Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

growler wrote: »
    you know the only positive i could take from the city game was that the fans who were still there with 20 minutes to go , were the real fans, it was embarassing how many left (despite the random refereeing decisions which i was convincing myself was going to see us get 3 penalties in the closing moments) :-) , but tbh, it felt like the old days... losing a game at home , playing sh1te and singing til the end.

Agree with the ballack comments, although i thought he wasn't as negative as usual, he did make some forward passes. Anelka is lost out on the wings, cole should have stayed on and kalou on for anelka would have make more sense to me, and i can't figure out why a long ball over the top to drogba which has worked for us time after time wasn't employed all the time with JC and Anelka beside him. Feel sorry for Hilario, blow to the confidence that was!

Milan looking a bit scarier now.

Where do you lot go drinking when you're over?

Agree... In all my time of going to matches (of any kind, GAA, football, etc.) I've never left early, even if my team was getting stuffed royally. I hate people leaving early, smacks of armchair fans on a day out to me, tbh.

Inter look far scarier now, I have to say. I'd hope and pray for a victory there on the 16th, but it will be no cake-walk.

If I was going to go for a few drinks, I tend to avoid SO-BAR like the plague; very hysterical and anti-Irish songs in there, so I'm not a huge fan. Chateau 6 just opposite Fulham Broadway Station is my usual haunt over there before games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

did that lad in Napoli sign a new contract then?

kryogen wrote: »
    did that lad in Napoli sign a new contract then?

Looks like it...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

DazMarz wrote: »
    Agree... In all my time of going to matches (of any kind, GAA, football, etc.) I've never left early, even if my team was getting stuffed royally. I hate people leaving early, smacks of armchair fans on a day out to me, tbh.

Inter look far scarier now, I have to say. I'd hope and pray for a victory there on the 16th, but it will be no cake-walk.

If I was going to go for a few drinks, I tend to avoid SO-BAR like the plague; very hysterical and anti-Irish songs in there, so I'm not a huge fan. Chateau 6 just opposite Fulham Broadway Station is my usual haunt over there before games.

It disgust's me to see people leaving early in a game when we are wining , even more so when were getting beaten .

Inter look a huge task now , I'd say JM will be studying the video of the City game chuckling away to himself . He prob has a list of weak points to focus on now.

I have been in So-Bar many a time and have never been subject to any abuse or heard anti Irish songs. They dont really teach them about the troubles in English schools and a lot of English folk I know actually wondered why some Irish people had a gripe with them. In saying all that SO-Bar is completely off the hook , if you really want to get caught up in the atmosphere and passion of the game a trip in here will be sure to please.

If I am with the OH or non Chelsea supporters I tend to go Lyollds Bar upstairs in the Fulham Broadway shopping center. Only people with match tickets or club memberships allowed in , I think that goes for most places.

There Is an Irish bar called Brogans just down to the right of Fulham Broadway and thats another good spot .Chateau 6 I have not been to before , but I will drop in on my next visit over to the bridge.

I have 50 points so I am hoping that I get a chance to pick up a tickets in the morning .

Daz if you can still get yourself a ticket for the Stoke game , I would get it for the 5 loyalty points alone, as if we do make it through against Inter they will be looking for a lot of points to be in with a sniff of getting tickets.

My only plus from the Man City is that Ballack will be banned for a game , I hope the FA cup is not included in that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Mad Dog

I was at the game on Saturday and very few people around me left early but of course they were the ones that were still singing even at 4-1 down.

It was a poor performance all round and tactics were all wrong and what has happened to YJC, he has been shocking since returning from injury and on this form he will struggle to make the England squad for the WC.

On another note I think Carlo could have saved JT and left him out to spoil the media frenzy that went on around the game. I missed the non hand shake at the start as I was stuck in the queues outside, that system is a pain in the face when you get near kick off and I was there in plenty of time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Mad Dog wrote: »
    I was at the game on Saturday and very few people around me left early but of course they were the ones that were still singing even at 4-1 down.

It was a poor performance all round and tactics were all wrong and what has happened to YJC, he has been shocking since returning from injury and on this form he will struggle to make the England squad for the WC.

On another note I think Carlo could have saved JT and left him out to spoil the media frenzy that went on around the game. I missed the non hand shake at the start as I was stuck in the queues outside, that system is a pain in the face when you get near kick off and I was there in plenty of time.

