Gay men want to kiss cycle winners on podium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

No - keep things as they are
    Wolflikeme wrote: »
    This is nothing but changing something for the sake of it so gays can 'do it too'. They're the ones who need to move forward imo.

Changing something so that gays can do it too?

What like drink at a water fountain? Or sit anywhere on a bus?
    Gimme a break, I think you're the one who needs to move forward.
    Why shouldn't a gay person be allowed to do what they want?

Let me get this straight (no pun intended), the person on the podium should be allowed to choose who they want to be kissed by, that is all I'm saying.
    Clearly a heterosexual male is not going to want to have a bunch of gay men jump all over him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I actually find a bit offensive that the green left party is implying that gay men = women with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

amjon. wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. Homesexuals rarely make it as professional sportmen. I doubt there are any openly gay men in the professional peloton.

I don't really follow sports, but as I understand it the two to come out recently aren't bad at it. Donal óg Cossack and the bald lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

The poll is sorely missing an 'I don't give a f*ck' option.

So's your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Changing something so that gays can do it too?

What like drink at a water fountain? Or sit anywhere on a bus?
    Gimme a break, I think you're the one who needs to move forward.
    Why shouldn't a gay person be allowed to do what they want?

Let me get this straight (no pun intended), the person on the podium should be allowed to choose who they want to be kissed by, that is all I'm saying.
    Clearly a heterosexual male is not going to want to have a bunch of gay men jump all over him.

Yeah because a gay guy not getting to kiss the winner of a bike race is right up there with apartheid! Cop on.

So they should be allowed to choose? No! And not because I don't think they've no right I just think it's utterly stupid that this has even come about. I mean what is the point!? Because girls kiss race winners well gays should be able to as well? It's silly and just seems like some gay group looking to shove their sexuality in people's faces. Just leave it alone.

I don't need to move forward, you need some perspective and so do these people who came up with this. Surely gay people have more important things on their agenda they should be concerned with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

The poll is sorely missing an 'I don't give a f*ck' option.

Shouldn't that be the "They can go and kiss my ass" option .....wait a minute:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

In that case even these hypothetical gays wouldn't be in favour of these proposals! It's militant leftist in your face-even if you don't like it gay nonsense like this that creates half the ill feeling towards the gay community in the world today.
    Absolute nonsense. Homesexuals rarely make it as professional sportmen. I doubt there are any openly gay men in the professional peloton.

What's it like living in a world where you can just make up anything you like and believe it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Roro4Brit

Who cares!? Continental men kiss each other all the time as a sign of good manners, respect and of course...congratulations. So for an Italian race it's only fitting. Once they don't do a Borat on it and try to tongue one poor ****er in particular.

Either way this journalist needs to have his ass sacked for writing such tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Roro4Brit wrote: »
    Who cares!? Continental men kiss each other all the time as a sign of good manners, respect and of course...congratulations.

More like 'Congratuations, YORE GHEY!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Makes sense...All they're wearing is fecking lycra. It's like a wet dream for 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'll allow gay guys to kiss the winners if the women "polish their medals"................*wink, wink*...................eh?................EH? *nudge, nudge* :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

This reminds me of the London council some years back that wanted to rename manholes as personholes!

Personally I don't care who kisses whom on any podium, but I don't see why it should become a political football.
    sceptre wrote: »
    Call me Mr PartyPooper but what's the point of the girls in miniskirts on the podium anyway? Does the winner get to choose which one he wants that night? It's not like they've done anything to get themselves on the podium and the "hard" sports don't have them. Gay men can kiss cycle winners on the podium all they want for all I care but unless they've just climbed off a bike they don't belong on the podium either.
    That too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

sceptre wrote: »
    ...Does the winner get to choose which one he wants that night?...

I don't think that's a fair comment at all, tbh.

Generally the girls who end up on the podium tend to be models, and these 'jobs' go hand in hand with that profession. Whatever your view, who are you to say that these girls have not worked hard to get where they are?

Fair enough, there's an argument to say that models are just lucky that they were born attractive. I accept that point. But staying in such good shape can't be easy.

I don't think it's fair to belittle their chosen career path.

