Best Irish Bar You've Been To??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Paddy Flahertys in Cusco(Supposedly the highest Irish bar in the world.) was interesting and actually a decent pub inside. The great thing is that its a popular pub in the city and a great place to watch Ireland beat Wales for the grand slam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Michael Collins pub in Barcelona was one of the best I was in. Went to a place called O Malleys in Salzburg this summer, wasn't half bad either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Tir na nog in New York. Across the road from Maddison Square Garden. Great food, drink and lots of Yank college chicks looking for an Oirish dude.

What more can a man ask for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Yeah lads don't get me wrong, I would almost always choose a local pub before an Irish one but if I'm in a place for a couple of days I gota check one out, see what their impression of Ireland is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

I was in a really funny one in San Luis Obispo, California. It was obviously owned by some non Irish gickball cashing in on the whole Oirish thing.
    He had all the walls plastered with big shamrocks with Irish surnames printed onto them, the usual suspects were there, Murphy, Kelly, O'this O'that, but dotted throughout it all were crazy made up names like 'McStakowski', 'O'Boneso' and 'O'Larooney' :D

Needless to say, we were standing in the middle of this kip breaking our boll1x laughing and pointing up at all these, the locals thought we were stone mad.

lolamericans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

this would be it IMO -

http://www.nevadasmiths.net/

not really advertised as an irish bar i think, but the lad that runs it is from kerry. been there any time ive been in new york when theres a a big game on and the place is packed. one of the most famous pubs for sport in new york, really big with the irish and english anyway.

other than that, they are all the same, been in irish pubs in alot of countries and they are no different to each other. not sure why people have the attitude "why do people go to irish bars when on holiday" i dont mind going to them though as long as the beer is cheap and good. there just another bar really, same local beers as all the others and the same type of people go to them. they generally are better "craic" than non irish bars but the beer is cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

O Reilly's in Antigua, Guatemala. Brilliant craic in that place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Nearly all of them. Some were great and some were ****e. Had some interesting times in La Mulligan in Toulouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

McCormacks 26th & 3rd NYC. An Irish lad would have to ride his way out the place if he wanted to leave on Paddy's Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

"paddy irish pub" written in green sellotape on the window in schwabing,munich. run by sayid and ali from pakistan. so dodgy guinness would'nt serve them. top spot,early and late house+spliff

fcuking hell is that kip still open??!! i've been in that bar (and got chucked out)but it was about ten years ago and it was run by asian lads back then too. just down the road from another paddy bar called, surprise surprise, mulligans and near to another, gunther murphys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

'st patricks day' in santiago chile was great as they kept giving us free gargle i think we were the first paddys in there or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭dave 27

the irish centre in playa del ingles, probably on of the best place to head out to!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

The Dubliner in Harajuku, Tokyo, was a suitably surreal experience.

YES! i was there too. loved it so much :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Nine Fine Irishmen in the New York New York in Las Vegas. A great pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

alan1990 wrote: »
    I'm just wondering whats the best Irish Bar people have been in while on their travels? What made it good? Did you get special treatment because you were Irish??

Personally, Rosie O'Gradys in St. Petersburg would be the best I've been to. It had a good atmosphere and seemed a really popular place. The guiness there was absolute pot though! It was pre poured and sitting in a fridge and pulled out when asked for :(

O'Neills in Leicester Sq, London was also a really cool one. The place was jammed and hod a good few other Irish people there, seemed very expensive though!

I was in that bar in St Petersburg, stayed away from the Guinness as I generally do when I'm abroad but was a crackin place. Other stand out Irish bars would be the Hill of Tara in Kyoto, stumbled upon it while looking for the Nintendo building, still had Breo on tap if you can believe it. We were treated like royalty cause we were Irish and not a bad pint of (free) Guinness it has to be said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Was in Nice and we went to Cannes for the evening. As you do, we were walking around and found a pub, in we went, had a couple of beers and then the best rock band ever started up. Obviously can't remember who they were, and maybe they would be crap here, but holidays and drinkies, you get the drift. Manic night. It was Morrisons Irish Bar. We never looked at the name before going in. All French in there having a ball, great mix of ages.

Got talking to a few and they said the Irish bars have the best atmosphere, as they are only used to the cafes etc.

We fell out of there about 2.30am and had to pay 40 yo yos to get back to our hotel in Nice, but it was well worth it.

I agree totally Morrisons is a great spot I've been there quite a bit over the years and for the "I wouldn't set foot in an Irish pub abroad" brigade, in a lot of cases there isn't anywhere else decent to go for a drink especially in Cannes unless you want to pay twenty quid for a pint in one of the big hotels. Also not everyone wants to go to a cafe for a drink they can be a tad dull!

eamon234 wrote: »
    I agree totally Morrisons is a great spot I've been there quite a bit over the years and for the "I wouldn't set foot in an Irish pub abroad" brigade, in a lot of cases there isn't anywhere else decent to go for a drink especially in Cannes unless you want to pay twenty quid for a pint in one of the big hotels. Also not everyone wants to go to a cafe for a drink they can be a tad dull!