I thought YJC had one of his better games since his come back , this and the wolves games.

Completely agree about JT , had he not of played it would of taken the emphasis away from Man City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Lads, although a contributing factor JT cant be the sole cause of recent performances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

redout wrote: »
    Lads, although a contributing factor JT cant be the sole cause of recent performances.

Hilario having the agility of a pensioner has a good bit to do with it as well.

flahavaj wrote: »

Hilario only played the last league game though.

Chelsea's last 5 league games reads:

2 Wins
    2 Losses
    1 Draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Who said he was?

Hilario only played the last league game though.

Chelsea's last 5 league games reads:

2 Wins
    2 Losses
    1 Draw

I thought I was agreeing with you.:pac:

Well he has been at fault for a lot of goals now at this stage ,

Everton :

Inter : (May not be completely at fault here , but JT on top of his game would not be sold the way he was for the opener )

Man City :

With the media circus surrounding him , its bound to be unsettling for the whole squad.

Injuries are also down to the recent slump :

Essien : Major loss

Ashley Cole : Major Loss but Yuri could cover him

Yuri Zhirkov : Major loss with Ashley already gone

Boswinga : Big loss but have cover for him ,but have lost a lot going forward without him

Peter Cech : Major Loss , as we seen on Saturday , although I have faith in Hillario, a good keeper does not suddenly turn bad over night, hopefully he can come good again after Saturdays horror show.

Joe Cole : Although he is now back from injury , he is no where near what he was before he got injured, hopefully he hits his stride before the season is done for us.

Johner wrote: »
    Who said he was?

Nobody has said it per se but several posts over the last few pages have criticised JT and some called for him to be dropped. This can easily be perceived as being a reason of recent performances.

I mite be wrong but he played against Liverpool and was Man of the Match

He appears to have lost his positional sense since then, as well as the ability to actually stop rather weakly struck efforts on goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

They were saying on Chelsea TV that Essien is the best person for the holding role, but I think he's at his best when he makes those runs forward.
    The best of luck to Van Anolt, who will be supplying cover for us at Left back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Nobody has said it per se but several posts over the last few pages have criticised JT and some called for him to be dropped. This can easily be perceived as being a reason of recent performances.

Well,Ballack for starters shouldn't be anywhere near the team imo, he is a liability, he gives us absolutely nothing.

Genuinely, has he ever been any good for ye?

He did, and he was immense that day. I've no idea what the hell happened to him on Saturday. Jumpiness got to him or something. I dunno...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Where is Deco?

Completely agree , he needs to be got rid of , quick smart.

Utterly disgusted when I heard he got a year contract extension .

He is lazy , shows no passion , seems to be more occupied with arguing with the ref and the opposition, a complete and utter waste of over £100K a week .

I absolutely hate him, although cant see CA dropping him , the Italians seem to have a mentality towards more "experienced" players even if they are many years past it

Genuinely, has he ever been any good for ye?

I remember him scoring a header to get us into the latter stages of the CL one year, other than that, NO I dont think he has ever been good for us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

smuckers wrote:
    Where is Deco?
    Australia Hopefully.

Tactics are to blame not JT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

One thing about Ballack; shirt sales in the German market alone make the club a fúcking fortune. He is still a God in Germany and the club actually makes a profit on him thanks to the German market, or so I've heard.

Deco is injured.

This is gonna be a tense run-in

The chap is 33. I wouldnt be expecting much out of him at this stage of his career to be honest. Kind of like Scholes at United. Who would replace him though if he were dropped ?

CHD wrote: »
    Australia Hopefully.

Tactics are to blame not JT

Any time I've see ye play ye've looked better playing 4-3-3 rather than the diamond. But it means dropping Anelka, who's had a good season.

Iolar wrote: »
    Tbh there is plenty more in that team that need a good hard swift kick up the hole,why wont he blood younger players to get more expierence such as Kakuta etc
    Because if we blood more youngsters then we lose more games.

Any time I've see ye play ye've looked better playing 4-3-3 rather than the diamond. But it means dropping Anelka, who's had a good season.
    I have said it since the start. The 4-5-1/4-3-3 is the only way we can dominate and we would if we did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha