School Trips, Anecdotes & Going On The Bounce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

OutlawPete wrote: »
    You were always complaining about the midgets biting ya .. ;)
    My taste in blokes has improved (slightly) since then :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

anniehoo wrote: »
    My taste in blokes has improved (slightly) since then :D:D

I'm no taller :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Went to France with my school (2003) as part of a twinning thing so we had to visit a school in Paris that had a capacitity of about 300 pupils.

So our teachers left us in the playground, about 20 of us, and went for tea with the other teachers anyway long story short when they arrived back there was a huge fight going on and we had to be all seperated.

Was really embarrasing for the teachers, needless to say we weren't allowed back

Those rowdy irish:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

this is a great thread outlawpete!

school trip : germany

we stayed in hostels, we compared them to a concentration camp (kips)
    however, there was a disco bar downstairs we discovered.... i think even the goody two shoes were plastered drunk that night, and the teachers just let us at it!

i also went to the marble arch caves and stole a notebook, i was sh!tting myself so bad i tried to throw it in the bin, other students seen me and made a big song and a dance about how they'd take it, all the while i was getting sweatier and hammier by the minute.

on the hop: all of 5th and 6th yr.

one day i was sittin in the sittingroom smokin away, on the hop, fcukin rebel.
    i noticed the sunlight draining from the room, my dads coach was after pulling up outside... fcuk.
    threw the fag in the empty fire, grabbed the bag, ran up the stairs and into the wardrobe, where i remained for the next hour and a half in the foetal position in AGONY!

i could hear him on the phone to my ma bout "the fcukin smell of fags in this house", fcuking petrifying times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

went on the mitch
    1. in dunnes carpark a few times until caught....one of the lads ratted everyone out, but those here were caughht never said anything.
    2. cinema/ town (dublin)
    3. lake

trips
    france,,,drinking etc... but mainly meh
    skiing in austria. a week of fukin animal craic, stunning place. especially good for my school who usually have **** trips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭mcdoogle

My class were taken on a trip to some adventure centre in the west of Ireland in 4th year. We were put into 4 man rooms that had a sink in them. As usual during the night there was messing, things got out of hand and the wash basin was broken in one of the rooms. By broken I mean a piece the size of your head broke off so not much chance to cover that up!

Took about 10 seconds for us to form a shaw shank redemption type plan. The basin was broken down into small parts and smuggled out through the window and scattered well away from the building. The real genius was where the lads managed to break off the copper pipe and bend the remaining stump over itself down near the floor to stop the water pissing out (Not even sure how they managed this, I was in a different room).

The next morning all rooms were inspected by staff, all ok and off home we went. The next Monday morning the principal came in and said the game was up, he wasn't even angry just wanted us to split the cost between us. Think he admired the genius of the whole plan.

There were a lot of plumbers in my class!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

we went to see that lad's head in Drogheda in transition year, on the way back to the bus a few of us slipped into a pub run by the oldest person in the world and bought naggins, got drunk on the bus on the way back, happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

eh, biggest thing was in first year on a trip to France when we obtained so many fireworks. the faces on some people when we came to security were priceless. we lit some of them and threw them off the back off the ship. it was nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

School Trips:
    Carlingford, 6th class: Meh, was alright. Burglar alarm kept going if in the middle of the night.:mad:
    St. Andrews, 1st year: Golfing at 9 o'clock every morning so things weren't going to be that great anyway, still a bit of craic though.
    Carnoustie, 2nd year: Some craic, 10 lads, all of us spent the two nights chatting up every memer of the female staff.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

School Trips:
    -Malaga in 1st Year
    -Skiiing in 4th year in Austria (got into fights with zee German students sharing the chateau; they didnt like drinking much, so we played rebel songs til all hours and drank like fish)...

On the hop:

-1st year: every Tuesday from Double-French
    -1st year/2nd year/3rd year/4th year/5th year/6th year: every Friday afternoon
    -4th year: damn near every day! Transition year and all that. haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I went on a school trip to an abatoir. I haven't eaten meat since.:confused:

Seriously, how long ago was that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

Bray in 6th Class was a great bit of craic! Paris & Normandy in 2nd Year, L.A, Vegas & The Grand Canyon in 4th Year, Rome, Pompeii & Sorrento in 5th Year. Best times of my life. Not bad for a little school from Dublins north inner city ;)

Walsh wrote: »
    Bray in 6th Class was a great bit of craic! Paris & Normandy in 2nd Year, L.A, Vegas & The Grand Canyon in 4th Year, Rome, Pompeii & Sorrento in 5th Year. Best times of my life. Not bad for a little school from Dublins north inner city ;)

Fcuk me, wish I grew up in Bray :p

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Fcuk me, wish I grew up in Bray :p
    So do I? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Haha great stuff!

