Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Osu wrote: »
    OMG will you two take this squabble to PM's or something. No point in train wrecking this thread for the rest of us.
    Archimedes wrote: »
    Agreed.

Lads, some of ye are doing your best to ruin this thread. Just give it a rest ffs.

I dont have a problem with it and the thread has been pretty much dead for the past 24hrs anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Osu wrote: »
    OMG will you two take this squabble to PM's or something. No point in train wrecking this thread for the rest of us.
    Agreed.

Lads, some of ye are doing your best to ruin this thread. Just give it a rest ffs.

Ok Guys I'll leave it there , I think it's come to it's natural conclusion anyway. Once those of us that don't buy into the doomsday scenario are allowed express that opinion without being accused of having our heads buried in the sand or told we're talking ****e I'll be cool with that.

So what'll we talk about now?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

The Muppet wrote: »
    I get you now, you want to chose the theoritical issus which you waat to argue about,and dismiss the ones that don't suit you. Thats fine but count me out on that one.

The Club is servising the debt and still functioning well and investing in players , fact. The rest of you debt rant is theoritical, we're not going there.

I'm counter arguing with you now but you keep side stepping the simplest of questions, I'm beginging to think you're on a wind up and it's not worth continuing the discussion.

So the ticket freeze is because of the massive protest, nothing to do with the biggest recession for decades leading to a fall off in demand No?

I'm not pro Glazer but hasn't revenue and profits increased year on year under the gimps as you call them?

Good luck with that, theres more of a chance of me supporting liverpool than there is of real united supporters boycotting the club, It was tried and failed.

and none of it has benefited the club.. The money has been sucked out of the club.. 200 odd million on interest payments alone, as well as the lump sums the GIMPS have given to themselves.. And the revenue and profits have increased inspite of the gimps not because of them..
    As regards the bycott, we will see come august and the first game at home when there will be lots of empty seats..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

redout wrote: »
    I dont have a problem with it and the thread has been pretty much dead for the past 24hrs anyway.

I dont have a problem with the topic being discussed, ad a bit of heated discussion is all and well. But theres sly digs being brought in, and when it goes on and on when its clear no one is going to back down, it just gets beyond stale imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I dont have a problem with the topic being discussed, ad a bit of heated discussion is all and well. But theres sly digs being brought in, and when it goes on and on when its clear no one is going to back down, it just gets beyond stale imo.

And personal diggs are creeping in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

GSPfan wrote: »
    Scott Parker is someone I'd like to see in a United Shirt. He has a lot of qualities. He runs himself into the ground and he's very attack minded with his passing.
    He is nearly 30 now I think :confused: but that would mean the price would be low as a result.

If United could line up every game with...
    Valencia Fletcher Hargreaves Nani
    ....in full fitness and decent form, then I'd be very happy but its almost impossible to get consistency and fitness from all 4 of them at the same time.

I like Parker too, would have liked to sign him before the went to Chelsea, I think his time is gone. I'd be happy to sign Stephen Ireland unlikely and all as that is. I wouldn't say no to Arteta either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I like Parker too, would have liked to sign him before the went to Chelsea, I think his tiem is gone. I'd be happy to sign Stephen Ireland unlikely and all as that is. I Wouldn't say no to Arteta either.

His time is well gone now...

Ever is the man we need. Along with Gourcuff. Ever can happen though with Valencia's debt and all. Gourcuff not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I've just pm'd a mod suggesting a seperrate thread for the finance discussion because I thought that that might fix the problem for Osu, Archie, Headshot, GSPfan etc. Maybe I've jumped the gun or maybe it would fix the problem for people.

Either way I'll leave the finance discussion for the time being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,320 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I like Parker too, would have liked to sign him before the went to Chelsea, I think his tiem is gone. I'd be happy to sign Stephen Ireland unlikely and all as that is. I Wouldn't say no to Arteta either.

I'd take Ireland ahead of Arteta, i'd prefer for us to go for a young option in the midfield (not talking 18/19 but under 25/26). Arteta at 28 is just that little bit too old imo.

I'd really like us to sign Ireland - I think he has a fantastic attitude (on the pitch) to the game and training. Don't understand what has happened to his spot at City.

Agree re Parker - would have loved to sign him before he went to chelsea, could have been our replacement for Keane. Now, I think it is too late to go for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,646 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

+1 for Banega,he has been impressive for valencia this year.he would be 30m+ I reckon unless valencia really have to sell .

Arteta is very good, but seems to be abit injury prone.. although ive heard else were that we are looking at Krancar.. Would be an excellent signing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    Arteta is very good, but seems to be abit injury prone.. although ive heard else were that we are looking at Krancar.. Would be an excellent signing..

