Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Themed Teams Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ZeroSignal

Phractal wrote: »
    Fireborn: I love the idea! Rainbow Six themed team... We could say that it is a team consisting of GSG-9, FFL, Spetsnaz, and SEAL's. Oh and Irish Rangers. ANd that the 'theme' is 'Rainbow six in Germany' or something. It would explain the variations in weaponry at least.

Eh... I think you should be careful with how you do it or you won't look themed at all. Just another team that just wears Flecktarn.

I dunno... Maybe have the Russian guys wearing Telnyaskas. Somehow make the Russian guys look "Russian", and the Irish guys look "Irish", and the American guys look "American", you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

Ah, good point. The Russian/ Easteurope seem to be mainly getting their gear as Russian gear anyways... So perhaps it will end up looking a lot like Joint Ops if the 'only' standard issue thing between all the 'factions' was a UN patch or something.

I just have to find a way to link em all together!

Anyone got agvice for German loadout? What style TacVest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

the only way i would say multiple camos with un theme would work is with a blue helmet or cap tieing everyone together :) seen it before works rather well ;)

Puding wrote: »
    the only way i would say multiple camos with un theme would work is with a blue helmet or cap tieing everyone together :) seen it before works rather well ;)

Exactly! Even if you weren't going to do the blue headgear out of practicality you could at least go with a blue patch and scarf.

I like! A blue patch and scarf it shall be... Perhaps a reversable scarf? One side camp, the other Blue? And on top of that uniform hats in a dull colour with a patch or insignia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Fireborn

Phractal,

Thats what Rainbow is, they take volunteers from the special forces units of each country that wants to be part of it. They use whatever kit they want, as each operator is used to different equipment in their native armed forces.

On top of that they regularly use different camo. So you could have black or the rainbow blue-gray as the standard kit, but if the team feels like wearing flecktarn when you're out, just all wear flecktarn/BDU/DPM etc. The unifying factor being the unit patch and the same camo. its doesnt matter if that camo changes from skirmish to skirmish, because rainbow change to adapt to a situation. (Disguising themselve as SWAT/GSG/SAS)

As long as all wear the same camo to the skirmish them it retains the team factor.

Make the changing uniform the theme. Team Rainbow does what it needs to, to get the job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Dunno wether this will help anyone, but heres a site where you can buy patches that are related to films, gamses etc :)
    http://scifipatch.bizland.com/SCIFIPATCH2.html

Phractal wrote: »
    I like! A blue patch and scarf it shall be... Perhaps a reversable scarf? One side camp, the other Blue? And on top of that uniform hats in a dull colour with a patch or insignia?

Yeah, but the next step is probably to try and get the "Russian" chaps to all wear the same camo and the "French" chaps to all wear CE and the "German" chaps to wear Flecktarn. After that some sort of weapon standardisation might help with the impressions if there isn't any anyway. (ie. G36s with the Germans, FA-MASs with the French, etc.)
    Fireborn wrote: »
    Phractal,

Thats what Rainbow is, they take volunteers from the special forces units of each country that wants to be part of it. They use whatever kit they want, as each operator is used to different equipment in their native armed forces.

On top of that they regularly use different camo. So you could have black or the rainbow blue-gray as the standard kit, but if the team feels like wearing flecktarn when you're out, just all wear flecktarn/BDU/DPM etc. The unifying factor being the unit patch and the same camo. its doesnt matter if that camo changes from skirmish to skirmish, because rainbow change to adapt to a situation. (Disguising themselve as SWAT/GSG/SAS)

As long as all wear the same camo to the skirmish them it retains the team factor.

Make the changing uniform the theme. Team Rainbow does what it needs to, to get the job done.

I'm going to be honest here. That doesn't sound like much of a theme. It's just like any other team which has a team strip and no set load-out. You could almost say that any team could call themselves Team Rainbow. :/

EDIT:
    Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Dunno wether this will help anyone, but heres a site where you can buy patches that are related to films, gamses etc
    http://scifipatch.bizland.com/SCIFIPATCH2.html

Another good one I found:
    http://stores.shop.ebay.ie/blue-tiger-trading-shop

ZeroSignal wrote: »
    Yeah, but the next step is probably to try and get the "Russian" chaps to all wear the same camo and the "French" chaps to all wear CE and the "German" chaps to wear Flecktarn. After that some sort of weapon standardisation might help with the impressions if there isn't any anyway. (ie. G36s with the Germans, FA-MASs with the French, etc.)

I'm going to be honest here. That doesn't sound like much of a theme. It's just like any other team which has a team strip and no set load-out. You could almost say that any team could call themselves Team Rainbow. :/

EDIT:

Another good one I found:
    http://stores.shop.ebay.ie/blue-tiger-trading-shop

have to agree, like i said i draw my view of rainbow six from my reading of the orginal novel where tbh they where very uniformed and just adopted the look of the country they where operating in for plausable what ever it is, but does not mean you should not do it if you want to do it, that's the joy of airsoft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭cpt slippyfist

lads im with richy on this one nam all the way or also i would love to get into some ww2 soft

any takers:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Fireborn

would like to do both at some point, but atm both require new guns and some pretty specialist loadout kit.

lads im with richy on this one nam all the way or also i would love to get into some ww2 soft

I'm going to be an absolute mook and get a Cold War style KLMK over suit, some wood AK furniture and SAY I'm 'Nam impressioning...

>_>
    <_<
    >_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

lads im with richy on this one nam all the way

yes but I'd go the Aussie road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭gian

anyone interested in SAS mountain troop here?

Zero: I reckon given a while all the Russians will be wearing the same camo at any rate... They all get their gear from the same place - and they all speak Russian :P

Fireborn: That sounds like a decent idea for the 'interim' period where people aint gonna have very uniform kit. I was thinking for the German loadout we should pick up a MP5 variant as well as the G36 variant... Would look awesome in indoor to have the whole lot of us using either the MP5 or G36 depending on our role on the day - and the MP5 is a decent weapon platform at any rate. The G36 would be a mainly outdoor (but indoor too!) jobbie. I will have to stare at some more photos of German troops for hours again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

sas mountain troop well there isn't a huge diference i the clothing they were compared to air boat or mobility troop. they use specialised gear but they basic clothing is the same. if you go sas themed you have a huge varity for equipment. indoor basic jump suit with hood and a gas mask mk 2 i think a basic tactical vest and an mp5. then for outdoor uk desert or woodland trousers and an over smock with the od green webbing and an sa80 or m249 and your away in a hack. mountain troop don't have a seperate uniform to the rest of the regiment.

The Dpm look you mention is closer to the marines really, sa normal run with a off shoot of the m4 so s normal m4 is a good stand in, for the current aaa look , look up the pictures from the talliban uprising of sbs and you will have an excellent idea of what to aim for

gian wrote: »
    anyone interested in SAS mountain troop here?
    Your next step would be the Team Recruitment thread. You could get far more hits posting in there than you would here. :)

anyone see the film CHE i thinnk the reble look is cool and also dead handy for airsoft cos its so simple .

Pics?

its just very basic od loadout and a variety of webbing and guns that aint flashy ie rail's and everything ye can hang out of them:D.

hear is the only film pic i could fined but it gives ye a idea of wat im on about

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/__mokxbTmuJM/Sb_j-GgDaBI/AAAAAAAADtE/JvBGkA8sZsc/s400/CheFilmGroup.jpg

its just very basic od loadout and a variety of webbing and guns that aint flashy ie rail's and everything ye can hang out of them:D.

hear is the only film pic i could fined but it gives ye a idea of wat im on about

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/__mokxbTmuJM/Sb_j-GgDaBI/AAAAAAAADtE/JvBGkA8sZsc/s400/CheFilmGroup.jpg

I'm assuming that they used more than just the bolt-actions pictured there? :confused:

That's a very period specific loadout though. Wouldn't be too good for modern day insurgent impressions but good for that mid-century look.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

They had M1 Garands, M2 Carbines, M1A1's etc, looks like a cool theme.

they used pretty much anythig seen a uzi or two aswell in the film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

I was considering starting a team in the kildare area themed on LAPD S.W.A.T with us woodland as outdoor gear and urban or navy overalls and black tac vests as standard indoor gear. If anybody knows of a team doing a similar approach give me a shout

Anyone think this is good for a German loadout (I spent less than 5 mins searching so it needs work)

Flecktarn Camo/ Danish M84 camo:
    http://www.flecktarn.co.uk/flcpk1ua.html THIS is the Flecktarn Field Parka – German.

http://www.flecktarn.co.uk/flcpl1us.html THIS is the Parka liner – German.

http://www.flecktarn.co.uk/daccs1na.html THIS is the Danish M84 BDU shirt.

http://www.flecktarn.co.uk/dacct3na.html THIS is the Danish M84 BDU Trousers.

http://www.flecktarn.co.uk/fltav3nx.html THIS is the Flecktarn SAAV Assault Vest.

Well its 'Close enough for government work' as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

yeah unfortunately...

:P

Theme team wise, I'm the Marksman for SART, a British Armed response unit theme'd team. Guys from it have done work for film and TV with the kit... its pretty darn accurate. Even the captain has a replica tazer on his armour... flashy thing.

Otherwise, i could probably join about half the teams here...

British squaddie
    sas
    Norfolk PD Emergency Response Team (State of Virginia, USA)
    us iraq sniper
    vietnam GI
    ww2 brit commando (in progress)
    Russian Modern/90s
    South African Merc
    Co19 officer

One day, I'll take a photo of my gear cave, and upset you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

Firekitten wrote: »

LOL brilliant!
    xXx

Firekitten wrote: »

Didn't they use it in that Indiana Jones flick?

2080139058_e6e279b914_o.jpg

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Ah jaysus thats the one.... didn't even charge me royalties either...