The Counties Of Ireland Appreciation Thread

• 09-04-2010 01:09PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

We often give each other a hard time about what little corner of Ireland we live in around here and thats usually in jest.
    But we are blessed with a stunning little country and the people can have great regional traits. So this is a thread where you can state what you love about a particular country, whether it be the scenery or the people.
    And might be best to exclude boasts about our own counties.

Clare : Here is a county that speaks for itself. All within a few short miles you could have some excellent surfing in Lahinch in the morning, then have a stroll along the top of the Cliffs of Moher followed by a trip to the Aillwee caves. Then wrap it up by sitting on a dolmen in the middle of the Burrenn and watch the sun set over the Atlantic.

Dublin : The nations capital, stand outside the GPO and just picture what happened back in 1916 and the men who were in there. Then find a small aul lads pub with some good guinness and start up a chat with a real Dub aul lad. The type who would tell you stories of 'back in the day' in the real soft Dublin accent that would leave you with Luke Kelly and The Rare Auld Times in you head for the rest of the week.

Galway : The city where you can walk everywhere. And you can forget about the touristy nonsense, it's a city full of history, all you have to do when you walk the streets is look up (over the shop fronts) to see how old and well preserved it is. And everyone should have an afternoon in the sun down at the Spanish Arch. And a short little trip out the road and you are slap bang in the middle of Connemara with some of the most dramatic landscapes you could ever see.

Cork : While I haven't had the pleasure of a visit to the county yet the people must get a mention! A corkman could leave the sittingroom to go to the kitchen and come back with a story of adventure told with such passion and conviction in that sing song accent that if you don't raise a smile, well then you have no soul!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Galway. The people are sound, the craic is mighty. And i live here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Carlow: ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Leitrim

Longford

Dublin : The nations capital, stand outside the GPO and just picture what happened back in 1916 and the men who were in there. Then find a small aul lads pub with some good guinness and start up a chat with a real Dub aul lad. The type who would tell you stories of 'back in the day' in the real soft Dublin accent that would leave you with Luke Kelly and The Rare Auld Times in you head for the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Galway: Great place for a night out. There is lots to do there.
    Kerry: Very scenic.
    Donegal:I like the people there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Longford: not too much of a bad smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Galway. The people are sound, the craic is mighty. And i live here :pac:

I could have sworn I heard that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Sligo - Nice people, nice country side oppsite side of country to Dublin

Cork - Not technically a county of Ireland, but they're all as mad as a box og badgers down there. Again nice country side, and a decent distance away from Dublin

Meath Nice County. Pity about the location.. it will really effect its resale value

Dublin Smells like piss and ass, could be shredded and sold as fertalizer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

Waterford: I love how everyone else hates the place, and avoids it like the plague. Huge tracts of undeveloped coastline, valleys, mountains etc. Old-time villages, and not a yank in sight since the glass went bust. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Louth. Because I live there (and parts of it are just beautiful)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Louth: Carlingford, beautiful spot in the corner of the peninsula. Overlooking the Mourne mountains and on the side of the Cooley mountains. Love that spot.

Waterford: Dunmore East, one of my favorite places to visit down the south east, the Strand hotel on a wild winter evening no-where else i'd rather be!

Donegal: Killybegs, Buncrana, Derrybeg. Harveys Point outside Donegal Town. There's not a bad place to visit in Donegal! (except Letterkenny):pac:

Down: Small Village called Strangford, well worth a visit & catch a ferry over to Portaferry!

*sigh* We've got a grand country, pity its not half appreciated by the masses..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Wexford: Laid back,often sunny and if it rains.."Sure it'll be alright too":)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

snyper wrote: »

Cork - Not technically a county of Ireland, but they're all as mad as a box og badgers down there. Again nice country side, and a decent distance away from Dublin

Meath Nice County. Pity about the location.. it will really effect its resale value

Since when is Cork not a county of Ireland? Did I miss the memo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

westmeath catholic priests hideaway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Since when is Cork not a county of Ireland? Did I miss the memo?

And the biggest one at that:D:D:D (still a s**thole though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Leitrim - The girlfirends family have a house there. Shenanigans aplenty. Also some sheer terror involving banshee howling, torches and a very drunk lands. Later turned out to be the mother of all drunken domestics. Local town festivals are fun. Cock fights are not what I expected however. At all.

Wexford: Sunny, warm, lots of nice places to go, pretty much the only place I went on holidays as a kid, so I've plenty of fond memories.

Galway: Great city and the Aran Islands are beautiful (do they count as Galway?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Galway: People are so friendly and as someone said, you can walk everywhere! It's basically an enlarged town with some of that sense of community that has been lost down through the ages. *and I live here*

Limerick: There is something nice about a fresh dark night near the river and looking at the lights of the city reflecting in the water. But that's about as much as I like of it.

Bundoran: I could walk along the beach and out by the golf course all day. Lovely town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Antrim: Long windy scenic roads through small hamlets with quaint pubs.
    Kerry: Long windy scenic roads through small hamlets with quaint pubs.

In fact, all coastal counties are good, I just never appreciate the Midlands as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I'm guessing you aren't a fan of Dublin. If anything, being close to Dublin will increase most of Meath's resale value, silly culchie.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Longford: Future site of Ireland's drainage system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Galway: was there a few years ago and thought the place was great. Love the Connemara area as well.

Kerry: Nice place to visit with Dingle being my favourite part.

Carlow: Well they never did nothing to nobody.

Dublin:.................................nope, got nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

peabutler wrote: »
    I could have sworn I heard that before.

Sorry,only after seeing that now!
    On my mobile-it has a mind of it's own! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭VW 1

but why cant the people of the country appreciate the city of dublin :D

apart from that love wexford, many summer childhoods spent there and as far as i can remember it felt as hot as spain!

love cork for the (sometimes) friendly people and that accent, the dublin accent can put them off you straight away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

roscommon - hudson bay and lough ree, lough key forest park, the river shannon waterway from carrick-on shannon to boyle, roscommon town on a saturday night

mayo - beautiful achill island where you can see sheep walking down the middle of the villages, irelands most beautiful beach too, westport one of the coolest towns in the country

leitrim - carrick on shannon wonderful town to visit on a sunny summers day, glencar waterfall, ballinamore festival every august, a mad week of craic guaranteed :D

donegal - inishowen peninsula, Slieve League, glenveagh national park, letterkenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

Nobody ever mentions the Midlands...and that's the way we like it.

(but you are all welcome to Tullamore:mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Donegal

I love my county. We have a different accent, a (perhaps perceived) sense of isolation which makes us all the more proud of our location and our culture. On the tourist ads its all surfing, which is fair enough, but the main spot seems to be bundoran, which is right down at the arse of the county, come up further north!

I love our history and landscape, just stand on Doon Rock outside Kilmacrennan and think to yourself 'holy sh1t this the very spot where the last gaelic chieftain in Ireland was crowned (o'donnell)'. Or walk along the magheroarty peninsula only to all of a sudden be faced by a huge sand dune that looks like something out of star trek, and walk up it to the very top only to be faced with the raw and roaring view of the north atlantic. Get a boat to tory island and imagine the myths and legends of Balor the one eye and the formorians, then go get drunk in the bar. Go to a beach in fanad or inishowen or bloody foreland and have the whole place more or less to yourself. Climb mount errigal only to faced with the awesome view of the poison glen and more or less the whole county. Drive up from Donegal town and get a welcome to north of the county with the epic view of barnesmore gap. Go to gartan lake and basque in the complete silence of the surrounding countryside. Go to Ardara and glencolumbkille through the Glengesh pass and have listen to the unique donegal fiddle tradition. go over to inishowen and head for malin head and look behind you and think the whole country is 'down that way'. Go out in Letterkenny and go mad. Go home only to do it all over again.

Go to donegal, 'its different up here'. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Meath: Well, nothing really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Beanstalk wrote: »
    Donegal

I love my county. We have a different accent, a (perhaps perceived) sense of isolation which makes us all the more proud of our location and our culture. On the tourist ads its all surfing, which is fair enough, but the main spot seems to be bundoran, which is right down at the arse of the county, come up further north!

I love our history and landscape, just stand on Doon Rock outside Kilmacrennan and think to yourself 'holy sh1t this the very spot where the last gaelic chieftain in Ireland was crowned (o'donnell)'. Or walk along the magheroarty peninsula only to all of a sudden be faced by a huge sand dune that looks like something out of star trek, and walk up it to the very top only to be faced with the raw and roaring view of the north atlantic. Get a boat to tory island and imagine the myths and legends of Balor the one eye and the formorians, then go get drunk in the bar. Go to a beach in fanad or inishowen or bloody foreland and have the whole place more or less to yourself. Climb mount errigal only to faced with the awesome view of the poison glen and more or less the whole county. Drive up from Donegal town and get a welcome to north of the county with the epic view of barnesmore gap. Go to gartan lake and basque in the complete silence of the surrounding countryside. Go to Ardara and glencolumbkille through the Glengesh pass and have listen to the unique donegal fiddle tradition. go over to inishowen and head for malin head and look behind you and think the whole country is 'down that way'. Go out in Letterkenny and go mad. Go home only to do it all over again.

Go to donegal, 'its different up here'. :pac:

Are you working for the Donegal tourism board?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Osu wrote: »
    Meath: Well, nothing really...

:(

Galway: Favourite county and city in Ireland and one of my favourite places in the world. So many memories from every age; from going on family holidays to spending summers in the Gaeltacht, to mad long weekends there with my friends. The countryside is beautiful, the city is great craic and the people are friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Are you working for the Donegal tourism board?;)

No, but i damn well should be! :D