Best heckle you've heard in a theatre?

• 25-01-2010 03:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,093 ✭✭✭

Normally I'd be a strong advocate of beating unconscious, with a sock full of batteries, anybody incapable of keeping their mouth shut during a movie, but just occasionally you get an amusing gem thrown at the screen....

While watching Jurassic Park in the Savoy on the opening weekend:

Dr. Ian Malcolm: God creates dinosaurs. God destroys dinosaurs. God creates man. Man destroys God. Man creates dinosaurs...
    Dr. Ellie Sattler: Dinosaurs eat man. Woman inherits the earth...
    (beat)
    Random Punter: Woman crashes earth into the nearest tree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Algernon

I never once heard one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

ive never experienced this in ireland, however the yanks obviously are well used to it. went to see a movie over there and a trailer for the new rambo came on. the place went mental with cheering, and several "YEAHHHHH, you go rambo!!!" and "WOOO, GET SOME!!"

edit:actually come to think of it some people starting high fiving. there was other trailers which got reactions & heckles etc but this was what i remember most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

"AGENT SMITH IS NEO'S FATHER!!"
    Not exactly gold but it did get one "ha" out of me. Don't really remember any others tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

One when my OH and I were in Texas visiting her Bro. We went to see SWAT (not sure why!) and there was a big (ok, fat) black woman sitting with her fella a few seats down on the same row. Sam L comes on the screen and she goes "Mmm hmm there's mah may-ahn". Took me all of my power not to laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,424 ✭✭✭✭Basq

They're never particularly funny..

But one that sticks out is when I went to see 'The Blair Witch Project' and
    after Josh went missing, the female film-maker (Heather) kept repeatedly shouting "Josh... where are you? JOSH.... JOOOOOOSSSSSSHHHH.. where are you?"

And one guy at the back of the cinema shouted "Back here!"
    - oh, the high-larity!

Reminded me why I rarely go to the cinema anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I saw the Return Of The King in Florida when I was over there and it was at the part were Gandalf was hitting someone with a stick or something. Fuzzy memory of that film.

But anyway some Yank just shouts out going "GOOD FOR YOU GANDALF"

I pissed myself laughing.

Not so much a heckle but it was very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Recently during The Road I did laugh a bit when Michael K Williams' character turned up and some guy shouted out "Omar comin' y'all!" there were a few people who giggled at it, never underestimate how many fans of The Wire can be in one place at one time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

When we saw The Ring, during the scene where Samaras mother throws her down the well one of my friends said(louder then he intended) "Shes some bitch!"
    That got a few giggles from most of the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Saw the Departed.

First time Winstone appears on screen someone behind me mumbled "he ****s vegetarians".

I laughed louder than he said it...it wasn't even a heckle...I think he just said it to himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Saw Night of the Lepus at the Horrothon in the IFI once.

At the start there's newsreel footage of plagues of rabbits in Australia and from the back of the cinema someone shouts "Ted! Did Len find the rabbits yet?"

The Horrorthon's crowds are a bit like that though, it's a bit of craic during the so-awful they're funny films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭Valmont

When I saw Kill Bill 2 way back when, my friend shouted out "load of ****" right when she does the 4 point pressure thing. He had the whole cinema laughing with that one. I guess we all agreed it was crap.

Despite these funny stories, heckling should always be discouraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭ToTheSea:

ive never experienced this in ireland, however the yanks obviously are well used to it. went to see a movie over there and a trailer for the new rambo came on. the place went mental with cheering, and several "YEAHHHHH, you go rambo!!!" and "WOOO, GET SOME!!"

edit:actually come to think of it some people starting high fiving. there was other trailers which got reactions & heckles etc but this was what i remember most

Similar thing happened to me in America. Watching I am Legend and one of the monster things jumps out of no where and made some people jump. This one fat women stood up, turned around to face everyone, points back at the screen and shouts. "DID YOU SEE THAT? DID YOU SEE THAT?!!!" she was a nutjob:rolleyes:

Then once I was in UCI Coolock watching 8 legged freaks. There was a group of 4/5 13 year olds behind me and my mate. During the film one of the actors says something along the lines, "theres some spiders coming, go grab the double barrel shotgun". Then one of the kids behind us pipes up and says "no! Grab the triple barrel shotgun!" It was really funny because he had a kinda nerdy voice like the teen in simpsons. And him and his friends laughed among each other about how witty and clever their friend was. That was probably the highlight of the film for me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Trinity dying impaled in some awful cheesy Matrix film moment, a very shrieky-total-contempt shrill cackle from a woman at a point where there was no sound from the screen.

People then had a good giggle at her, nice timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

I read somewhere (I forget where) that years ago when the Savoy was showing The Last of the Mohicans someone shouted out "Go on Christy!" when Daniel Day Lewis was running through the forest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭JJ

When I was living in the US there was a funny heckling incident in the cinema where I went to see Demolition Man.

Before I tell the story, you need to know that there is a telephone service in the US called *69 or Star 69. If you pick up the phone and dial *69, you automatically dial the last person who rang you.

So in the scene where Mr Demolition Man is settling into his new apartment, he gets a call from a wrong number on his video phone and it's a naked woman. The woman realises her mistake and hangs up in embarrassment. As soon as she hung up, someone in the back shouted, "*69!" Everyone in the cinema broke out laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭geoffraffe

I went to see THe Exorcist years in Virgin Cinemas, as it was known back then, on Halloween night. It was the first screening of the film since it was banned.

The whole cinema was tense, you could feel it. The old exorcist turns up at the house. He stands under the street light, letting the tension build. Then come the three loud knocks on the door BOOM, BOOM, BOOM. Every knock increasing the tension ten fold. The door screeches open SSSCCCCCRRRRRREEEEECCCCCCHHHH and then someone shouts "Ah Bond, we've been expecting you"

The cinema went into convulsions. I still laugh when I think of it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,417 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I usually get angry when anyone says anything in the cinema. However, the atmosphere at the latest Rambo film was very light-hearted, and it was clear that everyone was there for a good, stupid laugh. Near the start, there is a scene that is meant to be emotional, with Sly talking to a woman about her missing daughter or something. However, Stallone is almost impossible to understand with his muttering. A friend of mine just yells "What?" and pretty much the whole cinema started laughing (we also gave the film a standing ovation at the end, which may or may not have been sarcastic).

But yes, usually, I'd be strongly against anything being said at all, unless the film lends itself to heckling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Years ago when Miniature Heroes were running the ad where a guy stands in the desert, opens a box of the sweets and suddenly thousands of people start coming up to him taking a sweet each leaving him with none, and the caption reads 'people magnet'
    Just after the ad finishes and it's quiet, I hear a guy beside me go 'that's a lie, I got a big box of them once and no one like me'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Prior to a screening of Troy, woman turns to her boyfriend and says:
    OK: Brad Pitt is Achilles, Orlando Bloom is Pairs so... Eric Bana is Troy, right?

Lovely.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Following some major borking of the film reel:

"I don't want to watch it in F*ck-o-vision!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭ronano

I think it was in the savoy or omniplex during a screening of titanic,it's the scene were leo is drawing winslet and just as she is disrobing it shows side boob and changes angle. A 12/13 year old kid shouts out 'Ah ****!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Can't remember any that anyone else said...but I remember seeing Rambo IV, and at the start, when the first person steps on the first landmine, she was turned into what looked like a puddle.

I turned to my friend who had already seen it and asked, 'is he going to be ok?', thinking I'd share a joke with a mate.

I was expecting the loud noise to continue but there was a quick silence and the whole cinema erupted into laughter.

Was quite chuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

(we also gave the film a standing ovation at the end, which may or may not have been sarcastic).

You know the people in the big tele can't see you, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Try telling that to John Hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭dave13

Was in Alexander and when Miley from Glenroe comes onscreen, my friend went 'Well Holy God'. Was easily the best bit of the film for me and plenty others in the cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

I seen the dark knight, opening night in san francisco. Not so much heckling, but throughout the whole movie people were shouting "whoooooooss" and "awwwww sh1t" and stuff like that, I was like "SHUT THE FUK UP GRRRR"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

Went to see one of the Star Wars movies when they were re-released in UCI Blanch. The sound wasnt working at the start so some kid behind us starts going "Pew Pew Pew" when the Space Battle was taking place - cue the whole cinema breaking up laughing

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,684 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Nothing worse than hecklers in a cinema.

When i saw the Phantom Menance in the cinema, when Darth Maul gets cut in half, my mate quite randomly, just started laughing and then shouted "He's half the man he used to be".

I think it might have just been the relief knowing the film was about to end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,424 ✭✭✭✭Basq

thorbarry wrote: »
    I seen the dark knight, opening night in san francisco. Not so much heckling, but throughout the whole movie people were shouting "whoooooooss" and "awwwww sh1t" and stuff like that, I was like "SHUT THE FUK UP GRRRR"
    Yeah, I went to the cinema in the States a few times, and they're much more vocal than us.. annoyingly so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

basquille wrote: »
    Yeah, I went to the cinema in the States a few times, and they're much more vocal than us.. annoyingly so!

Yea its a pain in the arse.

Actually I went to see "the boys are back" the other day in Dundrum with the missus. It was only about 1/5 full. While the trailers were on, a group of lads about 16/17 walked in, there were about 6 of them. All sat right behind us. They were fairly noisy during the trailers which i didnt mind too much. 2 minutes into the film i had to tell them to shut up, they stopped, then another 25 minutes later, i turn around, and say really loud, so other people can hear too "guys shut the f*ck up, we're trying to watch the movie." I hate this carry on. What also annoys me is that no else in the cinema backed me up, there were people beside them, and behind them, no body else said a word