porn images at centre of Green Isle row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

People getting paid to watch porn and people on strike because they can't, what next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

^^^^^^^^

Lol

Read the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Stekelly wrote: »
    Porn isnt illegal. Doesnt mean you company will be happy about you looking at it on their time, on their hardware and passing it your mates in their office.

No looking at porn has been a standard part of contracts for people that will be workign with computers since before the internet.

Prove it.

Anyway, my major problem with this is:
    Green Isle hunger striker has endured pizza deliveries and co-workers mooning, writes Martin Frawley

Strike when the iron's hot: a protestor last weekBarely an hour after Jim Wyse began his hunger strike outside the gates of food manufacturers Green Isle last Wednesday, an unwitting pizza delivery girl pulled up outside with a mystery order for Wyse and his striking colleagues.

"It just shows you how nasty this dispute has become", said Wyse, an electrical engineer with Green Isle and a shop steward with the electrical union, the Teeu. "The poor girl didn't know what was going on but she had the name and mobile phone number of my son who is also on the picket line.

"We don't know who ordered the pizzas but it had to be somebody with access to my son's mobile number. We sent them back," said Wyse.

"I have to stay here until this dispute is resolved. The company are trying to grind us down," said a defiant Wyse (58), who is camped out 24/7 in a caravan outside the British food manufacturer's base near Naas, Co Kildare.

"I never thought of the cold. But I understand that after a short while your body adjusts," he said.

Wyse has been 13 years with Green Isle Foods and has been on strike for the last six months after three of his colleagues were sacked for allegedly downloading "inappropriate images" onto their PCs. There are approximately eight workers on permanent strike.

But Wyse said the dispute goes back further when one of his colleagues was mistakenly given access to a file on his PC marked 'Boardroom' which contained sensitive commercial information, including company plans to lay off staff.

Though it was sent to the worker by mistake, news of its contents spread throughout the company.

The company was understandably concerned at the security breach and during a review of its IT system discovered the "inappropriate" imagery and sacked three workers – one of whom was the person who accessed the secret boardroom file.

Since then, this increasingly bitter and protracted dispute has been to the High Court and Labour Court several times.

The Labour Court last recommended that the three sacked workers be re-instated or, if this was not possible, be paid compensation totalling €160,000.

The company said that it had made every effort to resolve the dispute and mediation efforts are ongoing. Local Fine Gael TD Bernard Durkan is understood to have offered his services.

But Wyse wants the largely non-union company to talk to the TEEU, and wants assurances on terms and conditions if they go back.

Married with five children and four grandchildren Wyse said financially it's tough. "Mortgages have to be paid and strike pay of €125 a week doesn't go far," he said.

"My wife and the rest of the family don't want me to do this but they know I won't be walked on," he said.

Wyse's action harks back to an era of strikes and lockouts, in the 1970s and '80s. But not everybody is of like mind.

"The company brought in replacements from Burnley in England to replace us. They put them up in a local hotel and bussed them in every day. They mooned at us as they sped past the gates," he said.

But the 'strike breakers', as Wyse puts it, got caught up in a fracas in a local nightclub and have since returned to Burnley.

They have since been replaced with willing staff from around Ireland.

"Today, if you drop down dead somebody will walk over you," he said.

Wyse is more understanding of the mainly Polish and Filipino workers who have continued working during the dispute.

"Many of them are supporting families back home and they explain to us that they can't afford to get involved," he said.

But the same understanding is not reserved for the dozen or so Teeu workers who came out last August but have since returned.

"They have been expelled from the union and rightly so," said Declan Shannon, who along with Declan Foley and Michael McDonald, is also on picket duty.

Shannon believes Wyse's hunger strike will force a resolution sooner rather than later.

"This is like being back in the 1970s probably because as far as the economy is concerned, we are back in the 1970s," said Shannon.

http://www.tribune.ie/article/2010/feb/21/this-is-like-being-back-in-the-1970s/?q=hunger strike

What's the deal the the Polish and Filipino workers getting off scot free and the English workers being run out of town?

Bunch of ****ing hypocrites.

