Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Everything in its right PACE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

Your in top-form for a sub-3 attempt Misty.

The race time today coupled with that 22mile run ya did (last 10 at PMP) should give you great confidence.

Maybe go out at 3:05 pace for first few miles and see what you think then?? Regardless, your in-line for a great marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

tisnotover wrote: »

Maybe go out at 3:05 pace for first few miles and see what you think then?? Regardless, your in-line for a great marathon.

Thanks very much. That (in bold) is exactly what I'm gonna do. Lets just hope training is injury free over the next 4 weeks. By the way have you a goal for Ballyc? Dungarvan was 61:?? was it?

Ah here, there's others more experienced than me who could comment on pacing for a marathon (haven't done one like!) , that's just how I mite pace it :rolleyes: Take it easy over while lad.

Dungarvan was 63:27, so hoping for 62:xx, I'd take your time any day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

ha I was just about to plug that into McMillan thanks. Yep, the good aul McMillan. He's like an Irish banker during the celtic tiger years.

McMillan: "you want a time for the marathon?"
    me: "yes please, would you like to know my background?, my previous marathon PB?
    McMillan: "nah, you'll be fine"

:D Just messing around mithril. I know you know there are issues with McMillan.
    If you read the small print around the calculator, which very few appear to do, its pretty accurate.
    BTW 1:05:20 was what I did in a 10 mile a few weeks before I ran 2:59

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Excellent running and great report Misty, sets you up for a brilliant run in Rotterdam - fair play

Ah here, there's others more experienced than me who could comment on pacing for a marathon (haven't done one like!) , that's just how I mite pace it :rolleyes: Take it easy over while lad.

I know but what you posted above is what I've been thinking.

mithril wrote: »
    If you read the small print around the calculator, which very few appear to do, its pretty accurate.
    BTW 1:05:20 was what I did in a 10 mile a few weeks before I ran 2:59

I'll read the small print. I was just fooling around there ;)
    Thats interesting about your 10m time. Did you go all out or steady? Had you big weekly mileage? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Well done Misty...great run

If you haven't read this Misty, aero2k posted up a training/race log of his sub 2:59 in Dublin last year, very interesting:

https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AcN2ILvWdxnoZHM0ZjJ0OV8wZ25uaGczZGo&hl=en

If you haven't read this Misty, aero2k posted up a training/race log of his sub 2:59 in Dublin last year, very interesting:

https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AcN2ILvWdxnoZHM0ZjJ0OV8wZ25uaGczZGo&hl=en

thats interesting you should post that. I linked that in my very first post on this training log. That is the kind of race (I'm not talking time here) that I hope to run in Rotterdam. Strong and controlled. My LSR's are based around what he done for DCM and the rest of my plan is taken from Tergats posts. Great stuff isn't it. He was running the kilomarathon in Nottingham this weekend. Looking forward to the race report.

There's other snippets in there too, like his fuelling strategy, what drinks/gels etc. Pacing was very controlled, that has to be the key like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

fair play misty you ve come a long long way recently due to the savage training you ve been doing. fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

Well done misty, thats a great time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

I'll read the small print. I was just fooling around there ;)
    Thats interesting about your 10m time. Did you go all out or steady? Had you big weekly mileage? Thanks.
    I peaked about 60 miles a week.
    Ran the 10 mile flat out but since I was doing peak mileage that week my legs were quite tired and this impacted the result. Taper for the actual marathon meant I was rested and in better condition for it.

For the marathon, a steady effort (adjust pace as appropriate for any early hills) is important up until at least half way. Then run the last 10k flat out and finish with nothing in the tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Savage running, misty floyd, fair play. Great race description!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Great run misty. Your times & progression are similar to my own. It looks like you may beat me to the sub 3 though.

Week 14 down (4 to go)
    (8th Mar - 14th Mar)
    • Monday: Rest
    • Tuesday: 10x900m average was about 3:08mins (11.5m with warm up/down)
    • Wednesday: 7m recovery. Some dumbell work.
    • Thursday: 7m easy & Core.
    • Friday: 5.5m easy.
    • Saturday: Rest
    • Sunday: Craughwell 10m. PB of 62:13 (ave pace 6:12m/m)

Total for week: 42m

Mon 15th March

4.6m recovery run. Massage last night. Sore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭aero2k

There's other snippets in there too, like his fuelling strategy, what drinks/gels etc. Pacing was very controlled, that has to be the key like.
    Hi lads,

Glad the report was helpful. I've been enjoying all your logs as well as those of Sosa, krusty, Abhainn and others. Looks like we're all progressing nicely. I wasn't trying to say "this is how it should be done", just "this is how it worked for me". Probably the main point is that everything was tried out before the big day, either in a race or long run.
    On the pacing, I sort of accidentally ran the first mile in 6:50 or so and settled into that pace. It's easier to get the pacing right if you are familiar with the course - as I train in the park every day I knew I could be a bit slow for the first 4 miles if necessary and I'd easily make up 30-40 sec from miles 4-8 if I had to. I found Nottingham-Derby more difficult not knowing the territory. Also the cramped start was a factor, I've just worked out it took 34 sec to cross the start line as against 12 secs in Dublin, with a much more cramped 1st mile, so all that makes a difference too. It's really an accumulation of lots of small things.
    And one really obvious point - if you're 25 sec too slow for the first mile, then that's only 1 sec per mile for the rest of the race, on the other hand if you're 25 sec too fast...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

14th March Craughwell 10m race report

Two guys were working together ahead of me.
    Holy crap, I bombed past them and sprinted home strong, they were nowhere near me by the end.
    A little bonus, I was the 25th man in and got the last top 25 finisher technical t-shirt. Overall finish was 27th.

Great job Misty. Wish I had paced myself like you, especially since I was one of the guys you so merciless flew by in the last 1/2 ml or so :mad:
    I dragged my ass to the finish line with a 6:22 last mile in 29th position overall. Serves me right for going out in 5:49 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

The only problem with this strategy is that if you leave it too long, and you do have aspirations of hitting sub-3, you might be making too much of an uphill battle for yourself. Say for example you start off aiming for 3:05 = 7:00/mile (measuring the marathon as 26.5 miles to allow for bad race line, etc). You'll cover the first 5 miles in 35 mins, leaving you with 2:25 to cover the remaining 21.5 miles, which is the equivalent of 6:45 min/mile for the remainder of the race, and that's to hit exactly 3 hours (the maths are a little bit flexible/rounded off).

Bearing in mind that your first mile or two are always going to be slower (due to the crowd, warming up etc), if you really want to get under 3 hours then I think you should be trying to move towards your target pace (gradually) from when the crowds start to thin-out. If you're happy enough with a time somewhere between 2:58 and 3:05, and the sub-3 is not the primary goal, then yes, start at a slower pace for a few miles, and work your way up. But if the goal is specifically sub-3, then remember, the longer you leave it, that harder it is to influence your average speed. You can see this on a Garmin, when you are on a long run, and one of the fields is 'pace-average'. If you're doing a 20 mile run, and you adapt the pace over the last mile or two (slower or quicker) it's very difficult to influence the average pace in a positive or negative way, by more than a couple of seconds.

I'm rapidly becoming a bit of an even pacing evangelist!

Great job Misty. Wish I had paced myself like you, especially since I was one of the guys you so merciless flew by in the last 1/2 ml or so :mad:
    I dragged my ass to the finish line with a 6:22 last mile in 29th position overall. Serves me right for going out in 5:49 :eek:[/QUOTE]

No way. Sorry about that....but I'm not really :D You caught me boasting...not good.

aero2k wrote: »
    Hi lads,
    I wasn't trying to say "this is how it should be done", just "this is how it worked for me".
    Of course Aero and cheers. I think any advice anyone gives on these logs or in the main forum is from peoples experience and not set in stone. Many ways to skin a cat and all that.
    The only problem with this strategy is that if you leave it too long, and you do have aspirations of hitting sub-3, you might be making too much of an uphill battle for yourself. Say for example you start off aiming for 3:05 = 7:00/mile (measuring the marathon as 26.5 miles to allow for bad race line, etc). You'll cover the first 5 miles in 35 mins, leaving you with 2:25 to cover the remaining 21.5 miles, which is the equivalent of 6:45 min/mile for the remainder of the race, and that's to hit exactly 3 hours (the maths are a little bit flexible/rounded off).

Thanks Krusty. I don’t think I’d leave it easy for 5 miles. I think you are right there. Maybe 2-3 miles at 7:00 or 7:05 m/m.
    By the way sub 3 is the primary goal now but if it doesn’t happen and I sub 3:05 I’d still be happy. That’s not to say I’m not going to go for sub 3 and I don’t believe I can. I think I can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Of course Aero and cheers. I think any advice anyone gives on these logs or in the main forum is from peoples experience and not set in stone. Many ways to skin a cat and all that.

Thanks Krusty. I don’t think I’d leave it easy for 5 miles. I think you are right there. Maybe 2-3 miles at 7:00 or 7:05 m/m.
    By the way sub 3 is the primary goal now but if it doesn’t happen and I sub 3:05 I’d still be happy. That’s not to say I’m not going to go for sub 3 and I don’t believe I can. I think I can do it.
    That's a healthy attitude. I reckon you're better off aiming for around the three hour mark, than getting too hung up about hitting sub-3. That was my approach for Berlin, and it meant that I was able to enjoy the race without putting too much pressure on myself, and wasn't disappointed with my 3:00:50 finish (and you should go better than that on the day). I reckon exact targets are just too hard to hit. A runner might get there on the day if everything lines up, but if they don't, they nail it the next time with tons to spare. Just realized its on the same day as the Connemarathon, so hopefully we'll all have something to celebrate that day. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Im with you on that one krusty. Personally it works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

I dragged my ass to the finish line with a 6:22 last mile in 29th position overall. Serves me right for going out in 5:49 :eek:

No way. Sorry about that....but I'm not really :D You caught me boasting...not good.[/QUOTE]

not too worry, you earned a little boast ..................;)

16th March
    7.2m this evening. Filet steak for dinner and desert consisted of 10 cafe noir buscuits......couldn't help myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Congrats on the 10 mile race misty and good luck in the marathon:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Week 14 down (4 to go)
    (8th Mar - 14th Mar)
    • Sunday: Craughwell 10m. PB of 62:13 (ave pace 6:12m/m)
    Total for week: 42m

great 10 mile time misty!

17th March
    Had to work today which was a bummer as I wanted to get a longish one in during the day. Still got out for 10m easy this evening with 6x100m strides. Nice to run the stress off from work.