Anyone up for a riot?

• 24-04-2010 11:50AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭

Just seen on the RTÉ website, 10 people have stormed the Anglo Irish Bank head office, and got me thinking - how has there not been a riot in this country yet? With all the tens of billions of our money being wasted on propping up the banks, and just generally how much the government has f**ked up this country - is it not about time we had a proper riot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

Yeah, why not. Good for a laugh. Meet you's at the GPO,
    say 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yeah lets run around smashing the place up, that's how stuff gets fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Yes let's have one but I don't know how we are going to get people to join in - like you don't want to warn target before hand. So ringing Joe Duffy is out. So I suggest we start putting posters up in the dole office, health centres, Lidl and Aldi - no politicans are ever going to go there!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Jim236 wrote: »
    Just seen on the RTÉ website, 10 people have stormed the Anglo Irish Bank head office, and got me thinking - how has there not been a riot in this country yet? With all the tens of billions of our money being wasted on propping up the banks, and just generally how much the government has f**ked up this country - is it not about time we had a proper riot?
    Sounds like a surefire way to destroy what's left of the country's stability. Guess you're the type of person who think a group of people fighting each other on the street will magically solve our problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I concur, ill smash & you grab. How come no one predicted this riot:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I concur, ill smash & you grab. How come no one predicted this riot:rolleyes:
    These guys did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I predict no riot. I predict no riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

With the amount of people asking this I'm also surprised we haven't had one - how about instead of asking on Boards you all get together and do something instead of expecting others to?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Great plan. I'll braid my hair and put flowers in it, so when the police arrive I'll just look like a confused hippie that stumbled upon the riot.
    I too, am a smasher rather than a grabber so if there's room for one more I'll get my lump-hammer and head off to town now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

phasers wrote: »
    With the amount of people asking this I'm also surprised we haven't had one - how about instead of asking on Boards you all get together and do something instead of expecting others to?

Because no one has the balls and deep down they know it's an idiotic idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Lead the charge phasers, I'd follow you into the fire.

Needs more neck clocks. BOYYYEEEE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Posy wrote: »
    Great plan. I'll braid my hair and put flowers in it, so when the police arrive I'll just look like a confused hippie that stumbled upon the riot.
    I too, am a smasher rather than a grabber so if there's room for one more I'll get my lump-hammer and head off to town now. :)
    Looking like a hippy is guaranteed to get you few smacks of baton in a riot and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Lead the charge phasers, I'd follow you into the fire.
    This is madness!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

How many people are needed for a storm these days?

Just one weatherman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Must be the flouride levels in the water system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

assclowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Eccentric Property Developer Mick Wallace said much the same thing on Newstalk last week. That it was a surprise to him that people hadn't started overturning cars in the street in response to some of the crap that's been handed out lately. This was at the height of the Richie Boucher pension top-up scandal, which he has since defused by declining the payment.

My guess is that something like that will happen and it will eventually be sparked off my some comparitively innocuous gaff. Some utter gob****e, probably from Fianna Fail, will make some unbelievably crass comment on TV or in the Dail to the effect that things aren't so bad and we must continue to overpay those in power/business/civil service (TOP END ESPECIALLY) if we want to have the sort of country we all want to be proud of and something will just flip.

Somebody from the smart-ass "I know best, ye lot are all whinging pinkos who should shag off to Cuba" Charlie McCreevey tendency in the Warriors of Destiny.

That would be my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭smokie2008

I'm in ha ha,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'm 2 hours from Dublin, so listen ye get started and I'll bring up fresh reserves when ye get tired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'm 2 hours from Dublin, so listen ye get started and I'll bring up fresh reserves when ye get tired.

2 hours away in Sligo? Thank God for the roadbuilding that's happened in the last 13 years or you'd be far longer getting over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

coz nobody gives a damn what happens in the Republic, just don't mention the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I can't believe I'm actually replying on this thread.

Give it a rest. Throwing your toys out of the pram does a grand total of SFA.

If you want to do something about the way **** is happening, get up of your ass and either

1)find a way to fix ****
    2)speak to someone who has a way to fix ****

Just plain old "rioting" doesn't cut it, you look like a tit, people end up ignoring you and your "cause" because you look like a tit, and things go back to the way they alway were, only now you have yourself a criminal record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Of course not

We are Irish not Greek ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Of course not

We are Irish not Greek ;)

Do give us your wisdom on why the Greeks rioted (clue: because they wanted the government to keep spending at the ridiculous levels that got them in to he ****)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Five more than a shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Oh yes! Let's be more like the French! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jesus, for a horrible second I thought it was May 1st already! Nearly had a heart attack...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.