Whitney Houston - The O2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Ive genuinely no sympathy for people who are bitching or will bitch about the concert you couldnt pick up a newspaper for years without reading about her and Bobby being addicts. It was beyond public knowledge.

Imagine long term crack use affecting someone's voice. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭peckerhead

***NEWS JUST IN...***
    Whitney Houston travelled by ferry from the UK
    and arrived in Dublin yesterday, April 15th.
    When Whitney was made aware of the airport
    closures due to the volcanic ash, she made the decision to drive
    from Birmingham to Dublin via the ferry,
    so that she would not disappoint her Irish fans.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭GoldenTickets

peckerhead wrote: »
    ***NEWS JUST IN...***
    Whitney Houston travelled by ferry from the UK
    and arrived in Dublin yesterday, April 15th.
    When Whitney was made aware of the airport
    closures due to the volcanic ash, she made the decision to drive
    from Birmingham to Dublin via the ferry,

:(

Bring the pain! Herself and Aiken are definitely trying to swerve having to issue refunds at all costs. Should be hilarious to watch :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Maybe she'll flip out on stage and punch Ronan Keating in the face or something. That would go a long way... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Maybe she'll flip out on stage and punch Ronan Keating in the face or something. That would go a long way... :)

i'd gladly pay €100 to see that:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 JM1971

What a waste of time and money never again....
    I went saturday night to the 02 dublin and it was crap.
    I feel sorry for Whitney to be honest she has lost it all.
    Whilst the Irish are vey good natured they were doing their best to encourage her all the way but during her I will always love you song she even turned the mike around to the crowd saying she would appreciate the help (am not joking). She was awful people did walk , a few heckled however most did try and encourage her but it was nothing short of a disaster. I heard loads of people giving out ..as she struggled to sing any song .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭McNuggy10

JM1971 wrote: »
    What a waste of time and money never again....
    I went saturday night to the 02 dublin and it was crap.
    I feel sorry for Whitney to be honest she has lost it all.
    Whilst the Irish are vey good natured they were doing their best to encourage her all the way but during her I will always love you song she even turned the mike around to the crowd saying she would appreciate the help (am not joking). She was awful people did walk , a few heckled however most did try and encourage her but it was nothing short of a disaster. I heard loads of people giving out ..as she struggled to sing any song .

Couldnt agree more, There were points were it felt so awkward when the crowd was silent and didnt have a clue what she was talking about.
    And as for her pointing the mic at us in the crowd, ok maybe its acceptable for one or two songs, but for feck sake, doing it for majority of the concert was unbelievable!!! pretty sure my mate who got me the ticket as a present paid for us to hear her sing and not us just sing back to her.
    I'm so disappointed like seriusly.. it was the most unusual, unpleasant, horrible depressing concert ive ever been to bar when she sang how will i know and I wanna dance with somebody because the upbeat tempo made the crowd actually get a chance to get up an dance rather than sit there in utter awe and shock at how spaced she is..
    And what was the deal with starting a song and walkin away for bouit 5 r 6 mins to fix her make up or hav a drink..
    Hope shes back on form for 2moro nights show .. shame people are having to leave mid way cos its an utter disgrace!

How the hell can her record label and manager do this to her and us the fee going public. It was a scam , I booked long before she appeared in Xfactor so I assumed she had come round . I sat there in shock and anticipation waiting on her to burst into a song but she just get rambling into talk similar to the teletubbies from years back....She is definetly off her head and what the hell was that all about starting a song stopping turning her back to us and going to put her make up on? She picked a child from the audience to give her goodies as she was not sitting with her mum at first I thought aah but then people beside me started shouting stop with the act...
    After ten minutes of that she left the stage got changed came back & started talking (mumbling) to the child again. I have never witnessed anything like it , shame on The 02, aiken promotions , ticketmaster ,Clive Davis & Sony... I hope she doesn't end up like her pal Michael Jackson who she paid tribute to at her concert. She had a huge picture of him & was mumbling I love you to him for what seemed like ages.........

Can we end the "I booked before the X-Factor" talking point. She was in the papers for over decade for smoking crack, what did you expect?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

rovert wrote: »
    Can we end the "I booked before the X-Factor" talking point. She was in the papers for over decade for smoking crack, what did you expect?

People are allowed to express their opinion if they wish to, what gets boring is when people keeping going on and on and on about the same thing but not actually contributing to a thread. I'd also advise you that the next post in this forum be on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

sounds like CRAP was going to go but after seeing the x factor I said know
    way not going to waste my hard earned money
    I saw Tina turner last year in the 02 she sang every note with power even at 70

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Orlski

I left after the 3rd song. She was dirt. So glad I didn't pay for that gig! her voice was totally gone. She'll never get it back.

lordgoat wrote: »
    People are allowed to express their opinion if they wish to, what gets boring is when people keeping going on and on and on about the same thing but not actually contributing to a thread. I'd also advise you that the next post in this forum be on topic.

