Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Midday TV3

• 03-03-2009 10:58AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭

Maybe this has been discussed before but it really is the most hackneyed piece of television ever!I mean it basically has the same few topics the whole time,woe be tide when the recession lifts that's a cornerstone of the show.
    The rest are just areas of discussion that have been done to death e.g. smacking kids,politicians,price of everyday items. It offers nothing new to the talk show genre.Am i alone in my hatred of this steaming pile?Can anyone point out some redeeming qualities?
    Rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

The same can probably be said to most TV3 shows, it's just thrown together to meet their criteria of having to produce a certain amount of homemade programming

E.g.
    Lawless Ireland - extremely cheaply put together show with all footage from YouTube/CCTV
    Xpose - fluff pieces with syndicated interviews and interviews with shop owners / other advertising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It's TV3. You shouldn't be surprised. The only decent discussion element on that channel is Vincent Browne, which is consistently good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭jpjc05

TV3 = Wall paper television

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭tommy249

Aidric wrote: »
    It's TV3. You shouldn't be surprised. The only decent discussion element on that channel is Vincent Browne, which is consistently good.

I dont watch Vincent Browne on TV3 so I can't comment on the quality of the show but this made me laugh!!

http://www.todayfm.com/Shows/Weekdays/Ray-DArcy-Show/Blog/09-02-18/Due_diligence_due_diligence_due_diligence.aspx?ReturnURL=%2fShows%2fWeekdays%2fRay-DArcy-Show%2fBlog.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,043 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Milky Moo wrote: »
    Am i alone in my hatred of this steaming pile?Can anyone point out some redeeming qualities?

Colette Fitzpatrick's magnificent breasts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 fitch34

Just watched 5 minutes of this show! Pure and utter tripe! how do tv3 get away with it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

fitch34 wrote: »
    Just watched 5 minutes of this show! Pure and utter tripe! how do tv3 get away with it??

even jeremy kyle would be embarrassed by it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭iseegirls

It gets good ratings for them at that time - and I suppose that's all TV3 are interested in really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭susanroth

:mad:I absolutely abhor this show:mad::mad: it really cant get any worse for tv3. its nothing but a bunch of biddies talking utter sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Tiddlers

I'm going to be a bit kinder..I think it depends who's on the panel. But it's true they've pretty much been flogging the same stories for at least a year now.Though it was a massive improvement,IMO, when they got rid of Cantwell.What a nasty,antagonising,narrow-minded man he often was on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

it has become loose women only cheaper. The guests usually consist of Mary Coughlan, Fiona Looney, Bridie from Glenroe, Amanda Brunker and Niall Quinns wife (HOT!). Mostly they sit there a moan about snoring partners, dieting, parenting, not being able to understand football, fashion blah blah blah!
    Basically like a group of hens clucking in a hen house.
    Also Brunker and Looney are by far the most annoying women ever to be put on screen. Theres more journalistic skills in a dead monkey than those two put together.
    Colette does have great assets tho!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I clicked on this thread for a "what a waste of our license fee" or "RTE canteen" comment. All I got was sub par moaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

rovert wrote: »
    I clicked on this thread for a "what a waste of our license fee" or "RTE canteen" comment. All I got was sub par moaning.

What has the license fee or RTE got to do with TV3? They are a private company who are not state subsidized, and in competition with RTE so are hardly likely to have access to the RTE canteen.

No ****, I was looking for lolz. All I got was sub-LLS thread guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Not for the first time I fail to see your reason for posting on a thread.

No surprise there in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The Tribune summed it up well.
    We've been ignoring TV3's Midday for some time now but hearing the endless chatter about it from unemployed friends in the same way insomniacs talk about Play TV, we delved into the world of TV3's half-assed attempt to make a witches' brew of eye of View, tail of Loose Women.

For those not at home in the afternoon, Midday is a panel format presented this week by Elaine Crowley (above). She was joined by yer wan from from The Apprentice who said "Daddy can't buy you cop on in Trinity College" and three other blow ins who stumbled into the studio. Speaking of studios, TV3 has outdone itself in the shoddiness of this build. One imagines the Ballymount bosses were in a Lidl shop when the StudioCheapinkeitenzung for €49.99 jumped out from the middle aisle. The programme serves no real purpose other than to be a "man-free zone" so the wimmin can talk about things that matter to them, which appears to be a range of topics previously discussed on the Chris Barry phone show circa 1999.

Crucially, instead of casting different characters, TV3 seemed to just grab the first four people queueing for the jacks in Milanos, most of whom pretend to have opinions purely for the purposes of a studio debate. Then they all settle on the same conclusion.

Come back Play TV, all is forgiven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Surely the typical and cliched "what a waste of our license fee" or "RTE canteen" are all sub par moaning.

The show is just there for the numbers, so the CEO can stated that TV3 provided 30% Irish programming when cancelling ConTV PlayTV.

whats lolz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

Elmo wrote: »

whats lolz?
    loud laughs with a z.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr. Gruff

Anyone have a decent sized "midday" image that could be printed on A3 paper?
    Preferably one that shows the entire panel, or the menopaussey, as I like to call them

62_midday.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr. Gruff

Cheers, saw that one on google images alright but I guess I can just tile it.

Mr. Gruff wrote: »
    Cheers, saw that one on google images alright but I guess I can just tile it.

You could contact someone in TV3's press office. They should have some press material. They will want to know what it is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,043 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

it has become loose women only cheaper.

It seemed to masquerade as a daytime current affairs show when it started. The odd time I've caught a bit of it in the past year it seems to have turned into a diet version of Loose Women with a panel full of champagne feminists and general pain in the holes.

Colette Fitzpatrick is actually very good and likeable but most of the guests are a right dose.

Colette Fitzpatrick is a very good presenter and it is a pity to see her floundering in TV3's low budgets (not because they don't have the money its just because they are cheap) and general ineptitude with their own programming. Midweek really proves Fitzpatrick as a talent presenter its a pity it is such tabloid show (if it wasn't for Fitzpatrick it would become nothing more than Jeremy Kyle). If there is anyone in TV3 that could take over the role of Vincent Browne it is Fitzpatrick. It is just unfortunate that she is stuck with Midday. She would be better off on Prime Time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

It was actually quite a decent show when Alan Cantwell presented it and it had male guests.

Bond-007 wrote: »
    It was actually quite a decent show when Alan Cantwell presented it and it had male guests.

Cantwell comes across as an opinionated bullied. Perhaps TV3 should think about ripping off Jeremy Kyle and I know who would be perfect for the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭eiresandra

I agree about the Alan Cantwell comments. He's not someone who should be given airtime to share his opinions. As a newsreader, he does a good job.

The only saving grace that Midday has over Loose Women is that it doesn't have a live studio audience of menopausal women who whoop and cheer everytime a panellist makes an anti-man comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 almalfi

Midday's great when Beibhinn Byrne is on, i also like Fiona Looney, Triona McCarthy and Sinead Ryan. Amanda Brunker can be funny but too ignorant to be truly interesting and is full of promoting herself so is a bit of turn off that way. Colette is also a much better presenter than Elaine. So the quality really seems to vary depending on the panel every week. But it's always good with Ms's Byrne! they should have her, the looney, the mccarthy and the ryan on every week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I watched it today and it was actually ok.