Are macbooks worth the money?

• 17-03-2010 02:42AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭

Today Was comparing my new aspire laptop with my friends mac book pro, in the end, the only thing the mac has over my acer aspire 5739g, is the graphics card and mostly open source programs.

The hardware spec are similar: 4gb ram acer and macbook

acer CRU: 2.20ghz mac: 2.0

My acer far out bested his laptop in terms speed and transfare rate.

He paid 1500 for his and mine was 600.

Are they worth it?

are they worth it? 30 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 30 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Only if you need it to prove you're a hipster. Make sure it matches your heart shaped shades and day glo runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

yes , yes they are :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Anyone can have open source programs, that's the point, so that's not really a 'win' on his part. No I don't think macbooks are worth it you can get far better laptops for the same or less money. You're basically paying a ****load for the OS, and the added hassle of trying to find programs that are mac compatible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Big Macs are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

OK, this might be interesting

No offence bit I wouldn't mind knowing how 'geekish' AH is

If i was buying a laptop tomorrow, i'dd be looking for a good hard drive and what i was told is a good processor

i'm a windows man cos thats what i learned, have used mac and its a pain in the arse cos i dunno how to do anything

Even windows 7 is a pain in the arse cos simple 'file' and 'shut down' and 'my computer' are hard to find

So if all you lose a compuer for is internet and the odd bit of downloading, should you really care what you are using??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

A mac is more than just a computer though. Youre buying into the lifestyle. Plus, order today, and you get 700 Smug. Thats right, 700! Introductory offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Bad value for money, you can get a lot more laptop for the money. You can do better than an iPod aswell though, people buy what's fashionable over what's sensible. Macbooks are fashionable.

If you just want the OS, there's no reason not to go hackbook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Apple products are the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I just have a piece of cardboard painted like a macbook and I hang around temple bar in cafes speaking french. Works fine for me

TPD wrote: »
    A mac is more than just a computer though. Youre buying into the lifestyle. Plus, order today, and you get 700 Smug. Thats right, 700! Introductory offer.

Couldnt have said it better myself :D:pac::D:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

*bends over to smell own fart* :p

*sniffs*

aaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Me bollix they are, you pay for the name and join the Apple sheeples. Baaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh baaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh! Continue inflating Steve Jobs stock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 mk1600

1400 smug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

There's a dedicated Computer forum and you asked this in After Hours............ :confused:

Ruu wrote: »
    Me bollix they are, you pay for the name and join the Apple sheeples. Baaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh baaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh! Continue inflating Steve Jobs stock!

Dont mind if I do
    And Ill have you know that man is a genius :cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

it depends on a few a things really but for my needs they are far and away worth it
    Darksaga87 wrote: »
    Today Was comparing my new aspire laptop with my friends mac book pro, in the end, the only thing the mac has over my acer aspire 5739g, is the graphics card and mostly open source programs.

out of curiosity when did he buy his mbp? did he buy it the same day as yours?

mainly you are paying for the far superior operating system

i plan on trying out linux soon enough and if i like it that may help me save a few hundred euro when i get a new computer as i can buy a pc and install linux for free but only if its better than snow leapord

after the operating system you are paying for the build quality imo. even my plastic macbook 13" is better built than any other pc laptop iv held and thats not even mentioning the new unibodies

after that there are range of professional grade programmes that are mac only. this is because back in the day it was easier for the programmers to make the programmes compaitble with mac because their hardware was standardised rather than for windows which could be running on anything that could cause issues. now most things have been ported over to windows but some programmes would still be believed to run better in mac

you will never get a virus on an unprotected mac it will take roughly 5 seconds of internet connectivity to get one on an unprotected pc

they look cooler than any other computer product i have seen

macs new green eco friendly direction is very appealing

and mainly you are paying extra for the privilidge of not having to use windows which is ****ing dire

BUT

they are pretty shocking for gaming

they are expensive

if you arent a computer person / some sort of digital media designer / unix lover then you probably started off with mac because it looked cool and the marketing was right but you now stick with it because you realise just how good they are

if you havnt tried it and i mean properly for a few months you will never know and if you have and dont like it thats fine im sure they wont please everybody all the time

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

In terms of value for money, I don't think so. Apart from the supposedly superior OS (Haven't used it myself), the only other advantages I've heard of is "It's so much better for design!" and "There's no viruses!"

So unless you're designing digital Mona Lisas or don't know how to use anti malware software I'd stick with the laptop and save a grand or so.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 BillyBoyBad

Choosing a Macbook over another laptop is a bit like choosing a VW Golf over a Skoda Octavia-value for money wise you'd be mad to do it but plenty of people still do...including myself :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

Not worth a sniff of the money. I have used Macs and PC's for years now and I could never justify paying out money for a Mac.
    "Virus" The advantages of not getting a virus are minimal. You could spend 30 or 40 quid and buy an anti virus program, but there are so many free ones out there that work just as good.
    "Looks" Have to admit they are a nice piece of kit but again, if you spend a few extra bob you can buy a nice looking laptop as well
    "OS" Is very good if you are used to it but I have to say Linux is better and free.
    "Games" No Comment. They are terrible
    "Software" Macs have some software that will only work on Macs but very little these days. The programs that are designed for both do work better on Macs than on Windows but again if you spent 1600 quid on a laptop you would have some beast that will run anything at super high speeds.
    "Support" Not many places around that you can bring your Mac to get fixed but nearly every second person on the street will fix a laptop. The cost of support on a Mac is only surpassed by the price of them in the first place

Conclusion
    Macs are over prices and not worth the hassle

Meh, its just branding really...they say macs always just work, and you never get a virus...but the viruses are appearing now...and you hear so much, well it'll work with 10.4.9.2, but not 10.5.1 etc..its just branding..a pile of sh*te..if you're gullible enough to pay twice the price for it...well, fair enough..

toe_knee wrote: »
    . The cost of support on a Mac is only surpassed by the price of them in the first place

oh and i forgot to say that i picked up my 3 year old macbook from compub today after it got a replacment harddrive on the house even though its out of warranty and no applecare plan in 2 business days

i even got a harddrive with an extra 40gb of space on it

couldnt be happier with apples customer service and tech support

edit; gahhh i hate to sound like a fanboy because i really couldnt give a **** about apple as a company but the people who are saying they arent worth it are listing all the areas were they are better and then saying but that dosnt justify the price and thats fine you dont have to buy one but there are hundreds of thousands of people who dont just use internet explorer and word who need the advantages you have listed and will pay for them, that dosnt make them gullible it makes them practical

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

PeakOutput wrote: »
    edit; gahhh i hate to sound like a fanboy because i really couldnt give a **** about apple as a company but the people who are saying they arent worth it are listing all the areas were they are better and then saying but that dosnt justify the price and thats fine you dont have to buy one but there are hundreds of thousands of people who dont just use internet explorer and word who need the advantages you have listed and will pay for them, that dosnt make them gullible it makes them practical
    You actually come across as fairly balanced which doesn't seem to happen a lot among mac users :D

There are obviously people who do need macs for their advantages, and in those situations it's perfectly reasonable, but I think it's a bit silly to pay nearly 3 times as much as a pc for the superficial benefits, which definitely does happen!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

oh and i forgot to say that i picked up my 3 year old macbook from compub today after it got a replacment harddrive on the house even though its out of warranty and no applecare plan in 2 business days

i even got a harddrive with an extra 40gb of space on it

couldnt be happier with apples customer service and tech support
    l

Never said there was a problem with the support just a problem finding a support centre close by. How much did it cost to get the work done if you don't mind me asking?

toe_knee wrote: »
    Never said there was a problem with the support just a problem finding a support centre close by. How much did it cost to get the work done if you don't mind me asking?

i didnt pay a penny for anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

mac os is fine. bit like windows on a Linux kernel tbh

the laptops sure are pretty though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Might as well get a PC for that money. Games are great craic sure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No they are not..but if you wanna pay a grand for a shiny unix go for it. It might be better for graphics editors... which most people are not.

There's a dedicated Computer forum and you asked this in After Hours............ :confused:

Proof that the decision to go Macbook has very little to do with specs.

I have no problem with Apple operating systems, but the hardware has always been overpriced. Now that the hardware is similar to the rest people are seeing the ripoff.

No they are not..but if you wanna pay a grand for a shiny unix go for it. It might be better for graphics editors... which most people are not.

Some sound engineers seem to like Mac setups aswell. Is it the software or is there a reason for it?

A lot of media students have Macbooks aswell, but they only seem to use them to browse facebook in the student union cafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

They are ok, but I would always take a Linux box over an Apple box anyday. If you need good commercial support it's fine, but it's far too locked down for my liking. Why won't Apple allow you to recompile a bloody kernel?
    Ironically, the Darwin base is fully POSIX compliant, yet Apple likes messing around with decade old Unix traditions. The userland is simply a bit messed up to me. I won't go into details to stay on topic, but to summarise for me:

Linux -> *BSD -> OSX -> Windows*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

you will never get a virus on an unprotected mac it will take roughly 5 seconds of internet connectivity to get one on an unprotected pc

Complete and utter bollocks. In 12 years of using almost every version of Windows, I've never had a virus on my PC. Macs aren't more secure, Windows is just a bigger target.