Karma, "Only in America" Style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭actuallylike

DrumSteve wrote: »
    fair play to the guy for shooting him.
    Are you serious?!?
    Fair play?
    Fair?!?
    I think you need to learn the definition of fair.
    old_aussie wrote: »
    Yeah better the muggers family going through hell by themselves than also the victims family going through hell as well, wondering WHY
    Yeah, I understand. The muggers family going through hell because he's dead and the other family going through hell because of a few lost credit cards, a bit of money and and old johnny, thanks for clearing that up for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

That, good sir, is bollocks. You don't give up your rights because you are stupid enough to rob someone, you certainly don't abdicate your right to life.

He didn't do it by robbing someone. He did that by getting himself run over by a drink driver. Rather unfortunate set of circumstances really for all involved, but he put himself in that position. The muggee was within his rights as far as I can see, all he did was wound someone who was trying to mug him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

That, good sir, is bollocks. You don't give up your rights because you are stupid enough to rob someone, you certainly don't abdicate your right to life. Tbh some of the comments on this thread make reactionary christian ultra-right wing Texans look soft on crime....

So if you put someone in fear of their own life, which is more that likely the case if you are mugging someone, you have saying that the person has not got the right to protect themself by using lethal force? A reasonable man will kill another to protect his own life or that of a loved one, therefore is had to be considered with the realms of reasonable force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Yeah, I understand. The muggers family going through hell because he's dead and the other family going through hell because of a few lost credit cards, a bit of money and and old johnny, thanks for clearing that up for me.

Hell, let's ALL start mugging people for their wallets. Sure if it's not that big a deal, then why bother with a justice system at all? Maybe one or two muggers will take it a step too far and actually murder people for a small bit of cash and an old condom, but hey, there's too many people in the world as it is!

No sympathy for the mugger, nor the drunk-driver. They both made choices, and they suffer the consequences for them. While I disagree with people being allowed possession of any fire-arms at all, had the victim of the mugger physically fought off the mugger and the same thing happened, I still would say karma's gonna get ya. We all had difficult upbringings to some degree, but you can change your life if you so wish. People who make excuses for the criminals are only enabling them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

prinz wrote: »
    He didn't do it by robbing someone. He did that by getting himself run over by a drink driver. Rather unfortunate set of circumstances really for all involved, but he put himself in that position. The muggee was within his rights as far as I can see, all he did was wound someone who was trying to mug him.
    Did not say the armed man hadn't a right to protect himself, only that the gloating and glee at the death of the mugger is disproportionate to the situation.
    Odysseus wrote: »
    So if you put someone in fear of their own life, which is more that likely the case if you are mugging someone, you have saying that the person has not got the right to protect themself by using lethal force? A reasonable man will kill another to protect his own life or that of a loved one, therefore is had to be considered with the realms of reasonable force.

As above. Additionally, the mugger should have gone to prison for his crimes of course, but he obviously would not have been given a death sentence for it, so why should so many here be happy that he was executed, even if it was by 'karma'? That's the ridiculous reactionary opinion that I object to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

People do have the right to protect themselves, I don't think anyone has said otherwise

There's a difference between protecting yourself and rejoicing in the fact that somebody was killed in a case completely detached from their own life

Really all this is is an attempt to make people think that the lax gun laws in the US solve more problems than they cause, which is bullshit

Are you serious?!?
    Fair play?
    Fair?!?

I have to agree I would say fair play too. As I noted above above I work with varying degrees of criminality and I think we should fully support people who are prepared to move on from that lifestyle choice, however, law abiding citizens should not have to live in fear of people like that. If you engage in violent criminal acts their is a good chance that you will encounter a violent end to your life.

Did not say the armed man hadn't a right to protect himself, only that the gloating and glee at the death of the mugger is disproportionate to the situation.

As above. Additionally, the mugger should have gone to prison for his crimes of course, but he obviously would not have been given a death sentence for it, so why should so many here be happy that he was executed, even if it was by 'karma'? That's the ridiculous reactionary opinion that I object to.

