Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Come on lads, your personal battle is starting to ruin the thread. I came back in here to see if someone had thanked my superb post and instead I just see the two of you at each other's preverbial throats. Back to the subject at hand...can we perform a miracle act and be back in the hunt for the two big trophies come next weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Iwas at the match yesterday and the first half was one of the sorriest excuses for a performance i have ever had the misfortune of witnessing! there have been alot of talk abotu the old guard over the last few pages and tbh i hate to admit it but they cannot be relied on anymore, neville was so far out of his debthj yesterday it frightened me, every time the ball came down the left wing it looked ridiculously dangerous. Scholes and giggs were a yard off the pace for the game, and scholesy came close to being given his marching orders, he just got more and more riled up and for soemone of his experience that shouldnt happen!

Park reverted backwards with his performance yesterday imo, he couldnt cross the road ffs, and his "shot" was laughable!

a few positives however, i thought fletch was solid enough as usual, just didnt have the quality beside him (or behind him), Berba actually had a good game (apart from his missed volley that he SHOULD have done better) the thing with him is he is incredibly talented and finds space and incisive passes that no one else can see....but he has no one to pass to, he cannot play up top by himself, give him 442 and i think he will really thrive! He has actually been one of our more consistent players recently - no matter how much the berba haters dont wanna admit it! Nani and Macheda looked very sharp when they came on (should have been on from half time imo) and i think nani deserves to start on wednesday!

I think this could be the game where we say we lost the league....but anything can happen in football! and ill be cheerin untill the very end!

oh one thing, i have to stick up for headshot here:
    flahavaj wrote: »
    But the way you chose to express your views yesterday reflected very very poorly on you as a United fan.

i would be disaapointed at utd fans who didnt react the way headshot did tbh, we are the champions fighting for a 19th title and another CL, the performance in the 1st half was shockin and at stages looked like chelsea were having a 5 a side kick about in the park, it was embarrasing. Almost all of old trafford was reacting the same way HS was.....the old guard werent up to it yesterday and deserved a kick up the arse! (especially nev imo) and alot of fans were callin for scholes to be taken off...for this own, and the teams good!n expecting the team to play well and reacting when they are sh!te doesnt reflect poorly at all, i think it should be expected!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,801 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Come on lads, your personal battle is starting to ruin the thread. I came back in here to see if someone had thanked my superb post and instead I just see the two of you at each other's preverbial throats. Back to the subject at hand...can we perform a miracle act and be back in the hunt for the two big trophies come next weekend?

We dont need a miracle in fairness.

And yes of course we can get back in the hunt for both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,813 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Fabrication. Why would I call a player who's alive and well a dead horse? If you're going to attribute false quotes to me at least make them plausible.

Everyone says things in the heat of the moment HS, but you do it week in week. It gets to the stage where you have to start to doubt if you're as loyal a United fans as you would like us to think.

Perfectly legitimate point.

Calling him a "useless waster" is a pretty obscure, no to mention disrespectful way of articulating that point however.

idk flah but you mentioned in a recent match day thread

flah come on now at least try harder

but he was a usless waster yesterday, I dont think i call him a useless waster after the match ? where as you call carrick a donkey all the time, I dont like carrick but I dont think call him names all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

oh one thing, i have to stick up for headshot here:

i would be disaapointed at utd fans who didnt react the way headshot did tbh,
    we are the champions fighting for a 19th title and another CL, the performance in the 1st half was shockin and at stages looked like chelsea were having a 5 a side kick about in the park, it was embarrasing. Almost all of old trafford was reacting the same way HS was.....the old guard werent up to it yesterday and deserved a kick up the arse! (especially nev imo) and alot of fans were callin for scholes to be taken off...for this own, and the teams good!n expecting the team to play well and reacting when they are sh!te doesnt reflect poorly at all, i think it should be expected!

All this proves is that United fans especially younger ones have become spoilt rotten by success

And Headshot does it pretty much every match towards a wide variety of players. If I was beside a fan like that all season i'd be looking for a refund on my season ticket tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

baz2009 wrote: »
    So that'll be him staying away from United, thank God.

I agree, would much prefer to see him in a Milan jersey than a Manchester United one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Here lads, can't we just all kiss and make up?

No seriously, Flah and HS were top of my love list. I wanna see where this goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,813 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Osu wrote: »
    Here lads, can't we just all kiss and make up?

No seriously, Flah and HS were top of my love list. I wanna see where this goes.

im finished anyway

iv bloody assignments to do

flah's fishing line is left bare

All this proves is that United fans especially younger ones have become spoilt rotten by success!

spoilt by success!? are you kdding me? it wouldnt matter if we hadnt won a thing in years, a performance like that deserves to be ridiculed, it was embarrasing regardless of past achievments!

Point proven basically. OTT.

Calling your own players "****ing wasters" especially a club legend everytime they underperform or condoning it as you atre is the hallmark of a United fan spoiled by success.

You'd swear they were in the relegation zone the way HS goes on, not still in with a huge shot at the title and a 1-0 win from the CL semi's.

Kids these days.

Point proven basically. OTT.

urm.......what?!

Jaysus the last page and a half of this thread is just plain embarrassing. Grow a pair FFS. Neville was fcking sh*te AGAIN yesterday. It's stupid just because you are a fan to try to ignore this. I've tonnes of respect for the lad, he's a United legend, but FFS he needs to retire. Dennis Irwin may as well have been out there yesterday. You can forgive his lack of pace and the fouls he's giving away in key areas but he has lost the basics of being a footballer, such as kicking a football. He needs to hang them up for the sake of himself and the club.

He's grand as a fourth choice. He was terrible yesterday, granted. As you say yourself you have respect for the lad and rightly so. Calling him a "f*cking waster," as headshot did, however show a total lack of respect.

"Grow a pair?" LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Scholes too, while not anywhere near the player he was is still a useful olayer to have in midfield, he is still far and away the best passer of a ball at the club.

This is one thing that has me at my wit's end lately.

Scholes has given the ball away so many times in crazy positions in the last number of games.

As far back as the Milan tie I remember him giving the ball away 25 yards out from our goal on several occasions and it hasn't improved in big games since.

If he's the best passer we have left at the club we're fcuked.

keane2097 wrote: »
    This is one thing that has me at my wit's end lately.

Scholes has given the ball away so many times in crazy positions in the last number of games.

As far back as the Milan tie I remember him giving the ball away 25 yards out from our goal on several occasions and it hasn't improved in big games since.

If he's the best passer we have left at the club we're fcuked.

So he's been poor for what three weeks?

Take Old Yeller out back and put him down.:rolleyes:

More reactionary rubbish tbh.

Spoiled ratten.

So he's been poor for what three weeks?

Take Old Yeller out back and put him down.:rolleyes:

No I just don't remember any specific examples before that.

I do remember however that he was terrible for the entirety of last season if that helps?
    More reactionary rubbish tbh.

Spoiled ratten.

The last refuge of the under siege - call other peoples' posts "rubbish". Very good.

*slow clap*

No I just don't remember any specific examples before that.

I do remember however that he was terrible for the entirety of last season if that helps?

He had a poor year last year alright But he has been noticeably better this year. I'm still happy to see him in the midfield in games when possession will be at a premium. He's still perfectly capable of doing a job as a squad player, I fail to see what the problem is.

Do you think he should call it a day?
    The last refuge of the under siege - call other peoples' posts "rubbish". Very good.

*slow clap*

More rubbish tbh.:pac:

"Under seige" LOL. United fans love their hyperbole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Jaysus the last page and a half of this thread is just plain embarrassing. Grow a pair FFS. Neville was fcking sh*te AGAIN yesterday. It's stupid just because you are a fan to try to ignore this. I've tonnes of respect for the lad, he's a United legend, but FFS he needs to retire.

I have alot of respect for Neville, Scholes and Giggs but in my opinion they are holding us back and SAF offering these players 1year contracts is minding boggling, he should be buying their replacements. It makes we wonder about Manutd finanical situatuion even more. SAF sold Pique because he had to make a choice between himself and Evans but then goes and spends £12million on Chris smalling, that makes no sense.

I believe the club needs to sign at least 3 top players in the summer and we should have done it after we won the League and Champions league. Ribery, Benezma and ACM is what is needed. SAF needs to sell Berbatov, no one doubts his talent but he does not suit our style of play unless we go 4-4-2 and even then he struggles.

This summer is going to be very interesting at Manutd because the likes of Chelsea will make some big changes, Man City will be throwing money around again and L'pool will all make changes.

He had a poor year last year alright But he has been noticeably better this year.

He was shocking last year.

He's been better this season alright. Better than shocking != good however.

He's still been pretty poor this year.
    I'm still happy to see him in the midfield in games when possession will be at a premium.

Then you're crazy.

By "posession at a premium" I assume you mean against teams that have good midfields that we need to hold onto the ball against?

In that case, against Milan he was hopeless, against Bayern last week he was hopeless, against Chelsea yesterday he was hopeless.

We don't have that many games in a season when we're up against quality midfields - every time we have been this year Scholes has been terrible.
    He's still perfectly capable of doing a job as a squad player, I fail to see what the problem is.

He's grand to play in a three man centre midfield against teams from about 9th to 20th in the PL, I wouldn't trust him in any other role.

The problem with that is we should be destroying teams like that with two CMs.
    Do you think he should call it a day?

