Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It wouldn't be like Utd to try to sign an injured player, apart from Van Nistlerooy. And Hargreaves. Oh, and Owen. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Utd should sign Raul, I think moving abroad would ignite his game. Flame up them boots a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

If he turns out like Ruud, I won't be too disappointed, tbh.

Ruud was a savage striker, but his time at the club was also a very barren one in terms of trophies won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,800 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Is that 1am or 2 here?

Edit: Just saw the end bit. :( Is he injured, or still in Manchester, or is he not allowed play any more games for them?

I dont have a clue, apparently alot of the mexican internationals wont be playing tonight

dont know why

edit I found this on goal
    Gone are 16 players from the Mexican Primera Division. Some, like Chivas' Javier Hernandez, will not come back while others may return sometime in May. Whatever the case, the league will have a different look to it now that the players are off to think about the World Cup and securing their own spots on the national team.

not coming back to mexico, wonder is he allowed to train with utd ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,318 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Headshot wrote: »
    I dont have a clue, apparently alot of the mexican internationals wont be playing tonight

dont know why

edit I found this on goal

not coming back to mexico, wonder is he allowed to train with utd ?

No, he is not training with United.

As far as I know, all Mexican international players are heading on a weeks holiday before joining up with the national team management in order to start training (and playing 8 friendlies) in preparation for the World Cup.

all Mexican international players are heading on a weeks holiday

"Typical Mexicans - lazy bloody shower of wasters"

Sir Alex Ferguson

I remember reading on here a few days ago that Mexico were playing 8 friendlies before the WC and I was wondering how the fcuk they'd manage that.

Is Vela going as well or are Arsenal keeping him? Can't imagine Wenger letting him go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Seeing as united have a lot of young strikers, does anyone think Rooney could start playing a little less forward. He can tackle as well as any midfielder. With an out and out striker in front of him, it can be 451 or 442.

baz2009 wrote: »
    I remember reading on here a few days ago that Mexico were playing 8 friendlies before the WC and I was wondering how the fcuk they'd manage that.

Is Vela going as well or are Arsenal keeping him? Can't imagine Wenger letting him go.

as far as i know, it is just the mexican based players - I can't imagine that they would have rights to force clubs to release players for these games, not on sanctioned international dates.

Seeing as united have a lot of young strikers, does anyone think Rooney could start playing a little less forward. He can tackle as well as any midfielder. With an out and out striker in front of him, it can be 451 or 442.

Why try to fix something that *isn't broken?

*Rooney, not the midfield.:P

playing 442 (or 4411) depends on the midfield imo. Right now, we don't have the midfield that would allow us to play two strikers in the big games. If we dropped Rooney back and asked him to play a more traditional AMC role (as opposed to supporting striker) which i think it would have to be if playing another striker, I fear it would unleash his natural determination at the detriment of his goals. He has scored so many this season is because he has ben asked to be more selfish in his play and not put so much effort into winning the ball back, so that he can be in an attacking position to retrieve the ball.

It is an option though, depends on how we deploy him in such a tactic though, and how we set up the rest of the midfield. I reckon it would have to be a DM (a fit and 'at it' Hargreaves) and Fletcher - similar to how liverpool go with two more defensive players in Lucas and Mascherano supporting a front two of Gerrard and Torres. Rooney could play that Gerrard role.

Would be interesting to see, but we either need to sign a top DM or have Hargreaves actually come back to the team for it to be an option.

Also, if Rooney were to sacrifice the goals he is getting from being more selfish in his play this season, the striker playing up top would need to be able to get more than his fair share. I wouldn't trust Berbatov or Owen to do so over a season. Neither would I trust Welbeck or Diouf. Leaves Kiko, who needs to progress quite a lot (but has the time to do so) and Chicharito to give us those goals. Chicharito is very much an unknown quantity.

I'm not sure we could do it with the current strikers. Maybe Kiko or Berbatov would thrive if given the role, but I just don't know.
    I'd be worried if that was our plan.

If we signed a player like Villa (reports we backed away from that cause Valencia want 40million and he wants 200k per week) or Benzema I would feel more confident - but even with Benzema it would be a bit dodgy, I do reckon he will become a very good player, but there is no guarantee of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

At the minute we have berbatov, owen, kiko, diouf, wellbeck and hernandez looking for places on the bench. Plus any players that can get promoted from the youth system. I can imagine rooney dropping deep in the mc clair/ young scholes role.

I do not think all of those strikers will be at UNited next season (be it sold or loaned out)

who would you hope would be going mitch ?

I'd like to see Diouf and Welbeck loaned out to PL teams.

who would you hope would be going mitch ?

I'm not sure - it depends on whether Fergie wants to bring in a striker, or go with two up top, or one up top. The current strikers def won't all be there though imo.

Rooney - certainly staying.
    Berbatov - could be sold imo, but would probably result in another senior striker purchase if he is sold.
    Owen - Fergie has said he will be here again next season. Similar role to this season is possible.
    Diouf - I reckon we will look to loan him out to a premiership side.
    Welbeck - possibly out on loan again, depends if we get another winger in I reckon, as Fergie sees him as a player that can play there and up front.
    Chicharito - depends on how he does in preseason I think - could be another loaned out, like Diouf, to get some premiership experience.
    Kiko - depends on what happens with the other stikers. Of the junior options, I reckon himself and Chicharito are the most likely to be part of the United first team squad on September 1st.

Rooney, Berbatov, Owen, Kiko, Chicharito - with Welbeck and Diouf on loan. I think that is quite possible, but probably still too many strikers. I don't think we have room for more than 4 first team strikers. I think 4 senior strikers backed up by Josh King would be enough. Can't really pin down who those 4 strikers could/would/should be though. Apart from Rooney, none of them are certainties. Kiko might be the one of those 5 I have listed to head off on loan. Chicharito would benefit from time with the squad, while Kiko needs first team football - I think that would be the most beneficial way to go.

So - Rooney, Berbatov, Owen, Chicharito (backed by King) in the first team.

Diouf, Kiko and Welbeck on loan - not sure where, don't think we would get premiership sides for all 3 of them.

O course, if we end up signing a big name striker, such as Benzema, Dzeko or Villa (not saying we will) I would imagine it would be Berbatov most likely to leave permanently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd say Owen would probably be the most likely victim

mitch any link to where saf mention owen would be with us next season ?

no rush or anything, im off anyway

Dave! wrote: »
    I'd say Owen would probably be the most likely victim

the reason he makes my line up of striker is he fits the role better than any others. He has the experience that Diouf, Kiko etc lack, while there isn't the expectation for him to be first choice as there is with Berbatov. It is the way I balance the striking options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

the reason he makes my line up of striker is he fits the role better than any others. He has the experience that Diouf, Kiko etc lack, while there isn't the expectation for him to be first choice as there is with Berbatov. It is the way I balance the striking options.

I think Owen's invaluable to have round the training ground. Young lads like Macheda and the new fella will learn so much just watching his movement around the box, which is still first rate, on a daily basis. I reckon Rooney has learnt an awful lot from him over the season, particular with his heading and the positions he now occupies.

mitch any link to where saf mention owen would be with us next season ?

no rush or anything, im off anyway

Here you go:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/premierleague/manutd/7377657/Michael-Owen-still-has-a-future-with-Manchester-United-says-Sir-Alex-Ferguson.html
    Ferguson wrote:
    Michael will be here next season, absolutely

Of course Owen could still leave, but Fergie HAS said he will be here next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

I actually think we will sign Karim Benzema this summer

I would love us to sign this guy, he is very creative but gets stuck in too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNqr-cnU27k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I actually think we will sign Karim Benzema this summer

I think we might as well, expect him to leave Real in the summer either way. I also think Wellbeck and Diouf will be loaned out. I think Berbatov will be sold as well. I expect Hernandez and Kiko with Rooney, Owen to start next season with the first team squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Rooney, Owen, Berbatov, Hernandez will start the season with us. No striker over the age of 21 will be bought before next season.

Out of Wellbeck, Kiko, Diouf, it will come down to what offers will come in. At least one sold, probably two sold and one out on loan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Spud83 wrote: »
    Out of Wellbeck, Kiko, Diouf, it will come down to what offers will come in. At least one sold, probably two sold and one out on loan.

Wellbeck - Fergie said he had a chance of making the england squad at the start of the season, so rates him highly.

Kiko - He said he was the best younger he has seeing in his time at Old trafford.

Diouf - Only recently joined the club so doubt they would be looking to sell already.

Spud83 wrote: »
    Rooney, Owen, Berbatov, Hernandez will start the season with us. No striker over the age of 21 will be bought before next season.

I dont think so I think we will offload berbatov and sign benzema or dzeko, we need someone to help out Rooney in the goal scoring department and we cannot expect him to score the same amount next season, 30 goals is the most anyone can expect from any top class striker and rooney is on 33 which is a freak season and we will still probably finish up with only the carling cup, berbatov simply hasnt scored enough goals for us,owen is too injury prone and the others are too unproven, if we dont sign a top class striker we will have another disappointing year and be discussing the same issues this time next year

I wouldnt mind if we signed milnar from villa too

I would happy with this line up next season,would probably have to go a little more defensive in europe

VDS

oshea vidic rio evra

Valencia milnar flecher nani

Rooney Benzema

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Vanbis wrote: »
    Wellbeck - Fergie said he had a chance of making the england squad at the start of the season, so rates him highly.

Fergie talks a load of crap about youngsters regularly. Like Rossi being one of the best finishers at the club, yet Fergie never gave him a chance.
    Kiko - He said he was the best younger he has seeing in his time at Old trafford.

See above.
    Diouf - Only recently joined the club so doubt they would be looking to sell already.

Manucho????

Young players being used to generate cash, we have been doing it for years.

I'd rather judge Fergie on his actions rather than words and in that regard, name the last striker to break through the youth system and get a spot in the first team?