I asked the dude running the Facebook page about this and his reply was that the Polish people are ok because they have suffered occupation like the Irish people.

WTF?

So it's ok to run a bunch of English scabs out of Naas, but the Polish are grand?

The average English person is going through the same crap as us due to imcompetent goverments. The dude running the Facebook page is either afraid of being called racist, or is anti-British. Either way, he's a ****íng pussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Terry wrote: »
    So it's ok to run a bunch of English scabs out of Naas, but the Polish are grand?

The average English person is going through the same crap as us due to imcompetent goverments. The dude running the Facebook page is either afraid of being called racist, or is anti-British. Either way, he's a ****íng pussy.

He's afraid of being called a racist I'd imagine. I agree it's totally hypocritical, and they should be treating all workers/scabs equally, regardless of their nationality or personal circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

deise blue wrote: »
    INCORRECT

IBEC is a registered Trade Union .

Always has been back to it's original predecessors the Federation of Irish Employers who were registered as a Trade Union under the Trade Union Act 1941.

Mind you IBEC have never advertised this fact !

Well. Who'd have thunk it.
    IBEC wrote:
    IBEC is registered as a trade union in order that it possesses a negotiating licence which enables it to negotiate on behalf of members locally and centrally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

somebody sent out a pizza for them ha ha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

As employers go, hotels are usually the lowest of the low. So go self righteous hunger strikers

To be honest, if every employee who sent non-work related emails was sacked, then the country would come to a stand still as there would be barely anyone working. 700 is an awful lot of emailing but i think the sacking at more to do with the current economic climate, rather then gross misconduct. they were out to cut numbers, simple as. they lost in the labour court, simple as, they should do as they are told, simple as...

... they lost in the labour court, simple as, they should do as they are told, simple as...
    ... they won in the High Court (a real court).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭chuck eastwood

I wonder why they were going to get rid of the 6 maintenance guys in the first place. Those guy's pull between 40,000 to 60,000 a pop depending on service shift allowance etc. Most places now bring in guys like me to do contract work. Just cheaper...suppose I'm a scab to then:rolleyes:. Before you start I am in a union but the only reason I am is because your not allowed in the door of most places if you don't have a union card as a trades man. Seems the management thought this would be an easy way to get rid of a few people but it all went tits up. I still think behind all the if and buts you just cant look at porn in work. once or twice can be a mistake but lads in the real world its just not on. I don't think the should be sacked for it but if one of our lads did it we would expect the boss to go nuts so we don't. FULL STOP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭happymondays

Prove it.

pretty sure its in my contract, written down something like
    the use of company resources cannot be used to access inappropiate material
    bla bla. dont know the exact wording of the top of my head but its definetly in there. can dig it out if you needs be.

in fairness id imagine distributing porn is a sackable offence in most companies. anyone stupid enough to use work resource to do it deserves what they get. dont really see the strikers having a leg to stand on.

looks from that article that its trying to be give the impression of the poor small worker being bullied by the big bad english company which is total bullshi*. hopefull they get sfa from Gleen Isle as they dont deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

To be honest, if every employee who sent non-work related emails was sacked, then the country would come to a stand still as there would be barely anyone working. 700 is an awful lot of emailing but i think the sacking at more to do with the current economic climate, rather then gross misconduct. they were out to cut numbers, simple as. they lost in the labour court, simple as, they should do as they are told, simple as...

True, to me it seems they went looking for dirt and found it. 700 is a hell of alot of pics though, even if it's "tasteful" stuff.

Depends on the time length. 700 over 10 years, 70 a year, just over 1 a week.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Prove it.

Anyway, my major problem with this is:

http://www.tribune.ie/article/2010/feb/21/this-is-like-being-back-in-the-1970s/?q=hunger strike

What's the deal the the Polish and Filipino workers getting off scot free and the English workers being run out of town?

Bunch of ****ing hypocrites.

I asked the dude running the Facebook page about this and his reply was that the Polish people are ok because they have suffered occupation like the Irish people.

WTF?

I assume the pizza was ordered from the sons mobile phone! Any way of pretending a text or call came from the sons phone?

Strange.

On the racism point, maybe they where Polish etc. workers bussed in from Burnley!

Maybe they were English. Who knows?

On the Polish and Filipino workers, damned if you do, damned if you don't. Work through the strike, condemned, go on strike, condemned. Glad he didn't go down that route.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

I heard on Pat Kenny that the pictures were seriously hardcore. Images of rape etc. but made by porn actors so not illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

Prove it.

pretty sure its in my contract, written down something like
    the use of company resources cannot be used to access inappropiate material
    bla bla. dont know the exact wording of the top of my head but its definetly in there. can dig it out if you needs be.

in fairness id imagine distributing porn is a sackable offence in most companies. anyone stupid enough to use work resource to do it deserves what they get. dont really see the strikers having a leg to stand on.

looks from that article that its trying to be give the impression of the poor small worker being bullied by the big bad english company which is total bullshi*. hopefull they get sfa from Gleen Isle as they dont deserve it.

yeah pretty much any job that involves the slightest use of a computer will
    have a clause in the contract along the lines of: 'employees much adhere to company code of conduct regarding internet usage' etc
    which is essentially no looking at porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Porn images are not at the centre of the green isle row.

What happened is is that an email outlining pay cuts and job loses meant for the upper echelons of the company was accidentally sent to a lowly worker. The worker concerned for his and everybody elses job printed out the email and handed it in to his union and everyone that worked there. Green isle sacked them for this.

The Labour Relations Commission report advises the workers be re-instated or given 160 k compensation. LRC reports are generally followed by both sides but green isle has not followed it.

I recommend a boycott of green isle to anyone who gives a damn about workers rights. Green isle are a horrible company and should re-instate their workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Porn images are not at the centre of the green isle row.

What happened is is that an email outlining pay cuts and job loses meant for the upper echelons of the company was accidentally sent to a lowly worker. The worker concerned for his and everybody elses job printed out the email and handed it in to his union and everyone that worked there. Green isle sacked them for this.

The Labour Relations Commission report advises the workers be re-instated or given 160 k compensation. LRC reports are generally followed by both sides but green isle has not followed it.

I recommend a boycott of green isle to anyone who gives a damn about workers rights. Green isle are a horrible company and should re-instate their workers.

rubbish, boycotting green isle products will only but the rest of the 600 jobs at the factory at risk. Green Isle don’t recognise the union and therefore didn’t show up at court as they don’t have to. So judge only heard the one sided crap that’s been spouted by this crowd since the beginning. Green Isle has been providing 1000’s of jobs over the last 20 years in Naas land is one of the last few big employees in the town.
    Maybe you should really understand the facts before you go encouraging people to put other peoples jobs at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Wrong get your facts right or are you apart of the propaganda machine or with one of the high class parties supporting their cause Sinn Fein or the Irish Republican Socialist Party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

deise blue wrote: »
    Of course I'm not taking the piss !
    The Labour Court examined the issues after all parties involved made their cases and decided that the company were in the wrong.
    The Labour Court had access to far more information than that you or I have gleaned from the papers.
    Hopefully Green Isle will see sense and abide by the ruling of the state body.

the labour court had one side of the story. The company did not take part as it is non uniuonised.

Why don't the workers not go to the employment tribunal?

answer = because they would lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭smokingman

I can see it now...

"We'll not be having this treatment lads, we are a union and we'll act like it, now raise your fists in the air in defiance and....er lads....raise those fists!....oh, right....here's some cleenex"

91011 wrote: »
    the labour court had one side of the story. The company did not take part as it is non uniuonised.

Why don't the workers not go to the employment tribunal?

answer = because they would lose.

They went to the High Court. They did lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

siochain wrote: »

Wrong get your facts right or are you apart of the propaganda machine or with one of the high class parties supporting their cause Sinn Fein or the Irish Republican Socialist Party

Is that a parody?

Is wasn't an email, but a specific file named 'boardroom'. This went to the High Court - AFAIK, Green Isle didn't dispute that that happened, but produced the evidence of porn about a year after it tried to get rid of two employees. A third employee was dismissed for the porn too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

siochain wrote: »
    Care to correct these details?