I used to doss school a bit with my ex. Her mother wouldnt let us see each other so we'd skip school on fridays or mondays and get a three day weekend in. Got spotted by a teacher once walking the opposite direction from the school, they called my mother, thought i was in for it but got away grand because the ex was moving away within a few weeks

Used to play in a good band too. After she moved we'd doss the odd few days, get a slab and jam away for hours.

F*cking great times.

So do I? Haha

LMFAO :D

I read that wrong, wake up Pete :rolleyes: .. :pac:

Which school was that?

St. Joesphs in Fairview, a grand aul school it was!

Jaysus, you even had the best chippers in Dublin (Fairview Grill) and a grand park there for playing football. No wonder you miss your school days :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Never got the opportunity to go any school trips as I didn't bother with Transition Year but when I was in 3rd year, some of the teachers decided to stage a "sleep-over" in the PE hall for some insane reason. It was the night before the Christmas pagent so that might have had something to do with it...

Anyways, it was pretty low-key but saved by one of the Irish teachers bringing his guitar in and singing Kevin Bloody Wilson tracks. Ahh, Mr. Kindlin! A feckin' LEGEND. It was also the first and only time I've ever seen a Wagon Wheel pizza. A TRACTOR wheel would be more appropriate.

Only real downside to it was the fact that the PE Hall had no heating. Had I not brought along extra blankets, I probably would've gotten hypothermia. Still woke up with slightly fingers, though.

As for "bunking off", in 3rd and 5th year, I would regularly forgoe coming into school until noon as the first 2 and a half hours involved getting unfounded and unprovoked abuse off the evil **** of a Home Economics teacher in a class I didn't sign up for.

I considered it a form of protest as I'd been inexplicable been transfered to Home Ec from Art for whatever reason and I kicked up murder.
    Eventually, it got to a point where, after 3 visits to the principal's office and about 14 dentenions my mother threatened to call Joe Duffy The Department of Education unless I got put back into the Art class.

The following week, a place had mysterious opened up in Art and I happily gave the one fingered salute to that utter bitch of a teacher.

I took great pleasure in taking her aside after graduation and telling her to "Kindly go **** yourself".

T'was a great personal victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

these posts are hilarious!!people are like "i bounced off school all the time but im fine i still went to collage"

hmmmm maybe they should have went into school more often and they could spell???

flynnser19 wrote: »
    these posts are hilarious!!people are like "i bounced off school all the time but im fine i still went to collage"

hmmmm maybe they should have went into school more often and they could spell???

Say's your man who doesn't use capital letters or commas when needed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

i know but i never said i bunked off school but turned out fine!!i did bunk off school and look at the state of me lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I was so crap at going on the hop - ALWAYS got caught. I remember a few of us just spending one afternoon in the school toilets - far more boring than class, so really shouldn't have bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

This might depress some.

Left school when I was 13, so no school trips.

'The bounce', or 'On the hop' - when I was about 12 or 13 I was on the hop in St.Stephens Green & approached by a Christian Brother (we knew each other from Ballymun). He asked about masterbating, did I like girls and other crap. I told him I didn't masterbate, he offered to show me how - I did a runner & told a guard on Grafton Street, who incidently didn't give a flying fuck.

Thats about it.

he offered to show me how - I did a runner.

At the exact same minute you posted this post (1.13) I posted this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64524723&postcount=25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dudess wrote: »

Sorry Miss.D, but 'tis the truth.

Oh I'm not disputing that, Mairt - just found it really shocking and grim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

My hatred of sitting in classrooms got me kicked out of my first school.

The first school I attended was near a busy road that lead to a local racecourse, and being quite a keen racing fan myself I took advantage of that.
    I'd walk down to the end of the school drive for a smoke (teachers were peculiarly blind to this kind of stuff in senior boys) and thumb a ride from one of the lorry drivers or another individual that I happened to know was going racing that day. Anyway going in school uniform wasn't the wisest thing to do, because eventually this got back to the VP.

He gave me hell from then on basically, knowing my parents would kill me if I got expelled. We had a very antagonistic relationship and I continued to do it, on my side I tried to stick it to him by getting excellent grades despite my truancy.

I was kicked out, but for various reasons allowed to sit my leaving certificate in the school.
    I can't express my rage when on the day I received my grades in August he came up and said, pretty smugly, "Well young ________, I see our action has had a positive effect on you".

I would have protested that I only studied hard in spite of him, but I decided that would still be something of a compliment.
    Either way he I suppose you could say I wouldn't have got to where I am today without my own truant and bratty behaviour. Truancy isn't always bad kids.