Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magpie Call Bird

• 02-03-2010 08:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

Has anyone got any good ideas on how to catch the first magpie call bird. I have tried putting eggs in a larsen trap but they dont seem to be working. Maybe its too early in year for eggs.

And any ideas on how to keep a call bird alive in this frosty weather if I get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i seen one on ebay last week.

try a rabbit or rabbits ,leave it out side the trap for a day or two to get them feeding then move it in .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

yessam wrote: »
    Has anyone got any good ideas on how to catch the first magpie call bird. I have tried putting eggs in a larsen trap but they dont seem to be working. Maybe its too early in year for eggs.

And any ideas on how to keep a call bird alive in this frosty weather if I get one.
    Feed around the trap first, so don't put it straight into it keep moving it closer and closer and then into the trap. They become more confident and then bingo.
    A cover on the trap and a perch should give enough shelter and plenty of food and water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Whilst ye're on the topic lads, I have noticced in the last few weeks in my area that there is fe** all magpies around. Plenty of the dirty grey crows alright as if they know the ewes are about to start lambing:mad: Any reason for the sudden decline in magpie numbers you think? Maybe the incline in grey crow numbers have taken over is all I can come up with:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

kay 9 wrote: »
    Whilst ye're on the topic lads, I have noticced in the last few weeks in my area that there is fe** all magpies around. Plenty of the dirty grey crows alright as if they know the ewes are about to start lambing:mad: Any reason for the sudden decline in magpie numbers you think? Maybe the incline in grey crow numbers have taken over is all I can come up with:confused:

Can get you a greycrow if you have a large larsen, they don't like them around these here parts!

I'm too far from ya to give you one.

But, if you do get a bird, some things need to be done to ensure it's survival.

Good protection from the elements, meaning a proper roof, not the half napkin sized joke on the commercial type traps. Fresh water available to the bird 24/7, I cable tie a 2 litre milk jug to the inside of the trap, cut a hole in either side, one pointing outwards to fill the jug, one pointint inwards with a little overhang so it can't **** in the water. Decent diet, I buy Coshida cat food in Lidl/Aldi, usually give one magpie 2 tins a week, plus a mix of rolled oats and rolled barley.

Greycrows get fed a little more.

I've kept both types over the winter and they have thrived. Shelter from the wind is as important as shelter from the rain. I usually have mine in the sheltered side of a wall, or hillock etc.

johngalway wrote: »
    Can get you a greycrow if you have a large larsen, they don't like them around these here parts!
    Thanks for the prompt reply John, cheers. Unfortunately, I dont have an type of trap buddy. They can't be too hard made though are they? I'm on a serious budget the last while anyway and won't be able purchase one unless they can be got handy enough and if so where?
    Thanks again John, appreciate it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭J.R.

If you make a 'nest' out of moss and place some eggs in it. Make sure there is clingfilm at the base of the nest and shaped in such a way that nothing will pour out. Break an egg in the nest. The yolk and broken egg should be clearly seen as the clingfilm will stop the egg contents seeping away.

I've found in the past that greycrows / magpies cannot resist this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Fresh water, some dry dog or cat food from aldi (I use a bit of both) and some rolled barley. I have a call bird a few weeks now and he's happy out, not doing much calling though!!!!

If he does manage to squak a bit and get another bird into the trap then I'll give you a shout I am not quite as far away as John!!!:D

J.R. wrote: »
    If you make a 'nest' out of moss and place some eggs in it. Make sure there is clingfilm at the base of the nest and shaped in such a way that nothing will pour out. Break an egg in the nest. The yolk and broken egg should be clearly seen as the clingfilm will stop the egg contents seeping away.

I've found in the past that greycrows / magpies cannot resist this.
    You will have to excuse my ignorrance on this subject JR but just curious as to where you put the nest? In the trap or out side it? I presume what you mean is that they will go straight into the nest in the trap with this setup?
    Cheers...

I forgot to mention...

