Leprachaun Museum....groan...

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭tipperaryboy

The museum will certainly pocket a lot of money from the americans.
    Great if it makes money and provides jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I like this idea. It will create jobs and gives the customer(yanks) what they want.

Let us go one further. When I visit Prague, I nearly always visit their "sex museums". Purely for the novelty, although it has since rubbed off.

Prague, and indeed large swathes of eastern europe, are popular for a number of reasons. Cheap beer, nice scenery, culture and cheap women. By that I mean "escorts".

Ireland has one of the highest number of escorts, per capita, when compared to the rest of the EU. Lets take advantage of that. Regulate the bollocks out of the industry, tax it to phuc, and make it a selling point(without advertising). Make the industry legitimate. The state cannot beat it, so lets tax it and make money.

Charge "escorts" a flat rate of tax to operate within the law. Introduce health tests every three months. Issue them with a licence to ply thier trade.

I would never use a brasser due to moral reasons, but I wouldnt look down on somebody who did. Whatever two adults get upto in their own time is none of my business.

Lets make some cash out of it.

I never thought I'd agree with IrishManSiapan, but this is bang on the money.

Sure its only "illegal" because the RCC don't like it. And we all know they don't like wimmenz anyway.

As I was getting at, we don't particularly have anything to draw people to this fair isle anymore, the "cead mille failte" has been replaced with a "What the **** do you want" attitude.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Quality sketch of the Leprechaun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

How cringeworthy is this? A leprechaun museum is opening soon in Dublin. It will feature a real crock of gold, a rainbow and rain effects.

I suppose if it fleeces the yank tourists for some dosh and - let's face it - any dosh coming into this crumbled and battered economy is welcome.

Would you want to visit for a bit of Paddywhackery?:D

http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1971078,00.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

JupiterKid wrote: »

Yes! Can't feckin wait.

Website sucks though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

Tis open - was there on Saturday! €10 in... however, I'd really suggest waiting 3 or 4 weeks because they're still getting stuff done. They have a good bit of work to do on it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I believe the PC term is diminutive skanger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

How cringeworthy is this? A leprechaun museum is opening soon in Dublin. It will feature a real crock of gold, a rainbow and rain effects.

I suppose if it fleeces the yank tourists for some dosh and - let's face it - any dosh coming into this crumbled and battered economy is welcome.

The lads stealing the ATMs will be happy with that info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Be Jaysus Begorrah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Nevore wrote: »
    Well, I hold out against hope that it'll be a bit more serious than it sounds. A museum to folklore in general would be really interesting.

The above is what it is alright. Yes it deals with some of the pop culture references of the leprechaun but the museum itself is there to promote the strong irish tradition of story telling.

The official opening isnt actually until the 15th April but the majority of people through the doors so far have been irish and its going down very well with them. Especially the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

6th wrote: »
    The above is what it is alright. Yes it deals with some of the pop culture references of the leprechaun but the museum itself is there to promote the strong irish tradition of story telling.

The official opening isnt actually until the 15th April but the majority of people through the doors so far have been irish and its going down very well with them. Especially the kids.
    Good to know, thanks 6th. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Kingp35 wrote: »

Quality sketch of the Leprechaun :)

I see your video and raise you the REMIX!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

It will be a crock alright, a crock of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭IpreDictDeatH

So whats the verdict folks? Anyone been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Small minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Cruel to keep them in captivity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Seems relatively harmless to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Nanaki

It's fun, they don't take themselves too seriously.
    It's interesting, they tell Irish folklore stories.
    It's tasteful, there's no short person hopping around dressed like this

Instead of moaning about "Ah,to be sure,to be sure...Begorrah,etc.." try going to it.
    Who knows, you might even enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Nanaki wrote: »
    It's fun, they don't take themselves too seriously.
    It's interesting, they tell Irish folklore stories.
    It's tasteful, there's no short person hopping around dressed like this

Instead of moaning about "Ah,to be sure,to be sure...Begorrah,etc.." try going to it.
    Who knows, you might even enjoy yourself.

I heard the attractive staff are the highlight of the museum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Seems like a bit of a laugh - better than Jedward anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Birneybau wrote: »
    http://www.leprechaunmuseum.ie/

Some cynical fcuker just on the radio there,
    Opening a Leprachaun museum just off Jervis St..

Ah,to be sure,to be sure...Begorrah,etc..

Anybody else sick of this kind of rubbish?

dont see the harm in it sure I was at a bigfoot museum in america

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

This is a typical American tourist attraction and it truly is ridiculous. How can the people that go to these museums still believe leprechauns exist.

Everyone knows they've been extinct since the famine. geez....