandoned house and it sounds like the fun of doing it up is what attracts OP. They said they won't be using it to live in, just hang out and stay at, sounds like an amazing idea to me. I'd love to do something like that if I found an old house in the country.[/QUOTE]

Ok well pm me your address and the details of when you will be out, I'll just let myself in, you wont mind, it's just a bit of fun :)
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Merch wrote: »
    Ok well pm me your address and the details of when you will be out, I'll just let myself in, you wont mind, it's just a bit of fun :)
    There's a difference between an abandoned house and an occupied one you know...

phasers wrote: »
    There's a difference between an abandoned house and an occupied one you know...

Not if you had to break in to gain access, i.e. the owner of the property has boarded it up/locked it to keep it safe in their absence, obviously the rightful owner/s should keep an eye on it and the op doesn't sound like they are up to anything malicious, I'm just pointing out that if you had to break in to gain access then from what I have heard/know/read I wouldn't be so certain that squatters rights apply and just for the laurf it wouldn't be worth getting prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Mightymouse vs Dangermouse

tell me this lads, how did ye get on in th eend? I know a house hat is very similiar, bar the knocking idt down bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Go for it OP

There's a few empty houses around here belonging to the bank...mmm.....

*Rushes off to extend my property empire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

ah a zombie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Please Jebus, let them find a safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

tell me this lads, how did ye get on in th eend? I know a house hat is very similiar, bar the knocking idt down bit.

a house hat? like a roof? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

FatherLen wrote: »
    ah a zombie!

the thread or...... maybe thats why no one lives there then :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The OP probably doesn't have electricity, nevermind internet!