That's just my two cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

As someone who has stood on some of those podiums I can't tell you how uncomfortable I would be with that.

I attend lectures and events on gay rights all the time, but occasionally something comes up which is a step in the direction of the ridiculous, and this is one such case.

It'll never even be considered by the organisers, like it or loathe it the winner being kissed by a gay man on the podium won't strike people as glamorous, which is exactly what the girls thing is intended to be.
    nummnutts wrote: »
    I don't think that's a fair comment at all, tbh.

Generally the girls who end up on the podium tend to be models, and these 'jobs' go hand in hand with that profession. Whatever your view, who are you to say that these girls have not worked hard to get where they are?

Fair enough, there's an argument to say that models are just lucky that they were born attractive. I accept that point. But staying in such good shape can't be easy.

I don't think it's fair to belittle their chosen career path.

That's just my two cents.

They're generally chosen from the nearest University, from what I've seen and heard. Things such as the Giro, etc., may be different, they may get in actual models to try out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Wouldn't bother me in the least.

I'd a gay friend (passed away a two years ago, RIP Willie) who'd often give me a man hug and a kiss on the cheek when we'd be parting company.

It was funny, because when my son first seen this (he was about 13 at the time) he was shocked and shouted "DAD" :eek:

Willie turned and said "Whats wrong Kevin, you don't like queers kissing your Dad", poor Kev :o

I train with some gay lads too, even hit the showers with 'em afterwards and never once have I felt uncomfortable - fact is I ain't that pretty naked anyway :(

As regards the thread title, it wouldn't bother me if lads (gay or straight) were there for the winners but I wouldn't like it if it was just to make a gay statement.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

If the winner is gay and wants to be kissed by a gay then thats perfectly fine, if not then they can have a women :)

Simple really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

You should be allowed bring your own partner onto the podium, and if you don't have one there should be a catalog to pick one from...which entitles you to a free steak and bj.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

I'm gay and even i think this is ridiculous
    just leave things as they are, pretty girls have always kissed the winner, you're not going to see some fat,greasy haired oul one kiss the winner no more than you're going to see a man(gay or straight) kiss them, pure nonsense tbh

if this is all someone has to worry about they're in severe need of a life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I voted yes, I'd say it should be an option. Sure why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

If the winner wants it fine, but in the interest of viewers, I'd say there are more viewers, male or female who would rather see a highly attractive girl up on the podium than a man. Fact is, women are more pleasing to the eye than men and for marketing reasons, will continue to be used as glamour models during sporting events. It would be if all the cheerleaders were replaced with men. To me, the only thing good about cheerleaders is the sex appeal. Take that away and you're left with a bunch of annoying loud guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If the winner was of the Tiger Woods variety, his wife would insist that gay men congratulate him on the podium.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While I think this daft Ive googled but cant find a pic of the big tours winners podium where women are the competitors. the only one I could find was this http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com/2009/08/17/1/090816_ger_badsalzdetfurth_women_ceremony_schmidt_gradl_osle_morath_engen_by_kuestenbrueck_600.jpg

And there's podium girls for them. Why not chiselled male models?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

It would make finishing just outside the top three a lot easier to take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Wibbs wrote: »
    And there's podium girls for them. Why not chiselled male models?
    I was looking too, I do often see lads presenting them with things, but just normal offical looking lads in suits, not models.
    One rider in 10 is gay, he said.
    Did they do an actual survey?, and while doing this did he come up with the idea after those gay cyclists expressed their utter disgust at getting a peck on the check from an attractive female model.

Reminds me of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

lol, gays.

I think it should be dudes, much funnier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

... but I wouldn't like it if it was just to make a gay statement.
    But that's exactly what's going on here, as far as I can see.

In fact, I wouldn't even say "gay statement", more "political attention-seeking statement". I've known a couple of genuine gay activists, and they have generally had more more important things with which to concern themselves.

Which is not to say, mind you, that they would object to being asked to kiss fit lads in tight lycra shorts in public!! :pac: :D

I doubt very much if they would see it as an equal rights issue, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

If they get Brüno to do it then I'm definitely all for it :D