ihateireland.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

A sample of the videos on the site.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86YiekwfnFk

Everything this dude says in this video is pretty accurate really. Not looked at the hatesite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ahh...... my work here is done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

He is really comparing The West to Japan. Happens to be in Ireland but it is clear he means the West in general. I mean, he says he has met no Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Everything this dude says in this video is pretty accurate really. Not looked at the hatesite

I would agree with most of his observations, however its most likely he never went on his Japanese diet and is still a fat western bastard. Once he gets home from his travels with his hippy beads he'll be the same as he ever was.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Ireland refused to give a blow job to some fat gimp. Fat gimp set up a website declaring his hate for Ireland. Rejections a bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Meh. Site isn't as good as ihateyounatalie.com

Now THAT was a hate site and a half, especially the vid :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Pittens wrote: »
    He is really comparing The West to Japan. Happens to be in Ireland but it is clear he means the West in general. I mean, he says he has met no Irish people.

A common occurrance for tourists to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Wow, that site was complete crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

A sample of the videos on the site.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86YiekwfnFk

The guy on that video is clearly a retard:
    I don't like people wearing skin tight revealing cloths - WTF??
    Every one is fat - so is he!
    People in shops ignore him - I'm watching his video now, and I can understand why!
    Fat girls - He's not exactly Brad Pitt himself!

Edit: Also, anyone who posts videos of themselves ranting on youtube, especially while they're holding the video camera up to their face is an attention whore and has something major wrong in their head.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I just had to troll on that video of the Aussie ranting about Ireland. My god, why can't foreigners leave Dublin (the national sh*t hole) and see the rest of the country before giving out!

The guy on that video is clearly a retard:
    Pot - kettle - black. Here's why :
    I don't like people wearing skin tight revealing cloths - WTF??
    He said FAT people wearing skin tight clothes. He's right.
    Every one is fat - so is he!
    He said that.
    People in shops ignore him - I'm watching his video now, and I can understand why!
    People in shops are ignorant here. Well... they used to be. I've noticed in the last year this seems to have changed.
    Fat girls - He's not exactly Brad Pitt himself!
    He said he was fat. And frankly - on average everyone IS fat here (myself included). This is why you hear the health people going on about the obesity problem. Now if you go to Japan which doesn't have an obesity problem you will notice no fat people (and frankly everyone is a lot better looking for it).
    Edit: Also, anyone who posts videos of themselves ranting on youtube, especially while they're holding the video camera up to their face is an attention whore and has something major wrong in their head.
    Clearly, this video is addressed to someone. Also clearly he is travelling. Perhaps its to stay in touch with his friends instead of attention whoring. Just because you might be attention whoring if you were posting a video of yourself ranting on youtube does not mean everyone else is.

So I think before you go branding people 'retards' (that in itself being an ignorant thing to do) - do you want to go away and work on your basic comprehension first ?

Opinion Guy awaits poorly coherent come back.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

God now I know what an English person feels like. Not.

Seriously does anyone really care what a handful of people think? And even if these were the opinions of more people they probably aren't all that wrong.

Pot - kettle - black. Here's why :

He said FAT people wearing skin tight clothes. He's right.

No - he said "people wearing skin tight cloths". He also mentions fat people wearing skin tight cloths.
    He said he was fat. And frankly - on average everyone IS fat here (myself included). This is why you hear the health people going on about the obesity problem. Now if you go to Japan which doesn't have an obesity problem you will notice no fat people (and frankly everyone is a lot better looking for it).
    My point was, it's hypocritical of him to call other people fat - when he is fat too.
    Clearly, this video is addressed to someone. Also clearly he is travelling. Perhaps its to stay in touch with his friends instead of attention whoring. Just because you might be attention whoring if you were posting a video of yourself ranting on youtube does not mean everyone else is.

If he was addressing the video to someone, he would have left the link private, that way only the intended person would have viewed it.
    The fact that he left the video public, implies he wanted other people to view it.
    The fact that he wanted other people to view his anti-Irish (anti-western) rant, means he is an attention whore.
    So I think before you go branding people 'retards' (that in itself being an ignorant thing to do) - do you want to go away and work on your basic comprehension first ?
    I am sorry for offending you.
    Opinion Guy awaits poorly coherent come back.......
    Again, if you don't understand any of this post (I've used a lot of big words, I know), fell free to ask for help.

No - he said "people wearing skin tight cloths". He also mentions fat people wearing skin tight cloths.
    Yes it was nevertheless obvious he meant fat people. He wasn't complaining about the skinny people wearing skin tight cloths in Japan was he ?
    My point was, it's hypocritical of him to call other people fat - when he is fat too.
    No its not. How is one fat person calling other fat people hypocritic ? Its not - at all. He even said he was going to diet. By that rational no-one could ever criticise anyone for a fault they share. It would only be hypocritical if he said "everyone else is fat but I'm not" when in fact he is (Edit: in fact that would be delusional. it would be hypocritical if he said everyone else needs to lose weight but i don't)
    If he was addressing the video to someone, he would have left the link private, that way only the intended person would have viewed it.
    The fact that he left the video public, implies he wanted other people to view it.
    The fact that he wanted other people to view his anti-Irish (anti-western) rant, means he is an attention whore.
    Really ? Well he uses someones name - he is clerly adressing it to someone. Maybe he doens't know how to make it private ? Maybe his mate or someone else spread the link.
    I am sorry for offending you.
    :D don't worry it was a cheap soht.. See I was being hypocritical there as I've surely used it myself on occasion, thou I prefer to avoid the word.
    Again, if you don't understand any of this post (I've used a lot of big words, I know), fell free to ask for help.
    Lol....very good:D

Seriously OG you are clearly fighting a losing battle there, how can it not be hypocritical for a fat person to call someone else fat?

Lux23 wrote: »
    Seriously OG you are clearly fighting a losing battle there, how can it not be hypocritical for a fat person to call someone else fat?

It's obvious, we got a case of one fat guy sticking up for another :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I love this thread! Arguing about a youtube video, containing a fat Aussie giving out about the Dubs and fat ones at that. We have a tendency to do the same, complain not only about him, but fat Dubs in tight fitting clothes too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

No, no, thats www.godhatesireland.com afaik

haha, needed a good laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

I've noticed in the last year this seems to have changed.

Less friendly Eastern Europeans?

Yes the celtic tiger in Ireland meant less chit chat from the people in Dublin City centre, although the suburbs were ok. That may have been other peoples culture, it may have been the lack of cultural markers between the servers ( not all Irish) and the served ( not all Irish). In general these things resolve themselves over time, the US is friendly - in general - and multicultural, however I find ABC ( American born Chinese) a good deal more friendly than Chinese proper. Probably a language issue.

Clearly Japan is different, but I have never been.

I liked that guys rant, which was about the West in general not just Ireland. And coming from the polite Japanese society to Dublin on Paddy's day must be a shock. I avoid Paddys day like the plague.

Remember the Japanese get shell shocked when they come to Europe - particularly France - so unfriendly do we seem to them. People are hospitalised every year because of it.

Its not hypocritical if its true and he says I am fat too. It would only be hpyocritical if he denied he was fat himself. I see we need to review some definitions:
    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hypocrite
    gives two definitions:
    1 : a person who puts on a false appearance of virtue or religion
    2 : a person who acts in contradiction to his or her stated beliefs or feelings
    This guy is not putting on a false appearance of virtue - he admits he is fat. He also states he will diet so therefore he is not aciting in contrdiciton to his stated beliefs.
    So by definition he is not a hypocrit.

It's obvious, we got a case of one fat guy sticking up for another :p

I say I'm fat because I think so (and having been to Japan yes by those standards) - but people tell me I'm not so go figure. You know I was going to suggest that the reason you had such an emotional reaction to his post was because you yourself are fat and like to wear skimpy clothes, but then I thought no I won't take it down to that level - but since you've decided to ......be honest...fat rolls over your trouser line ??? Boobtube leave a 6 week imprint on your skin ??

Pittens wrote: »
    Less friendly Eastern Europeans?
    Eh no. Its the Irish who are the worst. In fact I take it back it hasn't changed. was just in dunnes in Stephens Green and the Irish woman that served me did not say hello, did not say goodbye, did not look at me and barely grunted in my direction.
    Clearly Japan is different, but I have never been.
    Word of advice - GO!!!!! Its awesome. Incredibly helpful, friendly and kind people and amazing country.

Now if you'll excuse me I'm off to the gym

be honest...fat rolls over your trouser line ??? Boobtube leave a 6 week imprint on your skin ??

You starting up a support group? :pac:

Also no fat people on Japan? Sumo Wrestlers???

You starting up a support group? :pac:

Also no fat people on Japan? Sumo Wrestlers???

:rolleyes:Yup the streets of Japan are full of sumo wrestlers:rolleyes:

Seriously just go see for yourself. You walk down the street and about 1 in 1000 is not skinny. Apart from that you'll have an amazing trip

:rolleyes:Yup the streets of Japan are full of sumo wrestlers:rolleyes:

Seriously just go see for yourself. You walk down the street and about 1 in 1000 is not skinny. Apart from that you'll have an amazing trip

Thought you were in the gym!!

It was too ubsy and everything i wanted to use was either in use or broken.:mad: I did a short run before abandoning the treadmill since it was sticking ever now and then and scaring me. Got some bench pressing in thou. I'll go in the morning for a proper work out

Still, perhaps time to find a new gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Just had a look at some of the other videos that Aussie posted. It seems he saw the light in the end and decided to have a wander outside Temple Bar, and claims the biggest problem he had with Ireland was the tourists (he acknowledges the irony). He eventually had the "craic" and had an "awesome" time he claims. The problems he points out though are often staples here on After Hours, yet it seems when an outsider points out these failings to us it gets some peoples backs up?

As for the Japanese, they often suffer serious culture shock known as "Paris Syndrome" when the come to europe. Japanese society comes across as quite naive ( for example they never questioned Victoria Beckham when she said she personally developed her range of cosmetics!).
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/6197921.stm

A few people have got quite defensive here, yet it was clamed in another thread that an Irish quality was the ability to take a slagging and laugh off abuse?

Paris Syndrome my ass. These people just happened to be Japanese and had a break down. That article says 1 million Japanese visit France ever year and 12 a year are repatriated due to breakdown. This is not Paris syndrome - this is normal levels of mental illness. Some doc just made a name for himself by writing a paper about it.
    Just had a look at some of the other videos that Aussie posted. It seems he saw the light in the end and decided to have a wander outside Temple Bar, and claims the biggest problem he had with Ireland was the tourists (he acknowledges the irony). He eventually had the "craic" and had an "awesome" time he claims. The problems he points out though are often staples here on After Hours, yet it seems when an outsider points out these failings to us it gets some peoples backs up?

In fairness to this guy. What happened here is just culture shock. Anyone who's been to Japan will have noticed how different it is. And when they left they notice how different the West is from Japan. The Japanese are uber-polite, uber-skinny, and uber-helpful. I had the exct same reaciton as this guy after being there. Its normal.