NAMA Pay Hike - Suprised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

genericguy wrote: »
    probably me as well, i moan a huge amount, but i just don't have the time to go throw stones at bertie's office. fcuk it, let's set up a party.

Here's my manifesto -

JUSTICE - send a baseball bat to the home of all the electorate, so that we can save money on police by giving everyone the option of dealing out the justice that the courts won't. All police in future to have a minimum of a degree. no more taytos with 5 D grades in the Leaving cert, it's not fcuking on.

FINANCE - all TD positions will be e50 grand a year, with compulsory clocking in/out and published expenses. no more money spent on spires, or the arts. paddy's day cancelled cos it's only so people can get drunk and try to fight you. introduce a huge tax on churches, because they are more harmful than smoking. water charge of e500/household/year. (figure plucked from my arse)

HEALTH - GET. HARNEY. OUT.

DRUGS - legalise, tax and control everything. mandatory 10 year sentences for anyone found dealing.

So are you running in the next election? all you need now is a photo of you pointing a gun at a camera and ur a shoe in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I tell ya - if I was on €100K a year I'd be available round the clock - that's phenomenal money to earn.....almost €3,000 per day! That's €400 per working hour!
    Does not compute. 100k a year is roughly 2,000 p/w.

I reckon a political party formed through boards.ie is a brilliant idea. Yiz could set up another sub-forum in politics where debates are carried out on what policies the party should adopt. Online polls could be used to see what policies such a party should take.

There's an awful lot of intelligent people on this site and half the people over on the economics forum would probably run the economy better than the current government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    Does not compute. 100k a year is roughly 2,000 p/w.

Absolutely - reckon I threw a decimal point somewhere.

Corrected - and acknowledged here - so that it doesn't seem like I'm trying to misrepresent or make the issue worse than it actually is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 tomhappens

Besides the pay rise what is really getting on my goat is the statement I keep hearing on the Radio.

Something along the lines that it is "justified due to the workload this year in comparison to previous years"

Previous years? Did I fuking miss something? Was I in a comma for a while and no one told me? Did NAMA exist for years and for a laugh no one in the country told me?

This country is a joke. So big a joke that if I was in power I'd probably just guild the lilly too as you can get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Forgive me if I'm wrong, but this "all the work they're doing" is the same work that was always on the cards ?

And what about all the people countrywide who are swamped doing extra work because some of their colleagues were laid off ?

I tell ya - if I was on €100K a year I'd be available round the clock - that's phenomenal money to earn.....almost €400 per day!

But would you have the necessary skill set to run the largest asset agency in the world?

Not many CEO's would get out of bed for €170k let alone €100k. We are getting the people cheap, lets hope they haven't got the wrong people. I am surprised at the timing of the announcement, theres more to the story than we're being told... One does not just get handed a €70k pay rise..

But would you have the necessary skill set to run the largest asset agency in the world?

Depends on what "skill set" is required.

Selling what I firmly believe is a con-job and a transfer of wealth to irresponsible gamblers while screwing hardworking people ? No - I don't think I could. No amount of money would make me turn my back on my ethics to that level.
    I am surprised at the timing of the announcement, theres more to the story than we're being told... One does not just get handed a €70k pay rise..

I have to agree here, and I can't help thinking that it's linked to the story at the weekend that NAMA is not allowed to use the ridiculous fictional long-term value.

And in that case, I could see Daly going "this wasn't in the contract and I'm not going to be your fall-guy unless I'm compensated".

Is it the case ? I don't know. But we need to be told.

He "needs to be available full-time" is too vague a cop-out/fob-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

I reckon they should be getting disturbance money for getting off their @sses and doing their jobs and disappointment money when they realise what a f**king mess they're really looking at, i'm sure you'll all agree and then there'll be a golden handshake when they leg it out of their jobs when they finally realise NAMA isn't going to work anyway.........that all subject to to there being any money left at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

One does not just get handed a €70k pay rise..
    Apparently one does if one is a member of Fianna Failure...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

They only meet 4 times a month??:eek: WTF?:eek: Great wages for one day's work a month.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

There are some unbelievably stupid responses in this thread.

Do you think you could hire and keep the chair of, potentially, one of the biggest asset management agencies in the world for 100k? Even 170k is too low. How do you suppose we entice highly qualified people with the skill and integrity to run an operation as big as the NAMA? Magic beans?

If good wages are not paid to those people in charge of commercial entity's then they will hire sub-standard CEO's, CFO's etc and the company will not perform or even collapse. This not only means that the guys at the top of the building will lose their wage but so will the cleaner that come's into work at 7pm, so will the administrator on 30k a year. There are repercussions throughout the whole of society.

If we don't hire the best people to run the NAMA then it will fail and we will ALL lose a lot of money. So for the sake of 170k p.a. (I think we should be paying out a lot more then that) based on X billion euro worth of good and bad assets the tax payer is not getting a bad deal.

You sound like taxi drivers. Some of you should read more and talk a bit less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

genericguy wrote: »
    definitely is common sense ikky, people should be allowed protect themselves and avenge their loved ones rather than watch scum who do bad things to them getting sent for free food, gym and shelter for a couple of months.

and the gardaí should be very well educated, as in my own experience many of them are thick and as such I have little confidence in many of their abilities both as keepers of the peace and as solvers of crime. they should also be better paid in respect of their education.

someone applying should only be allowed to be a garda in the traffic corps
    degree/postgrad = more likely to be capable of lateral thought and troubleshooting problems, so they can be real cops. with guns.

Knee-jerks, my friends, are not common sense (or have you thought these through??!). Yes, defending yourself in the home is fine but in reality, how long before someone goes Padraig Lally? Who´s goign to spend years getting a degree to become a rank-and-file Guard?

And you editied out the point abotu scaraping the arts, i noticed. Has that been rescinded, or do you have some other way of getting tourists to visit? Or are we just going to advertise ourselves as Europe´s Biggest Drikning Hole?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

*Tripper* wrote: »

That there are.
    Do you think you could hire and keep the chair of, potentially, one of the biggest asset management agencies in the world for 100k?

He agreed to do the job for €100K. There is (I presume) a contract which proves this. So re "hire and keep" - he WAS hired (that's half of your point made irrelevant before you typed) and he agreed to the salary (that's the other half at least dented).
    How do you suppose we entice highly qualified people with the skill and integrity to run an operation as big as the NAMA? Magic beans?

Why do we need to "entice" anyone ? He already had the job. No enticing required. So that's a complete red herring of a statement, tbh.
    If we don't hire the best people to run the NAMA then it will fail and we will ALL lose a lot of money. So for the sake of 170k p.a. (I think we should be paying out a lot more then that) based on X billion euro worth of good and bad assets the tax payer is not getting a bad deal.

Again, we had ALREADY hired this guy.

If you don't view €100K as enough to entice the best, are you saying that he's not the best ?

Depends on what we're offered to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Do you think you could hire and keep the chair of, potentially, one of the biggest asset management agencies in the world for 100k? Even 170k is too low. How do you suppose we entice highly qualified people with the skill and integrity to run an operation as big as the NAMA? Magic beans?

If good wages are not paid to those people in charge of commercial entity's then they will hire sub-standard CEO's, CFO's etc and the company will not perform or even collapse. This not only means that the guys at the top of the building will lose their wage but so will the cleaner that come's into work at 7pm, so will the administrator on 30k a year. There are repercussions throughout the whole of society.

Thats Poo Poo

I used the word hired a bit loosely. Yes I know he already had the job, the work load (unexpectedly) increased dramatically for every member of the board. This means that to keep the members of the board you have to increase their pay packets. Otherwise they will leave.

stevoman wrote: »
    Thats Poo Poo

Im afraid not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

http://www.pionline.com/article/20080929/CHART/809229963

so you mean to tell me that we're to believe that nama will really put us on the asset management worldwide chart??

the biggest thing that freaks me out about nama now is that the fact that these guys have been advising the government in private on how to handle it all,

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2009/0923/1224255062776.html

we are well and truely in bed with the powers that control the stockmarket

the same people who were involved in every market bubble and crash and made money every which way they wanted are now are primary dealers in Irish government bonds wtf?!?

http://www.businessandleadership.com/news/article/19958/leadership/goldman-sachs-now-primary-dealer-in-irish-government-bonds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭TheDuderino

I used the word hired a bit loosely. Yes I know he already had the job, the work load (unexpectedly) increased dramatically for every member of the board. This means that to keep the members of the board you have to increase their pay packets. Otherwise they will leave.

"...the work load (unexpectedly) increased dramatically for every member of the board"
    What?!!!???? no way can it be unexpected. If it is, then we dont want the dumb blind idiots who couldnt see the scale of the workload before signing contracts.

So they leave... feck em! We readvertise the positions using the increased salary base, get more qualified people in. Black ball previous position holders for being greedy muthafu*kers.
    Besides, the salaries should be linked to how much money they can make the Irish Taxpayer.
    They put a few billion in profit in the public purse, Ill not begrudge them a nice million or two in a bonus.