I wouldn't be rejoicing the fact that the guy is dead, however, I would voice my support for the person who used his weapon to protect himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I wouldn't be rejoicing the fact that the guy is dead, however, I would voice my support for the person who used his weapon to protect himself.

That's fine, I wasn't talking about your post in particular. However you must agree that the whole tone of this thread is off. For a start, the 'karma' allocated to the mugger is disproportionate to his actions; a more realistic karmic payback would be if he was mugged afterwards. And you must see that many people here have the attitude of 'good riddance to bad rubbish' without any insight or empathy for the fact that someone was senselessly killed. I don't expect people to care about every single death or what (before the anti-PC brigade get on my case) I just think its a bit much to rejoice is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Hell, let's ALL start mugging people for their wallets. Sure if it's not that big a deal, then why bother with a justice system at all?
    What happened here wasn't justice. I know that it was just an accident, he fell on the road and got killed. What I'm amazed at though is the shear lack of respect for any human life that's been shown in this thread.
    Not a constant poster in AH so maybe this is how it works?

I have to agree I would say fair play too. As I noted above above I work with varying degrees of criminality and I think we should fully support people who are prepared to move on from that lifestyle choice, however, law abiding citizens should not have to live in fear of people like that. If you engage in violent criminal acts their is a good chance that you will encounter a violent end to your life.
    The problem as I see it though is, if you give the population the right to defend themselves by any means neccessary, you run the risk of having anarchy! The normal Joe Soap isn't trained like policemen are so you'd have people killing each other over the simplest things, running their own form of justice as they see fit. The fact that America has one of the highest number of gun crimes only backs this up.

That's fine, I wasn't talking about your post in particular. However you must agree that the whole tone of this thread is off. For a start, the 'karma' allocated to the mugger is disproportionate to his actions; a more realistic karmic payback would be if he was mugged afterwards. And you must see that many people here have the attitude of 'good riddance to bad rubbish' without any insight or empathy for the fact that someone was senselessly killed. I don't expect people to care about every single death or what (before the anti-PC brigade get on my case) I just think its a bit much to rejoice is all.

Fair enough I see your point Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Hang on a second. There isn't a lack of respect for human life. I respect human life completely and wouldn't hurt a person nor laugh at someone else's misfortune. However, I really don't give a crap about anybody who choses to mug someone else, hurt someone else or kill someone else. Someone who gets drunk and gets behind the wheel of a car forfeits whatever respect that should be given to some law-abiding citizen. The sooner the law starts punishing criminals severely and stops treating them with kiddie-gloves, the better. We've become too soft on criminals.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

theg81der wrote: »
    Ok, Ok I take your point but you understand mine. He`s a symptom of a problem, the causes needs to be tackled all we have here is probably a dead kid who never had any hope anyway, lifes not fair.
    The problem is that there are people out there who think it's ok to mug someone else. Luckily in thsi case the problem was self correcting.
    Are you serious?!?
    Fair play?
    Fair?!?
    I think it's pretty fair to shoot someone who was mugging him. Especially when you consider that shooting him didn't kill him and he was able to run away afterwards.

I don't think it's fair to say that the guy who shot him should not have defended himself because the mugger might run away injured into the path of a drunk driver.

stevenmu wrote: »
    I don't think it's fair to say that the guy who shot him should not have defended himself because the mugger might run away injured into the path of a drunk driver.
    I take your point, only skimmed through the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

That, good sir, is bollocks. You don't give up your rights because you are stupid enough to rob someone, you certainly don't abdicate your right to life. Tbh some of the comments on this thread make reactionary christian ultra-right wing Texans look soft on crime....
    Are you serious?!?
    Fair play?
    Fair?!?

whats not fair about it?

if i go to mug someone i go into it knowing the risk... this guy i'm going to rob could have a gun or a knife. I respect the right to life once you respect other peoples right to living with out some **** trying to rob them. I mean was this guy just robbing him with his fists? was he carrying a knife? a syringe? a gun? being born into to poverty really is no excuse for trying to mug someone who you think is an easy target.

by the way the guy who shot him did not even kill him it was the drunk driver that did. Karma is a bitch eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Biggins wrote: »
    Good question - the thief and the drunk driver had none. Meh!
    End of story.