Two seperate perches and lots of room to hop and flutter about it. Lock him up in a shoe box and he'll surely die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

I wonder if your around my neck of the woods, we have over 150 mag's traped and shot in the last 3 months, at probably more than that in grey's! :D
    JohnGalway wrote:
    Two seperate perches and lots of room to hop and flutter about it. Lock him up in a shoe box and he'll surely die.
    We added bigger roof panels to all our cages, clear plastic so it doesn't affect visibility of the call bird, large drinkers added the same as John mentioned. I use household waste, dinner leftovers, spud skins, bread etc pill it under the cage.. works a threat in the frosty weather!
    Good perches to keep them off the ground is a must!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Theres plenty of both around me here and I cleared a lot of magpies out last year. I was out today with another lad working and there in a field of sheep was a grey crow staring at a ewe and some lambs within about 2 meters of each other and me with no gun!!!:eek:

No6 wrote: »
    Theres plenty of both around me here and I creared a lot of magpies out last year. I was out today with another lad working and there in a field of sheep was a grey crow staring at a ewe and some lambs within about 2 meters of each other and me with no gun!!!:eek:
    Just as well, you mite have hit the sheep or lamb:p

Terrier wrote: »
    We added bigger roof panels to all our cages, clear plastic so it doesn't affect visibility of the call bird,

Ah! Now! Here's something I've been pondering. I've questions, and comments, if you don't mind :)

For the past while I have been trying to figure out an alternative material Larsen roof. I'm currently using plywood and don't find it acceptable at all regarding the effect the weather has, de-lamination and curling it is the biggest problem.

Do you mind me asking what type of plastic ye're using and where ye got it? Have ye asked or do ye know is it UV proofed?

I'm looking for an opaque plastic myself. The reason for that is a conversation I had some time back with a very experienced trapper in the UK. His thinking, and perhaps it related to UK regulations, was that not only did the bird have the right to shelter, but it also had the right to shade from the sun!

Anyone else suggestions for an alternative roofing material would be welcome :) Not looking for a metal, as cut edges might rust.

Would a skylight do?

greenpeter wrote: »
    Would a skylight do?

Cheers Peter but no, I don't want it see through as I want it to provide shade as well as shelter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

if you are worried about metal edges rusting why not use galvo spray?? ive used it on outdoor steel instalations as a regulation spec so im sure it does the job. . . :rolleyes:

dicky82 wrote: »
    if you are worried about metal edges rusting why not use galvo spray?? ive used it on outdoor steel instalations as a regulation spec so im sure it does the job. . . :rolleyes:

One reason, it's €15 a can!

Cheers Peter but no, I don't want it see through as I want it to provide shade as well as shelter.
    As I know John ya can get a tinted or green perspex. Would be ideal i think, gives a hint of lights but also has shade. Unless ya can get the black type..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

John, It's clear perspex used on roofs and the like. I don't think the sun would be too much of an issue here in the west :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭J.R.

You will have to excuse my ignorrance on this subject JR but just curious as to where you put the nest? In the trap or out side it? I presume what you mean is that they will go straight into the nest in the trap with this setup?
    Cheers...

I would try the 'nest' in the larsen trap first.

Magpies hunt by travelling along & through the hedges looking for food, nests, eggs etc.

I would place the larsen trap close to the hedge with the 'nest' in it. Don't place the 'nest' in a very visible spot out in the wide open....no bird would ever build a nest there....and they will cop that....place it close to the hedge and blend it in to look natural. Usually drop in within a day or two.

If they're very wary and you don't get any leave the larsen trap where it is a move the 'nest' about 10 metres away from it, near the hedge. They will eat the eggs and also get used to the trap.

Next day put another egg in and move it about 5 metres from trap. They will quickly cop on that this is a free lunch with easy pickings and no danger. Once they are used to raiding the 'nest' place it in the larsen trap. They won't be able to resist it and will drop in.

here's one I mounted raiding a nest. The nest is handmade from moss and twigs but looks realistic....give you an idea of what you're aiming to build.

P8110020-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

One reason, it's €15 a can!

a bit steap alright but if it saves the hastle of sourcing perspects?:rolleyes:

quick side question, i check my trap first thing in the morning and last thing in the evening. when ive trapped magpies in the evening they're pretty boistrus and raring to go but the lads that have been trapped early in the morning/day are exhausted and dont put up much of a flap when i approach the trap. . . shoud i check the trap during the day and dispatch of these lads?
    the reason i havent been doing so already is because i was told to be at the trap as little as possible??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thekevin4540

use a bit of perspects it is the like as glass but it is plastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Ah! Now! Here's something I've been pondering. I've questions, and comments, if you don't mind :)

For the past while I have been trying to figure out an alternative material Larsen roof. I'm currently using plywood and don't find it acceptable at all regarding the effect the weather has, de-lamination and curling it is the biggest problem.

Do you mind me asking what type of plastic ye're using and where ye got it? Have ye asked or do ye know is it UV proofed?

