English words and expressions used in Ireland only

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Are ye'wide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Doc wrote: »
    "I'm going out but I'm not going out, out."

"Were you drinking?" "Na I only had two!"

Any other country in the world that's drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    "me hole". Hate that expression.
    I love it! :D
    kraggy wrote: »
    "I'm after doing it again".

Said this once when I was travelling and the gang from England I was with erupted in hysterics when I tried to convince them it was proper English.

It was only when I came on here and started a thread about it that I realised it comes from Gaeilge "tá mé tar éis..."
    Yeah, I was in a pub in Majorca and there was a football match on TV - a scuffle broke out between some players so I asked a bunch of English lads "what's after happening?" to which their collective response was :confused:.
    Irish people who go to Britain and refer to crisps as 'Tayto'! :o
    ... or the police as "the guards".

I don't think "cheers" is an Irish phrase, more an English one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Did ye lay pipe ?

Savage....savage wavin....

Ill let ye figure that one out ye'reselves....:D

also

does be or do be.
    I does be washing the dishes. I do be at the cinema.

All above are probably regional to NorthEast area I reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Tan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

MungoMan wrote: »
    Since moving abroad, I have noticed that we use a lot of words and expressions in Ireland that are not standard english

The greatest butchers of the English language are the English.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    The greatest butchers of the English language are the English.
    and good butchers can do wonders with a pile of assorted meats from various places. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Reminds me of a Jack Dee quote. He was in a hotel in Ireland and they asked him what paper he wanted. He replied the Independent. The guy behind the counter said "And if we can't get that, what'll it be?" "A disappointment" Dee replies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

'I'll be dug outta ye' and 'I'll kick ya up and down the stairs', my mam says these to me, worringly enough. In school there was 'I'll bate ye' (maybe I just have a punchable face).
    'Youse' as in you plural. I have it spelled in my predictive text cos I use it so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ah sure (shure), she's a gas young wan!

She is a rather funny young lady.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'm 'grand'

Lol, this morning some Australian asked me how I was.

Him: How are you this morning?
    Me: I'm grand
    Him: Lol ... grand?
    Me: ... eh, yeah
    "You're man" or "You're one" meaning that guy or that girl. I’ve gotten some funny looks saying that in England and Australia.

Same here. In London my colleagues used to get a good laugh out of me referring to someone as "your man" / "your one"

typical shocked response --> "He is not my man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

A personal fav of mine:
    -"well horse would ya throw her one?"

-"oh yeah, i'd make ****e of her"

only in ireland would this conversation make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

yes

Aye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 dub02

I live with alot of Jamaicans and Trinidadians here in New York and they to use a broken form of English too (alot worse than ours btw) called patois or creole.

Like ours, its funny but very interesting, I've come to the conclusion that like my Caribbean friends...I'm from a small island too thats being influenced by a larger country so in order to create some differences or identity we've developed small changes in the most basic of things....the language, food, mannerisms

On a side note...they absolutely love it when i say "whats the story" or call them "horse" or "boss". Also, how can I put this mildly... sometimes you can hear a country twang off the Trinidadians:eek: i do be in tears especially when they say "hey boy" I read somewhere before that centuries ago Irish farmers from the west immigrated to the Caribbean so who knows.

Irish surnames are also very common throughout the Caribbean islands...i have friends with Prendergast, McDonagh, Brown etc...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

''How'ya me ole flower'' is good one.

Or people getting a hand full of shopping, ''I was just up getting some messages'', never understud where that came from.

I was on a DART a few years ago and the driver informs us that ''this train will be out of service at the next station due to, to use and Irish term, it being completely bandjaxed'' I nearly burst out laughing at his honesty. It was badly struggling to release the breaks and you could hear the metal on metal scrapping so it was a way of dealing with his frustration I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Begrudger.

Geebag.

The latter is a thing of beauty and should be listed officially.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Geebag.

ya sack...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,970 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

The one that nearly everyone in Ireland uses incorrectly is "I'm after doing something". In England, if you say "I'm after eating my dinner", it means that you want to eat your dinner.
    In Ireland it means I have just eaten my dinner.
    Where's that from? Never heard it in my life.
    Till now.
    Was brought up on the border, and went to college in Belfast, so it must be from somewhere down south for me not to have come across it.
    That said. The Mrs is from Cork and never heard her abusing the language in that particular way.

Her crowd have a habit of saying "I do be doing" something when they do it every day.
    Obviously an attempt to do present continous which exists in Irish but not in English.
    It really made sense that there's such a close connection with the Irish when we looked at the census from 1910 and her great grandparents in North East Cork could speak irish and english but couldnt read or write, meaning that they didnt pick Irish up at school so it had to mean that it was still alive in the area when they were growning up.
    Theres no Irish there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ldee

One of my pet hates!

'Cheers' is such a retarded phrase but a significant section of society seem to think it's acceptable a a form of 'thank you'.

Thought it was just me. I hate when people says cheers. You hear it in restaurants and shops all the time...'Cheers' :mad::mad::mad:

say it when clinking glasses only!!

Anyway - mets an american couple on holiday. Told them i was 'pissed last night' and they didn't thought i was telling them I was mad..... :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Where's that from? Never heard it in my life.
    Till now.

I'm after readin yer post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

In Ireland when someone says, "Grab a couple of *insert object*" they usually mean you are to grab several. In England the same expression would always be taken to mean only 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

Another favourite of mine is "Amn't I."

A very simple and everyday thing we say: "Giving out".

Say it in a group of English people and look at the blank look on their faces.
    frobisher wrote: »
    Another favourite of mine is "Amn't I."

I don't get the deal with people thinking Amn't is a completely made up word. Is it not the same as using Don't and wont etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A friend from Hong Kong got offended when I said he was carrying a "lazy mans load". Ie: he was carrying lots of stuff, instead of making many trips, with a less amount of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭vandriver

I remember all too clearly the looks I got when fresh off the boat in England as a kid ,I was sent in to a small grocery store to ask for a sliced pan .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Giving out
    Being bold
    In the kitchen presses
    rashers
    jesus, mary and st joseph/ holy mother of god/numerous other variations
    going for a scoop
    having supper
    a round of sandwiches
    driving "the motor"
    feck
    Sure...sure t'was...

I'm sure there are hundreds more but that's all I can think of at the mo! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

christ on a bike

having supper
    a round of sandwiches
    driving "the motor"
    These are commonly used in England as well. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kierank01

'yerra ya'

'do so sure (shure)', I said this to an english guy once, and he had no idea what I meant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

"I'm going out but I'm not going out, out."

Micky Flanagan? Not really only used in Ireland as he's an English comedian.