Arteta would be a great singing for United. He would provide Rooney with the service he deserves. With Arteta's through balls and Nani and Valencia's crosses United would be improving on there one true flaw, mid field. Yes Carrick is good, as is Scoles and Anderson but some one who could control the game would be a great addition :)

Davaeo09 wrote: »
    Arteta would be a great singing for United. He would provide Rooney with the service he deserves. With Arteta's through balls and Nani and Valencia's crosses United would be improving on there one true flaw, mid field. Yes Carrick is good, as is Scoles and Anderson but some one who could control the game would be a great addition :)

True.. Hopefully Anderson is watching how Nani is after transforming his utd career the last few months and does the same when he returns next season, the guy has all the ability and potential to be top class.. hopefully he learns from Nani..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Hide.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,646 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Is that you Michael?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Milner looking impressive today once again, would love him at United! Think he would suit our style of play too and add a bit of creativity and goals to our midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,320 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Smegball wrote: »
    Milner looking impressive today once again, would love him at United! Think he would suit our style of play too and add a bit of creativity and goals to our midfield.

Agreed - one of the 3 players I have listed as the guys I would like to see us bring in this summer.

Milner, Rodwell and Gourcuff. I really think those 3 players would be fantastic additions to our midfield, and would have the potential to solve the issues I think our midfield has.

Gourcuff would add creativity, flair and goals. Milner would be a goal threat too, while being an option on both wings, through the centre and both full back positions - the guy is incredibly versatile. Rodwell has the potential to be a fantastic DM, or CB. Adding two english players to our squad would be good too, I like the United squad to have a core group of English (or 'home nations') players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Depends really.

Putting aside he would cost 20 million plus.

Fact is I think Fergie now thinks the 4-5-1 with Rooney up top is the way to go. 75% of the time anyways.

Central midfield of 3.

Hargreaves
    Fletcher

Milner

I think Milner is a cracking player, but against the top sides, I'd like a player in that formation with a small bit more craft. That said I would love to see Milner at the club, his versatility alone makes him an excellent prospect.

As for Parker, he would spit blood at the end of games whatever the cause. Not at the United level though. Not good enough.

you obviously haven't heard that Carrick is the worst player ever to play football because of 1 bad season where the majority of the team have been below par

Milner is a grafter.. Utd need a midfielder with abit of attacking flair.. He is a decent player, but if we want to be challenging for the champions league, then we need better than Milner, considering the money he'd cost..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I'd take Ireland ahead of Arteta, i'd prefer for us to go for a young option in the midfield (not talking 18/19 but under 25/26). Arteta at 28 is just that little bit too old imo.

I'd really like us to sign Ireland - I think he has a fantastic attitude (on the pitch) to the game and training. Don't understand what has happened to his spot at City.

Agree re Parker - would have loved to sign him before he went to chelsea, could have been our replacement for Keane. Now, I think it is too late to go for him.

Totally agree with you Mitch ,would really like to see Ireland signed , Think he has a hell of alot to offer ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    Milner is a grafter.. Utd need a midfielder with abit of attacking flair.. He is a decent player, but if we want to be challenging for the champions league, then we need better than Milner, considering the money he'd cost..

Milder won't make difference Manutd need in the midfield at the moment, he is a good player but against top teams will struggle. I've watched him against Chelsea and he never looks comfortable. I think like Carrick against the smaller teams looks good but not sure he is the right signing for us.

Manutd should have signed Scott Parker when he was at Charlton but i think its a bit late now. We have Flecther who i think is as good. We need someone with craft and that can pick a pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Pro. F wrote: »
    I've just pm'd a mod suggesting a seperrate thread for the finance discussion because I thought that that might fix the problem for Osu, Archie, Headshot, GSPfan etc. Maybe I've jumped the gun or maybe it would fix the problem for people.

Either way I'll leave the finance discussion for the time being.

I said the exact same thing a month or two back and was accused of not being a REAL united fan on here.I think it deserves a seperate thread cause of the complexity of it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Right lads I have started a Manchester United Financial Situation thread,can we keep all talk about it in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Good idea.

I don't mind talking and participating in discussion to that end but at times it's like being stuck on a roundabout with no exits - just keeps going round and round with the same stuff being said by different people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Obertan seemed to have a good game in the reserves on Thursday. There were 2 stunning goals aswell from Corry Evans and Joe Dudgeon.. worth a peek over on MUTV.

I wonder if there's any truth in the rumours that Utd are interested in Joe Cole, who - I heard on the radio today - is out of a contract at the end of the season? I know he'll be 30 next season, but I still think he'd be a fantastic signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Joe Cole will definitely still be at Chelsea next season IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,802 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

thinking of staying up and watching this http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=71868&part=sports

Chivas Guadalajara

vs.
    Monarcas Morelia

a dammit just learned Javier Hernández isnt playing tonight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Joe Cole will definitely still be at Chelsea next season IMO.

I agree unfortunately, would love to get rid of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭CR 7

Headshot wrote: »
    thinking of staying up and watching this http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=71868&part=sports

Chivas Guadalajara

vs.
    Monarcas Morelia

a dammit just learned Javier Hernández isnt playing tonight :(

Is that 1am or 2 here?

Edit: Just saw the end bit. :( Is he injured, or still in Manchester, or is he not allowed play any more games for them?