Toilet attendants, how do you deal with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

I absolutely hate them. Mostly because I have a bladder the size of a walnut, jaysus a nights drinking can cost me more at the pisser than it can at the bar...
    I consider them a weak bladder tax on my hightend sense of white guilt... :D

As for the 'beal bocht' routine. Most will get a couple of euro out of every customer, which in a busy nightclub can be a few hundred a night, not bad for a stick of gum and a paper towel!
    Most bars that hire bathroom attendants tend to do so to try and discourage antisocial behaviour and drug taking in the jax anyhow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

conorhal wrote: »
    I absolutely hate them. Mostly because I have a bladder the size of a walnut, jaysus a nights drinking can cost me more at the pisser than it can at the bar...
    I consider them a weak bladder tax on my hightend sense of white guilt... :D
    Wouldnt be the first time somebody got a rebate in the jacks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I kind of like the idea if I'm honest - they usually have a pile of gels with them and while I don't use them, never have anyway, it's a nice tough and good to have the option.

I usually ignore them but if they're nice enough guys i'll have a passing chat with them and toss a coin or two in. Can't be a great job sitting in a jacks all night; I don't drink so I know how they feel sitting there for 5, 6 or 7 hours with drunken tards falling around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

How do you feel about toilet attendants and how do you deal with them???

I do a Cheryl Cole and punch them in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I do a Cheryl Cole and punch them in the face.

u must be a regular in the GPO;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Wow, I'm so glad I'm a girl and don't need to deal with this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

I think you should go easy on the Toilet attendants. Life must be pretty grim if you have to make a living this way.
    I think I did actually go easy on them, so easy I didnt even make them do any work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

NoDice wrote: »

I always see them in girls' toilets! I only ever give them money if I use deodorant/hairspray/perfume...not for just handing me some tissue to dry my hands. I've a tiny bladder :o so after a few drinks it would be a very expensive night if I was handing over a tip every time I peed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I don't even look at them. At the age of 30 I think I can go to the toilet and wash my own hands tyvm.
    Bonito wrote: »
    Alot of people I know believe the toilet attendant jobs should be given to students in college!

Get the boat! =P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I normally keep a good fart as long as i can and then fart beside him;);) That really pisses them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭mistermarantz

I hate the sight of them TBH, especially since I have a bladder the size of a conker and a huge thirst.

I wouldn't mind if they cleaned the jacks and made sure there was spare bog roll but they do none of that. Have you seen the state of the mens jacks in Coppers, You'd learn how to hover there prettly quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭mistermarantz

malcox wrote: »
    I normally keep a good fart as long as i can and then fart beside him;);) That really pisses them off.

Brillant tactic! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

As soon as the attendants speaks to me, I spray some mace in his face and scream "RAPE!!!" at the top of my lungs.

It works really well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 spume

Generally id throw a quid at him if he has a "local" accent ;)

If he doesnt sound "local" though i wouldnt let the fe*ker wipe my arsehole

Just bein honest lads

Would it actually put people off going to a place if you knew they worked there??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I feel sorry for them but I don't like to give them money, its a degrading experience for all involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Usually just ignore them, unless they have lollipops.:P
    But I had to give the one in Vicar St. €2 just because he looked like Tupac.:D

Bonito wrote: »
    I hate the ones that will switch the fuse off on the hand drier to try make you use the paper towels!!!

Though I was being paranoid cos I was in a place one night, went to the loo at about 8 there was no attendant and the dryers worked, went in again at about 10, attendant there, dryers not working! Do they really do that?

NoDice wrote: »

They are more likely to be in the ladies than the gents I would have thought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

They provide a service, which like any service you have a choice to avail of it or not. Getting pissed off because some guy is trying to make a living in a toilet is quite immature. I mean, the guy works in a fcuking toilet.

If you want some aftershave, deoderant you can use it. There is no charge on anything, you don't HAVE to use it. Just chose not to. Ignore them if they are much of a problem for you...

I can see a lot of people here like to create problems out of nothing really... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Idiots who pay these people are only perpetuating this kind of rubbish.

They prey on your conscience and make plenty of money.

I never pay them and if they give me gyp, I take the following steps.

Into the cube, lower the shreddies, and unload a cloud of loose scutter over the seat, commode, cistern and floor.

Waltz out, wash the hands unaided, and wink at yer man and say, 'Looks like some fcuker popped his guts in that one, You'll probably need the power hose.'

serves the fcukers right, 10 years ago we could use the cludgies without these gimps.

Only total idiots pay them money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Into the cube, lower the shreddies, and unload a cloud of loose scutter over the seat, commode, cistern and floor.

Waltz out, wash the hands unaided, and wink at yer man and say, 'Looks like some fcuker popped his guts in that one, You'll probably need the power hose.'

serves the fcukers right, 10 years ago we could use the cludgies without these gimps.

Where the fcuk have you been? I thought you were dead... :eek:

Dealing with an irate toilet attendant by the sounds of things.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭bazza1

fush 'em away!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I usually just take the towels from them, do the oul pat down your pockets trick and then just make a swift exit.
    I fcuking hate those guys, I remember the days when it didn't cost anything to wash your fcuking hands...those were the days...
    If there was a nightclub around that didn't actually have one of these guys, I would probably frequent that place just for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

would nit agree with yhem myself but f#$@ me mate, thats a bit extreme, you sound like an absoulute knacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Tend to ignore them at the start, but as a night goes on and I get drunker I tend to start giving them money, especially when I end up been in there on my own, no way of dodging the f*ckers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

would nit agree with yhem myself but f#$@ me mate, thats a bit extreme, you sound like an absoulute knacker

No personal abuse. See the charter please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

Its very off putting when you go in and theres no one else there cept you and him....

The worst is when the sinks(were the guys stands) is quite close to the urinal so he is standing really close to you, you're the only guys there and you can sense him looking at you. Felt like telling him to **** off but was afraid :(
    Next time im putting a pile of beermats down the back o me cacks for protection! THEN Il tell him to fook off.