Yes.

I think we've spent the last two seasons playing with extra CMs to try and protect Giggs and Scholes.

Neither of them (especially Scholes imo) are up to playing at the highest level unless we set out the team in such a way as to specifically protect them from exposure.

Not good enough imo.

Poor man's CHD tbh.

He was shocking last year.

He's been better this season alright. Better than shocking != good however.

He's still been pretty poor this year.

He's been good enough to keep in the squad IMO.

By "posession at a premium" I assume you mean against teams that have good midfields that we need to hold onto the ball against?

In that case, against Milan he was hopeless, against Bayern last week he was hopeless, against Chelsea yesterday he was hopeless.

We don't have that many games in a season when we're up against quality midfields - every time we have been this year Scholes has been terrible.

Nearly everyone was hopeless against Chelsea and Bayern though its unfair just to pick him out? Apart from maye one or two players they were all below par yeaterday.
    He's grand to play in a three man centre midfield against teams from about 9th to 20th in the PL, I wouldn't trust him in any other role.

The problem with that is we should be destroying teams like that with two CMs.

Yes.

I think we've spent the last two seasons playing with extra CMs to try and protect Giggs and Scholes.

Neither of them (especially Scholes imo) are up to playing at the highest level unless we set out the team in such a way as to specifically protect them from exposure.

Not good enough imo.

But United have played 3 in midfield when neither have been playing as well? Its Ferguson'd formation of choice now, whether Scholes and Giggs stay and go, that'll be the formation either way. They, specifically, are not the reason he plays that way.

Poor man's CHD tbh.

Sound.

Poor man's CHD tbh.

Wow, that's gotta hurt. Poor mans CHD. Ouch!

Not true tho. But ouch...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Vanbis , SAF sold Pique because he wanted to go back to Barca (and pique knew he would be waiting awhile before dislodging vidic and Rio) . .

In terms of the Paul Scholes debate I have mixed feelings . . He may not be good enough to play against top teams anymore, but is definitely worth keeping as a squad player . . Like its always worth having o'sheas, Parks and nevilles in your squad . .

In truth, united have been missing heargreaves or another CM to bulk up our midfield . . I imagine the idea was to have Fletch Heargreaves and Scholes/Carrick in CM . . Remember Scholes is an attacking midfielder being asked to play a more defencive position . . Hell we have had to play Giggs in CM at times which says it all for me . .

United need a CB, a CM and a CF IMO . .

Wow, that's gotta hurt. Poor mans CHD. Ouch!

Not true tho. But ouch...!

LOL not at all. I always enjoy CHD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Scholes, Giggs and to a lesser extent Neville still serve a purpose in the squad, however starting all 3 of them against Chelsea is simply not an option. It just leaves us far too exposed for pace.

I would also say they're three of our most inconsistent performers. They have all put in some excellent performances this season, but very often this season they haven't performed.

Giggs has become a bit of a luxury player, in the sense that he is always trying the sublime, but it is often combined with the ridiculous.

Now against Hull or Bolton, this is fine, because when we give the ball away in their half it's not that much of a problem because it's only a matter of time until we get it back. Against Chelsea, this is not the case, and Giggs either needs to be told to prioritise ball retention over playing the killer pass or needs to be left on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Vanbis wrote: »
    SAF sold Pique because he had to make a choice between himself and Evans but then goes and spends £12million on Chris smalling, that makes no sense.
    Pique wasn't sold last summer like, time has passed since he left and things have changed. Rio now has a chronic back problem being one big difference. Also Pique wanted to leave and he and Evans were both at the same stage in developement, whereas Smalling will clearly be behind Evans in the pecking order.
    Vanbis wrote: »
    SAF needs to sell Berbatov, no one doubts his talent but he does not suit our style of play unless we go 4-4-2 and even then he struggles.
    He doesn't struggle in 442 so much as the whole team struggles because we don't have the quality in central midfield to get by with just two in there. People blaming United's problems on strikers and wingers is dumb, considering the glaring problems in our central midfield. There have been countless crappy performances from our CMs this season, that's the thing that needs to be sorted out. Once that has been fixed then will be the time when we can honestly assess the strikers and wingers.

Regarding the old guard debate, I have no problem with Scholes, Giggs and Neville being in the squad. What I do have problem with is the fact that we rely on Scholes and Giggs way too much. Again the solution is simple, buy a quality cm in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Which would make you a _________ fan?

Either that or you just generalized a group that you are a part of.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

A United fan who thinks that the large anount of his fellow United fans are an embarrassment a lot of the time.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

A fan of generalisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

A United fan who thinks that the large anount of his fellow United fans are an embarrassment a lot of the time.

Knew there was a reason I respected your views.

A fan of generalisation.

And hurling.:pac: