Nine charged with irish teenagers death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

Bonito wrote: »
    QFT. They may bully you when you're younger but when you wise up as you get older and have a proper look at them you realise they're nothing but snivelling little fúcks protected in their little group. Catching them on their own they wont even raise their head to you. It always comes to the day where they will mess with the wrong person and have their arses handed back to them while they run home licking their wounds and crying to their mammy.

bullying doesn't stop just because people grow up.

it happens in the workplace.

It happens in families, prisons , armies ( to name but a few ) and it will probably even happen in the nursing home.

In terms of group bullying situations - individuals may as you say "not raise their head to you" when you meet them on their own..

in fact they may even be nice to you.

In modern PC speak they themselves are "victims" ... i.e. they are doing it to be part of the group..individually they have nothing against the victim of the bullying and might even like the person. they might not even realise the impact of their actions.

The victim ( i am using the term "victim" generally and not in reference to the teenager in the South Hadley case ) may have initially been welcomed or befriended by the local girls and therefore she may have believed that if she denied what was happening and went along as normal then things might go back to the way they once were..another target would be found etc.

the victim may have sought to be included by these groups and therefore was willing to put up with the bullying ( assuming it was non-physical bullying ).

Its very easy to say on an internet forum that all one has to do is stand up for yourself... bullying doesn't exactly do wonders for the self-confidence .. self-confidence which is needed to stand up for oneself.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

OK, i'm dead against bullying, i'm also dead against suicide, i'm also a huge fan of survival of the fittest

Has anybody tried to do us a favour and smoother you in your sleep!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

i'm also a huge fan of survival of the fittest
    Is that a new reality TV program ?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

djhunter30 wrote: »

Delightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

bonerm wrote: »
    We know nothing about school-yard bullying and minding your place over here when compared to the yanks.
    Truthfully I feel its because of the School Uniform. Don't ever get rid of the Uniform.
    This is endemic in the US school system, a side-effect of US capitalism where you're nobody unless you're the best sports star or the most attractive female. This is at best ignored, but often enforced by the teachers and administraton in the school.
    Okay: Uniforms and Tamigotchis.

Im disappointed the school isn't accepting its fair blame in this.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Delightful.

So is your choice of nick name!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

bullying doesn't stop just because people grow up.

it happens in the workplace.

It happens in families, prisons , armies ( to name but a few ) and it will probably even happen in the nursing home.
    Agree 100%. I was just giving reference to the certain situation of a school environment of bullying. :)
    In terms of group bullying situations - individuals may as you say "not raise their head to you" when you meet them on their own..

in fact they may even be nice to you.
    Seen this countless times. Maybe if they show any sign of being nice to someone they bully it's seen as a weakness within their group and they might be pushed out and bullied themselves? Maybe they bully people for fear of being bullied themselves?
    In modern PC speak they themselves are "victims" ... i.e. they are doing it to be part of the group..individually they have nothing against the victim of the bullying and might even like the person. they might not even realise the impact of their actions.The victim ( i am using the term victim "generally" and not in reference to the teenager in the South Hadley case ) may have initially been welcomed or befriended by the local girls and therefore she may have believed that if she denied what was happening and went along as normal then things might go back to the way they once were..another target would be found etc.

the victim may have sought to be included by these groups and therefore was willing to put up with the bullying ( assuming it was non-physical bullying ).

Its very easy to say on an internet forum that all one has to do is stand up for yourself... bullying doesn't exactly do wonders for the self-confidence .. self-confidence which is needed to stand up for oneself.
    Nail on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Overheal wrote: »
    Truthfully I feel its because of the School Uniform. Don't ever get rid of the Uniform.

+1 a lot of truth in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

all right, sorry for having an opinion

i'd love to see the world in 1000 years when atm we're doing everything to save everyone/everything we can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

In before Kim Wilde

I don't understand how you can be bullied by Facebook. If people are sending you messages surely you would just unfriendalise them or, you know, stop logging in all the time.
    I suppose the idea of the bullies being able to get at you even outside of school, when you're at home, maybe trying to forget about the horrible events of the day by using facebook.
    Even if she didn't add them as friends they can still make fun and be horrible on their own and others pages. I suppose you could liken it to the internet equivalent of writing horrible things about someone on the toilet door for your peers to see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

OK, i'm dead against bullying, i'm also dead against suicide, i'm also a huge fan of survival of the fittest

..and the "survival of the the fittest" applies to 15 year old schoolgirls how exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Here's a link to another article where it gives the pictures,names, and ages of the bullies, just uploaded 2 hours ago.
    http://www.bostonherald.com/news/regional/view/20100330nine_students_charged_in_death/
    The majority of the bullies were older than her, ranging from 16 to 18 years of age. It must have been so intimidating for her. This case makes me so angry and sad, I hope they get the maximum punishment by the courts whatever that is, but that still won't even be near enough punishment.
    That said, I'm glad they have been publicly named and shamed, so that people can actually see the faces behind the story. Lets see them try to talk their way out of everything now,like the girl who bragged about being able to do it when the cops first interviewed her. Won't be so easy, when such a large population can finally see you for the bullies that you are, nomatter how you try to get out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:mad: There was a report there on R.T.E news and after the report had ended and they went back to the studio, sharon and the other guy were laughing and smiliing:mad:. Bad form very bad from espically after the piece that had just aired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

:mad: There was a report there on R.T.E news and after the report had ended and they went back to the studio, sharon and the other guy were laughing and smiliing:mad:. Bad form very bad from espically after the piece that had just aired.

Seriously? f*cking amateurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Yes saw that. Very bad form indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Fair play to the Americans for prosecuting those pieces of vermin.

There was a similar tragedy involving a young girl from Wexford about 2 years ago, but nothing was ever done. It was unknown why the girl had commited suicide until her sister found her diary detailing the bullying - and the names of the bullies. It was discussed on radio, but their names were not allowed to be given! I wish I could find the link.

I hope there will be justice for Phoebe.

EDIT: Here's a link http://www.rte.ie/tv/wouldyoubelieve/bullied.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I think the aspect of Kayla Narey, the ringleader, is interesting. She was an honours student and a star on their hockey team, with a very bright future ahead of her.
    How she must bitterly regret what she's done now - a criminal record, and her name will always be linked to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Terrible story and situation. Is it possible to petition the school or sign a book of condolences?

On another note :I wonder have any of the people on here saying that bullies are only cowards and the victims should stand up to them,have ever actually been bullied?

Any bullies (male) that I have ever encountered were always bigger/stronger/tougher than me. They had equally tough friends or older brothers.
    Bullying needs to be reported and taken seriously by the person or people who are responsible for enforcing anti-bullying policies.

Its my opinion that people dont really care or want to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

Just sent this email........

We pledge to create a challenging and supportive academic community in which each student will acquire the knowledge and skills needed to successfully pursue post-secondary options of their choice and act as a responsible citizen in a diverse and global society..

Dear Sir,
    In light of the recent tragedy involving poor Phoebe Prince, perhaps it would be appropriate to amend or indeed remove the above Mission Statement as a mark of respect, until such time as ALL of those responsible for the aforementioned tragedy have been held to account.

Respectfully Yours,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

LittleBook wrote: »
    Statement from Northwestern DA

For crying out loud, what's the point in teaching kids to report bullying if the "grown-ups" can't/won't deal with it!
    The reason behind the adults doing sfa about the bullying lies with the bullies themselves. Captain of the football team, captain of the hockey team, honor roll students. The teachers would not dare question them, they had a free run in the school and this is what happened.

The poor girl was extremely pretty and obviously grabbed the attention of the high school jock much to the disdain of his groupies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

The story is getting a lot of news time in the US and there seems to be general revulsion at what happened.

Bullying a child from Ireland? Those kids wont get much sympathy from a Massachusetts jury thats for sure.

Has there been similar cases to this before that anyone knows of?

Yes, there was a case last year I think (in the US), there was one of the bullying kids parents involved as well I think.

I dont remember the outcome though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

each one of them should get life, because thats what price that poor girl paid. And for the two rapists, i hope the enjoy a suprise when they bend over to get the soap in jail, because they deserve to be on the recieving end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

each one of them should get life, because thats what price that poor girl paid. And for the two rapists, i hope the enjoy a suprise when they bend over to get the soap in jail, because they deserve to be on the recieving end.

I think they'll be some inmates' bitches long before they hit the showers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Will people cop on. Bullying goes on in every school and that will never change. We don't know if this girl would have killed herself anyway. Thousands of kids and adults go through bullying every day but we dont see thousands of bullying related suicide. I really dont see the kids in this school as murderers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Yes, there was a case last year I think (in the US), there was one of the bullying kids parents involved as well I think.

I dont remember the outcome though.

I think this is the one you are talking about:

Suicide of Megan Meier

Shocking stuff