I'm looking for an opaque plastic myself. The reason for that is a conversation I had some time back with a very experienced trapper in the UK. His thinking, and perhaps it related to UK regulations, was that not only did the bird have the right to shelter, but it also had the right to shade from the sun!

Anyone else suggestions for an alternative roofing material would be welcome :) Not looking for a metal, as cut edges might rust.

John, use an old election poster. Those yokes are brilliant, easily cut, last a good while in all weather conditions and there will have been at least one usefull politician in your neck of the woods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭rock garden

Good evening to all. As regards larsen traps i find april. may. june. and july the best time for catching corvids. and have been told there this no point in running traps after the end of july As after this the area will be filled with new birds almost at once . now i dont trap after july. but when i did i caught 47 1 october and thought it must be doing good.But the talk from big estate keepers in england is it does more harm than good to trap outside the breeding season . Also find the call bird hard to keep alive after november.just my 2 cents worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

a bit steap alright but if it saves the hastle of sourcing perspects?:rolleyes:

quick side question, i check my trap first thing in the morning and last thing in the evening. when ive trapped magpies in the evening they're pretty boistrus and raring to go but the lads that have been trapped early in the morning/day are exhausted and dont put up much of a flap when i approach the trap. . . shoud i check the trap during the day and dispatch of these lads?
    the reason i havent been doing so already is because i was told to be at the trap as little as possible??
    It would be more humane for the magpies, if the trap was checked during the day. The less time they have to spend in the trap the better,(the less stress they will suffer).
    I'm not saying not to use Larsen Taps by the way.......

shoud i check the trap during the day and dispatch of these lads?

The more often you're at the trap, the higher the chances become of the resident magpies spotting you there. If there are magpies watching, fair enough you won't see most of them, I'd avoid the trap. Especially avoid killing birds in view of other birds.
    John, use an old election poster. Those yokes are brilliant, easily cut, last a good while in all weather conditions and there will have been at least one usefull politician in your neck of the woods.

I'd have to look at them all year then :p Interesting idea though.
    Good evening to all. As regards larsen traps i find april. may. june. and july the best time for catching corvids. and have been told there this no point in running traps after the end of july As after this the area will be filled with new birds almost at once . now i dont trap after july. but when i did i caught 47 1 october and thought it must be doing good.But the talk from big estate keepers in england is it does more harm than good to trap outside the breeding season . Also find the call bird hard to keep alive after november.just my 2 cents worth.

Hi RG, I have a question for you regarding what the UK keepers are saying that trapping beyond April, May and June doing more harm than good. What's their reasoning for this?

Trapping in harsh weather can result in call bird deaths. I've kept birds over winter, though not any more, by being mindful of the weather, providing adequate shelter from wind (covering two sides, facing into the prevailing winds and locating the LT in a sheltered area) and cold (keep the LT out of frost pockets, in an area to make most of any sun and cover the traps with old duvet/blanket or similar if frost is expected) and providing plenty of food and water at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,902 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'm really enjoying this informative thread with all its usefull tips:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭rock garden

Hi all.As regard to trapping outside the breeding season i will quote an article that appeared in the shooting times last year.Carrions and magpies become communial in autumn and winter.and crows in particular may be seen in large large communial roosts.In feb dominant crows break away from the community to pair up and defend a territory. it is worth remembering that the major predator of crows is other crows .The best results will be achieved when the trap is placed within the territory of a pair of crows or magpies as they will then try to attack and drive off the intruder.I myself know this to be true but i have caught many crows after i thought a territory to be clear.Also i have seen many separte pairs together in the winter months As to why its suspose to do more harm than good to trap outside the breeding season i can only guess the call bird does not interest other birds the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Hi all.As regard to trapping outside the breeding season i will quote an article that appeared in the shooting times last year.Carrions and magpies become communial in autumn and winter.and crows in particular may be seen in large large communial roosts.In feb dominant crows break away from the community to pair up and defend a territory. it is worth remembering that the major predator of crows is other crows .The best results will be achieved when the trap is placed within the territory of a pair of crows or magpies as they will then try to attack and drive off the intruder.I myself know this to be true but i have caught many crows after i thought a territory to be clear.Also i have seen many separte pairs together in the winter months As to why its suspose to do more harm than good to trap outside the breeding season i can only guess the call bird does not interest other birds the same.

Although the catch rate during the winter months may be less than that of the summer, i think its still effective, and once your still catching vermin, then it can only be doing good in my opinion!!