Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Former Great

Lads what do ye think i fear the league may be gone after today , its a disaster of a result and im gutted.. I was convinced we would at worst get a point today.. Chelsea have two handy home games coming and were away to Blackburn and City, we are not good enough to get 6 points from these two games without rooney but i reckon he'l be back for the blackburn match..
    It looks like were relying on Liverpool to win us the title , good thing they'l need the points for fourth..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Headshot wrote: »
    we'll have to do our tenner bet next weekend for sure

haha, i dont know i'm having some rotten luck with football bets of late. Once my PP accounts hits the €0.00 which will probably be wednesday thats me done for the season unless i get a big win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,813 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Vanbis wrote: »
    haha, i dont know i'm having some rotten luck with football bets of late. Once my PP accounts hits the €0.00 which will probably be wednesday thats me done for the season unless i get a big win.

live betting ftw

I just won 110 euro on the city game

live betting ftw

I just won 110 euro on the city game

Yeah i tried that a few times, i did Benfica to beat L'pool at half-time 3-1 and failed.

dont do correct score bets

stick to

Team To Score the next goal
    handicap bets
    Over/Under
    Goalscorer bets

dont do correct score bets

stick to

Team To Score the next goal
    handicap bets
    Over/Under
    Goalscorer bets

I'm currently looking at Athletico Bilbao and Wigan double, just checking the Barca team news before i hit confirm.

Just saw it and confirmed my bet, Bilbao playing well and could cause problems @ 14/1 on PP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Chelsea have two handy home games coming and were away to Blackburn and City

Their away to Spurs when were at City. If we win our next two games we will be a point ahead with the spurs game the evening match. At the moment the goal difference has us screwed cause apart from stoke at home I cant see were were gonna make up the ground on that side so we really have to win all our games and hope Chelsea only get a point from their away games to Spurs and Pool which is quite possible. If Liverpool need to win to qualify for fourth I think they will do it.

Also its pretty ironic that for us to eclipse Liverpools total of 18 titles is dependant on them qualify 4th by beating Chelsea and us beating their rivals-Spurs and City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,346 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Going to be very tough for the league now - we have to win all our remaining games (which we can do in fairness) and also hope that chelsea lose one of the next few games, a draw won't be enough for us. Chelsea clear favourites right now.

Today was massively disappointing - not just because we lost, but because (imo) we deservered to lose, or at least it wasn't an unjust result on the balance of play and chances. Was looking at the side and our attacking play, and just didn't see where we were going to get a goal from - Berbatov had a couple of half chance headers and possibly should have done better with the volley at the end. Park, unfortunatly, was on the end of our best chances and never looked like taking them.

Really, our squad is so short on quality in attack. We really need a quality AMC that will worry the opposition within that 20-30yard area with shots/creative passes/general movement. It was clearly lacking today, with neither Park or Giggs doing well in that position. We also desperately need Hargreaves back, and on his game. I'm not sure if we will get either, and I would like to see a decision made this summer - we can't afford him to be taking a senior squad place next season if he isn't going to be a player we can count on in the big games, the ones he was bought for.

man utd to go for an AMC during the summer?

no chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,346 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

man utd to go for an AMC during the summer?

no chance

why do you say that?

when are ever linked with CM, always strikers or defender, that and it was clear as day we needed one during the summer but nothing came. Hell we went for benzema during the summer, a player we didnt need, stuff like that is bizarre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

when are ever linked with CM, always strikers or defender, that and it was clear as day we needed one during the summer but nothing came. Hell we went for benzema during the summer, a player we didnt need, stuff like that is bizarre

I wouldn't pay a blind bit of notice to who united are linked with usually tbh.

In many cases signings that actually go ahead come out of the blue without any prior speculation (such as Evra and Vidic) while the long running sagas such as Ronaldinho a few years ago are the ones that fall apart.

Was Boggles at the game today? Just curious to know what he thought of the game today and performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Was Boggles at the game today? Just curious to know what he thought of the game today and performance.

Im sure he would have thought that Rooney was our second biggest absentee today ;)

Archimedes wrote: »
    Im sure he would have thought that Rooney was our second biggest absentee today ;)

haha... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

United's 'people' putting the media off the scent by leaking rumours about players that Fergie isn't gonna go near, so that the players he does wanna buy prices don't inflate with other interest?

That sentence even has me confused.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Bored in work there this evening, got thinking of the United chant (U.N.I.T.E.D., United are the team for me etc.) and I came up with an ever so slightly modified version for when we win our 19th league title. Ahem;
    U.N.I.T.E.D., the best team in league history, with a knick knack paddy whack, give a dog a bone, why don't scousers fcuk off home :)

Bored in work there this evening, got thinking of the United chant (U.N.I.T.E.D., United are the team for me etc.) and I came up with an ever so slightly modified version for when we win our 19th league title. Ahem;
    U.N.I.T.E.D., the best team in league history, with a knick knack paddy whack, give a dog a bone, why don't liverpool fcuk off home :)

Pretty good.:D
    Swap Scousers for Liverpool maybe?

we have a pretty old team and i think that's costing us. fergie relies to much on the old guard and even giving them contract extentsions is taking the piss imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

there are stories going around that Rooney will be back for the Bayern game

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/129331/Miracle-Wayne-Rooney-may-face-Bayern-Munich/

Unfortunately for us, it's The Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Not a hope in hell:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

baz2009 wrote: »
    Pretty good.:D
    Swap Scousers for Liverpool maybe?
    Or maybe "it aint over till its over" by Lenny Kravitz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Chin up.

Chelsea drew their last 5 games in 2006/2007

Title hasn't been handed out yet.

we have a pretty old team and i think that's costing us. fergie relies to much on the old guard and even giving them contract extentsions is taking the piss imo

Not really.

United have some veterans alright who still can do a job.

Giggs is still more than worth his place look at his assists recpord the last two years its as good id nt better than anyone in the Premier League.

Scholes too, while not anywhere near the player he was is still a useful olayer to have in midfield, he is still far and away the best passer of a ball at the club.

And Neville is grand as a 4th choice full back, which is what he is at the moment. A great lad to have around the dressing room.

Your abusive comments directed at club legends such as Giggs and Neville in the match thread were appalling yesterday, you ought to be ashamed of yourself.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Not really.

United have some veterans alright who still can do a job.

Giggs is still more than worth his place look at his assists recpord the last two years its as good id nt better than anyone in the Premier League.

Scholes too, while not anywhere near the player he was is still a useful olayer to have in midfield, he is still far and away the best passer of a ball at the club.

And Neville is grand as a 4th choice full back, which is what he is at the moment. A great lad to have around the dressing room.

Your abusive comments directed at club legends such as Giggs and Neville in the match thread were appalling yesterday, you ought to be ashamed of yourself.

you do talk some good ****e flah

the vidic stuff comes to mind

I love the legends, im especially a big fan of scholes but they shouldnt be near a big match like the chelsea match, they were brutal yesterday especially nev, his crossing was an embarrassment, giggs was extremely poor yesterday and paul just doesnt have it in him anymore unfortunately. That hurts to say btw but I rather not have anymore passengers in the team

flahavaj wrote: »

btw just wanted to highlight this

if said this to you before but ill repeat myself, that's ****ing rich come from you, I use to be a fan of yours but for some reason you get bored easily and we know what happens then

some times I think your CHD in disguise

I love the legends, im especially a big fan of scholes but they shouldnt be near a big match like the chelsea match, they were brutal yesterday especially nev, his crossing was an embarrassment, giggs was extremely poor yesterday and paul just doesnt have it in him anymore unfortunately. That hurts to say btw but I rather not have anymore passengers in the team

The Vidic stuff stuff ws more than a little tongue in cheek by the end.

You calling Neville a "f*cking waste of space" was something that I found shocking from such a normally steadfast united fan tbh. No matter how badly he played he deserves better than that.:eek:
    btw just wanted to highlight this

if said this to you before but ill repeat myself, that's ****ing rich come from you, I use to be a fan of yours but for some reason you get bored easily and we know what happens then

And you turn on your own players too easily in the heat of the moment tbh. I've seen it happen now in recent match threads with Carrick, Berba, Nani, Shcoles, Giggs and Neville. Do you even support United?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

Strange that it always seems to be other people who are "talking ****e" when discussing things with you :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

It is sad to say but I would agree with this, scholes especially in the big games doesn't look up to much unfortunately. Giggs has been great the last 2 years but how much longer can he keep doing it, I thought his passing and control was a bit off yesterday. And Neville, well as a previous poster said he is alright for a 4th choice, as long as the other 3 choices are fully fit.

Saying that, still think United are in with a massive shout of winning the league as we have enough more than enough qality to do so.