Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Aston Villa -V- Man United - 28th Feb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,559 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Iang87 wrote: »
    i think they know they stole one today and maybe theres a little shame in their victory because they ahould be ashamed to celebrate that. anyway if i stay i'll get banned. away i go

lol. yeah, shame it is. :D

United def got the rub of the green with that decision, but people say decisions even themselves out over the season, and maybe that was a little bit of justice for United today, after some of the shocking reffing performances we have had to put up with this season (City in the semi-final first leg for a start)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

i think they know they stole one today and maybe theres a little shame in their victory because they ahould be ashamed to celebrate that. anyway if i stay i'll get banned. away i go

Don't let the door hit you on the way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

At least they've won something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭jaykay74

you score 0/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭CR 7

Mr Alan wrote: »
    In fairness mitch, its a hamstring niggle, its not like he broke his leg, i'm happy when rival players get injured meaning they'll miss important games etc as long as their not serious injuries.

In fairness, an injury is an injury, he'll be out for some amount of time, it's fair enough to mock players if they fall over their own feet showboating, or hit the corner flag with a penalty, but being happy someone is injured is not on. Go into the Stoke Arsenal thread and see how far that attitude will get you.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

lol. yeah, shame it is. :D

United def got the rub of the green with that decision, but people say decisions even themselves out over the season, and maybe that was a little bit of justice for United today, after some of the shocking reffing performances we have had to put up with this season (City in the semi-final first leg for a start)

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha a united fan saying they got justice today, saying decisions even themselves out over a season haha ok now i'm gone i'm actually going to laugh for the rest of my days thinking of that post. i'd like to thank you for that eternal smile. brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Lads, what did I say? Villa would go one nil up then United win 2-1. Disgrace!!! Fair play United though.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha a united fan saying they got justice today, saying decisions even themselves out over a season haha ok now i'm gone i'm actually going to laugh for the rest of my days thinking of that post. i'd like to thank you for that eternal smile. brilliant

It's nice to see the enjoyment one can get from United winning trophies. Infectious, ain't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,708 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

utd deserved it, once they got away with Vidic staying on the pitch.

Villa were solid, if uninspiring, apart from Milner, who i thought again looked absolutely brilliant.

utd had just too much going forward in Valencia, Bebratov, and Rooney (even though he was pretty before before the goal). Even Park looked dangerous.

i thought Carrick had one of his better games.

Warnock did not look England class.

Owen looked very sharp, and if only his hamstrings weren't so fragile he could be a real asset to England, and maybe Utd.

overall, Villa can feel hard done by in terms of the sending off, but once it was 11 v 11, i thought utd just edged it, and definitely had the better chances.

i feel sorry for Dunne. he's been superb this season, made a bad mistake, recovered, but got unlucky that it fell to Owen. i hope he and Villa win the FA Cup now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

lol

People trying to stir after a league cup win..... Strange. Also being happy that someone got injured is sad and pathetic.

United are smellyheads hahahaha :rolleyes:

SlickRic wrote: »
    utd had just too much going forward in Valencia, Bebratov, and Rooney (even though he was pretty before before the goal). Even Park looked dangerous.

This has been very noticeable over the last few weeks, Park seems to be a lot more direct in attcking, he never used to take the ball on himself and shoot, almost always looking for a pass instead, but someone has told him to be more selfish, and it seems to be working out fairly well, he should have had a goal in the West Ham game, and maybe today too.
    i feel sorry for Dunne. he's been superb this season, made a bad mistake, recovered, but got unlucky that it fell to Owen. i hope he and Villa win the FA Cup now.

Yeah, I hope Villa win it too, but maybe for an ulterior motive.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,688 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Was definitely a robbery of Villa, but by the referee, (who should be suspended for this, he didn't miss something, he just decided not to apply not the rules of football) not by United. So on that note, you'd have to say well done to United, not a deserved win, but nonetheless well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

97174797.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F5147E31BF699FF8237D442A1B94E4144623740BE70261416C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I thought Park had a good game. I love having him in the squad tbh, he can't shoot or cross much but his link up play and his attitude are spot on.

Berbatov actually ran around a bit today and showed what he can do when he's bothered. But he was absolutely fùcked towards the end of the game so you have to question his fitness.

I was happy for PIG to play and get a medal, he really has improved dramatically this season.

Gutted for Owen, he was playing very well before the injury.

I feel a bit sorry for Villa, this game obviously meant so much to them. They're turning into a proper team now, I hope they have some good success in the rest of the season.

Ps: I hope Rooney was only lying about his knee to get out of international duty :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,193 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

CSF wrote: »
    Was definitely a robbery of Villa, but by the referee, (who should be suspended for this, he didn't miss something, he just decided not to apply not the rules of football) not by United. So on that note, you'd have to say well done to United, not a deserved win, but nonetheless well done.

Did you not watch that second half? United deserved it. It should've been a red for Vidic, I agree. Villa had some decisions gone their way too.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Villa had some decisions gone their way too.

of course they did.

but nothing as big as the one in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,688 ✭✭✭✭CSF

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Did you not watch that second half? United deserved it.
    Take Vidic out of their defence and they wouldn't have been able to play that way. Rafael, Evans and Evra is not a solid defence and if it was kept Villa would have scored again without doubt. If they'd brought in Neville or Brown, they'd still have been leaky at the back, and would have to remove an attacking threat at 1 nil down.

I'm not debating that United are a better side than Villa, of course they are, so its no surprise they outplayed them in the 2nd half, but if justice had been done, Villa would have been in a situation that would have made them odds on favourites to go on and win the game. So no, United didn't deserve to win the game, the referee gifted it to them, but as has been said thats football, but on this day United did not deserve to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,079 ✭✭✭✭28064212

of course they did.

but nothing as big as the one in question.
    Collins should have got the line for his last man tackle too, but of course the ref couldn't do it after bottling the Vidic one. His was a much more cynical take-down of the man with no intention of playing the ball, rather than Vidic's which was just a poor tackle. And at least Villa got a penalty out of it, United got a free about 35 yards from goal.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

28064212 wrote: »
    Collins should have got the line for his last man tackle too

bullcr*p.

owen was going closer to the corner flag than the goal with his touch.

yellow card all day long.

Agbonlahor was 10 yards out with a shot on.

bullcr*p.

owen was going closer to the corner flag than the goal with his touch.

yellow card all day long.

Agbonlahor was 10 yards out with a shot on.

are you honestly trying to say agbonlahor would have beaten Kuszczak with a shot? There mere fact Kuszczak was in goal mean it simply can not have been a goal scoring opportunity, hence no red card. I fail to see what the problem is. Villa were lucky to get a penalty out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

are you honestly trying to say agbonlahor would have beaten Kuszczak with a shot? There mere fact Kuszczak was in goal mean it simply can not have been a goal scoring opportunity, hence no red card. I fail to see what the problem is. Villa were lucky to get a penalty out of it.
    Are you drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

A goal-scoring opportunity is an opportunity to score a goal, not a nailed-on open goal type scenario which you seem to be implying. Vidic should've gone, no doubt about it.

'goal scoring opportunity' does not mean an open goal.

i'm pretty sure you know this.

hence, by the laws of the game, a red card.

i hate to see a red card that early though, so personally, i'd have possibly left it at yellow.

Villa were lucky to get a penalty? now i know you're taking the p*ss, or are p*ssed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

There's a lot of positives for Villa today. They have a great spine of young players who will only improve. United rode their luck at times but i think we just about deserved the win. I thought the ref was very inconsistant. Vidic deserved red in my opinion but so did collins just after. Did anyone else think that the atmosphere seemed very flat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I think the reason the ref didn't give the red was because he thought Agbonlahor had overrun his touch and it wasn't a clear goal scoring opportunity. How it wasnt a booking though is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

he didn't give it cause he totally bottled it in my opinion and the same ref has been harshly criticised by Mr Ferguson in the past for sending off United players.

PHB wrote: »
    I think the reason the ref didn't give the red was because he thought Agbonlahor had overrun his touch and it wasn't a clear goal scoring opportunity.

i just think he forgot.

A goal-scoring opportunity is an opportunity to score a goal, not a nailed-on open goal type scenario which you seem to be implying. Vidic should've gone, no doubt about it.

but it was Kuszczak in goal. No way would Agbonlahor have scored, Dowd knew that, hence no red card. Had it been up the other end, with Diouf through on goal, then it would have been a red, but thats life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,664 ✭✭✭✭JPA

He didn't give a red because it was 5 minutes into the game, so ya, he bottled it. The incident isn't even arguable.

but it was Kuszczak in goal. No way would Agbonlahor have scored, Dowd knew that, hence no red card. Had it been up the other end, with Diouf through on goal, then it would have been a red, but thats life.

so what is it?

beer? cider? whiskey?