Would many girls approach guys on a night out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

No, Op, they don't. Just save yourself hassle and become a lesbian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I get approached by women all the time, but i guess thats what happens when your a super stud like me

and for the low low price of 14.99 an hour i too can make you irresistible to the opposite sex

call now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

since i've been living in Amsterdam i get approached by girls quite often compared to when i lived in ireland,

Those window girls are very pushy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Haha! I am a girl! And a very very shy one at that. I never get approached by guys, and I am not ugly, and am slim but get no where

pm me your details, age/location etc.. and i am sure i can find a way to approach you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Wheres the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Nulty

The problem is theres no problem and theres nothing to see here.

OP, next time you see a guy you like go up and say hello, ask if theres a girlfriend, ask if he'd like to take you out and voila. Your baby will be delivered in 5 working days

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

You are now pregnant. It is the mystery of the dance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 scallywags

Happened to me once this blonde thing approached me but i was left 2 smokes short by the end of our conversation also felt violeted like i deserved something in return for listening to her moan about everythig whilst smokin me smokes. i should have suggested whisking her off to fancy hotel for cocktails but her boobs ere distracting me. terrible night still have vivid surreal dreams and flashbacks over that one.. im not even sure if it ever happened it must have been a dream. poor girl just wanted a chat and a laugh and a smoke. a the bag of ganje mr hand home please cpt pez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I have approached guys before. Mainly if they are at the bar and I like them I'll order my drink beside them and try to initiate some conversation. Or if I'm just walking by them I will look at them, smile and say Hi. I am naturally shy though so prefer a guy to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Girls, if you wait for the man to approach you then you'll likely only encounter the womanisers and cocky lads. They may be all nice and charming at the start but then you discover they lost your wedding ring while riding some slapper in Rathfarnam.
    Lesson: Chat to the shyer guys and live a happier life!:D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Happens to me fairly often. Girlfriend doesn't like it one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Never used to happen when I was single.

Any time I was going out with a girl it tended to happen, and it was a pain then cause you couldn't/shouldn't (and I didn't) do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm a misanthrope so it happens far to often for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Yes I do approach them but sometimes a nice smile and a bit of eye contact is all a fairly confident man needs. But like another poster said women may be better off doing the leg work as it may only be the really cocky lads and womanisers that go up to any woman they fancy.

Ladies - if you are standing near a fella all night that keeps eyeing you up and whispering to his mates walk by him to the bar or the dancefloor and give him a smile. Unless he is completely socially inept its all the come on he will need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

i reel them in with my invisable fishing... ROD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

That's why I feel for the girls, they can only really choose out of whoever talks to them first, while for lads it's more socially acceptable to choose a randomer yourself.

*waits for scanlas*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

shakencat wrote: »
    i reel them in with my invisable fishing... ROD

I tried to reel the ladies in with the visible fishing rod and thats when the problems began your honour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

You people have obviously never been to coppers! The country nurses out for the weekend vigorously grope you if you don't move fast enough.

Before I got so damn attractive, I was a shy boy! Used to hate it when there was a gaggle of wimminz by the bar / dance floor etc and they stay huddled together. Even when one gives you the eye ya cant exactly elbow your way through the flock.

My MO was make eye contact from a distance get the smile back, wait for her to go to bar / walk in your direction and swoop in like a lion on an antelope. If the girl likes you and gets the hint she will usually make herself more approachable by positioning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shayno90

Some very modest posters here =) In fairness, most Irish women appear very stand-offish and then complain the right person doesn't approach so don't have much sympathy for ye. So instead of complaining about the situation, break the mould and actually approach the person instead of hiding in your group of friends (crazy idea but ye need to be more proactive!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

In my experience a lot of guys just don't like the girl making the first move (irish guys) they would prefer to sit forever giving googly eyes and never approaching a girl.

You see I thought that too but then I realised it may that the men I am approaching don't actually fancy me. Its a shocking thought but there may be some out there who don't like my type. Mad men clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shayno90

Ditto to that. Just because your used to that social norm doesn't mean you have to follow it religiously. In any case, guys would rarely shoot a girl down for approaching them however roles reversed girls abuse this privilege and ought to respect the guy for approaching them in the first place instead of dismissing them. So, it is much tougher for guys to pluck up the courage to talk to girls and therefore get overly drunk and then it becomes a situation were neither party is happy because of the drunkeness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

Head off to Sweden all the women approach men im told and theyre all roides there!

Starting my savings for Stockholm as we speak!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

jonnygiles wrote: »
    Head off to Sweden all the women approach men im told and theyre all roides there!

Starting my savings for Stockholm as we speak!!!:D

It's the Stockholm Syndrome:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Lux23 wrote: »
    You see I thought that too but then I realised it may that the men I am approaching don't actually fancy me. Its a shocking thought but there may be some out there who don't like my type. Mad men clearly.

You know the drill..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Gmol wrote: »
    It's the Stockholm Syndrome:D

also known as Fritzl Frenzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Ive never been approached by a girl.. Then again im a hideous looking chud...

Could be a link there somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

shayno90 wrote: »
    Ditto to that. Just because your used to that social norm doesn't mean you have to follow it religiously. In any case, guys would rarely shoot a girl down for approaching them however roles reversed girls abuse this privilege and ought to respect the guy for approaching them in the first place instead of dismissing them. So, it is much tougher for guys to pluck up the courage to talk to girls and therefore get overly drunk and then it becomes a situation were neither party is happy because of the drunkeness!

Ah that's not fair, a girl is entitled to dismiss you if she has no interest! She can do it nicely and politely sure, but even wrapped up in kind words it's still a dismissal. If a girl is upfront with you and tells you straight out that you're not her type then she's saving you time and effort you could be wasting on some other bird that might take you home and show you her boobies.

Girls who lead you on are much, much worse than rude girls who just tell you to gtfo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I'd be far too shy to approach a guy on a night out. Wouldn't even know how to!

"Here love, do you like jewellery?"

They love that. Works every time.
    Every time.

"Here love, do you like jewellery?"

They love that. Works every time.
    Every time.

Should that not be do you like buying jewellery?