Security guards/batons?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Time for a good old five a side on the astro turf, serving officers versus civilians! Seems like the only intellectual way to settle this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

?????

He didnt mention firearms....he said RE: spray and batons......of which the magical SDU recieve the same training as every other member of AGS.

Ya beat me to it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Why is it that every thread that gets even a little bit "debatey" here has to turn into a bitching fest? Can we agree to disagree that different people have different levels of knowledge?

I'm not directly accusing anyone of this, but suffice to say that if there's anyone here just pretending to know things and in reality just speculating, can I kindly request that they bog off. Just because you might know someone who works somewhere or because you read something on wikipedia does not grant you a PhD in the field.

Sorry to backseat mod but I hate seeing a lively debate ruined by someone who just has to be right. In any event the level of training offered to Gardaí really isn't the point under debate anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Couldnt agree more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

wexfjord wrote: »
    Bad aim = Bent baton

Thats one piece of information i'll be sure to retain.:eek:
    ha ha. It was an old one. My twin brother is home tonight because he broke his arm. Templemore gave him a day off to go to hospital. He has his gear with him. The baton he has is alot stronger than the one I seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Chances are you saw the chinese version of the ASP that gets flogged around the security industry. Its a complete piece of crap compared to the ASP. More likely the rings holding it in place are made from dried noodles, meaning after 2-3 extensions its more flaccid in nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭bycikas

Nice thread. So ok, I AM SECURITY GUARD. Working in the shops. I was doing doors before, was STABBED 3 times while on duty. I have my own stab west which i do carry while on duty. (covert)

I am foreign national - was trained by Lithuanian Interior ministry and have body-guarding license and license to use duty firearms i did work in ARMED RESPONSE UNIT in my country. Have PSA Licenses ( AND yes PSA training is sooooo poor ) and i would say law should be changed as at the moment law is an a** in ireland and at most cases protect the bad guys...

In some places it is very peaceful , but at some places you get trouble every 10-15 minutes and at most cases you are alone against 3-5 guys ho don't care as you are ONLY A F*** Security guy... And you the only people that may back-you-up in some cases are the store employee's at most cases 2-3 ladies... So not much of help..

So why not to arm the guys that have proper experience/background and training? BAD GUYS ARE ARMED... And we are? we are there ho knows for what...

And even worse thing when you work in ireland,that most people seeing you as a foreign try to make your life even harder :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭kravmaga

sdonn wrote: »
    Why is it that every thread that gets even a little bit "debatey" here has to turn into a bitching fest? Can we agree to disagree that different people have different levels of knowledge?

I'm not directly accusing anyone of this, but suffice to say that if there's anyone here just pretending to know things and in reality just speculating, can I kindly request that they bog off. Just because you might know someone who works somewhere or because you read something on wikipedia does not grant you a PhD in the field.

There are people on here who have degrees in Police studies from the UK and they have real knowledge of Garda training even though they maybe a civilian.

Why is it that some members of AGS on this thread get soo sensitive when someone who is not AGS but had service in a UK force and has active knowledge of AGS training is made out to be using Google or Wikipedia search engines ?

Can people just chill out a little.......thanks

?????

He didnt mention firearms....he said RE: spray and batons......of which the magical SDU recieve the same training as every other member of AGS.

Can you relax dude.....;)

wexfjord wrote: »
    Time for a good old five a side on the astro turf, serving officers versus civilians! Seems like the only intellectual way to settle this.

lol, yes there appears to be a lot of people with big Egos on here.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭air assault

My own personal belief is that Security Guards should be issued some form of baton an ASP would be apporpiate. This should only happen if legislation is passed and proper tarining in the use of them is put in place. A simple solution for the traning would be to use Garda instructors to train the security guards in the use of ASP's.

I do think the Gardai would be apposed to this happening thoough as they may see giving security gurads batons and handucffs as a cheap alternative to the Gardai.

I belive the PSA are a joke, they take forever to issuse you your licnese and are a money making racket.

The FETAC courses i.e the level 5 and level 6 security courses that are a year long have abosltutly no relevance to working in securuity.

I did the level 5 course last year and the guy over the security part of it turned up for about 20mins in the whole year but i still got a distinction in it.

I think that the standard of security guard traning is a joke here. All security officers both door, static and retail should have to do an intensive course. Unfortunalty these courses do not exist.

I belive the course should cover:

Basic first aid
    Searching
    Conflict resolution.
    Use of ASP
    Crime Prevention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

kravmaga wrote: »

Its fair to assume that the cowboys have been taken out of the sector and

There is still a fair amount of Indians in the sector tough. Having worked a door in a hotel at night some of the staff were mental cases and only looked for an excuse to bounce somebody's head off the pavement. The real lads never have to pretend they are hard or look to beat the **** out of someone, the real lads have a quiet word and let you on your way and if you need to be escorted they'll do it. Reacting with violence in a tetchy situation is a really bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

So no one is in favor deescalation techniques?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭CaseyRyback

Zombie thread :eek:

Am also wondering why this is on the emergency services forum? Would it not be better suited to legal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 unrelatedfav

I am a security guard and have been for the last 2 years for differant companys , doing festivals retail and concerts , many many of the people i work with mostly forgein security guards like polish have trained in using weapons in there line of work , some even have liscenses to carry a fire arm but are not allowed to in ireland , i dont carry any weapon when im on a job but i would prefer to have some sort of weapon on me incase i was in danger and could protect myself as i am not as big or experienced as other men and women in the company i work for , also if a security guard was doing a festival that had a bad reputation that security would prepare himself with stab fest kevlar gloves torch and extendable baton , basically not to hurt anyone but if the occasion arrises when u show ur weapon it can disperse a crowd of people , i do not know if they are lisencsed to use these weapons but they are all trained and do not use them unless it comes to the stage were we would have a small riot on or somthing which physically we have no chance of taking charge of , not once have i seen one of my colleagues use there baton , those security at a shop shouldnt be wearing batons as its just a shop ur not dealing with thousands of ppl at big events where u would incounter urself outnumbered , (sorry for my spelling )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

silly question but
    US Embassy security

why specifically US staff? Surely if the offense occurs on US soil or any foreign embassy (the embassy) then the staff are covered by relevant law of the nations embassy (hence armed marines in some US embassies) but are you saying if they walk out from the US embassy they are covered under Irish law to use the baton ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Lads this thread has run its course..... last year.

Closed.