Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fox Shoot??

• 01-03-2010 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭

Lads any word on the next fox shoot in Midlands??

Upper caliber limit for fox shoot 44 votes

.22 lr
    0% 0 votes
    .22 magnum
    0% 0 votes
    .17 Hmr
    4% 2 votes
    .22 Hornet
    2% 1 vote
    .223 rem
    2% 1 vote
    .220 swift
    27% 12 votes
    22/250
    18% 8 votes
    20% 9 votes
    25/06
    25% 11 votes
    0% 0 votes
    0% 0 votes
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Have the .25-06 now, so will be well on for this. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Think I'll stick with the CZ in 223, but you never know, I might have the licence for the AI by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

:p
    Think I'll stick with the CZ in 223, but you never know, I might have the licence for the AI by then
    :p

Best to learn to shoot it first :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

ill be going for gold this time round:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Lads with those rifles ye might as well enter the F Class comps :p

I'm not organising them as there was a lot of discontent and I got flack after the last one after the "bigger" calibres were allowed enter even though it was advertised as "fox" calibres only :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

wouldn be listening to any of them bunny
    ya man won fair and square

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

why not have both a deer calibre shoot and fox calibre shoot?

murph226 wrote: »
    why not have both a deer calibre shoot and fox calibre shoot?

No reason BUT how do you decide which is which ? And some lads use a .22lr etc to shoot foxes .......................

endasmail wrote: »
    wouldn be listening to any of them bunny
    ya man won fair and square

Their gripe wasn't that he won but more that he was using a calibe that was supposedly not allowed in the competition according to the rules as stated here and elsewhere.

As one lad said to me if it was advertised as a .22lr benchrest comp he wouldn't expect to be shooting agains a 6mm BR

Other lads wanted to shoot and were told they couldn't only to find they could have

I did not agree/know about the non "fox" calibres shooting in it until the shoot started and so I have learned my lesson if someone else wants to run/organise it I'll be there BUT I am not running it :(

No reason BUT how do you decide which is which ? And some lads use a .22lr etc to shoot foxes .......................

put it to a vote/poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Their gripe wasn't that he won but more that he was using a calibe that was supposedly not allowed in the competition according to the rules as stated here and elsewhere.

As one lad said to me if it was advertised as a .22lr benchrest comp he wouldn't expect to be shooting agains a 6mm BR

Other lads wanted to shoot and were told they couldn't only to find they could have

I did not agree/know about the non "fox" calibres shooting in it until the shoot started and so I have learned my lesson if someone else wants to run/organise it I'll be there BUT I am not running it :(

AaaaaaHHHHH go on, we will bribe you with tae and biscuits !!!
    I'd love to have a go at this !
    What range/distance is it ?

Fare play to you Bunny you did a great job on the fox shoot and all for no thanks (as such).

I don't know what the calibre was that Johnathan won with and I'm not sure on the day if it realy mattered.

BUT the thing was the shoot was intended for the lower calibres only and the range officer on the day allowed all and any to enter, I think to make the numbers up.

AND if your running another fox shoot I'll be there to be sure to be sure :D

He was a great shot and as ya say Clive I reckon he'd have beaten us if he only had a .22lr :eek: ;)

Clive, your statement about the "smaller calibres" is spot on and a lot of feedback from lads said the same

They were great fun and the banter was great

I organised them simply for a bit of crack and wanted no thanks but I suppose once you mention "competition" the competitive side comes to the fore :o

Ok lads some one suggested we vote on it, so I've put up a poll.
    Now I'm by NO means taking control of this but it may be useful to the person that does.
    I think it's important that the R.O's and range admin. respect the wishes of those who are trying to organised the shoot and the rules that are drafted.

I would like to thank Bunny for doing all the hard work on previous occasions as I for one truly enjoyed myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I am not running it :(
    The 2% rule's other cause there. Some people just don't seem to get that when someone tries something for the first time and does it in good faith, you're meant to give them a bit of leeway to learn in. At least you gave it a good try Bunny :(

I voted 220 Swift as it is/was the "traditional limit" on rifles to shoot foxes as far as the Garda were concerned.

Therefore, Swift, 204, 223, 17 Rem, Hornet etc all come under that limit

I do apologize for forgetting the 17rem and .204.

any ideas on layout could be looked at when we have an upper limit.

FS you know I don't think much of the 204 & 17 Rem :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭intershoot

Just thought this may be of interest, the PSNI will not consider anything larger than .223 for fox hunting. This is the max cal. for the disposal of fox's in the north!!

but as a good friend of mine says, you dont get any deader than dead :eek:

:cool:

Would 220 Swift be included in that cut off as it's .003 less than .223 kinda thing ?

