Coca Cola vs Pepsi: Is there a difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I think they come from two different worms!

This, is for you.

Pepsi, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

Always Coke and always will be for me.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Definite difference. I love Pepsi.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

kowloon wrote: »
    You'll have to trust me on this one, people generally prefer Pepsi, but tell them what they're drinking before they taste it and the results change in favour of Coke.

Of course alot of people will just prefer Coke anyway, you obviously don't like Pepsi, but not the majority that the poll in this thread would suggest.

This is a prime example of why successful companies place so much emphasis on marketing; the product itself is only part of the equation.

I'll give Pepsi a go tomorrow. ...in a paper cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

JustinOval wrote: »
    I'll give Pepsi a go tomorrow. ...in a paper cup.

You have to get someone to buy both for you and not tell you which you're drinking. Chances are you'll prefer Coke if you drink it all the time.

I'd put money down that there's some obscure brand that most people would find even nicer, but nobody buys it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Dr Pepper beats both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Diet Coke ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

On cream soda, Country Spring's version is gorgeous.

+1 Also adore Jones' Soda version of Cream Soda. OH MY GOD- liquid ecstasy in a bottle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

McChubbin wrote: »
    +1 Also adore Jones' Soda version of Cream Soda. OH MY GOD- liquid ecstasy in a bottle!

Jones' soda is so sugary it makes my teeth cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Diet Coke ftw!

Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭The Roach

If you're ever in America taste both Pepsi and Coke there, then you'll have a clearer sense of the differences between them. Over there, the Coke has more of a caramel-like taste, and Pepsi has a slight tangy citrus-like taste. Over here the difference is more subtle, but it's still there.

Personally, I usually go for Coke, but Pepsi makes a nice change every now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

What's the craic with the Classic Coke we be seeing in the movies, is that some kinda super fine tasting secret coca cola beverage that only americanos are allowed be having? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Cavan Cola ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Cavan Cola ftw.

Don't remember Cavan Cola, did it go by any other name?

Or was it called Cavan Cola everywhere?

I remember coke that was sold in 250ml bottles, but don't think it was called Cavan Cola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Don't remember Cavan Cola, did it go by any other name?

Or was it called Cavan Cola everywhere?

I remember coke that was sold in 250ml bottles, but don't think it was called Cavan Cola

Could have been something like that. I remember it tasted like defrosted ice pops, quite syrupy.

It was called Cavan Cola but wasn't stocked everywhere.

Here is the wiki page.
    You'll find a few threads about this necter of the gods and also a facebook group.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It was called Cavan Cola but wasn't stocked everywhere.

Here is the wiki page.
    You'll find a few threads about this necter of the gods and also a facebook group.

related products: Score Cola, Cadet Cola.

Cadet Cola was the one that I remember, 20p for a bottle I think.

I remember Score Cola as well, but certainly to a lesser extent.

Cadet Cola was like syrup.
    Good stuff. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

If you think Coca-Cola and Pepsi taste the exact same then you probably think there is no difference between those two and Tesco Value Cola?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    If you think Coca-Cola and Pepsi taste the exact same then you probably think there is no difference between those two and Tesco Value Cola?

Ah c'mon, loosen the purse strings. Tesco Premium Cola. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Fanta = nazi refreshment

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fanta

I remember guzzling down Dunnes cola back in the day.
    Could get 2 litres for like 39p.

Wasn't like anything else on the market, believe it was some Canadian cola or summit.

Oh weren't the old days grand... :p

Dunnes Cola used to be savage a few years ago before the changed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

pepsi max > pepsi > coca cola
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Dr Pepper beats both.

Dr Pepper > Red Bull Cola > Pepsi > Coca Cola

Although Dr Pepper isn't cola flavoured, it still gets my vote.

Adyx wrote: »
    Dr Pepper > Red Bull Cola > Pepsi > Coca Cola

Although Dr Pepper isn't cola flavoured, it still gets my vote.

Jaysus, Dr Pepper.

Possibly one of the most horrible beverages that I have ever had the displeasure of drinking.

Only bought it that once though, the memory still sticks with me to this day though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Fanta = nazi refreshment

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fanta

Fanta FTW, all the cola product are Ditchwater in comparson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

No option in poll for both woeful. I have a serious hate for the stomach stripper that is coke, but pepsi is that little more pathetic.

Coca Cola, then 7up nd then Lilt..
    I've done the blindfold challenge for coke nd pepsi nd passed wit flyin colours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Fanta FTW, all the cola product are Ditchwater in comparson

Diverting slightly, I've always wondered about this one. Is it "ditchwater" or "dishwater" (eg that lesson was clear as dishwater/ditchwater). When used in verbal similies there seems to be an almost 50:50 usage among people as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Gerty

I understand the whole growing up with one(pepsi or cola) effecting how you think of it and how it tastes compared to others. I'm a coke person and i just don't buy that pepsi is definitely nicer through those blindfold tests.

First of all, obviously all is just opinion and there is no wrong or right answer.
    And secondly, the thing about coke winning the marketing war here, but still everywhere you go you have the choice, if people like it, they'll buy pepsi as its so widely available.

bonerm wrote: »
    Diverting slightly, I've always wondered about this one. Is it "ditchwater" or "dishwater" (eg that lesson was clear as dishwater/ditchwater). When used in verbal similies there seems to be an almost 50:50 usage among people as a whole.

It gets very confusing if anyone ever washes their dishes in a ditch..