Stereotypes about Polish and Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

DazMarz wrote: »
    Most ''Polish'' people aren't from Poland at all: most of the people Irish love labelling ''Polish'' are usually from some other Eastern European nation and we just lazily pigeon hole them in 'Poland'...

Think youl find that statistically they are far more likely to be Polish, there were over 300k poles here at the peak, the rest of eastern (central :P ) Europe barely hit 80k afik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Generally speaking-they wouldn't spend Christmas. Very money conscious-pity we didn't exercise some of that ourselves over the last few years...

That said, when as home, they tend to spend like drunken sailors in a brothel. The last time I was there, the retail sector was booming, although I'd imagine it's taken a hammering now though.

Generally positive experiences, I've found, we have a good few Polish friends (and yes, the vast majority hereabouts are Polish). Many are here for the long haul, and working away quietly-although quite a few have either left already, or have joined the dole train-has to be said.

The only thing that pisses me off is how so many get away without regging their cars here, 4 or 5 years on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

TitoPuente wrote: »
    • Poland is a very Catholic country - certainly more so than Ireland is at the moment.

Don't worry, they'll realise their mistake soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Sound bunch,

99% of them who smoke, smoke Marlboro Lights.4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

None of them live in Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Yes the ratio of good looking Polish women is higher, but I have to say - same goes for the men. I work with a lot of Polish lads & some of them are crackers - good looking face & great bodies :D.

I'm going to look in their lunchboxes to see if any swan burgers in there.

Both the men & women come across aggressive & blunt, as if they are arguing with you but they don't mean it. It's just their way I think, you get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

The men are all body builders who wear extemely tight t-shirts and their heads are a funny shape.

The women have HUGE HANDS. (I notice when they're making my rolls.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

GLUEY wrote: »
    But it's true!!

theres no hope for the irish girls then...the polish chicks have laid down the standard of hotness in this country for girls along with the slovaks and other eastern euro girls. to label them looking like men wreeks of jealousy and bitterness.

theres plenty of hot irish girls in this country, but also not so hot. if you know a few polish girls that look like men, im sure you could pick out the same for any race of people...
    TitoPuente wrote: »
    Having spent a fair bit of time in Poland and having a few Polish friends, there are a few things I can say about Polish people. I know this is a bit of a serious observation for After Hours but here we go:
    • Many Irish people see Polish people of a lesser class and a 'bit rough'. However, they're a relatively less wealthy country (although that's changing) than Ireland has been for the last 15 years and they're only 20 years on the right side of communism... so give them a break.
    • If your lovely Irish son is going out with a Polish woman - she's no more likely to be after him for his money than an Irish woman.
    • Poland is a very Catholic country - certainly more so than Ireland is at the moment.
    • Polish people have a great sense of humour and are incredibly friendly - very like the Irish. They're not quite as gregarious but who is?
    • The Poles like a drink although it's generally considered unacceptable for women to be drunk in public. Don't know whether that's a good thing or a bad thing to be honest.
    • The Polish education system is excellent and Polish people are generally very well eduacted by Western standards.

this is spot on, well done on that. especially the last part. overall, they are more friendly and family orientated than us irish who in general, are stuck up our own a*ses.the polish are not perfect, but they remind me of where ireland was 20 years ago, minus the hot ladies of course :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

theres no hope for the irish girls then...the polish chicks have laid down the standard of hotness in this country for girls along with the slovaks and other eastern euro girls. to label them looking like men wreeks of jealousy and bitterness.

In fairness, it may be just that they know how put on make up, as oppossed to ours looking like they've been suicide bombed by an oompa loompa....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Raekwon wrote: »
    Agreed! Most Polish women are slim......but not that hot IMO (then again Poland has a population of 38 million so there has to be a fair few belters!)

When ever you hear someone say "Jaysus dat Polish burd is a bleedin' riode"! they are usually referring to Slovak, Lithuanian, Hungarian, Croatian or Czech girls that most people neatly pigeon-hole as all being from Poland :rolleyes:

same for "dem bleeding nigerians"...

- Drav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

Before - serious, hardworking, humourless, conservative.

Now - less serious, hardworking, generally good sense of humour, 'straight' (i.e. no BS) but still usually conservative and alarmingly narrow minded in many cases. Bit of a chip on their shoulders about Poland too.

Mink wrote: »
    Both the men & women come across aggressive & blunt, as if they are arguing with you but they don't mean it. It's just their way I think, you get used to it.

I agree with that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Polish women are hot. These days whenever i see a very attractive & polite check-out girl (who actually says hello instead of grunting at you) in tescos or where ever i just think....hmm she must be polish or something.:D

Only negative thing ive heard is that the Polish ladies tend to stick to their own & would never go out with an Irish bloke?
    Or is this yet more stereotyping?

Nah. I know 2 Polish women married to Irish guys and a couple in serious relationships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Only negative thing ive heard is that the Polish ladies tend to stick to their own & would never go out with an Irish bloke?
    Or is this yet more stereotyping?

More stereotyping... I know many "mixed" couples!
    Mink wrote: »

TBH it's the difference in conversation patterns. In Polish you don't have conversation fillers such as saying "how are you" instead of "hello", question tags like "isn't it", understatements. Basically you tell it as it is much more than in English, we don't do small talk much. "How are you" is for friends and then you expect to hear their real story not "ah grand" ("ah grand" indicates that you don't want to talk or are in a hurry). Also intonation patterns are different and if you ask a question in English while keeping Polish intonation it sounds very abrupt if not provocative (Polish intonation goes up, English goes down in a question). Therefore Polish speakers of English can have extensive vocabulary but conversation patterns and intonation control must be learnt here... Might take a while!

I'd classify Polish sense of humour as more dry/abstract than Irish too. fast Irish banter is not natural to us :cool: I see the Polish as more analytical/observant though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

All I know is that I am NEVER going to date an Irish women again thanks to the sheer brilliance of Polish women.

Hotter, more intelligent (or at least they don't purposely act less intelligent to look cute), more down to earth, less drama and no mind games.

Bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

All I know is that I am NEVER going to date an Irish women again thanks to the sheer brilliance of Polish women.

Hotter, more intelligent (or at least they don't purposely act less intelligent to look cute), more down to earth, less drama and no mind games.

Bliss.

I agree with you 100%

My brother has a german girlfriend & she is sound. Both her friends are hot, one is polish & the other is also german. The polish girl is stunning & looks like a feckin bond girl & shes a really nice person & very friendly. The other german girl looks a bit like rhianna & shes very easy to talk to.
    In my experience a large percentage of very good looking Irish women are idiots that have a get out of my face, you're not in my league sort of attitude.

Anybody thats saying that Polish women are rude or ugly, your talking sh!te. Try to control your jealousy. Its not their fault they're naturally good-looking.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Ah lads, not this well-trodden argument again!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Tawny

Out of my friends, it is definitly the polish or slovak men I would find way more attractive than the Irish men. The ones I know are way more charming - whereas Irish men (in my age group, anyway) are all about having a bit of craic. Which is grand - but not exactly attractive.

Actually, having just thought about it though... I know of eastern or central or whatever european women going out with irish men, but not men going out with irish women. Not sure what that says.

I got the impression from Slovak friends that the women are generally more submissive, and more traditional roles are encouraged. Men said they would expect women to stay at home with the children and stuff. Not sure what that says either, or if it is actually representative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭sold

I'm Irish, but I went to Poland to learn Polish about 15 years ago in Krakow. I did not know a word of Polish at the time. I found the experience amazing. I see lots of insults written in this thread. Ignorance breeds stupidity, no country is perfect, and for sure Poland has its shortcomings, but it also has a lot of points that are far better than Ireland. Even after being carved up between Prussia/Russia & Austria, then united and then invaded by germans then occuppied by Russians Poland has maintained its identity/Values and Language. In Ireland we speak English and call ourselves Irish. (while we watch BBC). So us Irish can have our Stereotypes about the poles, for sure they have their views on us. I have seen how some employers have treated poles, not paying them enough or ontime or not paying them at all for work. I have seem Families take Polish Au pair girls to the work 12 hour days for 50 euros. In Poland I have heard numerous stories of Poles being abused by the Irish and this paints us in a certain like. (there have also been many good stories aswell.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

Ok, now I want to hear how foreigners living here view the Irish.

Don't hold back now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 polishchick

Svalbard wrote: »

Don't hold back now!

Judging by many negative comments about Polish, I must be really lucky coz all Irish I have met are lovely, lovely people. Good craic and very friendly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Judging by many negative comments about Polish, I must be really lucky coz all Irish I have met are lovely, lovely people. Good craic and very friendly.

I think a a lot of the negative comments are satire, plus you tend to have a few keyboard warriors here on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Tawny wrote: »
    Out of my friends, it is definitly the polish or slovak men I would find way more attractive than the Irish men. The ones I know are way more charming .

You have not seen Hostel yet have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

There's an irish fella in that...the pale one with the beginnings of a belly, who looks all guilty to be shaggin a fine thing.....Couldn't tell for sure though, as you can't see whether he kept his socks on or not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭andala

Svalbard wrote: »

Don't hold back now!

I can't say anything bad about the Irish people I've met here. All seem quite friendly. I'd say they're more private than Poles and more family-oriented. Taking into account the fact that Irish families are considerably bigger than Polish ones, it's not surprising that they usually spend time with their numerous siblings or cousins and their families rather than friends (I'm talking about people after 30).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Tawny wrote: »
    I know of eastern or central or whatever european women going out with irish men, but not men going out with irish women. Not sure what that says.

IMO......it says a hell of alot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭daca88

they love wearing black runners and generally smell of alcohol....well the one's i deal with do anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

I think they like it here, if they are in the right part of Ireland. For some, the experience of been here is not what they expected as there are some of the thickest ignorant cnuts in parts, thus they prefer home and pack up to leave.

All and all, the Irish gene pool is in need of some serious upgrades. I suggest inter racial sex with every Polish bird you can lay to save humanity... doubt most Irish lads would have a problem with that, considering our homemade stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

In work I deal with people over the phone, so when you get a foreign name, you have to ask them to spell it out for you. Or if you have to read a foreign name, you say it incorrectly.

I've noticed that people are gettin used to foreign (mainly Polish/Eastern European) names and are making less of a fool of themselves stumbling over a surname.

We're making progress lads.
    It's a start