Rag week

• 24-02-2010 11:01AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭

A guy I know is going to his 6th in a row...pretty sure he's out of college 2 or 3 years at this stage.

Shocking stuff :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

A guy I know is going to his 6th in a row...pretty sure he's out of college 2 or 3 years at this stage.

He's 'going to' rag week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

A girl I know goes through one every month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Is the guy you know called O'Bannion? Cause I heard he flunked Senior Year two years in a row just so he could play football and beat on Freshmen.

Every weekend has been like rag week for me lately.

Dont see the problem in going out rag week even when your finished college. Its good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Rag week in trinity is shite. It's pretty much a non-event :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

vinylmesh wrote: »

You should come out to UCD sometime and see it. Non event is an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Pfft. Screw Rag Week. Trinity Ball. Anyone wanna gatecrash it?

"OMG loike you filthy IT crowd. What are you loike doing here?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was about to say something derogatory about students, but let's face it, I'm just jealous.

stovelid wrote: »
    I was about to say something derogatory about students, but let's face it, I'm just jealous.

We're a bunch of whingers apparently.

Damn you Bill Cullen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That_Guy wrote: »
    We're a bunch of whingers apparently.

Damn you Bill Cullen.

Get out in your barefeet and work for nothing ya feckin' scrounger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I'm in college and who's rag week? Is it good for your brain? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I'll party with students on occasion, but I'd avoid rag week like the plague. I don't even like going out on your average Saturday night as it's too busy for me.

Oddly most of the students I know seem to express their displeasure at rag week and say they'll avoid it. And then go on the piss anyway of course.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Get out in your barefeet and work for nothing ya feckin' scrounger!

No. Give us a job. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Wow, he must have raised loads of money for charity over the years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Rag week in Sligo, always a great week for students to piss the locals off by getting outrageously drunk before 3 o'clock (€1 a bottle will do that to you) then wrecking the entire town.

The student union are always forced to apologise, go on radio, promise to work with the gardai, do some sort of charity event to help the town etc etc.

As I said.....always a great week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Some people never want to leave the college lifestyle!

There's tons of people in my college who put no effort in to their course, fail and are then delighted to repeat, so they have another year to enjoy freshers' week, rag week etc.

Most of them end up running the Students' Union! :rolleyes:

it's rag week in Sligo at the minute, here is an article from the local paper yesterday.

Great to see things haven't changed

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i remember when rag week was about the craic, and kidnapping your lecturer to raise money for charity.

all it is now is a week to get pissed and laid :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

This guy would love Rag week

Was in IT Sligo for four years it was unreal, in DCU now wouldnt even know its on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

DazMarz wrote: »
    You should come out to UCD sometime and see it. Non event is an understatement.

Yeah sorry to say it bt your right... i was up in UCD on the thursday of your rag week.. i was soo shocked, it was so sensible!
    To be fair i seen somebody painted blue... but that was the height of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

cloneslad wrote: »
    it's rag week in Sligo at the minute, here is an article from the local paper yesterday.

Great to see things haven't changed

Hectic stuff alrite, seems like its busier than other years. The Leitrim was always a good place for a quiet pint:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

cloneslad wrote: »
    The student union are always forced to apologise, go on radio, promise to work with the gardai, do some sort of charity event to help the town etc etc.

The SU in my college had to do this a few years ago...

They organised strippers to perform in a bar next to the college, at 3 in the afternoon.
    The girls all wrestled in a pool of jelly and got completely naked... started writhing around on guys' faces etc :eek:

The media got wind of it and the college was torn to shreds. They had to go on various radio shows to apologise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

They organised strippers to perform in a bar next to the college, at 3 in the afternoon.
    The girls all wrestled in a pool of jelly and got completely naked... started writhing around on guys' faces etc :eek:

The media got wind of it and the college was torn to shreds. They had to go on various radio shows to apologise!

what college was that?!

[frantically fills in mature student form]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Why? That sounds great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

This guy would love Rag week

Was in IT Sligo for four years it was unreal, in DCU now wouldnt even know its on

It really is **** here this week ain't it!

This is my 5th year enjoying being here for RAG Week. Back in college officially next year so another 4 RAG Weeks ahead of me! Woot! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

vinylmesh wrote: »

This is true, after coming from four years studying in Galway I got a bit of a shock, i hear its just a bigger thing in the universities/colleges outside of Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

and then blue died of shock when he saw the lubed-up girls' titties, but it was ok, cos will ferrell sang dust in the wind at his funeral.

I'm out of college two years and was out for rag week last nite..
    Great craic. Altho i did get ID'd at 6 o clock and got it hard to get in.

Now I'm in work making stuff balance.

A pint in each hand and you should balance perfectly :)