An oul' game o' rounders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Bonito wrote: »
    That never worked! If it hit the curb it just came back and busted the car on the opposite side anyway! :D

Fúckin' leggarrrrrrrrr

/runs away.

Ha!
    Good times. It was all in the timing tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

TheZohan wrote: »
    Smash was when you'd take turns at kicking the ball off a wall. You'd try and hit the wall at an angle so that the ball would rebound as far away as possible making it tricky for the next person to hit the wall. You miss the wall and you're out.

Ah yes, that game! Forget what we called it!

World Cup with 15 people was always epic. And playing Crossbar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

Played it in PE at school. Only recently discovered that the Irish version is a 'Gaelic game' controlled by the GAA.

We played 'red light/green light' in the bike shed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Cool thread, brings back some great memories .... you get the happy thread of the day award ;-) .

Now back to Nama, paedoes, gays , priests, the economy etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭recyclops

for some strange reason me and my friends are the only people i know that call tip the can 52 bonkers, as for rounders i used to be a whizz at one handed catches i earned the nickname one ball ha and just the other night me and my mates had a bbq a few cans a very competitive game of squares good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

The_Edge wrote: »
    We used to call it 'kick the can'....north Dublin scum :)

When ye were playin curbs did ye play for 50 points if you got the ball back over while throwing it over an an comming car?

the amount of ford escorts with dented rear passenger doors round my estate was testament to my skill at 50 point shots

Ah yes, Squares. Loved that shít. Hide & Seek etc.
    I remember "What time is it Mr. Wolf" from the primary school days too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Hide and go seek chasing in a massive forest was always fun.

Cops and Robbers in the middle of the night was amazing. Had to bring torches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Smash was when you'd take turns at kicking the ball off a wall. You'd try and hit the wall at an angle so that the ball would rebound as far away as possible making it tricky for the next person to hit the wall. You miss the wall and you're out.
    Ah now i remember it. Cant remember if we called that smash tho.

Anyone ever do the catwalk? You'd start at the bottom of your road, it would have to be dark and go along all the back walls to the end of the road. One of our lads fell through a glass greenhouse and cut himself to bits :o

You'd never do that these days, you'd probably get shot if someone saw you on their back wall :)

the amount of ford escorts with dented rear passenger doors round my estate was testament to my skill at 50 point shots

Nissan Bluebird rear quarter panel was the holy grail of Curbs

Kiera wrote: »
    Anyone ever do the catwalk? You'd start at the bottom of your road, it would have to be dark and go along all the back walls to the end of the road. One of our lads fell through a glass greenhouse and cut himself to bits :o

We called it's 'Hedges' where we'd jump over the walls/hedges of the front gardens on the road. Had to race from one end of the road to the other, each on opposite sides of the road.

Ah good times. Mr Smyth's hedge had a hidden fence 'inside' it.....Tommo Burke jumped that and can't have kids now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

The_Edge wrote: »
    We called it's 'Hedges' where we'd jump over the walls/hedges of the front gardens on the road. Had to race from one end of the road to the other, each on opposite sides of the road.

Ah good times. Mr Smyth's hedge had a hidden fence 'inside' it.....Tommo Burke jumped that and can't have kids now...
    Nah we played that too but this was all done on the back walls. There were gardens that only had a wooden fence so you had to jump into the garden and scale back up the wall on the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Loved rounders!

Did anyone ever play Sick Dying Dead Buried Rotten and Forgotten?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Loved rounders!

Yes! But I can't for the life of me remember what the rules were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Kiera wrote: »
    Ok so i'm a midget. There i said it.

Kiera is a midget!

:P

Quoted for reference!!!
    Recyclops wrote: »
    for some strange reason me and my friends are the only people i know that call tip the can 52 bonkers, as for rounders i used to be a whizz at one handed catches i earned the nickname one ball ha and just the other night me and my mates had a bbq a few cans a very competitive game of squares good times

Noone's ever going to believe that's where you earned that name!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭git_ireland

Bringing back some good old memories for me.
    Any one remember "Bash the letter"???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Think the McCanns ruined that for this generation of kids.

...never heard of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,581 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

tip the can was popular here... we had some other name for it though... can't remember what it was?

NothingMan wrote: »
    Think the McCanns ruined that for this generation of kids.

...never heard of it though.

Tip: McCann, home free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

We used to play Rounders on our road,perfect spot for it.It was facing a row of houses about 80-100 yards away.I got it over the roof once,legendary status was obtained! We quit playing after my younger bro was hit by a car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Yes! But I can't for the life of me remember what the rules were.

Tennis ball and any number of players. One person would throw the ball directly up in the air and call someone's name. That person would have to catch the ball while everyone else would run as far away as possible. When the person caught the ball everyone had to freeze and the ball-catcher would have to try and hit someone with the ball from the spot where they caught it. If they hit the person, that person would become Sick (or move up to Dying, Dead, etc etc) but if they missed then they themselves would become sick. You were out once you became "Forgotten!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Can anyone tell me what the main differences between rounders and baseball were? Thinking of watching MLB next time it's on

Tennis ball and any number of players. One person would throw the ball directly up in the air and call someone's name. That person would have to catch the ball while everyone else would run as far away as possible. When the person caught the ball everyone had to freeze and the ball-catcher would have to try and hit someone with the ball from the spot where they caught it. If they hit the person, that person would become Sick (or move up to Dying, Dead, etc etc) but if they missed then they themselves would become sick. You were out once you became "Forgotten!"

This is like psychotherapy - all these buried memories resurfacing :D
    Although in all these memories the sun is shining gloriously, so there's a bit of the old enhancement going on.

Can anyone tell me what the main differences between rounders and baseball were? Thinking of watching MLB next time it's on

Baseball has a codified set of rules, wereas rounders rules were generally decided on the fly by fighting/crying/shouting or a combination of all 3.

Ah brilliant! remember that one but had a completely different name, which I'm sure will rattle the brain for the rest of the day.
    We played another game called rape chase but again I can't remember how that went. Maybe for the better?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

If you didn't have a baseball bat it instantly became rounders. ;) I only knew one fella with a baseball bat back in the day. t'was considered posh.

maybe: in rounders you could hit the runner with the ball, they were out. so if you caught it you could lash it at the runner. it was always a tennis ball so no big deal with that.

that's the only 1 I can remember being different, and it may have been a local rule in the first place.

EL_Loco wrote: »
    If you didn't have a baseball bat it instantly became rounders. ;) I only knew one fella with a baseball bat back in the day. t'was considered posh.

maybe: in rounders you could hit the runner with the ball, they were out. so if you caught it you could lash it at the runner. it was always a tennis ball so no big deal with that.

that's the only 1 I can remember being different, and it may have been a local rule in the first place.

I think you can do that in baseball as well.

I'm really not sure what the major difference is, besides the pyjamas and statistics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭osh

Ah yea remember something like that. The way we played it, whoever kicked it called out a name and that person then had to hit it back, call out a name etc, think you were allowed once bounce.

We just called it walls :)

Loved rounders too. Also vaguely remember some game where you'd flip a coin across a road and it had to land as close as possible to the wall on the other pavement....or something like that, memory ain't what is used to be. Whoever was closest won the money

I touched the jumper with my foot before he tagged me!

no you didn't!

Yes I did! I got a bit of dog poo on my runner and there it in on the jumper!

yeah but I still got you first

Argh! me jumper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Lamppost rope swings :cool:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.