Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fox Shoot??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

I didnt see 300 win mag in there Fish:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Again Sfakiaman, there are competitions available to you in the form of deer Soc. shoots (a couple a year) and more structured comps on the 400 to 600 meter range which suit a 308 there are sporting class in those comps to suit a stalking rifle.

There is nothing for the lad with a 22 magnum to the .223 where his main experience is foxing and I don't understand why if a group of lads with rifles in this category should be forced to include other cal's which are well provided for.

I don't go to 22 rimfire benchrest comps arguing to use my .223.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

FS, I totally agree with your last few posts and this was the reasoning behind the original concept of these competitions.

Lots of lads saw "bigger" calibres entering and they decided not to bother anymore. Doesn't matter why they didn't bother, fact is they didn't. The last scheduled shoot last year wasn't run.

I know the ranges are businesses and are trying to make money in order to survive. And when lads turn up and want to pay to shoot it's hard for them to turn them away.

The numbers from the original shoot subsequentially dropped. I know lads can't make every shoot and for me I have to shuffle work as I work shifts and the wife wants to see me sometimes too :)

The range supplied a Range Officer and a few "marshalls" for the shoots and these lads don't get paid. If 6 people turn up for a comp it doesn't justify manning the "Windmill" range from the ranges perspective.

If I can get enough CONFIRMED entrants and entry fees are paid IN ADVANCE and are understood to be NON-REFUNDABLE if the entrant doesn't appear and the cost of 3 x trophies and all range charges are covered IN ADVANCE I will to agree organise a shoot. If it works out I/we can arrange more.

Rules, course of fire and such will have to be set in stone beforehand too and not open to change on the day !

Feedback .............................. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

FS, I totally agree with your last few posts and this was the reasoning behind the original concept of these competitions.

Lots of lads saw "bigger" calibres entering and they decided not to bother anymore. Doesn't matter why they didn't bother, fact is they didn't. The last scheduled shoot last year wasn't run.

I know the ranges are businesses and are trying to make money in order to survive. And when lads turn up and want to pay to shoot it's hard for them to turn them away.

The numbers from the original shoot subsequentially dropped. I know lads can't make every shoot and for me I have to shuffle work as I work shifts and the wife wants to see me sometimes too :)

The range supplied a Range Officer and a few "marshalls" for the shoots and these lads don't get paid. If 6 people turn up for a comp it doesn't justify manning the "Windmill" range from the ranges perspective.

If I can get enough CONFIRMED entrants and entry fees are paid IN ADVANCE and are understood to be NON-REFUNDABLE if the entrant doesn't appear and the cost of 3 x trophies and all range charges are covered IN ADVANCE I will to agree organise a shoot. If it works out I/we can arrange more.

Rules, course of fire and such will have to be set in stone beforehand too and not open to change on the day !

Feedback .............................. ?

All of those are good, sound, practical policies. From my point of view, obviously I'd like to shoot it, so if your calibre threshold allows it, I'll be there. If you keep it to 150 or 200 yards max, the larger calibres won't have any advantage over the smaller ones, you get a wider pool and a level playing field. That's just my own feeling anyway.

I`ll be there wit me 223

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Fair play to ya Bunny, I'll give a hand if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,165 ✭✭✭clivej

Again Sfakiaman, there are competitions available to you in the form of deer Soc. shoots (a couple a year) and more structured comps on the 400 to 600 meter range which suit a 308 there are sporting class in those comps to suit a stalking rifle.

There is nothing for the lad with a 22 magnum to the .223 where his main experience is foxing and I don't understand why if a group of lads with rifles in this category should be forced to include other cal's which are well provided for.

I don't go to 22 rimfire benchrest comps arguing to use my .223.

I agree with FS here. There are a few comps' for the 308 run throughout the year. There are more for the 22lr lads. None for the calibres stated here for a fox cal. sorta shoot.

I remember the first shoot was taken all free hand without any rests or bi-pods @40m, 60m and 100m. This added to the difficulty of the comp. It was good fun and a first for me in any comp.

The next was again at the same ranges but this time rests and bi-pods were allowed as well as the higher cal's. This took away a lot of the fun element of the shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

clivej wrote: »
    This took away a lot of the fun element of the shoot.

Please don't use the word fun on an open shooting forum, you never know who's reading.

sfakiaman wrote: »
    Please don't use the word fun on an open shooting forum, you never know who's reading.

Ok then substitute pleasure for the word fun if that will make you feel better.

Because I had, along with many others on the day, a lot of ..................................... "please insert your definition of having a good day out with friends, friends to be, old acquaintances here".

I would have put the word FUN in but apparently it's not for you.

fun fun fun fun fun fun oops

an open shooting forum, you never know who's reading??????????????????????????????????

it's hard to know if you are serious or just taking the pisssssssssssssssssssssssss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Could I ask the Mod's to put a link through to the Hunting forum as the lads there would have an interest.
    Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

I'd go along and try pick up a few tips from ye boys and make a show of myself:o.

