Can you tell your doctor anything? ( for Men Only)

• 22-01-2010 11:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭

OK...so you have a really embarrassing problem that needs a visit to the GP to fix...have you the balls to do it or are you a real man and keep it to your self?

By the way this thread is for men only!
    ....and what constitutes are really embarrassing problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Voltex wrote: »

You go first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Why would I waste €50 if I am not going to tell my doctor what is wrong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭Terrontress

OK...so you have a really embarrassing problem that needs a visit to the GP to fix...have you the balls to do it or are you a real man and keep it to your self?

A healthcare professional is not there to judge you. He is there to help. Tell him what's wrong and your problem shared would be a problem halved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,033 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well if it means life or death.....aaaaaaaa ya doctor is best bet

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

You might get some of the answers you seek at The Gentlemen's Club:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1136

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I stopping fearing what to tell the doctor when i was about 16. Dont be ashamed or embarresed. If your afraid. Its most likely a problem that needs serious sorting. In that case your going to have to tell someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

A real man keeps it to himself?

That's a silly statement.

OP if you have a sexual health problem just see a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I have no problem discussing any medical problem or health issue with my doctor .Why worry needlessly over something that might not be worth worrying about ,something that can be sorted out by a chat with a man (or womon ) who is there for just that purpose ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I promise, I just fell on the cucumber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The doc had his finger up my ass once.

He didnt even buy me dinner before he inserted.

If you cant talk about a problem to a man who had his hand up your ass, you never will.

ps..it didnt make me spontainously ejaculate.

I went home and made love to my woman like an olympian afterwards to make sure i wasnt ghey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Sit the GAMSAT and do the 4 year BMed degree in UL and then you'll be able to diagnose yourself....... problem solved.

self medicate too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Doc: "Don't worry,son...it's perfectly normal to have an erection during an examination of your testes"

Me: " I don't have an erection!"

Doc: "No...I was talking about me!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

If by real man you mean are stupid moron who'd sooner let his dick go green than show it to a professional, then no, I am a woman/fag/whatever the real men call it these days. ;)

My doctor has seen me inside out since I was 0, so I'm fairly comfortable with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

TheZohan wrote: »

Jumping the gun a bit arent we?
    Who said it was a sexual health problem?
    I have no problem...but just curious as to how manly A.H was?

Ya see....it was a topic of conversation today...that men generally will not go to the doctor unless somthing was seriously wrong...hence the differing L.E of men over women. Women have a tendecy to see docs for check ups...so head off serious medical issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Ya see....it was a topic of conversation today...that men generally will not go to the doctor unless somthing was seriously wrong...hence the differing L.E of men over women. Women have a tendecy to see docs for check ups...so head off serious medical issues.

Didn't mean you in particular! I just meant "one". Although sexual health problems tend to be the ones men have difficulty talking about, so I think that's a fair leap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Can you tell your doctor anything? I suppose as long as it's medical. Not much point in fessing up to murder to him, looking for holy absolution. Chances are, he'd probably ring the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Ya dont come to AH to get answers about normal problems, they have forums for that.

Doctor+Men Only+Problem x AH

***Generating***

= Syphilis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I was bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Doctor: repeatedly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

The doc had his finger up my ass once.

He didnt even buy me dinner before he inserted..

the question is though, could you feel both his hands touching your body in some place aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I don't get embarrassed, so it's a non-issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I was 12 before I learned I could cough without a doctor holding onto my bollocks...:rolleyes::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

TheZohan wrote: »

Don't you know? Only real men get STD's and cancers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Would have no problems around sexual health or anything like. I work in a medical setting as I have heard alot in my professional life. Never had this issue before, but I'm a licensed firearm holder; I hunt. So does my GP; however, now they have introduced medical background checks I would be more cautious around my psychological health, not worried about my GP, but how some Garda may interpret this data. Though as I'm a psychotherapist if I have psychological issues that required them to be addressed, this would happen; but as I said I would be alot more cautious.

The embarrassment factor would not come into it, I'm also a endurance athlele, at one stage I was training for a long distance desert event I do regularly, anyway I was doing sessions designed to acclimatise me to heat, the result with that was it messed with my BP. Is showed itself by giving me very severe sharp pains in my head when I ejactulated; I had no issues bringing that to the table, or any other sexual health issues.
    Maybe because I deal daily with issues that people are embarrassed about, I have no issues with it, with the exception of the issues I'm metioned above, but even then I just said I would be cautious not that I would not say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

This :( once. The solution was lying in a spare empty surgery for about half an hour after the doctor had put that gel they use when inserting things where they shouldn't on my penis. Very embarrassing and now I've told all of AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

Quote:
    Originally Posted by My name is URL View Post
    stovelid wrote: »
    And why was the cucumber sliced and covered in dressing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

OutlawPete wrote: »
    You might get some of the answers you seek at The Gentlemen's Club:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1136

Or better yet: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=908

Lord knows they have had to visit the Doctor on an occasion or two.

I would think the most embarrassing would be to have the need of a 'foreign object' removed from a body cavity. And yes, a bottle of Jameson still counts as a foreign object. I keep having to correct the doctors when they bring that point up on my visits...

I keep getting them stuck in my ear, btw, you dirty-minded bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

phill106 wrote: »
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by My name is URL View Post

And why was the cucumber sliced and covered in dressing?

Hopefully not French dressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Odysseus wrote: »
    Never had this issue before, but I'm a licensed firearm holder; I hunt. So does my GP; however, now they have introduced medical background checks I would be more cautious around my psychological health, not worried about my GP, but how some Garda may interpret this data. Though as I'm a psychotherapist if I have psychological issues that required them to be addressed, this would happen; but as I said I would be alot more cautious.

Never thought of this; now that I have I don't think I'd be rushing to the doctor over something that could cost me my licence. I'd imagine anyone with a history of any mental illness would be liable to lose their licence.
    And no doubt an untrained Garda would be in charge of sifting through the medical histories and making judgements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

kowloon wrote: »
    Never thought of this; now that I have I don't think I'd be rushing to the doctor over something that could cost me my licence. I'd imagine anyone with a history of any mental illness would be liable to lose their licence.
    And no doubt an untrained Garda would be in charge of sifting through the medical histories and making judgements.

from my experience, (i'm a psychiatrist) we've often been asked to provide reports and opinion on whether or not someone should get a licence, or get it back after a period of suspension. (i used to work in an area with a large hunting population)

whiel guards might be happy to make the decision to take/suspend a licence, they sure as hell arent going to singlehandedly take the responsibility of giving it back to someone with a psych history (nor should they)