Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭CR 7

redout wrote:
    Forget about Rafael Marquez, Andres Guardado, Hugo Sanchez, Luis Garcia and even the great 'Pirata' ('The Pirate') Luis de la Fuente . The transaction that took Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez to Manchester United was the most expensive of all time, and the best part was the manner in which this transaction was accomplished.

Does anyone know the confirmed fees involved in these deals, just to get an idea of how much we paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Marquez cost 5mil, Guardado 5.5 rising to 7 or sumtin like dat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

SlickRic wrote: »
    why does he have to say yes or no? when you clearly don't know either, and have put yourself on the fence, yet you want him on one side of the fence or the other?

Can you read? I answered the question I am asking ProF, I,m not on the fence on it.

To make it easier for you I don't know if he's telling lies or not for sure but it is my opinion that he's not for the reason's I stated in an earlier post.

He doesn't have to answer the question if he doesn't want to, I'll draw my own conclusions from a reluctance to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Does anyone know the confirmed fees involved in these deals, just to get an idea of how much we paid?

€11.4m for Hernandez the Star had.

You'd probably want a more reliable source than that however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

€11.4m for Hernandez the Star had.

You'd probably want a more reliable source than that however.

The steamy pile of Oreo-discoloured shíte I took this morning says it was €6 million, there's a more reliable source than The Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The Muppet wrote: »
    Can you read? I answered the question I am asking ProF, I,m not on the fence on it.

He doesn't have to answer the question if he doesn't want to, I'll draw my own conclusions from a reluctance to do so.

What difference does it really make whether or not he thinks Ferguson is lying?

He's pointing out that the information in the clubs own financial statement tell us there is no money for transfers available and that what Ferguson and Gill say on the matter is of less relevance, firstly because they are not impartial in the matter, secondly because the facts are laid out clearly in the financial report regardless of what anybody says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,696 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

why so ansy? seriously?
    To make it easier for you I don't know if he's telling lies or not for sure but it is my opinion that he's not for the reason's I stated in an earlier post.

you don't know if he's telling lies, neither does Pro F. he draws conclusions that are different from yours, but neither of you know.

you're leaning towards truthful, he is towards lying. i don't see the problem. neither of you know. why continually try and call him out on whether he's accusing them of lying?

i don't know what answer you're expecting apart from 'i think they might be lying'. same as i wouldn't expect an answer from you other than, 'i think they're telling the truth'. neither of you can say definitively either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

What does the co-op thing mean?

Do we get told about any young stars that they think they have coming through the ranks or something?

baz2009 wrote: »
    What does the co-op thing mean?

Do we get told about any young stars that they think they have coming through the ranks or something?

We basically have first preference on their players. Same as the Sporting Lisbon thing I'd imagine.

We pay them a fee each season (arrange a friendly possibly aswell) as part of the deal.

We basically have first preference on their players. Same as the Sporting Lisbon thing I'd imagine.

Has that been confirmed or are you just assuming? That's probably the standard setup alright...
    We pay them a fee each season (arrange a friendly possibly aswell) as part of the deal.

I'd be surprised if we agreed to play a friendly in Mexico every summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,802 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

so will we see 4-5-1 against blackburn or the good old 4-4-2 . Im hoping for the 4-4-2, kiko and berba up front

keane2097 wrote: »
    Has that been confirmed or are you just assuming? That's probably the standard setup alright...

I'd be surprised if we agreed to play a friendly in Mexico every summer.

Assuming. I doubt it'd be every summer.

That's normally the way.

There's far more entailed but can't be arsed getting into it.

Headshot wrote: »
    so will we see 4-5-1 against blackburn or the good old 4-4-2 . Im hoping for the 4-4-2, kiko and berba up front

Rooney out = no 4-5-1 imo

It doesn't function without him.

That said, I missed the Bolton match - what formation did we play in that?

4-5-1 I think.

Midfield were good and supported Berba against Bolton, though.

Rooney out = no 4-5-1 imo

It doesn't function without him.

4-5-1 with Berba up top on his own.

Guess we have to go 4-4-2 with Kiko and Berba. Giggs or Park would have to come in on one of the wings to provide a bit more stability I'd imagine i.e. make it a midfield 3 when we don't have the ball.

Rest is as you were. Oh, except I pray for a Fletch/Scholes midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

What difference does it really make whether or not he thinks Ferguson is lying?