Sounds like ye had a ball the last time.

Dare i ask, was it some one on here who won?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

out to the ranger your chatting about , it will make no difference .

if any thing it will suite john cloney with his 22.250 . ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

I suppose my 98B .416B is out of the question then Bunny????:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭SD308

I'd be interested in this type of shoot, depending on what the max calibre ends up at. Don't be mislead by the name, I have more than one rifle
    !;)

Hezz700 wrote: »
    I suppose my 98B .416B is out of the question then Bunny????:(

Probably bit your Swift wouldn't :p Did you get the work done on it yet ?

SD308 wrote: »
    I'd be interested in this type of shoot, depending on what the max calibre ends up at. Don't be mislead by the name, I have more than one rifle
    !;)

:eek: A member of the sucessful Ireland shooting team :eek:

Bring it on :p

greenpeter wrote: »
    I'd go along and try pick up a few tips from ye boys and make a show of myself:o.

Sounds like ye had a ball the last time.

Dare i ask, was it some one on here who won?

No but nearly ;);)

clivej wrote: »
    No but nearly ;);)

If you listen closely............ You should be able to hear Clive blowing his own trumpet AGAIN.....:D:D:D

Probably bit your Swift wouldn't :p Did you get the work done on it yet ?

Nope not yet, but i've got a nice medium varmint R1 contour fluted barrel on order:). tis taking its time though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

has there been people issued .308 certs for fox control:confused:

murph226 wrote: »
    has there been people issued .308 certs for fox control:confused:

I doubt it, but there'll be plenty of people for whom their only centrefire rifle is a .308, and they still have to kill foxes, so that's the one they'll use. My own fox gun's a .25-06; 100 grain Nosler ballistic tip at 3220 fps leaves the old .223 kicking and screaming in the dust. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

It's a great pity that Remington Accelerator ammo is not legal in this country. A 30-06 for deer and the option of .22 sabot for fox with a 55gr bullet leaving the muzzle at 4080 fps. It would be the ideal multi purpose hunting rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

It's not illegal AFAIK; just restricted.

Sparks wrote: »
    It's not illegal AFAIK; just restricted.

I think the problem is you'll run into the problem of the "only suitable firearm" justification for the sabot stuff.

"It fires a .22 calibre 55 grain bullet, Chief Super."

"You mean like out of a .223?"

"Er, yes, Chief Super, just like that."

"Don't you think then that a .223 is the most suitable thing to fire that out of, rather than a .30-06?"

"Well, ideally..."

"Right so, off you go and buy a .223 to shoot 55grain .22 calibre bullets out of! I'll tell the Super downstairs to be expecting a new application."

You could argue that since you already own the rifle that it's a more suitable situation than buying a new rifle, but I wouldn't fancy trying to argue with the "only suitable firearm" wording.

I doubt it, but there'll be plenty of people for whom their only centrefire rifle is a .308, and they still have to kill foxes, so that's the one they'll use. My own fox gun's a .25-06; 100 grain Nosler ballistic tip at 3220 fps leaves the old .223 kicking and screaming in the dust. :p

dont think so.... 223 40grainers at 3800fps...1 inch high at 100 5.5 inches low at 300....

Dead fox is a dead fox....

dwighet wrote: »
    dont think so.... 223 40grainers at 3800fps...1 inch high at 100 5.5 inches low at 300....

Dead fox is a dead fox....

Damn, that is very flat...

Still, inch and a half high for me, 6.5 low at 300. Not to shabby for more than twice the bullet weight!

Damn, that is very flat...

Still, inch and a half high for me, 6.5 low at 300. Not to shabby for more than twice the bullet weight!

i hear ya...Im getting similar performance to your 25-06 out of my 7-08 with 140 grain at 2900 fps...3/4 inch more drop than your 100 grainer at 300....
    that only get used for deer though...its now been stipped down,oiled up and put away till next season:(

i hear ya...Im getting similar performance to your 25-06 out of my 7-08 with 140 grain at 2900 fps...3/4 inch more drop than your 100 grainer at 300....
    that only get used for deer though...its now been stipped down,oiled up and put away till next season:(

That's very tidy indeed. I'm going to keep the .25 running for foxes and crows for a while. The .22 is a pain in the arse to carry around for vermin-shooting sessions. It makes me less inclined to do the pile of walking for bunnies too, which is a shame, because I love shooting bunnies. Going to have to acquire a little sporting rifle for them whenever I can.

If you listen closely............ You should be able to hear Clive blowing his own trumpet AGAIN.....:D:D:D

Sure if I don't blow my own who will

01223226-032614082347537.jpg

I often thought i could do with a nice light .22 CF aswell as the heavy varmint setup i use. I think the Superintendant would go into heart failure though.:D

I can see it now........

"You want what? TWO .223 rifles????????????? Are you starting a private army or what? Well you'll have to give up the .308 and the .270 and i'll probably still only grant you one."

Followed by a disapproving stare and a protracted investigation.:rolleyes: