Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Everything in its right PACE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

18th March
    11m easy (~8:15m/m). Not up for running much faster this week after Sundays race.

19th March
    Core & Dumbell session. Break from running.

20th March
    20.4m in Phoenix park @ 7:30m/m.
    Most of this was on the grass and it was windy in parts. First 10m I was finding it hard going. Legs asleep. Second 10m was better and I actually finished feeling strong. The mind playing tricks perhaps....knowing that I was finishing probably perked me up. I'm glad that is over as its the last 20miler and its Taper time.

Great to see so many people running and cycling in the park today. Great day for it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You've got some great training done now. What time are you aiming for?

Hey RQ. Going for sub 3. I'd be totally delighted with 3:05 but still gonna go for sub 3 [Gulp].

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Sub 3 would be incredible progress on Dublin.

I really must come down to that athletics club of yours some day soon. :rolleyes:

Sub 3 would be incredible progress on Dublin.

I really must come down to that athletics club of yours some day soon. :rolleyes:

Summer is coming, thats a great time to start. Well anytime is but great to run with a group in the park when its bright out. Roll on the Summer.

21st March

12.3m easy with some lads from the club. Started out at Dollymount, down the beach, into St Annes park and back x2. Had a 10 minute dip (up to the quads) in the Irish sea...meant to be good for recovery. I really enjoyed todays run even though it was twice the distance I was going to do. It really is great running in a group, especially on a nice day.

Thats week 15 over and a 3 week taper to go. Bring it on home.

Week 15 down (3 to go)
    (15th Mar - 21st Mar)
    • Monday: 4.6m recovery. Massage...ouch.
    • Tuesday: 7.2m easy
    • Wednesday: 10m easy with 6xstrides.
    • Thursday: 11m easy.
    • Friday: Rest. Core & Dumbell workout.
    • Saturday: 20m @ 7:30m/m (most on grass)
    • Sunday: 12.3m easy (8:00m/m)

Total for week: 65.1m

It was always going to be a slow week after the race last Sunday but I'm happy with the mileage.

I attached this to the sub 3 support thread. Thought I'd put it here too. Might come in useful to someone. I find it helpfull seeing other peoples training like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Salty Dog

I attached this to the sub 3 support thread. Thought I'd put it here too. Might come in useful to someone. I find it helpfull seeing other peoples training like this.

I've been following your log and you've been putting in some great work over the last number of weeks. Very impressive.

Enjoy the taper. Well deserved after the efforts you've been doing. Some day I might get to your level :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Misty floyd - Firstly great 10 miler time recently. You finished strong which is a good signm that 10 at PMP at the end of long run wasn't bad either!

Sub 3 is within reach. I'm with Krusty, even pace all the way well 06:45-06:50/ mile would be a solid target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭aero2k

Abhainn wrote: »
    Sub 3 is within reach. I'm with Krusty, even pace all the way well 06:45-06:50/ mile would be a solid target
    +1^
    Apart from the first 2-3 miles, I'd go for an even pace (or at least even effort). Trying to speed up over the last 5 or 6 miles is a big ask.

You're nearly there now, all the hard work is done. Don't forget to enjoy it on the day.

Thanks Lads. I find it very encouraging getting comments like that....even if I do go fishing for them (by posting above file).... :D

23rd March
    6.2m easy with 5x100m strides @ 5:50 or so. Overall pace must of been about 8:00m/m.
    Hats off to anyone that can run first thing in the morning esp with any kind of pace involved. I couldn't sleep this morning. I just wake and thats me done. Great morning for it, ran down the canal at hazelhatch. Just me and the birds.

24th March
    4/3/2/1m with 2min jog in between. Warm up/cool down 13m Total.
    Plan was to hold at 6:50m/m (4:15m/km). Another great day for running.

4m average pace: 6:37m/m.
    3m average pace: 6:40m/m
    2m average pace: 6:44m/m
    1m average pace: 6:40m/m

I was running with a mate from the club. Things went slightly faster than planned. I knew it but didn't do anything about it. I was guessing the pace for each km and was getting it right +/- about 3 seconds. Tonights run felt alright actually. Felt easier in the later miles once we got used to it. I did say at one stage "26miles of this!!??" but things are always harder in training. Happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

24th March
    4/3/2/1m with 2min jog in between. Warm up/cool down 13m Total.
    Plan was to hold at 6:50m/m (4:15m/km). Another great day for running.

I was running with a mate from the club. Things went slightly faster than planned. I knew it but didn't do anything about it. I was guessing the pace for each km and was getting it right +/- about 3 seconds. Tonights run felt alright actually. Felt easier in the later miles once we got used to it. I did say at one stage "26miles of this!!??" but things are always harder in training. Happy.

Thats a good session Misty, especially off 2mins recovery.
    Re your pacing for the marathon, I would defo concur with the lads and say keep it as even as you can.

25th March
    5 easy

26th March
    Rest. Dumbell (light weights) & Core workout.

27th March
    Plan was 15m today. I went out too soon after eating and had to stop to get up wind every 2/3 minutes. Horrible. So I called it quits and I'm going to do the LSR tomorrow. At least I learned not to eat until at least 2hrs beforehand.
    11.7km (7.3m) @ 4:59m/Km (8:00m/m easy).

I went out too soon after eating and had to stop to get up wind every 2/3 minutes. Horrible. So I called it quits and I'm going to do the LSR tomorrow.

So you are human after all :) !! Best of luck tomorrow with the LSR.

How are you finding the taper - going mad yet ?

Salty Dog wrote: »
    So you are human after all :) !! Best of luck tomorrow with the LSR.

How are you finding the taper - going mad yet ?

ha ha thanks Salty Dog, yeah doubts set in now and then. Today I was thinking what the hell am I doing but I know its just a load of crap. Its amazing how much the mind plays tricks with how you feel physically.

What are you training towards SD?

Today I was thinking what the hell am I doing but I know its just a load of crap. Its amazing how much the mind plays tricks with how you feel physically.

You'll be grand. The hard work has been done. Just keep it ticking over till race day and then it's 1 foot in front of the other for a nice PB
    What are you training towards SD?

Nothing at the moment. Out injured for almost 2 months now so the only thing I doing is piling on the weight :( Hopefull just another month or so and then I might get back - I'll settle for Dublin at this rate.

28 March
    15.1m LSR with last 5m (8.2km) at PMP. Section of hills in there too.
    MP km's: 4:17/4:18/4:17/4:15/4:11/4:13/4:08/4:11
    Overall pace 7:24m/m (4:36 m/km).

Happy with that as I kept close enough to PMP (4:16) pace with 3 dead stops for water & traffic. PMP felt ok..ish. Not easy but not too hard.

Popped out to Dunboyne for the 4m, which was great. Looked like a great race to be part of. Sneaky coffee and cakes afterwards and a really good trad band. Nice job Dunboyne AC.

Week 16 down (2 to go)
    (22nd Mar - 28th Mar)
    • Monday: Rest
    • Tuesday: 6.2m easy with 5xstrides (8:00)
    • Wednesday: 4/3/2/1m with 2min jog in between. Warm up/cool down 13m Total.
    • Thursday: 5m easy.
    • Saturday: 7.3m @ 8:00m/m
    • Sunday: 15.1m LSR with last 5m (8.2km) at PMP. 7:24m/m (4:36 m/km).

Total for week: 46.6m

Happy enough with that week can't say I'm feeling rested but next week drops things down more and the last week is dead easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Week 16 down (2 to go)
    (22nd Mar - 28th Mar)
    • Monday: Rest
    • Tuesday: 6.2m easy with 5xstrides (8:00)
    • Wednesday: 4/3/2/1m with 2min jog in between. Warm up/cool down 13m Total.
    • Thursday: 5m easy.
    • Saturday: 7.3m @ 8:00m/m
    • Sunday: 15.1m LSR with last 5m (8.2km) at PMP. 7:24m/m (4:36 m/km).
    Total for week: 46.6m

Happy enough with that week can't say I'm feeling rested but next week drops things down more and the last week is dead easy.
    `

good stuff misty. all the hard work done. just been flicking through the log. looking very strong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Yeah take it handy now mistx all the hard work is done bud:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,518 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great going Misty. I generally don't fell rested until a day or two before the race, at which point the nerves take over instead!

Cheers lads.
    I generally don't fell rested until a day or two before the race,

Reasuring, thanks Krusty.

29th March
    Rest

30th March
    5m easy

31st March
    5x1m @ HMP with 2m warm up/down (10.2m total)
    HMP miles: 6:10/6:18/6:20/6:19/6:16
    Nice session this and the timing is good too. I've been doing 4x2m at this pace so todays felt real easy, finishing very comfortably.

I don't want to harp on about injuries but things on my left side (ankle, arch of foot, hip and ass cheek) aren't right. Like a car when the tracking is off, I can drive at whatever speed but something aint right.This ain't taper madness ;) I might get it checked.

On a good note thats the last hard session and it didn't even feel that hard. Happy.

Sounds like an athlete in tip top shape just waiting for the start buzzer

Salty Dog wrote: »
    Sounds like an athlete in tip top shape just waiting for the start buzzer

Family Fortunes wrong answer buzzer I]eghhh eRRR[/I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

5x1m @ HMP with 2m warm up/down (10.2m total)
    HMP miles: 6:10/6:18/6:20/6:19/6:16
    Nice session this and the timing is good too. I've been doing 4x2m at this pace so todays felt real easy, finishing very comfortably.

Nice workout Misty, ure tapering well !, hope those niggles with your tracking as ya call it clear up.

Sometimes its better maybe to have those niggles before a race than to not have them, ok, maybe that doesn't make sense!

tisnotover wrote: »
    Nice workout Misty, ure tapering well !, hope those niggles with your tracking as ya call it clear up.

Thanks man. Strange thing is I went out today and didn't feel a thing, not even when walking today. Again, I'm not imagining things but like I said it doesn't effect my running that much so I'm not too concerned. If ya read this before your race, good luck in the 10km.

1st April
    5.9m with a buddy. Slow, mostly on grass. Good craic.