Perhaps it could be any calibre for which there is widely available ammunition intended for the shooting of fox-sized animals? So stuff where there'd be widely available light ballistic tips or V-max rounds or the like? Or perhaps an upper grain weight limit that'd do much of the same stuff as a calibre limit without the ensuing debate as to legitimacy of rounds?

Starts like this, ends like this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

What range is this normally shoot at ?If its only 200 yards and not off the bench ,why would people think the larger calibers have any advantage ?:confused:Ive never been to any shooting competition so if this is a silly question ,sorry !

Tomcat,

For me its not about advantage its about the shooter. with the larger cal's there are regular shoots ie: deer society, sporting f class, ect. ect. but for the guy wit a .22 hornet or a .22 magnum theres nothing and if the larger cal's are allowed to enter they do tend to take over and the rule change to suit them, ranges get longer and fewer and fewer fox shooters turn up. "Fullbore" shooters don't shoot .308 in the .22 50 meter comps as its a comp for .22 lr. so why can't acknowledged fox cal. shooters have their own comp?

Remember the 150 yard range, it was perfect for hornet and 22 magnum but as its now the Fullbore range 150 is not much use to the Fullbore shooter and its now gone.

This is no reflection on the management and staff of the range as its a case of supply and demand for any business.

Well said FS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

When you put it that way it makes sence ,alright !Hope the fox shoot goes ahead this year ,sounds like a fun day out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Kryten

But Lads, I can shoot a fox with a .303.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Kryten wrote: »
    But Lads, I can shoot a fox with a .303.......:D

This is what ye/we are up against:rolleyes::P...
    Why can't it be more strictly pointed towards the fox calibres, meaning having a maximum calibre and thats it? Or is it that the lads that are doin every other shoot day have more authority or thought more of:confused:
    Not being sarcastic to anyone, just extremely curious about this.
    cheers to all...

Could I ask the Mod's to put a link through to the Hunting forum as the lads there would have an interest.

FS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

I'm not at all sure I'm getting the point of this argument. I entered the last fox shoot with my .308, I use this rifle to shoot the odd fox because it is the only centrefire rifle I have and I can't afford to buy a .22cf. The last comp if I remember correctly was at 40, 60, and 100 yards. At those ranges only the rimfires were disadvantaged (because of wind) and they had a category of their own. Power shouldn't be an issue because they are only paper targets. Can sombody tell me how a lad with a bog standard stalking rifle and 3x9 variable scope has an advantage over another lad with a heavy barrel varmint rifle in .223 with a nightforce scope on top?

I greatly enjoyed the last shoot even though I had no hope of winning. The real pleasure is getting out with people with similar interests and the more that can compete the better.

If I can't enter the next shoot (if there is one) because of calibre, then I'll listen to ye all popping away while I'm down the other range with my real rifle :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

I didnt see 300 win mag in there Fish:(:(

Again Sfakiaman, there are competitions available to you in the form of deer Soc. shoots (a couple a year) and more structured comps on the 400 to 600 meter range which suit a 308 there are sporting class in those comps to suit a stalking rifle.

There is nothing for the lad with a 22 magnum to the .223 where his main experience is foxing and I don't understand why if a group of lads with rifles in this category should be forced to include other cal's which are well provided for.

I don't go to 22 rimfire benchrest comps arguing to use my .223.

FS, I totally agree with your last few posts and this was the reasoning behind the original concept of these competitions.

Lots of lads saw "bigger" calibres entering and they decided not to bother anymore. Doesn't matter why they didn't bother, fact is they didn't. The last scheduled shoot last year wasn't run.

I know the ranges are businesses and are trying to make money in order to survive. And when lads turn up and want to pay to shoot it's hard for them to turn them away.

The numbers from the original shoot subsequentially dropped. I know lads can't make every shoot and for me I have to shuffle work as I work shifts and the wife wants to see me sometimes too :)

The range supplied a Range Officer and a few "marshalls" for the shoots and these lads don't get paid. If 6 people turn up for a comp it doesn't justify manning the "Windmill" range from the ranges perspective.

If I can get enough CONFIRMED entrants and entry fees are paid IN ADVANCE and are understood to be NON-REFUNDABLE if the entrant doesn't appear and the cost of 3 x trophies and all range charges are covered IN ADVANCE I will to agree organise a shoot. If it works out I/we can arrange more.

Rules, course of fire and such will have to be set in stone beforehand too and not open to change on the day !

Feedback .............................. ?

FS, I totally agree with your last few posts and this was the reasoning behind the original concept of these competitions.