He's pointing out that the information in the clubs own financial statement tell us there is no money for transfers available and that what Ferguson and Gill say on the matter is of less relevance, firstly because they are not impartial in the matter, secondly because the facts are laid out clearly in the financial report regardless of what anybody says.
    SlickRic wrote: »
    why so ansy? seriously?

you don't know if he's telling lies, neither does Pro F. he draws conclusions that are different from yours, but neither of you know.

you're leaning towards truthful, he is towards lying. i don't see the problem. neither of you know. why continually try and call him out on whether he's accusing them of lying?

i don't know what answer you're expecting apart from 'i think they might be lying'. same as i wouldn't expect an answer from you other than, 'i think they're telling the truth'. neither of you can say definitively either way.

Ansy because either you didn't read or fully comprehend the post to which you replied stating I was sitting on the fence on the issue despite me having giving my answer to the question I posed. At least read a post in it's entirety before replying.

I am having a discussion with Pro F , I asked a simple question to which I have given my answer, I want him to do likewise. I suspect he knows why I asked it and where I'm going with the question, and I know why he is reluctant to answer.

Interview with Evra.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/8612293.stm

He talks a lot of sense.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,036 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

is Kyrogen still alive? i havent seen a post from him lately

Ansy because either you didn't read or fully comprehend the post to which you replied stating I was sitting on the fence on the issue despite me having giving my answer to the question I posed. At least read a post in it's entirety before replying.

I am having a discussion with Pro F , I asked a simple question to which I have given my answer, I want him to do likewise. I suspect he knows why I asked it and where I'm going with the question, and I know why he is reluctant to answer.

Do you see any irony in your accusations that Pro. F is trying to "side step" questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,169 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Somebody had something like this earlier too, but I have a mexican friend and this was his opinion on Chicharito:
    Chicharito Hernandez is a relatively new player who had an impressive start of season in Mexico (he went about 8 games scoring at least once; three of those games he scored twice, and once an amazing hat trick). Listen, Mexico has a few strikers in Europe, and the once we're relying on are **** (Vela and that dumb mother****er, Franco). With just a few games, Chicharito has replaced them both. His qualities: Good body for a Mexican (we're usually short lol). He shoots very well with both legs, and he is fantastic in the air. And the best thing, he's a very humble, educated guy. Fame and money are not likely to get to his head. I'm just hoping for the best for him, not only because I'm also Mexican, but because our team clearly needs another striker to rely on other than Rooney, and I think we all have been noticing that. specially in recent games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,802 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Mexico will be playing England in a friendly come May

so we could see Chicharito against Rio

Headshot wrote: »
    Mexico will be playing England in a friendly come May

so we could see Chicharito against Rio

Looking forward to that game.
    Hope Terry marks him and Chicharito makes bits of him.:cool:

Chicharito at his best. Him and the entire team had the flu apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

papagormo wrote: »
    is Kyrogen still alive? i havent seen a post from him lately

He only sings when he's winning. (Just kiddin!)

I haven't posted in a while either - just got back from Manchester this evening. It would have been a perfect trip if we'd got better results from the last two games, but I suppose that you can't win everything all the time, unless you're stuck in a Groundhog day scenario in 1999!

Good news about Chicharito signing for the club - hopefully he'll have a bit better luck than Diego Forlan had in the red shirt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Jaysus that's not exactly possitive is it? He appears to be dying off in half of those clips and gettin physically bullied off the ball in the rest of them!
    Good movement thought :D

Behind the scenes of the Smithy charity dance video:

A special guest walks in with Sir Alex, best part of the video.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Sense.This post makes none.
    Some sort of noise fetish you have ? Tells us nothing about the player too.Enlighten us on how posting this actually benefits or contributes to this thread please ????

d22ontour wrote: »
    Sense.This post makes none.
    Some sort of noise fetish you have ? Tells us nothing about the player too.Enlighten us on how posting this actually benefits or contributes to this thread please ????

Sarcasm. That post has.
    White text. That post also has.
    Lighten up. You need to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

SAF kicking the paranoia angle up another notch. He seems to be surprised that the press don't love him and his team ??? :eek:

Very interesting bit about buying Hernandez now as otherwise there was a danger of not being able to afford him.
    "That created a problem for us," he said, "because, if he went to the World Cup and did well, we were going to lose him."

Also wonder if Coleen will get a hairdryer treatment for going off message ;)

Stat of the day - Blackburn have only been beaten twice at home all season so far in the league.
    Disgusted Sir Alex Ferguson claims press is blinded by 'mist of venom'
    • United manager criticises coverage of Bayern defeat
    • Munich players 'bullied young referee'
    Tim Rich guardian.co.uk, Friday 9 April 2010 22.00 BST

Sir Alex Ferguson says the quality of his team's performance against Bayern Munich was ignored following his comments about 'typical Germans'.

Still nursing the wounds from Manchester United's controversial elimination from the Champions League, Sir Alex Ferguson rounded on what he called a "mist of venom" surrounding the club.

The United manager was aggrieved that the excellence of his side's first-half performance against Bayern Munich had been forgotten amid his comments that the way Bayern's players had surrounded the referee in a successful attempt to get Rafael da Silva dismissed was "typical Germans".

"The most important thing about Wednesday night's game is how well we played. But you have lost that in the mist of your venom," he told reporters at the club's training ground at Carrington. "The Germans let themselves down in the way they behaved by getting the boy sent off. If they don't recognise that, there is nothing I can do about that. It was totally unfair – they bullied a young referee into it."

"He [Rafael] has barely touched him. [Franck] Ribéry did more to him than he did to Ribéry. The issue was how the Germans reacted; they knew the boy was on a yellow card, they surrounded the referee. We see that happen time and time again with players waving an imaginary card to the referee – and he succumbed.

"I don't know if it was last season or the season before, but there was a referee's edict that anyone showing an imaginary card should themselves be booked. Well, there were six that should have been booked. What has been lost in all this is our performance. We were 3-0 up and it could have been 5-0. We were magnificent and that has been lost just because you want a headline about what I say about the Germans. That is disgusting, absolutely disgusting. The players deserved some praise from you lot because their performance was outstanding. At the end of the game you are forced by Uefa rules to do a television interview. It is a bad time to do it."

Ferguson has always been suspicious of flash interviews conducted immediately after the final whistle when emotions are at their height. His sometime mentor Jock Stein told him a manager should wait at least 48 hours before commenting on a controversial game. And he has long been suspicious of the club's press corps, whom he accused of celebrating United's defeat in last year's European Cup final.

"Someone told me the other day that when the press came back from the Rome final [against Barcelona] they were all delighted," he said. "They were on the press bus and pleased that we lost. It is disappointing when there is a British team in a European final and even one member of the British press wants us to lose. Someone on the bus told me he was absolutely disgusted at the behaviour of the British press at the European Cup final and he had no reason to lie to me."

His accusations carried echoes of an incident in December 2005 when Ferguson was appalled by suggestions that some journalists flying back with the team from Lisbon after United's elimination from the Champions League by Benfica ordered champagne.

Ferguson did not comment on reports in the Guardian that Manchester United's debt had meant they were unable to fund a bid for the Valencia forward David Villa. The signing of the 21-year-old Javier Hernández and the Fulham centre-half Chris Smalling is evidence that Manchester United's transfer policy will be aimed at younger, cheaper footballers.

"There is always conjecture about players," Ferguson said. "Last summer it was Ribéry and Karim Benzema, and he was one of the targets that we set out to get because he was 21, and now it is David Villa. I am sure by the end of the season there will be half a dozen more."

Ferguson has admitted he did not bring Benzema to Old Trafford because he thought the €35m (£30.7m) fee Real Madrid paid Lyon was inflated, adding that United had to move swiftly to sign Hernández from Chivas de Guadalajara once he made the Mexican national squad because his price was in danger of rising. "That created a problem for us," he said, "because, if he went to the World Cup and did well, we were going to lose him."

The manager was adamant that Wayne Rooney would play no part against Blackburn on Sunday after aggravating his ankle injury at Old Trafford against Bayern in a match that Ferguson had said the striker would miss. However Rooney's wife, Coleen, at Aintree for the Grand National meeting, suggested the England international was making a typically rapid recovery. "He is fine and his ankle is fine," she said. "He has been into training today."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/apr/09/sir-alex-ferguson-manchester-united-bayern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

You appeared to be pretty sure in your earlier comments that United the manager was lying about having money available for transfers, I still feel you are rowing back from that now.

I asked for your opinion, noting more. Your attempt to side step that question is noted but I'll ask it again none the less.

In you opinion is the manager lying when he says he has money available for transfers, a simple yes or no answer will suffice .

Funny that you ask me for a simple yes no answer but then don't give one yourself.

Here's my answer: I don't know if Ferguson is lying about having cash available for transfers. I do know that the financial statement shows that there is no cash available, only a credit facility. So either:
    1 He is lying
    2 He is telling a half truth (eg neglecting to mention that the 'cash' is actually only credit)
    3 He is telling what he believes is the truth but he himself has been mislead

I would prefer to avoid arguing about the theoretical likelihood of Ferguson lying/obfuscating/being mislead because, as far as i'm concerned, the availability of the financial data and his lack of impartiality makes it irrelevant.
    (edited to add 'lack of'!)
    No I don't know why you asked the question but tbh I do dread to think that you may actually be trying to start a debate on this topic.