Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Haye vs John Ruiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Looks like Haye is gassing to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

the corner of Ruiz was telling him to use the jab.

Haye is still sucking in air. Last time I saw something gasping like him it had a hook in it's mouth after coming from the river.

Damn if Ruiz had power, Haye was on his ass there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

In all fairness . . Ruiz takes a punch like a champ . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,605 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Ruiz is super tough. Haye would have stopped most fighters by this stage.

Been a much better fight than expected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Ruiz has my respect! just keeps coming back, a warrior

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Need2Know4Sure

In fainess....Ruiz takin some blows and not buckeling.....fair play considering his age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I'm not impressed, they just picked a bloke who could take a beating while not seriously threatening Haye. This is what makes people dismiss Boxing.

Haye has been going backwards since the start of the second round. Not a good sign against the likes of Ruiz.

Fight stopped?!?!?!?!

Finish him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

All over, right decission by his corner. Ruiz earned his money tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,605 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

what a warior ruiz was.. it's a pity the towel had to be throw in but it was the correct decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

He stops him in Round 9.

PS never knew Haye's mother is white!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Disappointing, I hate Jim Watt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

fairplay to Haye

but not near as impressive as Darke and Watt are making out

he got hit way too much by a 38 year old lumbering heavyweight

lets hope he gets one of the Klitschos now

sure who else is there???

considering his record....Ruiz was never going to be beaten easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭brick tamland

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I'm not impressed, they just picked a bloke who could take a beating while not seriously threatening Haye. This is what makes people dismiss Boxing.

wasnt it a manditory defense against the no1 contender

Good fight. enjoed it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Jigga wrote: »
    He stops him in Round 9.

PS never knew Haye's mother is white!
    Why would you? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

LZ5by5 wrote: »

I don't get this comment, nobody picked Ruiz he was number 1 contender with WBA, stepped aside to let Haye fight Valuev in return for the first shot at Haye if he won. I think if anything Ruiz chose this fight as much as anyone.

Ruiz fought completely differently to his natural style, took some of the biggest hits I've seen in the HW division for years and kept coming forward and landed some decent shots himself. I was never 100% confident that Haye wouldn't ship a big punch and hit the floor like the Thompson fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I fkn hate sky commentators . . "hes good isnt he!" as smug as possible as if Haye just floored Ali ! !

The guy is to old to be taking shots like that all night long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Ruiz is one tough S.O.B. boy is his nose messed up. fair play to his corner, he was taking a hell of a beating. haye will do well to hold onto his title if he meets a better opponent. he didnt look in as good a shape as he normally has

I think Haye is lucky he was in the ring against Ruiz tonight.

He was stupidly easy to hit, did not seem to be able to come up with a plan B when Ruiz kept coming, seemed to be breathing hard from very early, plus he got away with contant blows to the back of the head of Ruiz, something he would not have gotten away with, with many refs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

I'm surprised Haye was even as mobile as he was considering Jim Watts face was in his lap all night

Drumpot wrote: »
    I fkn hate sky commentators . . "hes good isnt he!" as smug as possible as if Haye just floored Ali ! !

Its not just British commentators who are guilty of this.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,745 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

'this result will reverberate around world boxing'

me bollix it will, he stopped a willing old guy without the power to really make the most of Haye's poor defence and he did it by hitting him around the back of the head a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭markfightie

**** i cant listen to these sky commentators any more, bunch of ball lickers.

Haye was of a better class, but he gassed early, doesnt throw enough punches and was lucky

he looks like audley harrison all over again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

haye will get wiped out by either of the klitchkos,pity hes afraid to fight them