I don't think you can put an exclamation mark after a "meh". Kind of goes against its point...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

The problem as I see it though is, if you give the population the right to defend themselves by any means neccessary, you run the risk of having anarchy!
    Actually the exact opposite is true.

It's human nature to defend yourself from harm, people are going to do it no matter what the law says. By criminalising it, you are only removing decent honest people who are willing to protect themselves and their families.
    The fact that America has one of the highest number of gun crimes only backs this up.
    Gun crime is very different to people using guns for self defence. If anything, the high rate of gun crime points to the need for guns for self defence. Or do you think that only criminals should have them?

The problem as I see it though is, if you give the population the right to defend themselves by any means neccessary, you run the risk of having anarchy! The normal Joe Soap isn't trained like policemen are so you'd have people killing each other over the simplest things, running their own form of justice as they see fit. The fact that America has one of the highest number of gun crimes only backs this up.

Well just from my viewpoint, just as I believe in a person right to use lethal force if their is no other option, I also believe that it is everybody's responsiblity to be able to defend themselves. Additionally they should also spend some thinking able their capablities to carry out the act, but more importantly their capabilities to live with themselves after it.

Once again therapeutically I have worked with people who have taken a persons life, from both sides of the fence. By this I mean the criminal, as well working with people who have had to take a life as part of their job, i.e. soliders. In my experience most people are deeply affected by taking such action at some level, so it not something to be taken lightly either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

Although it may be sad for a life to end.No one knows how many others he mugged how many other things he did in life to people. And although the other idiot was driving the car underage and drunk,Under age is what 16 and under there.What a thing to live with killing another person:(

Friend of mine recently had a intruder who attempted to get into their house.They however got scared off but they believe he will try again.So they went to the Garda and reported it.The garda on duty told him he could use any means necessary if the intruder returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

theg81der wrote: »
    Respect for human life???:confused:
    nah.....youve obviously never seen the darwin awards....some people deserve it....

In response to some of the posts above, all I'm saying is that human life doesn't seem to mean anything to some people here. Yes, the man tried to mug someone, then he got killed, that's a pretty imbalanced view of 'karma'. I don't believe in the eye for an eye justice method but some of the commments here are eye for a peanut.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

caseyann wrote: »
    And although the other idiot was driving the car underage and drunk,Under age is what 16 and under there.

She was 20. Drinking age in the US is 21. (which is another argument entirely)
    Yes, the man tried to mug someone, then he got killed, that's a pretty imbalanced view of 'karma'.

Though having had the good fortune thus far to have not been on the receiving end of a mugging, but knowing several people who have, my understanding is that the general M.O. of a mugger is to produce a weapon of some sort, be it knife, firearm or syringe, with a threat similar to "Give me your money or I will kill you/give you AIDS/Whatever."

The man/woman/child has just openly declared that he/she considers your life forfeit for the contents of your wallet. I see nothing imbalanced about declaring his/her life forefeit for threatening yours. Lethal force may only be legally used in situations where you fear for your life, after all. How imbalanced is that?

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

She was 20. Drinking age in the US is 21. (which is another argument entirely)

NTM

Edit thanks i didnt see that part of her been 20(Not any sense at all).Still now she has to live with that and her charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I can't say that I am unhappy that this scumbag died, one less violent criminal in the world , we could do with a few more incidents like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

hahaha class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

They hardly used "lethal" force if they only wounded the mugger.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Discharging a firearm is considered lethal force as death is not an unexpected result.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    But it can be hilarious.

*looks in mirror*

FFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUU GOD :mad: