Would you visit Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

No way. I'd be too afraid of doing something wrong and getting a booting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I just got back from a holiday in Australia yesterday. I do like it but wouldn't want to live there!

Pros:
    • Beautiful country
    • Gorgeous weather, obviously
    • Everyone is extremely hot. Even the Irish people are hotter there because they're tanned.
    • Healthier lifestyle. There are hardly any fat people.
    • Goon.
    Cons:
    • Aussies are kinda annoying, especially the men. And they finish all their sentences like they're asking questions.
    • People age quicker because too much sun exposure.
    • Too many Irish.
    • Way too many nasty creepy crawlies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

I person recently told me, to my surprise, that in general, aussies are **** when they're among themselves. He put it this way;

meet an aussie on their own in europe lets say, and they're the nicest people you'll meet, but run into a bunch of them in sydney and they're just plain **** - all this macho culture, built like brick ****houses acting all tough - not exactly friendly.

Its something id expect from South Africans but not from Aussies.

Anyone who's been to Australia able to comment on this?

I came to Australia in mid-January, having met lovely Australians while abroad in Europe and also with expectations of a macho culture as well.

Yes - Australians are particularly nice and outgoing when abroad but they're equally friendly when you're here. I've experienced a level of politeness and openness on the street that I don't associate with Ireland. The difference when they're at home is, perhaps, that they're a bit more insular. They stick with school and college friends, and you sort of have to break into their circle. Whereas obviously when they're backpacking they're making a concerted effort to meet new people.
    Is that not the same with every country? I've met plenty of Irish people who've no interest in meeting non-Irish or new people, whether they're home or abroad.

Yes - there are muscle-bound monkeys. BUT I haven't been assailed with some unbearable macho culture. Again, people have been friendly so far, and I in no way fit into the mould of Mr. Muscle. I'm lean as can be, and haven't been asked why I'm not benchpressing crocodiles.

I would've come here with much the expectations that you guys are expressing here, but the more I travel, the more I realise you can't judge a place by what you've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Elenxor wrote: »

An wtf you got against Sateth Afreekcans man?:D

I have NOTHING against Seth Efricans. They are a brilliant people and they dont hold grudges.

To them a grudge is just a place to pork their cor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

All the poisonous wild life, seem to exist only to kill people, so that gives me some pause, but I think it would be a nice place to visit at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

Have been once and it was OK .Prefered Indonesia especially Bali which was my stop before Aus .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's so good I stayed

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It's so good I stayed

Ahhh you're in Perth, I'm just home from there :) I miss the sun :(

Bit chilly today. Only hit 28 and I wore a jacket this evening.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I went there. Lived there for a year or so. I didn't have a good time. I will never go back. In fact I'd be in favour of nuking the place tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

So it was a G'day Mite!!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I person recently told me, to my surprise, that in general, aussies are **** when they're among themselves. He put it this way;

meet an aussie on their own in europe lets say, and they're the nicest people you'll meet, but run into a bunch of them in sydney and they're just plain **** - all this macho culture, built like brick ****houses acting all tough - not exactly friendly.

Yes its all true a good propotion of Aussie males are exactly like that all macho idiots who cant handle there drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

I spent a year there. Syndey was like any city really, but the setting is fantastic. Too many gobsheens from Ireland though in County Bondi - which i avoided like the plague.

Outside of the cities is where its at - great landscape, mad people and nice climate. I would recommend anyone to visit - just stay away from the cities to see the real thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Jaysus, you'll make maggots wearing a jacket in that heat.

Yes its all true a good propotion of Aussie males are exactly like that all macho idiots who cant handle there drink.

You make it sound as if all Irish lads just have 'da craic' on a night out.

There's **** in every country.

Its the bread.

Mean!

The day before I left I think it was 37 degrees. I came home to 7 degrees!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Australia.Fack off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I went there. Lived there for a year or so. I didn't have a good time. I will never go back. In fact I'd be in favour of nuking the place tbh.

90% of it looks like it already got nuked before the British ever landed there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

wtgorilla wrote: »
    Surely, Australians are the friendliest people on this earth.

After informing Skippy the kangaroo and his/her many acquaintances of the undermentioned

*Australians would find ingenious ways to steal free kangaroo meat
    *Irish don’t really have any impulse to buy free kangaroo meat, as you lot might do
    *Australia is the world’s biggest open prison
    etc etc

They said that they couldn’t wait much longer to meet and greet us.

Me Arse.
    Sergeant wrote: »
    The problem with Australia is that it is full of two of the most contemptible breeds in society:

1) The GAA jersey wearing, Irish pub drinking, tayto crisp eating goon.
    2) The average Australian.

I'd rather spend a month in Hades.

You forgot about the modern Irish Backpacker... roight!?!

This is true - but sure feck it anyway come on down all the same tis mighty craic!!
    I just got back from a holiday in Australia yesterday. I do like it but wouldn't want to live there!

Pros:
    • Beautiful country
    • Gorgeous weather, obviously
    • Everyone is extremely hot. Even the Irish people are hotter there because they're tanned.
    • Healthier lifestyle. There are hardly any fat people.
    • Goon.
    Cons:
    • Aussies are kinda annoying, especially the men. And they finish all their sentences like they're asking questions.
    • People age quicker because too much sun exposure.
    • Too many Irish.
    • Way too many nasty creepy crawlies.

What annoys me most (agreed with Penelope Mysterious Cooking above) about the locals is that they seem to be obsessed with running about the place with no tops on (the dudes) this is annoying to say the least - i'm not jealous... fukn feckers...
    macho macho men... blah blah blah etc etc etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Jumpy wrote: »
    Its the bread.

NO its the way they are gods gift to the world.

At least you admit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Australia, like Ireland, is what you make of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I've never been and I don't plan on going either. The Wool Shed is more than enough for me.

My stepdad's an Oz (one whose so proud it's sickening) and he's always telling me how great it is and how I should go there. The fact that he's a pain in the arse and that I have very little in common with him makes me think I wouldn't enjoy it as much as he does. Also, I prefer to go to places that don't speak English.

My best friend just got back from having a year over there and he loved it. To each his own.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A customer is offering me an all-expenses paid trip to Sydney to sort out some problems but I really don't feel like going. The place has never interested me, even from a touristic point of view. I'd probably despise it if I had to go against my will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

After watching many boarder patrol programmes based there, **** no. I'd be afraid they'd arrest me in customs for having soil on the bottom of my shoe.

That and if I want to hang out with drunk Irish people in an Irish bar, I'll just go to Dublin city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

No. I've had too many run-ins with Aussies over the years for my liking. But then again, I can do a savage Aussie accent, so I might blend in perfectly.

Had a mate of mine going for ages that I was an Australian Immigration officer that was cancelling his work visa... Agent Chris Shiherlis, at your service. Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

damoz wrote: »

Outside of the cities is where its at - great landscape, mad people and nice climate. I would recommend anyone to visit - just stay away from the cities to see the real thing.
    the desert?
    I don't see what's so great about Australia, don't think I'll ever be bothered going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

I'd like to visit Australia someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Ya Big Flamin Gala our very own Daddy Long Legs is the most dangerous of them all...

This urban myth is the result of an interconteniental misunderstanding. There is a spider in America known as "daddy long legs", which has a mildly posionous bite, though in no way dangerous, whereas the spider we know over here as "daddy long legs" is a completely different species.

Apparently the misconcenption springs from the fact that the (American) daddy long legs preys upon posionous spiders himself, so the extrapolation is that if it can kill a spider which can kill a human, it must therefore be more dangerous to humans than the other spider.