Morrissons is cool. Anyway, in Cannes we kept getting "Private Party" from bouncers at anywhere that looked half lively. France can be boring, every one of their towns should have an Irish bar, my folks live in France and I get so bored at night there, nothing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

'The Dubliner' in Santa Ponsa - love the place :D

The food is crap, the Guinness expensive & the decor is deplorable. But I've had some brilliant craic in the place over the years.

'Ya can take the boy out of Ballymun............'

take what boy out of Ballymun? have you abducted someone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    There is one in Frankfurt, right beside the main train station, that do a surprisingly good pint of Guinness (for a foreign country).

good call

o'connells in Puerta del Sol area of madrid is a great pub, saturday night is rocking until dawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

I have to say, this is the best website i have ever seen!!

http://www.raglanroadirishpub.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Pub snobs! I'm going away tomorrow, at least I know I can find an irish bar to watch the rugby in. Very few places DON'T have them, I even watched 6 Nations games in Ryans in Accra. It's interesting to see Irish bars around the world. I wouldn't spend all my time there, but any time I'm abroad, I always pop in for a pint to see what they're like. In madrid they seem very popular with the locals. Full of spanish and no irish (a bit like temple bar)

exactly, i was in istanbul a few weeks back, we dropped into the irish/brit bar near the blue mosque, the place was packed at 5pm and they had 2 premiership matches on and the rugby on another screen. you wouldn't get that anywhere else in town

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    'st patricks day' in santiago chile was great as they kept giving us free gargle i think we were the first paddys in there or something

Is that they one at the end of the road?

McSorleys in Manhatten for me. They offered me a job purely for being ginger! <3 America :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

'The Dubliner' in Santa Ponsa - love the place :D

The food is crap, the Guinness expensive & the decor is deplorable. But I've had some brilliant craic in the place over the years.

Sean's Place in Santa Ponsa was good craic and Fiddler's Green, that's going back a bit though.

My brother ran The Dubliner in Ios for three years, I wasn't allowed to travel at the time but the photos looked good :(

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Is that they one at the end of the road?

McSorleys in Manhatten for me. They offered me a job purely for being ginger! <3 America :D

one at the end of what road? Actually it's probably destroyed now after last night God help them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

the best one i've been to was in Hanoi ,vietnam . but sadly i forgot the name! had some great nights there though but some very risky(thieves) drunken walks back to the hostel after it closed every night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Audacious

Has to be the Corkonian in Cologne. If theres a match on all the expats come flooding in for expensive bulmers and to shout at the tv :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭flowersagogo

fcuking hell is that kip still open??!! i've been in that bar (and got chucked out)but it was about ten years ago and it was run by asian lads back then too. just down the road from another paddy bar called, surprise surprise, mulligans and near to another, gunther murphys
    haha ,thought i'd get a bite with that one! ya must of been tryin real hard to get thrown out of that kip though(or very small). i parked my car outside one day then went up to sieben,necked 2 acid and ten more beers-then had to go back and move it. that is one of the hardest things i've ever had to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

dr gonzo wrote: »
    Paddy Flahertys in Cusco(Supposedly the highest Irish bar in the world.) was interesting and actually a decent pub inside. The great thing is that its a popular pub in the city and a great place to watch Ireland beat Wales for the grand slam.

What I loved about the Irish Pub in Cusco was the choice of comfort food on the menu after four days trekking the Ince Trail. When I travel, I'm generally on the go backpacking for 6 weeks or so. There's nothing like a good old Tuna Melt, Ham and Cheese Sandwich or Shephards Pie to keep you going to break things up. I'd had a dodgy stomach the whole way through the Inca Trail, and three weeks of travelling through Peru. Believe me that Tuna Melt in Flahertys was the best meal I've ever had!

The strangest place I ever saw an Irish pub (although there was nothing really Irish about it except for the name) was an Irish pub on one of the main streets of Ulan Ude in Russia, about a day's traveling on the train away from the Mongolian border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Nodster wrote: »
    The Irish Bar off Sutter Street in San Francisco - nice place without oodles of diddly Oirish music blaring out while suppin the brew

I think I was in that place a few years ago, drank most of the night at the bar talking to the locals and met two students from home on J1 visas. Was supposed to meet up with them the next night for a birthday party but I had work the next day :(. Really liked San Francisco in general. There was another Irish bar not far away that had the 'Trad. pub' look that I wasn't as keen on.