The Time Warp Thread

• 21-02-2010 03:31PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

I was in Toners Pub on Baggot St last week during the day and as soon as I entered through the door it was like entering a time warp, no question.

I had to knock on the counter as the bar was empty and no staff where about and finally I heard some suffering out back and out came a man dressed like he was on the set of Bracken. I literally felt like I had stepped back in time.

I was in there years ago and it hadn't changed one iota, nothing was different. Even the tills in there are old.

I ordered some soup and a toasted sandwich and even that was like I ordered it back in the 70's or something when it finally came. The bowls were at least from the 80's and Oxtail was all they had :cool:

When I was going back outside I was fully expecting to see the Guards whizzing past in Ford Cortinas and young fellas wearing slip-on shoes and white socks.

So, do you know of any businesses that haven't changed the decor in years and that for all intents and purposes, feel like you've stepped back in time whenever you frequent the place?

Here is a short clip from Capital D about The Irish Yeast Company:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Clancy's in Bray.

There's also a place just off Aungier Street, can't think of it's name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

The Welcome Inn, Parnell St. (in town).
    I don't think it's been done up since the bombs in the 70's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    (in town).

Which town? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I bet the price of the beer wasn't in the same time-warp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Which town? ;)

ChinaTown.

ChinaTown.

Ain't that the truth :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

So, do you know of any establishments in Ireland that hasn't changed the decor in years and that for all intents and purposes, it feels like stepping back in time whenever you frequent the place?

Burren Mount in Galway. Just looking at it is like looking into some warp rift that's opened up to the Ukraine back in the 60's or something. The place hasn't changed a bit for as long as I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Haven't been there in a while, but always got that same feeling when I saw Ma Hartigan in Leeson St.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

There is a shop in Mountrath that is like a scene from the 50's, Silvermints and Sweet Afton etc. I went in once to buy fags but when he had none he offered me a few of his own. Certifiably mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Caoimhín wrote: »
    There is a shop in Mountrath that is like a scene from the 50's, Silvermints and Sweet Afton etc. I went in once to buy fags but when he had none he offered me a few of his own. Certifiably mad.

Is that the place where the men behind the counter are wearing these long white coats. They are not allowed to change anything in that building I think, or so I heard. It has lots of old details, it's a mad spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Gravediggers in glasnevin but thats famous for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭Glico Man

There's a place in Cork that I can't remember the name of it (memory erased it I'd say) but stepping through the door was like going back to the 1930's. I fully expected my vision to go to black and white

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I was in Toners Pub on Baggot St last week during the day and as soon as I entered through the door it was like entering a time warp, no question.

I had to knock on the counter as the bar was empty and no staff where about and finally I heard some suffering out back and out came a man dressed like he was on the set of Bracken. I literally felt like I had stepped back in time.

I was in there years ago and it hadn't changed one iota, nothing was different. Even the tills in there are old.

I ordered some soup and a toasted sandwich and even that was like I ordered it back in the 70's or something when it finally came. The bowls were at least from the 80's and Oxtail was all they had :cool:

When I was going back outside I was fully expecting to see the Guards whizzing past in Ford Cortinas and young fellas wearing slip-on shoes and white socks.

So, do you know of any establishments in Ireland that hasn't changed the decor in years and that for all intents and purposes, it feels like stepping back in time whenever you frequent the place?

Love Toner's pub; that snug in the front is one of my favourite places in Dublin.

The Gravediggers in Glasnevin, where you can park your bike inside the front door, is timeless.

Yankee Connell's on Skreen Hill in Meath - otherwise known as the pub in the Guinness Christmas ad - is always a great escape to a former age, even if it is hard to get back from late at night.

Bermingham's pub in Navan is another pub which has barely changed in 100 or so years.

Is that the place where the men behind the counter are wearing these long white coats. They are not allowed to change anything in that building I think, or so I heard. It has lots of old details, it's a mad spot.

Dont think so, this guy was wearing wellies and a top hat.

Last time I was in Mountrath I stopped by the Bookies to place a bet.

The door creaked and everything and everyone in the place stopped and sucked the soul from me as I walked in. I swear even the horse on the TV stopped running for a few seconds.

I places £25 e/w on Cross The Border (Dandy Nicolls horse) at 16/1. The money was put in an old biscuit tin with the comment:

"Are you down from Duuublyynn"?

"I am, just passing through, on my way to Roscrea" says I.

No reply and all eyes moved from me to the TV with a grainy picture of the race. Cross The Border led from start to finish and I held in all excitement as the mood suddenly became very tense :o

I swallowed hard and turned to see everyone staring at me like I had just raped a goat in front of them.

"It'll take me ten minutes to get your money. Come back then" says yer man.

"Oh yeah, no problem" I said and went for a stroll. Collected it 20 minutes later and as he handed it over I'll never forget what he said:

"We're only a small bookies, Portlaoise would be better for those style of bets in future."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The Welcome Inn, Parnell St. (in town).
    I don't think it's been done up since the bombs in the 70's.

That place is brilliant. I love it.
    Last time I was in Mountrath I stopped by the Bookies to place a bet.

The door creaked and everything and everyone in the place stopped and sucked the soul from me as I walked in. I swear even the horse on the TV stopped running for a few seconds.

I places £25 e/w on Cross The Border (Dandy Nicolls horse) at 16/1. The money was put in an old biscuit tin with the comment:

"Are you down from Duuublyynn"?

"I am, just passing through, on my way to Roscrea" says I.

No reply and all eyes moved from me to the TV with a grainy picture of the race. Cross The Border led from start to finish and I held in all excitement as the mood suddenly became very tense :o

I swallowed hard and turned to see everyone staring at me like I had just raped a goat in front of them.

"It'll take me ten minutes to get your money. Come back then" says yer man.

"Oh yeah, no problem" I said and went for a stroll. Collected it 20 minutes later and as he handed it over I'll never forget what he said:

"We're only a small bookies, Portlaoise would be better for those style of bets in future."

Feckin' Dubliners coming down and taking our hard earned country money! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Farrington's in Rathcoffey, the pub is part of the grain store there, it's mad looking, like something out of a John B. Keane novel. There's also the Nag's Head in Monasterevin, I think it still has a hoops board near the jacks at the back. I can't think of any others yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Theres a pub in Enniscorthy, cant remember the name of it. Its opposite the Antique Tavern. Real old fashioned. Half pub, half grocery. Saw lads standing drinking large bottles of stout in there, on a sawdust floor i think. :D

Hopefully ENNISCORTHY will see this thread and set me straight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Just thought of one, Murphy's in Bracknagh Co. Offaly, it's a; pub, shop, post office type of place. It hasn't changed since the 60's.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Dont think so, this guy was wearing wellies and a top hat.

And nothing else? Must have been some sight :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Jonny McHales in Castlebar, still don't have tills, just use a wooden drawer

There's a great pub in Maam Connemarra aswell called Keanes, nice toasted sandwiches and a turf fire

Both have spectacular guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Jonny McHales in Castlebar, still don't have tills, just use a wooden drawer

There's a great pub in Maam Connemarra aswell called Keanes, nice toasted sandwiches and a turf fire

Both have spectacular guinness

Johnny's in Castlebar has been done up in the last few years. It does have cash registers now and has a new extension out the back.

Shame really.

Driving past The Shoe Shop in Swords the other day and it hasn't changed in thirty years or more.

When I was kid we use to get those silver studs and stick them in our George Webbs and click clonk up and down the main st. Thought we were the dogs bollox we did, we were too .. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Johnny's in Castlebar has been done up in the last few years. It does have cash registers now and has a new extension out the back.

Shame really.

Bummer :(

Felixdhc wrote: »
    And nothing else? Must have been some sight :pac:

Your latent homosexuality is shining through there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Hargroves? Across the road from a church?
    Mountrath, or town as it is known around here(:o), is itself from the 60's, just with added knackers.

I don't even try to defend it, it's a kip but it's our kip.:D

baz2009 wrote: »
    Hargroves? Across the road from a church?
    Mountrath, or town as it is known around here(:o), is itself from the 60's, just with added knackers.

I don't even try to defend it, it's a kip but it's our kip.:D

The one on the Tullamore road.

Yep, Hargroves, some spot.

Uploaded a Video and added it to the OP about how The Irish Yeast Company has remained the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭dasdog

There's a place off Kildare Street, Leinster House I think it's called. It hasn't changed much since the 1920's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

You've got me singing this now: