If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RAG Week Predictions/Info/Hopes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 doesntwatchtv

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    I wouldn't count any of them as bands though bar Aslan. And they're just in a seperate category of scumbag related crapness.

And The Coronas are J1 related crapness. At the end of the day, it's much of the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

This looks pretty good actually! Well The Japanese Popstars and Duke Special anyway.

I may have to wear earplugs while The Coronas are on though, what a shyte band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 tim_the_conman

The Sawdoctors are legends, biggest regret of 1st year is not goin to see them in the SU. Fingers crossed they're one of the bands yet to be announced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

There's a ticketmaster logo down the bottom of the poster on the SU Facebook page, does that mean the tickets have to be bought on ticketmaster?! That's pushing it a bit, although perhaps there'll be unprecedented numbers of little knackers from Maynooth/Leixlip/Celbridge who just want to crash it so they can feel maaaaaad by going "Riversooooide motherfcuker!"

i hate that fcuking song.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

There's a ticketmaster logo down the bottom of the poster on the SU Facebook page, does that mean the tickets have to be bought on ticketmaster?! That's pushing it a bit, although perhaps there'll be unprecedented numbers of little knackers from Maynooth/Leixlip/Celbridge who just want to crash it so they can feel maaaaaad by going "Riversooooide motherfcuker!"

i hate that fcuking song.

Nah that's probably just so that other college students can get tickets easy enough and for people to lazy to walk to the SU. Putting them on ticketmaster doesn't stop the SU selling directly.

NB: The SU probably gets more money if you don't use ticketmaster to buy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bubblesburst90

Not a bad line up...I'm almost slightly impressed. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 flooded bridges

Not bad....

But I've heard that UCC are getting Deadmau5 for the auld RAG... Not too expensive either... A bit of Deadmau5 would start the party nicely methinks.

Of course the whole UCC thing may be bs... My source was rather out of it.

Deadmau5 would be kick*ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Is it really 35 yoyos?:eek:

Not that I'm going anyway:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Duddy wrote: »
    Is it really 35 yoyos?:eek:

It's 35 euro for a ticket? Shyte, looking extremely likely that nobody I know will be attending this event then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

Whats the SUs website address? so probably no chance of sawdoctors then :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I'll have my own music festival...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

Rozabeez wrote: »
    I'll have my own music festival...

:D The right idea!!!
    Will lectures still be going ahead on the 3rd of March so??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Yeah I'd say so, I've a feckin' thesis class at 12 but hospital at 1pm...totally can't work them both. Tonsil fail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭useded

Why do other places get the likes of deadmau5 and we have to be subjected to the coronas and that riverside retard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 flooded bridges

Does seem rather unfair...

One of my friends is down in Cork and she told me that 2ManyDjs and Deadmau5 are relatively cheap to get and easy enough to access.. I mean that'd make a festival...

If I wanted the bloody Coronas and the riverside dude I'd head to my local teeny bopper disco...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Could someone tell the clearly aged and decrepit mickstupp how to pronounce "Deadmau5"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

mickstupp wrote: »
    Could someone tell the clearly aged and decrepit mickstupp how to pronounce "Deadmau5"?

Dead as in dead and mau5 as in mouse. When put together it sounds like something your cat drags in after a good days hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

SU web address is nuimsu.com

But it's completely neglected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

But I've heard that UCC are getting Deadmau5 for the auld RAG... Not too expensive either... A bit of Deadmau5 would start the party nicely methinks.

One of my mates knows the ent's officer this year and supposedly he's all into that kind of stuff!(if you know what I mean) He tried getting him to play for crimbo, but he wasn't available. Mind you he might be around rag week yet.

And if he is, what a night that would be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Mr sinister

So who else is going to be there other than; Mundy, Sidney Samson, Corona's, Duke Special, The Chapters, Flannery, Neosupervital and Japenese Popstars

They say there will be 3 stages and 12 hours, can't see those 8 acts having 4 hour sets :D

And does it mean if I want to go to the headphone disco this year I have to pay €35 the only good thing they ever do!!! :eek:

They say there will be 3 stages and 12 hours, can't see those 8 acts having 4 hour sets

And does it mean if I want to go to the headphone disco this year I have to pay €35 the only good thing they ever do!!!

where are u all gettin this info from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Mr sinister

where are u all gettin this info from?

Off a poster on facebook

http://www.facebook.com/#/photo.php?pid=304853&id=1670964185

Off a poster on facebook

thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

SU MESSAGE
    Hi Everyone,

We're all very excited about the official launch party for 'The Gathering' on Monday 6th February in Maynooth SU Bar and Venue! Get your wellies on and start feeling the Festival vibe!! NO COVER CHARGE!*

And if we aren't spoiling you enough already - check out the bands and performers that have been added to the line-up:

Saccade, Grand Pocket Orchestra, Saving J and Futures Apart!!!

The Gathering: Will you be there?

*Over 18s ID Required. Club rules apply

Sorry Guys - The launch night for The Gathering is

MONDAY 1ST FEBRUARY 2010!

See you there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Madworld

Im praying to God that this is not only event of rag week, because the majority of people will find the lineup a load of s**t.

Right looking at the lineup and its awful. It caters for the minority in the college. This is my evaluation and Im sure its 90% of the colleges evaluation also

1. Sidney Sampson: He has one song that people know. It ll be good crack bopping along to it but after that song, nobody will know wtf he is playing.
    2. Mundy: Personally I quite like Mundy but the majority of people know only Galway Girl and nothing else.
    3.Duke Special: Heard of him but dont know any of his songs.
    4. The Coronas: IMO they're muck. But probably the best act to cater for the masses due to the fact the MAJORITY have heard of at least THREE of their songs.

And then bands 90% of people have ever have ever heard of or any of their songs: Mick Flannery, The Chapters, NeoSupervital and The Japaneese Popstars.

This is a really poor lineup compared with other years when you had the likes of Sash, Mark McCabe and even when you have bands like five or S Club 7 the MAJORITY of people have heard of and can have a bit of craic singing along to them whilst p*****d.

The SU better have something better lined up for the other days of rag week or my week will be spent in Bradys, Mantra, O Neills, the Roost and on that mystery bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

C'mon just because you haven't seen or heard of a band on TV/Radio doesn't mean they're not good, open your mind a little!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Madworld wrote: »
    The Japaneese Popstars.

The popstars are really well known, with people who like house/rave music anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Any chance of us getting the Script? Be worth it to see them imo. Decent band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Madworld

Norrdeth wrote: »
    C'mon just because you haven't seen or heard of a band on TV/Radio doesn't mean they're not good, open your mind a little!

Yeah it doesnt mean they arent good. Like I said I like a lot of Mundy's songs yet Galway Girl is his only real hit that doesnt mean he isnt good imo. But the fact is the majority of people do like these cheesy pop hits. You want proof type in S Club 7 into YouTube and they have about 5 songs with 4m and 3m views. They're the sort of guilty pleasure everybody sings along to whilst drunk. Then type Duke Special into YouTube and he hasnt got one song with over 100,000 views. Why? Because the majority of people dont like his music.
    Effluo wrote: »
    The popstars are really well known, with people who like house/rave music anyway.

Do 90% of people like house or rave? No! And the popstars arent that well known with people who like rave/house. They are well known within Ireland. Outside of it they are unknown.

Anyway back on track the SU are seriously letting down the majority of students here and their lineup this year will have a very limited appeal to the majority of students.