I haven't posted it before as I've only heard rumors comming from the workers & I've no way of proving them - however the rumor I heard was the same as Pride Fighter pointed out. I also heard that the porn images were a smoking gun, possibly planted by the company in order to bolster the case for dismissal. Which, personally, sound more credible to me; I doubt someone would go on hunger strike if they were blatantly guilty, but thats speculation (possibly wild).
    Again, I stress, that what I heard was second hand information &/or rumor.

Eitherway, it's speculation and opinion, the facts are:
    1. It went to the labour court.
    2. The employees were found to have been unfairly dismissed.

Zulu wrote: »

Eitherway, it's speculation and opinion, the facts are:
    1. It went to the labour court.
    2. The employees were found to have been unfairly dismissed.
    3. It went to the High Court (a real court)
    4. The High Court found in favour of the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The pridefighter story is news to me, but then i don't have any first hand knowledge of the case, only what's reported in the media. But i have to say it doesn't really change anything, what sort of an idiot would be suprised to be sacked after photocopying and handing out confidential management information? It's probably even worse than the porn to be honest. Am i the only one that has trouble understanding the union mentality? I've never been in one and hope i never have to be, all i see from the vast majority of them is corruption, stupidity and intransigence. If i was an employer, i'd refuse to deal with them if at all possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

dvpower wrote: »
    3. It went to the High Court (a real court)
    4. The High Court found in favour of the company.

You keep repeating that, but without any details. There's a lot of bull**** flying round this thread, starting with why the workers were dismissed and what the dispute is about. The dispute is and has always been about the dismissals and the refusal of Green Isle to recognise the TEEU; http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/union-claims-green-isle-dispute-is-over-dismissals-448040.html

The High Court found in favour of a confidentiality/gagging order requested by the company, which was to stop some workers releasing information about company profitability and redundancies. It had nothing to do with the unfair dismissal case brought to the Labour Court. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0402/1224243861891.html

The Labour Court have found that the dismissals were unjustified and ordered either compensation or reinstatement. Green Isle were represented at the LC by its Union IBEC, but refuses to recognise the workers Union in a bid to further **** them over.

Now at this stage there should really be no more confusion, and certainly no more claims that the High Court ruling overruled the Labour Court one, because they are clearly two separate cases and only an imbecile would continue to suggest or infer that the High Court in some way made a judgement on the dismissals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Mullins07

As I wrote in the other thread, the truth is coming out.

On Sunday, a Green Isle director finally admitted that the employees did not have Internet access on RTE's 'This Week' programme. He also admitted that the adult material was sent in from an anonymous source to employees email in-boxes.

The only defenders of this slander are the remaining employees worried for their jobs and PR companies paid to spin lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

You keep repeating that, but without any details. There's a lot of bull**** flying round this thread, starting with why the workers were dismissed and what the dispute is about. The dispute is and has always been about the dismissals and the refusal of Green Isle to recognise the TEEU; http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/union-claims-green-isle-dispute-is-over-dismissals-448040.html

The High Court found in favour of a confidentiality/gagging order requested by the company, which was to stop some workers releasing information about company profitability and redundancies. It had nothing to do with the unfair dismissal case brought to the Labour Court. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0402/1224243861891.html

The Labour Court have found that the dismissals were unjustified and ordered either compensation or reinstatement. Green Isle were represented at the LC by its Union IBEC, but refuses to recognise the workers Union in a bid to further **** them over.

Now at this stage there should really be no more confusion, and certainly no more claims that the High Court ruling overruled the Labour Court one, because they are clearly two separate cases and only an imbecile would continue to suggest or infer that the High Court in some way made a judgement on the dismissals.

Just a few points man:

From my reading of the Labour Court judgement (linked above) the High Court upheld the dismissals in June 2009. If I've read this wrong, I'm happy to retract.

The Labour court recommendation doesn't mention IBEC/Green Isle's case. This is unusual (the court normally mentions the cases of both), and suggests that neither the company nor IBEC engaged with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Snip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

In other news:- The Garda representative body is demanding compensation for severe wrist strain for a number of its staff who were exposed to the pictures in the course of their duties.