Trad music in pubs..ssssshhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

lugha wrote: »
    As do quite a few folk in continental Europe.
    Trad/Folk music's really popular in Eastern Europe and Scandinavia actually, I think it's fantastic it's still going strong.

I was in a great pub last Tuesday... walked in, the first person I met was a member of the Dubliners, of whom I'm a massive fan; everyone was nice and welcoming, and there were chats and a session going hand-in-hand, with neither intruding on the other. That's how a pub should be really. I know I said in my last post you should leave if you don't like it - that's not so much my opinion, more the seemingly general consensus.

I don't like this whole "they all sound the same" thing. All rap music sounds just as shit to me. And it's nonsense - there's reels, jigs, hornpipes, slides, setdances, slipjigs, double jigs, polkas, planxtys etc.
    Also, there's a brilliant series on RTE on fridays at the moment called 'Fleadh Ceoil'. Would many people watch it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

I don't like this whole "they all sound the same" thing.
    Statements like that are always based on ignorance.
    All jazz is the same.
    All wine tastes the same.
    All black people look the same.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

There's a big difference between not appreciating music- trad or not- or not being able to talk IN A PUB. The quality of the music is irrelivant to this discussion really. We could be talking about singer songwriter types- the same thing happens at those gigs too.

I am perfectly happy to appreciate trad but ffs if I want to talk in a pub I should be able to.

I should not have to try and predict when a band will be playing or not. A band should enhance the night, not terminate all discussion with ones friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

there was plenty from around the UK that joined in and knew the lyrics that would put us to shame.

Sorry, I wouldn't be ashamed at all. I prefer to use my neurons to hold useful information instead of "Some say the devil is dead, the devil is dead, the devil is dead, some say the devil is dead and ...".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

It all sounds the same to me and I've played in sessions, I couldn't tell you the difference between "The mangled badger" or "the whore in the thistles roaring".
    It just felt like one long jam sessions with one tune, I think the problem is that this music was developed primarily for dancing, not for people gawping in silence. It's supposed to backround noise for rambunctious behavior, not the attraction in itself.
    This music without the dance is pointless really, but then there's the ballads.
    Jazz with banjos is too generous a description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

brummytom wrote: »
    Trad/Folk music's really popular in Eastern Europe and Scandinavia actually, I think it's fantastic it's still going strong.

I was in a great pub last Tuesday... walked in, the first person I met was a member of the Dubliners, of whom I'm a massive fan; everyone was nice and welcoming, and there were chats and a session going hand-in-hand, with neither intruding on the other. That's how a pub should be really. I know I said in my last post you should leave if you don't like it - that's not so much my opinion, more the seemingly general consensus.

I don't like this whole "they all sound the same" thing. All rap music sounds just as shit to me. And it's nonsense - there's reels, jigs, hornpipes, slides, setdances, slipjigs, double jigs, polkas, planxtys etc.
    Also, there's a brilliant series on RTE on fridays at the moment called 'Fleadh Ceoil'. Would many people watch it?

Let's not forget the US too, traditional Irish, scottish, old time and bluegrass is huge over there. Thats one of the best things about folk and traditional music, it can be played and appreciated anywhere!

catbear wrote: »
    It all sounds the same to me and I've played in sessions, I couldn't tell you the difference between "The mangled badger" or "the whore in the thistles roaring".

One's a Donegal tune, taught to me by a blind harpoonist.

The Mangled Badger's a Clare tune. Same tune me hole :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

padi89 wrote: »
    In relation to Galway that's absolute bollox, the only way that would happen is if you prefer the chavy pubs, maybe you do? So go on tell us what pubs you went to because i'd love to know or else your muttering ****e.
    Oh yeah because Galway is so special and unique in that regard.

Oh Galway pubs are special alright....

You could be in a pub in Galway, a pub made from Christmas trees.... and petrol, in between a fireworks factory... and a remand centre for young offenders... AT HALLOWEEN, and if the fire alarm went off, sure... you'd look for the fire.

If you couldn't see one, it didn't fuckin exist! If the alarm kept going, you'd start makin jokes about it - "Ha ha ha... is that my phone???"
    catbear wrote: »
    I couldn't tell you the difference between "The mangled badger" or "the whore in the thistles roaring".

That's cause it's "the whore in the nettles roaring"

The same way that some posters think the Wolfe tones are the height of "trad".
    Stay away from the crane if that's your thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Skinfull

Sorry, I wouldn't be ashamed at all. I prefer to use my neurons to hold useful information instead of "Some say the devil is dead, the devil is dead, the devil is dead, some say the devil is dead and ...".

"Buried in Kilarney!
    More say he rose again, more say he rose again, more say he rose again..." :D

Skinfull wrote: »
    "Buried in Kilarney!
    More say he rose again, more say he rose again, more say he rose again..." :D
    "and joined the British armmyyy."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"and joined the British armmyyy."

Feed the pigs and milk the cow, and milk the cow, and milk the cow
    Feed the pigs and milk the cow, early in the morning
    Cock your leg, oh Paddy dear, Paddy dear I'm over here
    Cock your leg, oh Paddy dear, it's time to stop your yawning

Oh, oh, oh, oh, ohhhh, ohh-oh-e-ohh-oh-oh
    I'll get him hot, show him what I've got
    Oh, oh, oh, oh, ohhhh, ohh-oh-e-ohh-oh-oh,
    I'll get him hot, show him what I've got

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Will yez whist!! There's folk trying to have a discussion round here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Today I discovered that my wife purchased a fur coat. I am going to return it to the shop tomorrow for a refund or replacement.

Jesus, people... having the 'Wolfe Tones' and 'music' in the same thread is just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Today I discovered that my wife purchased a fur coat. I am going to return it to the shop tomorrow for a refund or replacement.

Good idea ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's suicidal to refer to one's wife as "it".:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

I watch it hoping to see myself! Although they tend to show more music than dancing. Go to the Fleadh every year. Also yeh there's a world of difference between trad music and ballad stuff. Ever listen to Kila? I know theres a big difference also between them and traditional trad if you like but my god, "rusty nails" .... All a bit off topic sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Ever listen to Kila? I know theres a big difference also between them and traditional trad if you like but my god, "rusty nails" .... All a bit off topic sorry.

"Rusty Nails" is one of my favourites. Very hard not to get up and dance to that tune.

I dont think some of the better trad musicians have a problem with people talking, when they are that good, people tend to fall silent to listen anyway.
    Unless its for sean-nós, which isn't everyone's cup of tea as they tend to be sad laments that Irish people in particular can be uncomfortable with as it brings up memories/associations of poverty, oppression and hunger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Good idea ;)

<GoodFellas Full "Lufthanza Heist" Scene>

With a diddly-idle-badabing! That's just how it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

By the sounds of it, this is why almost all of the pubs try cater to people with no musical taste whatsoever. All the feckin pubs play the same tracks every weekend(if I hear journey-don't stop believing one more time...) with only a select few playing a bit of trad so I can't see the harm in upping and leaving if you don't like it.

I watch it hoping to see myself! Although they tend to show more music than dancing. Go to the Fleadh every year. Also yeh there's a world of difference between trad music and ballad stuff. Ever listen to Kila? I know theres a big difference also between them and traditional trad if you like but my god, "rusty nails" .... All a bit off topic sorry.
    What's the fleadh like? I'm off to the regionals for the first time this year, might go over to Cavan if we can afford it; seems like a great event.

Yeah, Kila are great. I play in a folk ensemble that does slightly similar kinds of music - English, Celtic and European folk mixed with a bit of Jazz.

I love the energy in Irish music - there's genuine passion in it

Can't help but smile and tap your feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

What's the fleadh like? I'm off to the regionals for the first time this year, might go over to Cavan if we can afford it; seems like a great event.

Yeah, Kila are great. I play in a folk ensemble that does slightly similar kinds of music - English, Celtic and European folk mixed with a bit of Jazz.

I love the energy in Irish music - there's genuine passion in it

Can't help but smile and tap your feet

The Fleadh is serious! Well worth the trip if you could manage it. I'm sure you get the picture from the tv programme anyway. Doesn't be a whole lot happening at the county and provincial fleadhs from what i've seen but the main Fleadh is always a good weekend (into the following week, been to really good sessions on the Mondays). Just don't get stuck in one pub/place, move around a bit and see as much as you can. Was hoping it would go to Listowel this year but i'm sure Cavan will be super :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Hate this! My boyfriend's family are always singing trad music at every single family party and it drives me mental. I've been shushed for having a whispering, and I mean SUPER quiet whispering, conversation with a non-family member at the other side of the packed room. So I just make sure I'm not in that room once the shit starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Oh yeah because Galway is so special and unique in that regard.

Well it must be, maybe you live in knacker town with soccer jersey wearing planks in every pub but thankfully they are far and few between here. How the OP says that nearly every pub he tried was the same is pish talk of the highest order, maybe he usually likes the scumbag pubs but his team wasn't playing that night.The poster should name them, give me a laugh.

So lets see ... Foxes, Kennedys, Fibber Magees, Laffeys ... ... ...
    Here is a list for you so you can pick and choose
    http://www.irelands-directory.com/Galway/Galway/Entertainment/Pubs.html

And eventually you found ... Garavans.

Your full of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭casey junior

One's a Donegal tune, taught to me by a blind harpoonist.

The Mangled Badger's a Clare tune. Same tune me hole :mad:

wails?

Well it must be, maybe you live in knacker town with soccer jersey wearing planks in every pub but thankfully they are far and few between here. How the OP says that nearly every pub he tried was the same is pish talk of the highest order, maybe he usually likes the scumbag pubs but his team wasn't playing that night.The poster should name them, give me a laugh.

So lets see ... Foxes, Kennedys, Fibber Magees, Laffeys ... ... ...
    Here is a list for you so you can pick and choose
    http://www.irelands-directory.com/Galway/Galway/Entertainment/Pubs.html

And eventually you found ... Garavans.

Your full of ****.
    I lived there for years you clown. He has as much chance of finding a **** pub in that town as any other in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

there is only one pub to go to if you dont want to be distracted by trad music/pop music/premiership and enjoy the best pint of stout going whilst chatting with your friends and thats kavanaghs gravedigger in glasnevin. quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

It depends, I've worked in all kinds of bar's (doorman/bouncer).

If a small minority of people are ruining the session for the majority I've always told them to keep it down or move onto another pub if they wanna talk bollox.

And that doesn't just go for ballad or rebel music (I think some people here are finding it hard to tell the difference!).

Last bar I worked in (Darkey Kellys on Fishamble St) had a regular band, every Saturday and Sunday afternoon/evening. They brought (and still do) a large regular crowd of punters. They put a lot of effort into their songs, music & criac which the regular's enjoyed and I'd be damned if I let a minority of ignorant fuckwits spoil that enjoyment for the majority.

On the flip side of that coin I've worked in bar's where they'd have a lad play guitar and throw out a few songs, usually background sort of stuff - chat away.

Karaoke - hate the stuff, wreck the gaff for all I care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I lived there for years you clown. He has as much chance of finding a **** pub in that town as any other in the country.

You might have lived here but you obviously didn't get out much seeing as your clueless about pubs. Either the poster missed the obvious of an international match or he went to the pubs listed above.
    Did something happen you while you were here billynomates? Bit of a chip on your shoulder.

You might have lived here but you obviously didn't get out much seeing as your clueless about pubs. Either the poster missed the obvious of an international match or he went to the pubs listed above.
    Did something happen you while you were here billynomates? Bit of a chip on your shoulder.
    Spoken like a true Galway bigot.

Get a clue, Galway isn't special. Actually far from it, its just another ****ty town pretending to be a city that is full of itself.