Lots of lads saw "bigger" calibres entering and they decided not to bother anymore. Doesn't matter why they didn't bother, fact is they didn't. The last scheduled shoot last year wasn't run.

I know the ranges are businesses and are trying to make money in order to survive. And when lads turn up and want to pay to shoot it's hard for them to turn them away.

The numbers from the original shoot subsequentially dropped. I know lads can't make every shoot and for me I have to shuffle work as I work shifts and the wife wants to see me sometimes too :)

The range supplied a Range Officer and a few "marshalls" for the shoots and these lads don't get paid. If 6 people turn up for a comp it doesn't justify manning the "Windmill" range from the ranges perspective.

If I can get enough CONFIRMED entrants and entry fees are paid IN ADVANCE and are understood to be NON-REFUNDABLE if the entrant doesn't appear and the cost of 3 x trophies and all range charges are covered IN ADVANCE I will to agree organise a shoot. If it works out I/we can arrange more.

Rules, course of fire and such will have to be set in stone beforehand too and not open to change on the day !

Feedback .............................. ?

All of those are good, sound, practical policies. From my point of view, obviously I'd like to shoot it, so if your calibre threshold allows it, I'll be there. If you keep it to 150 or 200 yards max, the larger calibres won't have any advantage over the smaller ones, you get a wider pool and a level playing field. That's just my own feeling anyway.

I`ll be there wit me 223

Fair play to ya Bunny, I'll give a hand if I can.

Again Sfakiaman, there are competitions available to you in the form of deer Soc. shoots (a couple a year) and more structured comps on the 400 to 600 meter range which suit a 308 there are sporting class in those comps to suit a stalking rifle.

There is nothing for the lad with a 22 magnum to the .223 where his main experience is foxing and I don't understand why if a group of lads with rifles in this category should be forced to include other cal's which are well provided for.

I don't go to 22 rimfire benchrest comps arguing to use my .223.

I agree with FS here. There are a few comps' for the 308 run throughout the year. There are more for the 22lr lads. None for the calibres stated here for a fox cal. sorta shoot.

I remember the first shoot was taken all free hand without any rests or bi-pods @40m, 60m and 100m. This added to the difficulty of the comp. It was good fun and a first for me in any comp.

The next was again at the same ranges but this time rests and bi-pods were allowed as well as the higher cal's. This took away a lot of the fun element of the shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

clivej wrote: »
    This took away a lot of the fun element of the shoot.

Please don't use the word fun on an open shooting forum, you never know who's reading.

sfakiaman wrote: »
    Please don't use the word fun on an open shooting forum, you never know who's reading.

Ok then substitute pleasure for the word fun if that will make you feel better.

Because I had, along with many others on the day, a lot of ..................................... "please insert your definition of having a good day out with friends, friends to be, old acquaintances here".

I would have put the word FUN in but apparently it's not for you.

fun fun fun fun fun fun oops

an open shooting forum, you never know who's reading??????????????????????????????????

it's hard to know if you are serious or just taking the pisssssssssssssssssssssssss

Could I ask the Mod's to put a link through to the Hunting forum as the lads there would have an interest.
    Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

I'd go along and try pick up a few tips from ye boys and make a show of myself:o.

Sounds like ye had a ball the last time.

Dare i ask, was it some one on here who won?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

out to the ranger your chatting about , it will make no difference .

if any thing it will suite john cloney with his 22.250 . ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

I suppose my 98B .416B is out of the question then Bunny????:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭SD308

I'd be interested in this type of shoot, depending on what the max calibre ends up at. Don't be mislead by the name, I have more than one rifle
    !;)

Hezz700 wrote: »
    I suppose my 98B .416B is out of the question then Bunny????:(

Probably bit your Swift wouldn't :p Did you get the work done on it yet ?

SD308 wrote: »
    I'd be interested in this type of shoot, depending on what the max calibre ends up at. Don't be mislead by the name, I have more than one rifle
    !;)

:eek: A member of the sucessful Ireland shooting team :eek:

Bring it on :p

greenpeter wrote: »
    I'd go along and try pick up a few tips from ye boys and make a show of myself:o.

Sounds like ye had a ball the last time.

Dare i ask, was it some one on here who won?

No but nearly ;);)

clivej wrote: »
    No but nearly ;);)

If you listen closely............ You should be able to hear Clive blowing his own trumpet AGAIN.....:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

Probably bit your Swift wouldn't :p Did you get the work done on it yet ?

Nope not yet, but i've got a nice medium varmint R1 contour fluted barrel on order:). tis taking its time though.:(

has there been people issued .308 certs for fox control:confused: