This is how I do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Sunday
    I was due to complete 10 miles today and was hoping to get in 13miles. Well between 1 thing and another I only managed a token 3 miles:( . I have always said that running will not get in the way of family or work and today was 1 of them days.

Running
    Total this week 24
    Total this year 267
    Total days running this year 40

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 98
    Total days cycling this year 6

This week has started like last week ended. I had to get my run in this morning but was unable to do this. I still managed to cycle to work and back = 16 miles.
    And also got the much needed sports massage this evening.

Running
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 267
    Total days running this year 40

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 104
    Total days cycling this year 7

Wednesday

8 miles tonight. Usual routine. small lad to bed, skip, run, stretch.

Felt good and keep "fast" pace through out. very happy with the run. I took my miners light, but i left it switched off and only turned it on when cars were coming. The 3/4 moon was very bright.

Running
    Total this week 8
    Total this year 275
    Total days running this year 41

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 104

Another early morning run this morning. Less than 10hrs after Wednesdays run I started out on Thursdays run. Wasn't easy getting out of bed, but glad it done. I was bit slow too, it took me the same time to this mornings 7miles as it did to the 8 last night!!!
    No more running till Saturday, hope to cylce to and from work tomorrow.

Running
    Total this week 15
    Total this year 282
    Total days running this year 41

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 104

Sunday

20 miles today. I was very happy with this run today as I felt good through out. I hadn't run since thursday so maybe this "mini taper" was the reason. I had run 12 miles in about 90min. Thats not a PB but it is faster then I wanted to be going. I slowed right down for the next 4 miles, I hadn't much choice there were some very serious hills for them 4 miles. The last 4 were not too bad, a few hills but nothing out of the way. So all done in 2hr 45min. Which means I'm on target for a sub 4 in Limerick in a few weeks.

Running
    Total this week 35
    Total this year 302
    Total days running this year 42

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 104

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Nice running there baza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Sweet run there Baza - you're looking good for Limerick. Keep up the good work!

Monday
    Rest

Tuesday

4 miles: Was cold, was raining, was snowing, did i say it was cold?
    Did some skipping to warm up and stretched and rolled afterwards.

Wednesday
    8 miles: Was cold again, but none of the wet stuff. Was nice running in clear night with the miners light switched off. I was out and back in an hr.

Running
    Total this week 12
    Total this year 314
    Total days running this year 43

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 104

Thursday

didn't manage to get a run in today between 500 things and another.

Friday

Bit of skipping to warm up. grab the dog out the door. 8.5 miles later we were back home. I took a route today that I haven't taken since well before Christmas. Was nice and "free" feeling to use a completly different route:D

Running
    Total this week 20
    Total this year 322
    Total days running this year 44

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 104

baza1976 wrote: »
    Update,

Went to see the Cardiologist on Monday. I got my ECG done again, also had an Echo Cardiograph carried out and a stress test. My heart looks "good" and my resting heart rate was 45!!!!! But the abnormalities showed up, WPW http://www.irishheart.ie/iopen24/wolffparkingsonwhite-syndrome-t-80.html is what I have been diagnosed with. It's basically an extra electrical pathway in the heart. The Doc said it would cause major complications in later life if it was not found. So he tells me I will have to head to the big smoke for an overnight stay where my heart will "mapped" and the extra electrical signal that is there, will be terminated.

He also told me it has nothing to do with running :) but it is hereditary :( so I am in the process of spreading the word to Family. DOc also said that I can continue my running, but try not be breaking any world records.

I went for a nervous run last night, 4 mile. I didn't enjoy this run at all. I took my time hardly broke, bout 9 min miles, but was very nervous. I won't be doing any fartleks or intervals for now just mono pace for the time being. I might go for a 7 miler tonight, but I'm not too pushed about running at the moment to tell the truth.

But lads, I don't want to sound like a broken record: you spend alot of money on runners and gps watches. Is it not worth it to spend a fraction of this at your GP and have an ECG carried out??

Forgot to let ye know. I finally got the call to head to blackrock clinic on the #th of may.......... # days after Limerick marathon. He wants to do simliar tests to what the other cardiologist carried out, which means another €450!!!! I thought I would be going straight in for a procedure to sort out the extra electrical signal :(

I'll update again after visit

Sunday

20 miles today. I felt really good, so good that I wanted to keep going:eek: lol
    I had to go collect some inlaws today, so I was under orders to be home at a certain time:p I keep a steady slow pace through out and felt good all the way.
    It's the first time I ran 2 sundays in a row completing 20 miles each time, usully I run a 10 or 12 in between.

Running
    Total this week 40
    Total this year 342
    Total days running this year 45

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 104

Monday
    Suppose to be a rest day but I went off playing soccer for 1 & 1/2 hrs lol.

Tuesday
    Couldn't make it:(

Wednesday

Up at 6 grab the dog out the door and back 7 miles later. Took about 2 miles to get going!!???!!? Sleep running I guess. I was have thinking of packing it in at 4 miles and cycle to and from work. To mix it up a bit.
    Might try that tomorrow or get up 15 min earlier.

Running
    Total this week 7
    Total this year 349
    Total days running this year 46

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 104

Thursday

Up early agin at 6 this morning. The Dog and I off down the road. The same 7mile route as yesterday morning. I felt a lot "quicker" this morning than yesterday, just mentally pushed myself I guess. This evening is for stretching and foam rolling...........

Running
    Total this week 14
    Total this year 356
    Total days running this year 47

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 104

Friday

Was due a 4 mile run but decided I'd cycle to work and back, making the most of the weather:)

Running
    Total this week 14
    Total this year 356
    Total days running this year 47

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 120
    Total days cycling this year 8

Sunday

Finally my last LSR for this marathon is over. I mentioned last week that I miss read the training plan and ran 20 miles hen I should have ran 12 or 13 miles. So off today in very hot conditions for a 20 miler. Kinda reminded me of Cork marathon last year. But I got through it thank god and not as bad as I expected when hitting the road, I remember last week I could have kept going but today I was feeling the heat and glad when 20 was over.

Running
    Total this week 34
    Total this year 376
    Total days running this year 48

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 120
    Total days cycling this year 8

Monday
    Rest

Tuesday

Instead of running 4 miles today I cycled to work and back, 16miles in total.
    I'm trying to cycle more-use the muscles in different ways.

Running
    Total this week
    Total this year 376
    Total days running this year 48

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 136
    Total days cycling this year 9

Wednesday

didn't make it out of the bed this morning:mad: so I went ths eveening after the youngest of our kids went to bed.

7 miles without the dog this time. all good :)

Running
    Total this week 7
    Total this year 383
    Total days running this year 49

Cycling
    Total this week 16
    Total this year 136
    Total days cycling this year 9

Thursday

I cycled to and from work yesterday=16miles in total. Later on at tbout 8.15 pm I headed out for what I planned 4 miles but eneded up doing 7 miles:o ... sorry mister taper.

Rest day today. Not sure I'll get out tomorrow, I might do 3 or 4 miles, I ahve to head back in here to work to finish of a project for collage..... hmmm might just cycle in. 2 birds and a stone.

Running
    Total this week 14
    Total this year 390
    Total days running this year 49

Cycling
    Total this week 32
    Total this year 152
    Total days cycling this year 10

Sunday

12 miles today. I didn't get much sleep night before so I was tired starting off and totally wrecked later in the evening. The previous 3 weeks I had run 20 miles each time but yesterday felt as if I hadn't done enough and was tempted to do more miles. Suppose that is why it is called taper madness.

Running
    Total this week 26
    Total this year 402
    Total days running this year 52

Cycling
    Total this week 32
    Total this year 152

Monday
    Rest day

Tuesday

4 miles this evening. I was tired but was glad to get out an felt like i was crusing:cool: I was back home 30min later........all is good

Running
    Total this week 4
    Total this year 406
    Total days running this year 53

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

Wednesday

8 miles this evening. I felt sooooooo good during this run that i had to force myself to slow down:eek: lol. but once my mind would wonder off i go again.
    must be good signs ehhh???

Running
    Total this week 12
    Total this year 414
    Total days running this year 54

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

baza1976 wrote: »
    Wednesday

8 miles this evening. I felt sooooooo good during this run that i had to force myself to slow down:eek: lol. but once my mind would wonder off i go again.
    must be good signs ehhh???

Good signs alright - I'm soooooo jealous ;). Great to see you enjoying your taper. Make sure you get your sleep in as well so you'll be bursting with energy next week :). Enjoy.

Thanks Red,Marie,
    But I think i'm over tapering!!!! I haven't managed to get out since that 8 mile run on Wednesday till this morning. I didn't get home from work till nearly 8pm pm Thursday. Then I had to go to cork yesterday(work related). I also wasn't able to cycle to work the week gone.

So this week my mileage has been down, and I have that guilty feeling in me because of it.

I did 9 today and will do 4 or 5 tomorrow....... or will I do 10!!???!!??? I honestly don't know.:confused:

Saturday

9 miles. I left my car at ork yesterday evening and came home with my wife and kids. So that was a good excuse to run 9miles today. I felt really good again and I never really "killed" myself. I suppose it was a good steady pace.

Running
    Total this week 21
    Total this year 423
    Total days running this year 55

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

Sunday

Well after watching the london marathon I was motivated to hit the road. I wasn't sure what distance to run after running 9miles yesterday. Would I run 3,4 or 6. So 10miles later I arrived home:)

This time next week I will hopefully be writing a succesful report of the great limerick marathon.

Running
    Total this week 31
    Total this year 433
    Total days running this year 56

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Looking good - just a case now of keeping the taper madness at bay for the last few days...!

Thursday

Well I have been under the weather since I last posted:( today was my first run since then 3 miles:o

I was in 22 minds whether to leave till sunday or go for a short run. But I felt good. I took the dog out, the fact that he was so excited made it all the better.

Stretched and foam rolled this evening.

Running
    Total this week 3
    Total this year 436
    Total days running this year 57

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

Well after a week of a massive 3 miles ran due to been sick..yes 3 miles. I got out of bed at 7am Sunday morning for the Limerick marathon. All I could manage to eat was 2 slices of toast. I took some nasal spray to try and help clear my sinus and headed out the door.

I felt great from the start of the marathon. During the marathon I gave a shout out to DP just after the start "go on the boards".... Then further down the road I met the legend that is HM. After I managed to cough some germs in her direction (sorry HM:o ) Soon later I had the privilage of running with Marie C where I left a trail of nasal fluid incase I got lost so I could find my way home (sorry MC)

I crusied the first 20/21 miles in about 2.30. Then my calfs began to give out. I never at any stage pushed myself. Which is making me excited about the future. I treated my calfs to a walk up the hill by Thomond park. I came home in 3.39.13
    Was great to meet and see the boards people.

Running
    Total this week 29
    Total this year 462
    Total days running this year 58

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

Tuesday

3miles with my trusty dog. Legs not as bad as I thought. Good to get out.

Running
    Total this week 3
    Total this year 465
    Total days running this year 59

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152

Will probably be last entry here for a while. I have stop running for a few weeks:( Hopefully I'll be back soon.......... so depressed that I can't run for a bit.

I have ran 6miles since the Limerick marathon.:mad: Like most people here i've trained through tough winter with rain,ice, snow, early dark cold wet mornings and late dark cold wet nights. SO when i wake up and it is bright and dry and the same late in the evening, it isn't a nice feeling.

As a the famous philosopher (Arnie) said "i'll be back":)

Running
    Total this week
    Total this year 468
    Total days running this year 60

Cycling
    Total this week 0
    Total this year 152