Even if their opinion was ill informed or deluded? The dogs on the street knew about Whitney Houston. Her reality show a few years ago was shelved because of her drug use and how she conducted herself there was literally no useable footage that the production company could use. Concert promoters are the biggest hucksters and carnys in entertainment they'll promote anything which will make them money regardless of intrinsic quality of the performer they aren’t arbiters of quality. It is simply case of caveat emperor.

I like thousands of others gave the benefit of the doubt and it is your opinion as you appear to have a very large opinion of yourself (how many posts) that you must be right....someone who has an opinion on so many things obviously cannot get out much:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I like thousands of others gave the benefit of the doubt and it is your opinion as you appear to have a very large opinion of yourself (how many posts) that you must be right....someone who has an opinion on so many things obviously cannot get out much:)

the number of posts someone has, has nothing to do with their opinion of themselves.

Back on topic, whitney the o2 etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭musicmania

I am heading to see her tonight though at this stage I wish I wasn't. I go to alot of gigs and have never before felt like this. I couldn't care less about the money at this stage (though it would come in handy to pay for other gigs! :P) If it is as bad as everyone is saying Clive Davis and others close to her should hang their heads in shame. I can see why The O2 and Aiken couldn't care less about what state she is in, not that I agree with their money grabbing scruples but we did take a risk in buying the tickets so only have ourselves to blame. However Rovert I find your opinions very harsh and extremely set in your ways. People can change. I saw Whitneys interview on Oprah and she seemed ok. A bit mad maybe but not crazy and out of it like has being reported in some of her concert reviews. I think the main problem is she took on too much too soon and that is a shame. I'm hoping tonight is an improvement on last night as some of her other concerts had very contrasting reviews. Will let you all know how I get on. I write concert reviews so I should be able to give a constructive review of what happens.:(

Oh a post count diss from a 39 year old.
    musicmania wrote: »
    However Rovert I find your opinions very harsh and extremely set in your ways. People can change. I saw Whitneys interview on Oprah and she seemed ok. A bit mad maybe but not crazy and out of it like has being reported in some of her concert reviews. I think the main problem is she took on too much too soon and that is a shame. I'm hoping tonight is an improvement on last night as some of her other concerts had very contrasting reviews. Will let you all know how I get on. I write concert reviews so I should be able to give a constructive review of what happens.:(

Sorry but I dont get the point you are directling are me. I dont think there is anything that harsh I previously said. Without repeating what I already said her relationship with Bobby Brown and drug abuse were a long running media saga and Irish concert promoters are only interested in one thing. If people are a fan of hers to the degree they would comtemplate shelling out €100 they should have known those factors, none of it was a secret. Would people complain if this was a Pete Doherty or Amy Winehouse gig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Why are some people criticising the O2 for this? Aiken rented the venue surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

My GF is going to this tonight - it sounds like it's going to be painful.

I have read some reasonably optimistic reviews and I would agree that the people going are hoping that she will give a good performance.

It's disgraceful if lots of people feel that they haven't got anywhere close to value for money. Performers and promoters should be accountable and not be able to take the money and run.

Maybe tonight she'll be better though.

Yes Rovert with an average minimum of 25 posts per week over a period of five years I was counting ......something you got right but the age thing your way off wrong on that one but I will leave you guessing and am sure you will reply ...and yes you are repeating yourself .
    :p:confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Initial reaction seems to be that she was ok. She had trouble hitting the high notes and stalled a lot but her singing was generally ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 NewBalance

GF just in from seeing the hugely disapointing WH after paying €106 to Aiken Pomotions who should be ashamed of themselves for pushing the car wreck that is Whitney.

WH mimed the first song - waffled on about herself 'not being a dog as only dogs fix themselves' and could not hit a note with a bass fiddle.

Total rip off - she was incoherent, her brother who was used as filler material while backstage they must have been trying to prop up Whitney for the final leg of the show. WH spoke most of the vocals, no atmosphere and my Gf says people were just talking amongst themselves.

It's a shame but ultimately - Why Charge People to See this 3rd Rate Has Been?

EVERYONE SEEK A REFUND from AIKEN Promotions at Aiken Promotions 24 Holles Street, Dublin 2, Phone 00353 (0)1 77 55 800

Going by people on Liveline Aiken will tell you to take it up with her label and/or management. Go whistle for it basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭musicmania

NewBalance wrote: »
    GF just in from seeing the hugely disapointing WH after paying €106 to Aiken Pomotions who should be ashamed of themselves for pushing the car wreck that is Whitney.

WH mimed the first song - waffled on about herself 'not being a dog as only dogs fix themselves' and could not hit a note with a bass fiddle.

Total rip off - she was incoherent, her brother who was used as filler material while backstage they must have been trying to prop up Whitney for the final leg of the show. WH spoke most of the vocals, no atmosphere and my Gf says people were just talking amongst themselves.

It's a shame but ultimately - Why Charge People to See this 3rd Rate Has Been?

EVERYONE SEEK A REFUND from AIKEN Promotions at Aiken Promotions 24 Holles Street, Dublin 2, Phone 00353 (0)1 77 55 800

I actually thought the show was ok tonight and good in places. There is NO WAY that she was miming any songs tonight. She was very hoarse at times and no one is going to mime being hoarse. The first half hour was very shaky but it did get better as the night went on. The comments about her fixing herself was when some muppet had a problem with her staightening her clothes. So what was my attitude to that, what is wrong with someone fixing their clothes??????? Her brother only sang one song, very well I must say and the band sang another before she came back out. That was a 10 minute break when she changed her outfit and the only other time she left the stage was before the encore. I've being to gigs where they change every few minutes! She tried her best and yes while some songs were shaky in places others sounded great. A large number of people left very early but the majority of the thousands remaining were cheering and dancing and being very supportive. At one point she complained she was freezing even though she was sweating and my heart went out to her. She obviously isn't well but tonight she gave her all. Flaws and all though I'm glad I went tonight and glad I got the opportunity to see her live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭jkrowling

Went last night. Words cannot describe how bad she was or how dissapointed I was having paid that much to see her. She defo mimed the first song, I was close enough to see it and who ever arranged the music should be fired because they changed the songs that much it was impossible to tell what song it was until it reached the chorous. She spoke most of the high notes and spent a lot of time just standing there with her eyes closed listening to the crowd sing the songs.

She heckled a fan who commented that she was fixing herself and TBH she was constantly fixing herslef, actually looked pregnant and was constantly fixing her tummy area. She was also singing that she could feel a breeze, was cold and where was her tour manager cause she told him she wouldn't sing if the air conditioning was on cause it makes her hoarse?!?!?!? Now she was sweating buckets so don't know how she was cold and after the interval she came out with a big fur coat on her :eek:.

It was uncomfortable to watch, and I actually felt sorry for her because it was clear she was uncomfortable doing the show. You were also not allowed record her performing, which is no surprise considering how bad she is. The stewards were constantly running around giving out to anyone who was trying to record her plus she ordered the bar to close at 9?

To add insult to injury mine and my sisters wallets were stolen at the show, when we went back to see if they had been handed in the police were there and we were the 7th and 8th person from the same area to report it. Now I'm not holding Whitney responsible for that but it just meant it cost us a lot more than the price of the tickets to see a train wreck :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭unichick

I went on Saturday night and obviously was dissapointed. I wasn't expecting much after all the bad reviews. That child up the front was not a set up. Her mother was right behind me! I couldn't believe it! We had great seats so we could see the train wreck up close.
    When she actually sang it was fine. Obviously her voice is fairly wrecked after drug use but I wasn't expecting miracles.
    Can't understand why people bothered to go if they were going to walk out. Surely they knew they weren't going to see her at her peak.

Best vocals of the night go to that dutch guy who sang the Stevie Wonder song.

Glad to see a legend in concert but sad to see her demise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 jenjo23

I went to see Whitney last night and I can say that I was not in the slightest bit disappointed.

I hadn't expected her to be as good as she was, knowing what age alone can do to your voice - I mean were people expecting her to sound like she did when she was 19???!!!

The woman has abused drugs for 20 years, of course her voice isn't as good, but in saying that, I only thought she was a little pitchy in places and overall that her vocals were fantastic.

I mean she hit the big note in I will Always love you for crying out loud!!

I think it's just cool to hate/slag Whitney and people are jumping on the band wagon.

She was fantastic, and I got to do something that if you had asked me 5 years ago I never thought I would do and that was be in the same room and witness a performance from the legend that is Whitney Houston.

It was a dream come true and was certainly worth the money I paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭RayCon

unichick wrote: »
    I wasn't expecting miracles.

Just as well, wasn't that Mirah Carey ;) ......

... I'll get my coke .... sorry , coat ... sorry Whitney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Kevin!

Going to loose it with Aiken tomorrow, worst concert ever and she was stoned off her head, not paying for two premium rate tickets for that ****e heard better from justin bieber which is shocking